Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mezzo Pozzo 2 stars

Cannaregio 4529 - Campo SS. Apostoli, Cannaregio, 30131 Venice, Italy

#226 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 183 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good hotel close to everything in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good hotel close to everything in Venice. Attentive staff, Good breakfast. Nice interior, Comfortable rooms. Easily accessible (without bridges!) from Ca d'Oro vaporetto station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall happy !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy near the stairwell, and the bed a bit hard.

    Reception staff extremely helpful, breakfast good for €7, good spot with close proximity to Alilaguna airport water transport, San Lucia railway station, Rialto Bridge, San Marco Basilica. Relatively clean, we had the cheap room, so small, and a bit noisy cos near the stairwell. Overall happy !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    The location of the hotel was great, the staff were helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a smell from the bathroom and the WiFi didn’t work at all unless we sat in the reception area

    The location of the hotel was great, the staff were helpful and kind and the room was neat and tidy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Good location an decent hotel if you're going to just sleep there and walk around during the day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast area very small, full price for small children, so we decided to have breakfast in a local place.

    Very helpful staff. Quiet room on top floor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    Great Location, bit pricey needs a few tweaks to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed was uncomfortable and the shower head wasn't fixed properly so if It had any power the shower would fire water over the entire bathroom.

    the staff where fantastic, very friendly and knowledgeable of the city and islands.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    4.2
    Dirty rooms, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not recommend this hotel to anyone due to in-room dirt. Bed linen was free of stains, but it was not thoroughly washed because we got a rash on our legs and face! It could have been from the shower too!

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely decor and really nice feel to the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely decor and really nice feel to the hotel. Staff were super friendly and helpful, we were able to leave our bags in the hotel for the day after we had checked out. Really good location, everything in walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    Overpriced hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with roof shutter, absence of hot water, dangerous stairs, poor breakfast, price does not match quality (120 euro per night is too much for this)

    Very friendly staff, possibility to leave luggage after check out, comfortable beds, clean room, safe in the room, 24h reception

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family rooms are right on top. So hard on older people.

    Nice staff and great location. I liked the way our family room (5 people) was sort of separated as opposed to just one huge room with 5 beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.0
    Not happy at all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not having breakfast. The bed is ok. The room was too small & not comfort. The stairs to get to the room was terrible, too narrow steps & stiff. Almost fell off! Not satisfied with the staying!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.3
    Hotel was a good location to visit Venice from. It was close to water bus stops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not have breakfast at the hotel as it was a little expensive for a family of four. It looked like a good selection however.

    We liked the staff, the location and the family room. The free wifi was also good. Although we could not check in until 2 pm we could drop our bags off which allowed us to start exploring Venice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a hotel for Senior travelers. We booked our reservation with Hotel Mezzo Pozzo and were placed in Hotel Mingon next door on the 3rd floor with no elevator. The stairs were dangerous and it was a nightmare. The room was an attic that was made into a room and I hit my head on the ceiling multiple times. Bottom line, look further.

    The only thing we would consider as acceptable was location. It was convenient but questionable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Great choice in central Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be prepared you might be accomodated on the top floor - accessible only by 3 steep fleets of stairs. We had no problem with it but I can imagine older person or someone with lots of baggage could be quite helpless here.

    Lovely staff, very quiet for this central location. Beautiful old building full of character. Very good WiFi, clean room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff and nice location, we'll be back to Hotel Mignon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit hard to find, but I emailed the day before our arrival and got good walking directions to the hotel from the bus drop off. The apartment was nice and on the water. The only draw back was that it was a hike. To us, the hike was worth it. The hotel is called Hotel Mignon with Mezzo Pozzo under it on the sign - I think this is a Booking.com error though.

    We booked the family room, but it ended up only sleeping 3- no extra room for children. But the staff was quick on their feet and secured a little apartment for us off sight. We were right on the water and the apartment was a nice size. Out of the way, but we'd still probably request to stay there again, because it was nice. We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel while we walked around - at arrival and departure due to check-in and check out times. Suggestion: email them for directions to hotel from wherever you're arriving in Venice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfectly located aristocratic-style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything was wonderful! Excellent service and perfect location, few minutes walk from the busy touristic streets leading to Saint Marcus square, and also few minutes from the popular also for the locals Cannaregio.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfectly located, well priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a room on the ground floor, so we didn't feel sure to open the windows during the night. As the room has got A/C, it's really not a big issue.

    The room was spacious enough for the three of us (2 adults and 1 child). The location of the hotel is perfect, just 20 min walking from the railway station, 10 from Rialto and 20 from San Marco. Breakfast was excellent and at the reception you can leave your luggage even after check-out: very helpful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    There is an extra sofa bed so the room could be for three people. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Various tv channels, very good for kids. Speed wifi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    5.0
    Venice Beautiful! Hotel OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom lacked a decent blow driver and electrical plugs. Also the lighting in the bathroom was terrible. We felt like we were put in an attic the extra 2 flights of were so steep my daughter fell coming down.

    The staff was very nice and the location was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Excellent Stay at Mezzo Pozzo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe, complementary breakfast could have been tempting. And also there should be option of milk sachets given as free in the kettle items. One more I would like to want is to have option of heating food which the customers bring since I was travelling with a child.

    The staff was extremely nice and answered and all the more delighted us with their service. I would strongly recommend this property to one and all. The location is superb and easy to walk around to all the important areas. Overall am delighted with my family to stay here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.5
    Good breakfast, helpful staff, clean and impressive building!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn't in room but instead across breakfast Hall. Room was also a bit noisy from other guests.

    Good breakfast, helpful staff, clean and impressive building!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    Inexpensive and friendly in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room for a family (couple and a child) was a bit dark and small for all. Also, the ground-floor room was adjacent to the lobby and breakfast room which made it a bit noisey in the mornings; we could hear everyone's conversations and each person checking into the hotel. Overall, I think that the very good price we got through Booking.com was specific to that particular room. I would consider the hotel for another stay but certainly request another room.

    The staff was OUTSTANDING; very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel itself was nice in that it was on a relatively quiet street. The room was well-kept and, for Venice, relatively inexpensive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    8.3
    Room was ok, but not what we were expecting. Review is Hotel Mignon, not Locanda Novo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the Locanda Novo changed hands at the beginning of January. The new owners are the Hotel Mignon directly opposite. We stayed in a room at the Mignon. This room was ok, but not to the size and taste (colour of the room) we were expecting. Also it was behind reception and next to foot traffic. That said, because of the time of year it was relatively quiet We have stayed at the Locanda Novo 3x previously. I would have hoped that we should have been informed of this change of ownership, and more importantly a change of venue as this stay in Venice (our sixth) was for a joint 50th, and we wanted to visit one our favourite places (Venice) and stay at a familiar place I would have liked to have had the opportunity to decide if we stayed at the Mignon. We will gladly stay with the Mignon again, but would request a room at the building opposite if they don't change the rooms too much

    The staff were excellent, friendly, and polite. The room was very clean

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    We had a very nice stay in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very nice stay in the hotel. The receptionist was really friendly!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    Location was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to improve cleanliness and other facilities

    Location was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Everything was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant indeed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The stairs!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    The place is clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    The place is clean and comfortable. The location is also great and there are many attractions nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Amazing and i recommend to all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing and i recommend to all

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    6.7
    Great location, nice staff at the front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room looked a bit "tired".

    Great location, nice staff at the front desk.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable short break in unique city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was a strong smell of drains in our room.

    Good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    Book it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lifts!! ?You have to carry your luggage up the stairs!

    Great and really pretty hotel! :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location and Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive and the stairs to the family room are narrow and steep.

    Location and the staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location and cute blast from past decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and cute blast from past decor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.7
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could be better for the price paid

    Friendly staff Great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    got bite in the room, not idea if it is from mosquito or bed bugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hard to carry luggage to 3rd floor, no lift

    Good infrasturcture in general.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Great Location !!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenience , Great Location !!!!!!, Staff is great !!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    6.7
    OK budget hotel, lovely staff and central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blood stain on sheet and mold in shower

    Good space and TV channels.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    Yes...you can stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can not find easily

    Very Kindly staff.. Smell otantic.. very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.8
    A cute, affordable and friendly hotel hidden away in one of Venice's narrow streets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean, tidy and warm.

    Stayed in February 2017

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Browse Hotel Mezzo Pozzo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: