Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Locanda Azzurra

Via Solaro 111, 18038 Sanremo, Italy

#29 of 32 B&Bs and Inns in Sanremo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 153 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.1
    Probably better choice for the summer time where all facilities are working
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was not comfortable. Air conditioning needs fine tuning The facilities need serious renovation.

    Staff very nice and helpful Parking free and close Cute cat

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Tranquil pleasant and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the pool wasn't available while we were there which would of been nice.

    Pretty area with nice quiet surroundings. The lady who checked us in was lovely and looked after us very well. Good breakfast and pleasant stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.8
    This is a tennis centre that has a few hotel rooms. It was fine, but needs some TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is past its prime ... our room smelt very musty like a cat had got in and sprayed somewhere. The floor had not been mopped and there were sockets pulled out of the wall with loose wires. Bedside lights didn't work. To be fair, when we complained, we were given another room straight away and a complimentary breakfast and they were friendly and concerned. One other thing... you have to pay to use the Sunbeds around the hotel pool ( 5 Euros pp). We thought that was a poor choice for customer feel good. Would be better if they charged a little more in the overall price and the sun loungers would be complimentary as was our expectations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    3.3
    Would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds uncomfortable, rooms smell. Shower size was an issue. Hotel reception and pool bar shut extremely early. Like a ghost town. No where to buy drinks in the evening and no local shops.

    Pool was a good size

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    2.5
    2nd to worst place I've ever stayed in (frequent traveller)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was scruffy, not exceptionally clean, no tea/coffee facilities in the room and after 7pm the only bar (by the pool) closed, so you had no access to drinks apart from an expensive vending machine (where the cooler element was switched off, so only good for warm water!!). The restaurant was closed and there were no bars open within walking distance that we could find. Luckily, we had some left over picnic food with us. The bed was hard as rock, the sea view was in the far distance if you could see it over the tennis court netting! This place is over priced, the staff seem to dislike each other and disappear after 7pm anyway. We couldn't wait to leave in the morning! Good luck with staying here.

    There was nothing to like about this 'so called' hotel. There were no other hotel guests, only tennis players, footballers and locals using the pool. It's run down as a hotel and looks like it's only surviving on local sports fan support.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.8
    Easy and quiet but rundown and beds uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff (reception) was very impolite and the bed was rock hard. Rooms were run down and dusty.

    The deluxe room had a large patio/balcony and parking easy and free. The room was spacious and the wifi worked ok in the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    2.5
    Unserious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I made a reservation and I specified that arrive after 21 pm When we arrived reception was closed. They have left a no. telephone to call. I was forced to look for another night accommodation in Sanremo. I lost money. 0 seriousness.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    9.6
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No true negatives. All nice.

    Location was perfect. This hotel is very sporty and has a lot of visitors during the day. All friendly, but lots of people passing. The room we had was beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    7.1
    Sport or Resort?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Patio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance to the beach and the steep walk back up the hill every day and night. The sound of tennis balls popping your ears at 8am with accompanied verbal commentary with every shot just outside our patio. It's a tennis venue, so therefore it's expected. One very arrogant and unhelpful member of staff! Also, I was overcharged by about £50 for the stay. I checked the exchange rate and mentioned it was unjustified, but I was too tired on arrival to complain too much.

    The place took a while to get used to, but I loved being able to swim, play tennis and football and go to the gym. We did some activity everyday (that includes the walk). One member of staff was very helpful too. It's a great location if you are very fit and don't have young children. I'll definitely go back, but plan it around the fitness aspect, rather than a relaxing holiday...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Staff was very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures in booking.com are not representing recent status

    Staff was very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    6.3
    Travelling friends
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We put on the heating, but the room never got warm.

    Staff was very helpful when we did not find the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    7.1
    Nice spacious room with sea view, very clean, set in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was so creaky & noisy-needed replacing Room No 1 is right next to an opening external door & banged shut each time someone went out (at 5am) or when someone came in (4am!) Needs a gas operated closer on it

    Nice spacious room with sea view, very clean, set in beautiful location, peaceful

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    5.8
    View of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Renowned city, however, far from expectations .The facility does not offer breakfast, it´s suitable for young travellers with good sleep, the morning started with ball bangs, our room adjoined courts. Outdoor swimming pool should be open in May.

    View of the city

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.9
    The room was large and generally comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was rather hard and the WiFi kept dropping out. It would have been good to have a kettle for making tea or coffee.

    The room was large and generally comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.5
    The reception were friendly and the room clean and tidy,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The swimming pool closed at 7pm, mines before our arrival, no exceptions, despite our 200 mile motorcycle ride in hot weather. Breakfast was minimalist, the poorest we had in the 12 places we stayed on this trip, although they did have a gluten free offer, which others did not.

    The reception were friendly and the room clean and tidy, nice bathroom and the old town was a short taxi ride away. A gluten free offer was available for breakfast in the form of madelines and biscuits.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.8
    Very nice atmosphere with a lot of active people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There where one lady in the bar, who seems to didn't like her job :-( Perhaps she was angry at us?? The rest of the staff, where very nice and helpfull.

    Very nice atmosphere with a lot of active people.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    7.5
    Pool is great to have and in the mornings, until1100 it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Agree with comments on maintenance needed. Staff speaks very limited English (or not at all...).

    Pool is great to have and in the mornings, until1100 it was for us only! View of see from balcony.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    5.0
    If you would like to discover around San Remo like myself,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    If you would like to discover around San Remo like myself, than forget about the pool or gym which opens after 9:30 and closes 19:00. If I went anywhere, than could not use them. arriving in the evening there was a restaurant closed and fallen into bed without a chance to eat. Breakfast we tried once, my younger son had been less with a tooth. Storage was locked in the room, and looked like an changing room with no possibility to store staff there. We were forced to camp out from the luggages. The terrace was nowhere compared to the photos. English had not been spoken, could not get any insight of the place.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    9.2
    I liked the fact that this place is hidden away yet has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bedroom is basic and the bed was hard

    I liked the fact that this place is hidden away yet has everything you could wish for. Huge pool, outdoor tennis courts, gym, everything for sports fans.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    8.3
    nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    you need a bigger sign at the road..a bit difficult to see it whrn driving.

    nice place. beautifull view from rooms. clean.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    Liked it very much!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Liked it very much!

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    10
    Welcoming staff, great pool and tennis facilities and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Welcoming staff, great pool and tennis facilities and food.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff, lots of facilities( restaurant, swimming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wasn't easy to find the property!

    Friendly staff, lots of facilities( restaurant, swimming pool, tennis courts)

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    7.5
    payed tennis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    payed tennis used the gym restaurant good value nice surrounds

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: