Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Locanda Viani

Località Lazzeretto , 53037 San Gimignano, Italy

#9 of 38 B&Bs and Inns in San Gimignano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 112 B&B reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    Amazing views and wonderful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    From the moment we got there, Roberto and his lovely wife were so kind. The food was varied each day for breakfast and they couldn't have been more willing to help. Everything from places to visit, to restaurants to eat at should we choose. Then there were the views from our roof terrace which basically were amazing. Apart from the top of San Gimignano, possibly some of the best around. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Would highly recommend. Andy and Denise.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Lovely accommodation -highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing to mention is that the mattresses were a bit hard.

    Location is great, warm welcoming by the hosts Paula and Roberto. Very quiet and calming. The breakfast is superb, new things every morning all made by Paula. Higly recommended

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    It is the second time I visited this marvelous place - this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like that I left the place.

    It is the second time I visited this marvelous place - this time with great relatives/friends - and this certainly means a lot. What can I say about the owners Roberto and Paola? Words are simply not enough to describe how I felt. Again, I'm almost speechless. Just to name a few: Great hospitality, very clean rooms with a charm and Roberto's first class paintings, very tasty homemade breakfast. Close enough to San Gimignano (10 mins walk) and far enough from the city for a quiet setting and a stunning view. And guess what, I will come again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    I quiet Inn with great hosts, in a UNESCO area and only a 10 minute walk from San Gimignano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The owners are living their dream of managing a classic inn. They are simply a wonderful family and made the stay great for their guests. The breakfast is of local Tuscan food. The location is close enough to walk to the city but far enough away to escape the tourists. I suggest breakfast followed by touring Volterra , Siena or one of the other area villages and returning for dinner in the area. It is better to rent a car if you want to maximize the regional opportunities but local tours generally offer local transportation services.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    We just loved our time shared with Roberto and Paola and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just loved our time shared with Roberto and Paola and children in their wonderful accommodation. It is in a location about 15 mins walk but has an amazing view to the township. They catered for us in every way. Thankyou and highly recommend!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Roberto and Paula manage to combine professionalism and homeliness perfectly. A wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome we received from Paula, Roberto, Julio and Cesare was warm and friendly. The breakfasts were exceptional - homemade, high quality food and with ample portions. The classical music over breakfast was a lovely touch. The accommodation was spotless, the beds and pillows were very comfortable, the view from our roof terrace was beautiful and the location was perfect. We were a short stroll into the main town, and that meant a quieter night's sleep in a very safe setting. Roberto's art was a wonderful addition to the surroundings and my son, who is a budding artist, found it inspiring. We had a fantastic 3 nights in Locanda Viani and I look forward to one day returning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay in San Gimignano. You can go walking everywhere on the city from the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The size of the bedroom was small, but we knew that. So, there is no complaint.

    We appreciate very much the friendship of Roberto and his wife. They were always prompt to help us, giving hints on what to visit, talking about Tuscany food, exchange ideas, they were extremely friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing family run accommodation with special care of their guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing to fault.

    Lovely hosts. Attention to detail even down to the music at breakfast. Loved staying in the yellow room with the terrace and view of San Gimignano. Enjoyed being 10 mins walk away from the city to escape the many tourists.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Stunning view from my bedroom window
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are happy with a short walk (10mins) into San Gimignano this is the place to stay, in a beautiful peaceful setting away from the madding crowds. I have no complaints it was a magic stay

    As we were driving ease of parking was my primary motive for choosing this delightful B&B. It was fantastic, the view from our bedroom was spectacular. The owners are so kind and friendly and the property is spotlessly clean with lovely a sense of art and Italian culture. The bedroom had tea and coffee facilities always a winner!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Bellissimo...........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Roberto and Paula were lovely - excellent. Home made breakfast, bread, cake - varied every day - we loved it - fabulous view of San Gim.... close to walk to centre..Roberto is an artist and it shows in every aspect of the house. Bellissimo... thanks so much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Highly Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    A superb place to stay overlooking the amazing vista of San Gimi. The room was really nicely decorated but also we had the roof terrace which has the most amazing 360 views. Watching the sunset with the local wine and some Cannoli was a particular highlight. Breakfasts were exceptionally good too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Exceptional service and accommodation and magnificent views will bring us back to Roberto and Paola.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was amazing. We will stay at this place again and book a room with a window and a balcony rather than the room with no window and stairs leading to the private terrace. Exceptional 10/10.

    Everything was amazing at this beautiful place...especially the magnificent views of San Gimignano and surrounding countryside from our private terrace in this family run accommodation and including the most wonderful homemade breakfast, provided by Roberto and cooked by his lovely wife Paola, all served in a beautiful room, walls adorned with the owner Roberto's paintings. Five minute drive, ten minute walk to beautiful San Gimignano. Although we did not take advantage of it, (we didn't want to add to her work load), you may join the family for a wonderful home-cooked dinner made by Paola. Thank you Roberto and Paola for the great stay. We will be back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay in what felt like a Typical Italian villa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like. Just perhaps some baguettes included in breakfast would be good.

    Room comfy and quiet with wonderful views over San Gimignano. Bathroom great and modern. Host was fabulous. Location perfect

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    The breakfast was lovely and fresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was lovely and fresh. The hosts made you feel very welcome and provided a lot of local information. Roberto had his art hanging in the rooms which gave a very personal touch. We had an amazing view of a typical Tuscan landscape and the historic town of San Gimignano from both our window and the terrace. The bed was very comfortable too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    The family and the proximity to San G made this a wonderful Tuscan memory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was great and the rooftop was the best part - I'd say the more light the better! The downstairs was a bit darker but manageable.

    The family was an incredibly delightful part of our trip to San G! So much hospitality .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    WE recommend Locanda Viana
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location worked well for us because we don't mind walking to the town. It could be too far for some to walk, and parking in San Gimignano is a bit difficult.

    The proprietors were friendly and helpful. Included breakfasts were excellent. Enjoyed the brief walk with the proprietor through some of their property. The proprietor is a painter and all the excellent painting in the facility were painted by him. If we had more time would have enjoyed talking more with the proprietors.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    A Family-Run B & B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A charming little B and B. Paula and Roberto and their two boys were really helpful, obliging, interesting and lovely. We had a fantastic view of San Gimignano from our room. It was great to be out of the town itself which gets very busy. We walked into town every day and didn't have to think about parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Roberto is the owner and he is extremely Amazing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place , the view everything was just Amazing !!!!!

    Roberto is the owner and he is extremely Amazing !!!! I will come back again was super relaxing and beautiful !!!! Can't be a better place then Locanda Viani in San Gimigniano !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Great position, very welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That we had to leave.

    Roberto and his family were very welcoming making our stay very relaxing. A fantastic breakfast was provided every morning with lots of info given on what to see in the area. It was nice to have dinner in San Gimignano then be able to have a nice walk back to the peace and quiet of Locanda Viani.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    10
    A wonderfulway toget acquainted with San Giminiano and the region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We travelled in November and it was quite chilly. The bathroom heater didn't work very well, but we did not tell Roberto. I'm sure he would have fixed it had we mentioned it.

    The room was comfortable. The breakfasts were lovely. Roberto and his wife made every effort tomake us feel welcome. Roberto wasvery helpful about touring the area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional stay with a really kind and warm family. Their attention to detail is second to none. We can’t wait to go back!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    I enjoyed the very friendly hosts and the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I enjoyed the very friendly hosts and the breakfast. It was also a great view from our balcony to the town of San Gimignano.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing and extremely pleasant stay. Thank you Roberto and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn’t like

    Great location, great family that looked after us and great breakfast everyday. The wine was good also.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    everything is PERFECT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything is PERFECT! amazing view, comfortable room, wonderful people, nice breakfast. Hope We can back there next year.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Roberto and his family made us feel extra welcome. Perfectly located, fantastic views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing. Absolutely faultless.

    Family run Hotel that provide the personal touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Memorable vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Roberto and his family were warm and charming. The location and view of San Gimignano is spectacular. We recommend Locanda Viani highly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable B&B with simple but great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Het dakterras bij onze kamer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful spot and perfect facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant think of anything

    All was perfect, everything from the beautiful view to San Gimignano to our lovely helpful hosts

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful house with an amazing view, free parking and friendly welcoming owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner not available for less than six diners.

    Amazing view and friendly helpful staff with a short walk into the town

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    The area offers many choices but this one is a real gem!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owners and their family are wonderful!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Location with beautiful view on San Gimignano, very clean,...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location with beautiful view on San Gimignano, very clean, Roberto and his wife Paolaa were very pleasant, carefull. Thanks for nice days by you!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    10
    Best view of San Gimignano!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place with an environment rich of culture, good company and wonderful food and wine!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.2
    Perfect stay in St. Giminyano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The host is extremely helpful and kind!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.6
    We liked everything,from the The hosts,cant do enough for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We liked everything,from the The hosts,cant do enough for you,you feel part of the family.beautiful situation 10mins walk San Gimigiano,but you have fab view from yourAccomodation,Very central to appreciate Chianti hills,and Breakfast is beautiful,The ambience is fab,listening to Andrea Bocelli and top Italian artists ,and eating Breakfast,fresh produce from the area which changes eash day.I would give this 10 out of 10,Fab situation and very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.6
    Locanda Viani is a warm and welcoming place with excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Locanda Viani is a warm and welcoming place with excellent hosts, Roberto, and his lovely family. The rooms are decorated in style, with an artist´s eye for beauty. Roberto will do his utmost to make his guests feel welcome. The location is perfect, just outside of San Gimignano, among the olive trees and vineyards. When we left it was with a heavy heart and a firm intention of coming back next year!

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    10
    Our stay here was one of the best highlights of our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our stay here was one of the best highlights of our trip. The property is incredibly beautiful and decorated gorgeous. Roberto and his family were warm and wonderful. The view of place is magnificent and the San Gimignano village is approximately a 10 minute walk. My wife and I went all over Italy for our honeymoon on an almost one month trip and we both agreed that Locanda Viani was one of the gems we discovered along the way.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    7.5
    Very friendly and helpful host, really gives you the B&B...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room with limited space for luggage. Very expensive for the facilities offered.

    Very friendly and helpful host, really gives you the B&B feeling. Though breakfast choice is a bit limited, it offers delicious and fresh products. Very good location within walking distance of San Gimignano centre.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    Just a perfect stay in Locanda Viani!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Just a perfect stay in Locanda Viani! The host was great, room perfect, breakfast delicious! Location is very close to San Gimignano, so it's easy to get to there by foot. Great restaurant recommendations from the host. I also recommend asking about wines and wine yards around the chianti.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    10
    Roberto and Paula were gracious hosts and their children are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Roberto and Paula were gracious hosts and their children are adorable. Breakfast was wonderful with the best coffee ever. Our family had two rooms - one with a lovely private terrace and the other with a perfect view. The location was covenient for exploring the area. It was a short, easy walk to San Gimignano yet quiet and away from the tourists.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    Very very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Mosquitoes, everywhere in Toscana! It is a bit hard to find the hotel.

    Very very clean! Mr Viani and his wife is really nice and helpful! Nice Toscana view! I completely suggest this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    8.8
    We liked the roof top terrace, Paola's amazing cooking,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the roof top terrace, Paola's amazing cooking, Roberto's helpful advice and the family's commitment to ensuring their guest's comfort and enjoyment.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    7.9
    Locanda Viani is an historic house with a lovely location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only small suggested improvement would be to update the bedlinen and ditch the scruffy blankets!

    Locanda Viani is an historic house with a lovely location with views over San Gimignano. It is just far enough away to escape from the tourist hordes but close enough to walk into town. Artist Roberto has decorated the property with his own interesting work and he (and his wife) were perfect hosts - can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    8.8
    Charming Family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a bit difficult to find by car

    Charming Family

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    10
    Fantastic experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fantastic experience!!

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    10
    Spectacular view from our private roof top terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Spectacular view from our private roof top terrace

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    9.6
    Very close to San Gimignano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very close to San Gimignano Very friendly hosts Diverse breakfast buffett

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: