Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Locanda San Cosimato

Piazza Di San Cosimato 63, Trastevere, 00153 Rome, Italy

#2568 of 3,119 B&Bs and Inns in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 184 B&B reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    Good experience for our first visit to Rome- we recommend the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast included in the price was minimal = 1 drink 1 croisant.

    The accommodation was basic , clean and did the job without frills which met our needs. Location was great in Trastevere which was a very lively place and gave access to Rome at large to visit the amazing city. Tourist Info offices nearby very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    4.6
    Location of apartment hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very simple breakfast. This should the customer be informed of when booking the room. More of a apartment hotel than an actual hotel. Cold and damp rooms in december.

    Location of apartment hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.4
    Not impressed by the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in is supposed to be at 1130am which is the only reason I booked this room. However, after a 15 hour long haul flight we were made to wait for over an hour with all pieces of luggage, and no idea when the room will be ready. The lady said she had no information and we just had to wait. They only gave us the room around 1pm. Very frustrating! Do not expect any wifi. I sat in the hallway and even then my maps would not load.

    Room is basic but it is what you pay for. Location is good for exploring the Trastevere area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Pretty Trastevere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the beautiful area of Trastevere- especially in the evenings when the streets are filled with people and great restaurants everywhere! The breakfast was yum- a choice of fresh baked goods from the cafe downstairs and a tasty cappuccino.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Attention by our hostess. Nobody ever attended the counter of the Locanda. For any attention required one had to ask in the nearby Restaurante owned by the owners of the Locanda which only opened at 11:00 am and it seemed that the main focus of their attention was the Restaurante rather than the Locanda.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    4.6
    A bad choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, although most don’t speak English, only Italian. However, this is pretty much the only good thing about the place. Though it’s in the nicest neighborhood of Rome, Trastevere, its location is bad: the hotel is on the first floor of a building facing the square. On weekends the noise of people in the bars is practically deafening. Cleaning is poor: on the first day they didn’t even change our towels. Breakfast, which is served in a restaurant next door, is awful. There’s no desk room at night. Conclusion: the cost/benefit ratio of the hotel is very poor. I wouldn’t stay there again.

    The staff, only.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.1
    Nice location but not very quiet. Terrible breakfast experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit tricky to find the place. Since it is not a hotel, it does not have a big sign outside. Breakfast is served in a restaurant nearby. Probably the poorest breakfast ever. The produce was not very fresh or not at all on the table. The coffee though was good. In Italy coffee is good...

    Location. Really central in Trastevere. A little noisy if your room faces the market square but still nice... The room was small but cute. The entrance in the building is really charming. Very close to all sights in Trastevere and at 1.5 km from the old centre of Rome. Tram 8 to Piazza Venezia is 3 min walking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful little spot in charming location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Simple room but definitely sufficient, wifi was very poor however. Was able to send iMessages but couldn't check email or do google searches.

    Awesome location with everything you need nearby, friendly staff, free map, excellent value, freshly made cappuccino included in breakfast :) Very glad I stayed here!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    6.7
    Awful service and stuff, noisy place in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want clarity, good and polite service then look elsewhere. On our arrival we could not get hold of anyone to let us in and there was no signs indicating the right floor to go up to. We ended up going up and down the elevator trying to find it out for ourselves. Then somebody answered the phone but they could not speak English. We managed to tell them in Italian that we were waiting inside the building and they said they were on number 68. No mention of it was on Booking.com. Eventually a lady came to let us in but she also understood no English. They own a restaurant where we had the inclusive breakfast and also had dinner there one night. The stuff are extremely rude. They never smiled, served us as if they were doing us a favour, tried to remove our plates when it was clear we had not yet finished the food, and above all, even though service was included we had to demand our change! The whole experience was at the very best utterly disappointing and distasteful. When we paid for our stay the lady insisted that we paid cash for the city tax which sounded doggy to us as we were not carrying cash and preferred to pay all the bill by card. When I made a fuss about it she agreed to accept the card payment. Also, the Windows are not double glazed so because it's a very busy part of town it was very very noisy particularly on Saturday night as we could listen the music of a neighbour night club in the early hours. I would not recommend this place unless whst you care about is the location. For us, it was just not good enough.

    If you're looking to stay in the centre of trastevere it doesn't get much better than this location. It's 3 mins walk from Saint Mary of Strastevere Basilica and just about minutes walk to everywhere worth going in Strastevere. Also, it's less than 10 mins tram ride to Piazza Venezza. The place is cleaned everyday and towels changed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    8.3
    Great location and very cosy place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was great value for the money. Perfect location in beautiful part of Rome - Trastevere! It was little noisy, but we didn't mind and we didn't have problem to sleep at all. The restaurant Ai Spagetari is very good! Best pizza! We would return to that place :) The room was nice, small and cosy. The stuff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    10
    Great place for this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Noise coming from the street might be an issue for rooms facing that way, so I would recommend a room that faces the inside courtyard. My room was such, and it wasn't noisy at all.

    The location of the hotel is excellent, right in the heart of Rome's old town. It's quite busy at night, but my room faced the courtyard so noise wasn't an issue for me. As I was travelling alone as a woman, I felt safe in the neighborhood walking home late at night because of how busy it was. The room is simple, not too large, but clean. The AC was a blessing in the heat.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Was great for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Only room 11 was the best spacious. Breakfast was not acceptable. Need more coffee cereal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    position is great, very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    too noisy, the facility could be better.

    position is great, very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    2.5
    Really bad management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Really bad management. Our flight delayed, they said we can't give you keys if you come later than 22.00 pm. You have to check in the next morning. What kind of a hotel is this? I should be able to check in whenever I want. The reception girl tried to help but still the management's call was awful. And they took all the money even though we couldn't go. Really disappointed.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    8.8
    Staff is very helpful and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could be better. Specially for a country like Italy with amazing food.

    Staff is very helpful and kind. Location is very good, surrounding area is very alive and with a wide variety of restaurants and bars. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    6.7
    The location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I was there 4 years ago and visibly there was no investment in last years, it is even worse. Before there was a typical italian breakfast with fresch cornetti, but not anymore. They serve industrially packed stuff. Delusion.

    The location is very good.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    5.8
    Location for trips on foot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The square where are apartaments is very noisy. Near the entrance are air condition engines which are noisy also.

    Location for trips on foot. Many good restaurants are not far. Breakfast was too much simple without any fruit or vegetables.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.9
    The staff was more than helpful,welcoming and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a little too firm for our liking, on a noisy street (but we knew that when we rented the property).

    The staff was more than helpful,welcoming and friendly. Room was clean and the location was right where the action was!

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    6.7
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff. They do not speak english and they don't even try to understand or help you. They are never at the reception, you have to go downstairs to the restaurant to look for them (really anoying) and the wifi wasn't working at my room.

    Location! The place is perfect, full of restaurants and bars around. Really nice.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    5.8
    The rooms are comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Between the noise of the restaurant that lasted late into the night and the noise of the market place from early in the morning, think we slept 3 hours if we were lucky.

    The rooms are comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.1
    Great location if you would like to stay in Trastevere like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad actually. A decent, clean and comfortable room if you're looking for a place to sleep at night. Soundproof windows make you sleep easily and if you choose to listen the city; just open the window.. Beds can be more comfortable.

    Great location if you would like to stay in Trastevere like a local. Close to everywhere in Rome. You can visit every spot in Rome during the day and continue to feel the rythm of the night in trastevere. Surrounded by a unique neighbourhood with a lot of bars and restaurants. There is a lovely bazaar in front of the hotel everyday. Wake up in the morning and watch the locals..

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    6.3
    Great localization in Trastevere near bars and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was verry small. We came at night and was dificult to find the right enterance to the place. We had different expectation from B&B. The air conditioning didnt work and it was a bit hot at night .we had till next dayto change the room since uits B&b at morning there was alot of noise. On the next day we changed the room with good air conditioning and the rest of the staying was quiet. Internet conection was poor

    Great localization in Trastevere near bars and restaurants. The bars are open at night. Compared to the center of rome safe at night and with alot of turists at day and night. The bedroom was verry clean. Nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    6.3
    The piazza di San cosimato is a very nice place, also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At the day of check-out (saturday)no responsible person from the hotel was present and no one really knew what to do. The restaurant where the buffet was supposed to be was closed, so no breakfast for us (although it is supposed to be included). So unfortunately very unpleasant departure from the hotel.

    The piazza di San cosimato is a very nice place, also Trastevere is perfect to go out and find nice bars. Wlan, and clean rooms every day.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    10
    Staff and great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff and great service

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    5.0
    - Clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Hotel directly located on the top of a bar with loud music --> ear muffs necessary for sleep!! - Poor breakfast

    - Clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    7.9
    Placement in the restaurants and bars area, but still quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was very bland.

    Placement in the restaurants and bars area, but still quiet enough to sleep. Small but proper.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    7.5
    Nice location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a lot of noise disturbance from outside

    Nice location and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    8.3
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    small room

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    7.9
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet went down frequently.

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.3
    The room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was clean. The air conditioning was good.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    8.3
    located in the heart of Trastevere, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    located in the heart of Trastevere, nice staff

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    9.2
    The location is perfect, the area is very lively at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location is perfect, the area is very lively at night. The room was clean and big enough.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    8.8
    Easy to get lost in time with the many narrow lanes and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rip - off eating traps in the Piazza Santa Maria

    Easy to get lost in time with the many narrow lanes and piazzas

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    9.6
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed was very hard, otherwise the room was good.

    Great location and staff

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    8.3
    I loved the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    -

    I loved the location!

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: