Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Locanda San Marco

Piazza San Marco 22, 37010 Torri del Benaco, Italy

#4 of 6 B&Bs and Inns in Torri del Benaco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 233 B&B reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift on the property but there is only a very short flight of stairs from the parking lot to the first floor. Village of Pai has very poor mobile phone coverage.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Private parking on location and for free (with a breathtaking view of the lake from the parking lot). Very good breakfast. Restaurant on location is very good and practical. The hotel is in a picturesque and very quiet location in Pai.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Lake View - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was no such

    the location is great, the breakfast was excellent. We took the apartment that is just 30 meters from Lake Garda and it has excellent views and the beach is 30 meters

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here with my mother and our three children. The staff were so welcoming and friendly, I would have loved to stay for longer. It felt like home. We ate dinner here both nights as the food was excellent!!! The lodge is up on the hill and is a peaceful oasis away from the business of town. The views from the top are lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The infrastructure was clearly aged and the church bell rang throughout the night. I believe this place needs a renovation, which is scheduled.

    The location on a piazza of a small mountain village was superbe, though the church bell, which rings every hour throughout the night made it hard to sleep. The staff was quite friendly and the breakfast was absolutely outstanding, including a tasty coffee. Given they are planning to renovate the property I think this will eventually become a secret gem of the region. For now I'd summarize it as "you get what you pay for". Affordable, clean, nice location, nice breakfast but definitely not an outstanding example, even within its category. Older infrastructure and the church bells were the downsides.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Lake View - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a well situated apartment, just near to Lago di Garda (maybe 50m from Lake). Views and terrace were amazing, apartment was big and cozy. Beach and few restaurants is really near from the place. Breakfast and San Marco ristorante are located at the central Piazza San Marco, which is few minutes by walk upside, but at least you will do some sports before tasty dinner. Breakfast are amazing, there´s way more opportunities to taste like typical dishes, we really enjoyed them. Staff are friendly and helpful. We definitely can recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say!

    It is a quite small Italian hotel (round about 6 rooms) which gives the hotel a lot of Charme. The view on the lake from our room was fantastic. The hotel is located at a small piazza which is quiet during the Day but becomes alive as soon as it is dinner time. You need to walk down to the lake for round about 10mins, but it is quite bold. It is also possible to take a free bus to torri del benaco what eases up a lot. The restaurant at the hotel is very good and you can have a lot of authentic Italian food there. The breakfast contains out of any kinds of bread, pastries, Parma ham, Italian salami, cheese, fruits, Yoghurt, coffee, juices, etc. - anything you could imagine. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small which is not porblem for one day stay, but can be a problem for one week (especially if weather if not good)

    Location is wonderful, staff was friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are on the small side. No fridge. No drinking glasses, just plastic cups.

    Friendly staff. Nice breakfast. Sufficient parking space. Clean. Nice bathroom and balcony.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think this is the third or fourth time we've stayed at Locanda San Marco. I would not think of staying anywhere else when visiting Lake Garda. It's in a beautiful location; good parking; lots of hot water; good water pressure; shower drains; great staff; and the breakfast is fantastic. They keep bringing out more and more great items at breakfast, so pace yourself. The restaurant is outstanding. I always order the mixed grill fish plate which is wonderful. Make sure you ordered the French fries at the restaurant. They just may be the best friend fries in the world.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were all very friendly and keen to be helpful. Great location overlooking the lake with small beaches at Pai a relatively short walking away (although it's a steep uphill climb back!) Air conditioning worked well. Food in restaurant was good and we had a bonus of live music in the piazza as we arrived on a Thursday evening. We enjoyed the garden furniture by the pool and the small terrace outside the family room overlooking the piazza.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Breakfast was abundant and delicious. The restaurant was also great. Although the location is a bit far from the "life" it is in a quiet place with a beautiful view on the lake and the mountains.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The owners stayed up to meet us upon our late arrival at 1.15am. Breakfasts were brilliant, location lovely (in a little piazza that time forgot) and a small garden and pool in which to sunbathe.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Internet only worked on our PC downstairs in the bar, not in our room.

    Friendly, welcoming staff that made us feel like family, wonderful breakfast buffet included, lively restaurant on the piazza frequented by locals as well as guests. Free shuttle service down to Torri del Benaco on Lake Garda.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location. It's has hardly any traffic going past as it's a dead end Road. The room, Number 10, is big with lots of cupboards. Great views of the lake from the church balcony opposite.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Church bells chimed on the hour and half hour all night long.

    Quaint place with a nice view out over Lago di Garda. Nice restaurant with good food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    /

    Superb and friendly personnel, food and wine at the restaurant, and breathtaking location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Super nice service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The area is amazing with fantastic views and the staff are amazing and friendly its like a family at the locanda.and the food is absolutely delicious. Will stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms are (VERY!) small, water heating/pressure is problematic.

    The location is great, the staff are trying their best to make a customer happy, and breakfast is very good!

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Guys, this place is awesome! The Locanda is very cosy and comfortable, my room was very clean and pleasant and the staff was extremely friendly and generous. The breakfast was fantastic, full of local and quality food and, even if I didn't have the chance to eat but I am Italian and I know from local people that even the food here is great. Considering the price you are paying you can't get more. The little village were the Locanda is, stands on a lovely hill in front of the Lake and is out of the crowded Torri del Benaco. If you are looking for the highest price/quality ratio hotel were to spend your holidays, this is the place to go. I have been living in Uk for many years and I've never found such a comparable quality/price lodge were to spend my holidays. Totally recommended !

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Browse Locanda San Marco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: