Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Locanda Ca' San Marcuola

Cannaregio 1763, Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy

#147 of 316 B&Bs and Inns in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1078 B&B reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One night kept awake by very noisy/drunk? guests on our floor for about an hour or more, way after midnight, continually slamming doors between 2 rooms & running back & forth laughing, talking very loudly (obviously friends), was very surprised management wasn’t stepping in, although seemed an isolated incident as hotel was impressively managed. Our room a little squashed for 4 adults, but big, good bathroom

    Would definitely recommend. Grapefruit juice, hot tea, Salami, ham, proscutto, cheese, rolls & more for included breakfast! Proximity to train station & very close Ferry stop(had been our main reason for booking & then surprised by all the rest being good):) All staff helpful & friendly, all seemed good st English, lots of toiletries, key leave policy, good historical building

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked a tea and coffee facilities in our room which would have made our stay perfect !! Breakfast very nice & appreciated being waited on at the table .All staff were friendly & helpfull .

    Large comfortable room with good bath room facilities !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More variation with breakfast would be good. Bathroom products limited and only plastic cups supplied in room.

    Adequate hotel, great position for vapporita and close to bars, restaurants and shops. Also not far from bus and train station. The staff were all helpfull and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very well located. The area is very quiet and you can enjoy the walk to the center. The breakfast area is in the lobby, but it serves its purpose and you can go discover Venice asap

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty bathroom with old and cheap fittings, it was not the most pleasant thing to take a shower. We had a room on the ground floor with the window facing the street and heard all the noise from it.

    Very good location, 1 min from the Vaporetto station. Breakfasts were quite good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit dark. Very simple and old room. Aircon doesnt work but we just open the window to allow the cold air to enter the room. I hate the shower area. It's very small. I'm 5’7”, lightly-built individual and I have a hard time taking a shower. It's the smallest shower area that I've seen. You would literally bump the shower door with your elbows when you take a shower.

    Walking distance from the train station. Very near a vaporetto station. They gave us a room with a canal view. We also liked the included breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At night the street noise can be loud so you just close up the windows. Location is worth the occasional street noise.

    Location was less than a minute walk from the S. Marcuola/S. Marcuola Casinò, Vaporetto stop. Room and bathroom clean, bed was very comfortable. Continental breakfast with meat, cheese, juice and hot drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows were very hard .

    They had an elevator so did not have to struggle up two flights of stairs with luggage. The room had access to a small balcony although you could not see the water from their. The room was spacious with 1 double bed and 1 single. The shower whilst tiny was adequate and clean. Location was the best as it was literally 10 steps to the vaporetto (Water Bus) as well as walking distance to the train station and the Cannareggio ghetto. Breakfast was good and the lady assisting us remembered our preference and was endlessly patient with all the various tourists. The receptionist also very very helpful in providing information.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location to explore Venice. Easy to access and find from station or bus drop off. Clean and well staffed hotel. Will recommend to family and friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In late April, our room on the top floor (304, window looks out from the front facade of the hotel) was hot with the windows shut. Like, sleep-naked-after-a-shower-without-any-blankets-and-it's-still-uncomfortable hot. I opened the window to let a breeze in, but it just let in annoying mosquitoes and lots of echoing street noise: footfalls and heels clacking, loud people, luggage wheels, boat motors, etc., pretty much all night. The AC did NOT work, and there was a red/brown residue all over the control panel of the unit, as if a previous occupant who had bloody fingers from squishing mosquitoes tried desperately to get it to work so they could close the window and get some sleep. It was telling that when I looked outside the window during the night, all the windows on the residential building next door were closed -- it's simply too noisy to leave them open (they must have working AC). It didn't help that the pillows were the hardest I've ever encountered -- it felt literally like sleeping on a couple of thick paperback books inside a pillowcase. Beds are also quite firm, in case that bothers you. I missed breakfast (8-10), as I was too drained to go. My sleepless night derailed the entire next day.

    Staff was friendly, easy to find location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Employees were mediocre, bugs made their way into the room.

    Excellent location (use Apple Maps for finding it, NOT Google Maps which has the wrong location). Great view (it's Venice, everything is a great view!), decent sized room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator was so old and slow, taking the stairs was better and saved time but i wasn't a big problem since its only 2 floors.

    The breakfast was amazing, had almost everything needed for a small amount of money The staff was great and very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was rather uncomfortable but ok for a few nights. Breakfast was plentiful but would of been nice to have more variety.

    Location location location, right outside the vaporetto stop. Excellent value for money. Lovely spacious rooms and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been good to have shower gel and conditioner, not just shampoo, but that's our one, very small request for next time.

    Great location, just 1 minute from waterbus stop on Grand Canal. Good size, comfortable bedroom with balcony. Friendly staff and service. Overall, great value for money. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough room for self service breakfast bar so was served by a waitress which is unusual. No problem if you wanted more.

    Very close to the water bus and next to the Grand Canal. The busy shopping areas was just a few minutes walk away with plenty of eateries around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location (waterbus San Marcuolo in 50m and 10 min walk from railway station Santa Lucia, San Marko in 30 min by foot and 15-20 min walking to piazza Rome where u can catch airport bus). Breakfast is very good. Wonderful canal view from window

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nice location - you can reach it by walk from St. Lucia station - only 1,2km. Also just in front of vaporetto stop. From hotel to San Marco palace you have only 30min walk - so if you stay in this hotel there no need to use vaporetto or boat taxi. Staff was frendly and nice, as it was coffee. Breakfast - classic Italian.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The heating system is noisy though. The lift is narrow and slow but this is more funny than annoying. We would have enjoyed a bit more diversity in the breakfast such as oranges, different kinds of breads and cheese, fruit salad as well as a better caffè. It would be nice if the management could pay a little more attention to the environment, such as not overheating the bedrooms and breakfast room, or pushing the heaters to the maximum while the windows are open.

    The hotel is very conveniently located about 30m from the stop of the Vaporetto line 1 on Grand Canal. This line is linking Piazzale Roma where the buses arrived with the train station and Plaza San Marco. The hotel is just on a nice little square and a canal. This area is nice. Walking a bit north, there are several very nice and authentic restaurants and bars. The lobby, room and bathroom were fine. The breakfast is ok. Be careful that if you enter the address in Google map you end up in a place 500m away near the Jewish ghetto. “Ca` San Marcuola” works in Google map but not with “Locanda” before.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was on the ground floor, which meant that unfortunately it was nosy as it was near reception. When we were there it was very cold in Venice and we weren't aware at first that we needed to ask reception to turn on the heating in the room, but we asked it the following nights. Also, not a bad thing per se, but bear in mind that breakfast is served, rather than a buffet. I would have loved the option for us to order something hot, such as eggs and sausages.

    The staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and spacious and breakfast was good, with cold meats, cheese and jams and it was replenished as we asked. The best bit was the location as it is 2 minutes away from a vaporetti stop and near Strada Nuova, where there are food shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not quite enough wattage in the ceiling fixture in the room, but we did have enough light to see.

    This isn't a fancy hotel, but it does give great value for the money. Venice properties are rather expensive for what you get, and we prefer the Ca San Marcuola for it's value. Breakfast is ample; the staff are friendly, and the location adjacent to a vaporetto stop can't be beat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needs more chairs in the room (at least 1). The storage for suitcases (after check-out) was a total mess. Leaving and picking-up the suitcases should be supervised by staff. One of the waitresses was grumpy and non-customer-service person.

    Balcony in the room with view to a canal. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Through the simple door of our room we heard any movement in the stairway. Fortunately there were quiet and decent guests in the hotel. There is some boat traffic on the side canal in the morning hours (saturday). But nothing that bad, it´s Venice - no cars, just boats.

    Very good location just 50 meters from vaporetto stop "San Marcuola" on Canal Grande. Easily accessible from the central bus station on Piazalle Roma (stop of shuttle bus from Venice airport). Very friendly and helpful staff, nice breakfast. Only 2 minutes from main shoppping street - app. 20 minutes walk from the very centre. For our 2-days trip perfect. In cold months (like end of October was) ask for switching on the heating for your particular room at the reception desk. We enjoyed the superior room with balcony over a side canal and big and lovely Venetian chandelier on the ceiling.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Convenient and quiet location. As I had developed back problems before my arrival I was particularly pleased there was a lift (which cannot be taken for granted in a relatively cheap pension). Breakfast was more than adequate and the coffee was very good. Near water bus stop to the airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The welcome on arrival could have been slightly better. Our room backed onto the lift shaft so it was very noisy whenever someone used the lift. Luckily not many people did whilst we were there.

    The location was perfect an easy 15 to 20 minute walk from the bus station. There are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops in the area and the vaporetto stop is very close to the hotel. The room was cosy and clean. Breakfast was good, typical continental style. The staff on reception were helpful and arranged an early breakfast for us on our day of departure which was appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The orange juice in Italy is usually wonderful, but here the orange juice seemed watered down.

    The coffee was great, we had the same breads, cheese and salami every morning that was enough to start our day!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast setup was strange - room was very tightly packed, only one Croissant per person, etc. Television channels were not clear.

    Location was great. Facilities were good. Beds comfortable. Balcony was overlooking a boat lane.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We left very early before breakfast time on our last day there, and we didn't get anything to go nor we could get breakfast earlier than the time stipulated for it.

    The hotel is a mere 10-minutes walk from the train station of Venezia Santa Lucia. You do need to traverse 2 bridges but they have ramps (sort of) and you in regular shape and not carrying too much luggage, should not be a problem at all. I strongly recommend this option against the vaporetto, because the boat is slow and expensive - and walking Venice is always a pleasure. So, the location of the hotel is Very Good! The elevator is kindof funny, being closer to an industrial little lift, but does the job of taking you up and down just right (specially when you reach with your bags). The breakfast is somewhat basic but enough for us. But beware it's an European breakfast with no fresh fruits or hot dishes; it includes juices, coffee and tea, pastries and cold meat (ham, cheese, etc). The staff is nice and welcoming and our room was quiet and accommodating. Our room was for 3 people and it had a balcony!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The major concern centered around the lack of air-conditioning. Canals are noisy places, with boats travelling by at all hours of the day and night, which means the windows must be closed to get a good night's rest. The air conditioning that was promised, ended up being a fan, which did circulate the air, but it was not possible to control the temperature. The room was too warm. The second night, we were informed that other guests in the hotel has requested heat in their room, which meant we too would be getting heat when we turned on our fan. When I read that there is air conditioning in the room, I expect that I will be in control of the temperature. I would not have booked this hotel if there was no proper air-conditioning. The days were still very warm, even though it was October. If there is some requirement in Italy to turn off air-conditioning by certain calendar dates, that should be noted for prospective guests. We found the main staff members to be ill-suited to hospitality work and am sorry to say I would not really recommend this hotel.

    We enjoyed the location for its accessibility to the water transport on the Grand Canal. The surrounding walking area was quite quiet as it was off the main thoroughfare.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing breakfast was good and very speedy service!

    It was super easy to get to and very close to the Casino Vaparatto. There is a very small bland looking church across the street and once inside it was gorgeous!! If anyone stays there they need to wander inside the mosaics and decorations were outstanding. We had to leave before breakfast a couple of days and they made up a snack breakfast for us the night before. I would suggest giving them more heads up than we did. But the evening clerk was very kind and did what he could. Beds were comfortable and the atmosphere was delightful we were in room 202

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was not long enough for my husband. We had a great view from our room but we had boats up and down all hours. Wifi was not good so I went out to the reception area to send emails.

    Location was fantastic. Nice hot showers. Comfy bed; except for the lenghth. Staff were friendy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very hard and uncomfortable. Shower was tiny, a man would have trouble showering.

    The location was great, easy to get to train station and ferry. We had a lovely balcony and room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very slow and the selection was monotosiously boring, and they kept running out of natural yoghurt. I usually love my morning coffee but could drink the coffe served here. We had a superior room with a canal view. Unfortunately it was very noisy due to water traffic and people coming and going.

    The hotel was clean and close to the vaporatto (water ferry). Hotel reception was friendly and helpful. The hotel entrance was charming and there was a 24 hour reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been a kettle in the room with some basic tea and coffee.

    Basically a clean room and shower toilet with a continental breakfast. It is close to the waterbus and waddy to reach with heavy suitcases.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To me the stuff was not that friendly. Water from the AC was coming right in front of the door complained but no one cared had to put towel. locker didn't work complained too. Only location is good

    Other than location nothing is recmmended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower is very small.

    The room was nice with a comfortable bed. The included breakfast was a bread/pastry basket, yogurt, cheese and meats. It is pretty easy to walk to many places from this hotel. It takes a few minutes to walk to the vaporetto stop to easily get to many places in Venice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If we paid half of what we did I wouldn't leave such a bad comment but we paid 473 euros for a 3 night stay we were absolutely robbed. It's a 1 star at the most our room was very dated, the mattress was as hard as the floor, the walls are paper thin so you can hear everything (and your neighbours on the toilet), the tv didn't work and although our room was cleanish - we had other people's hair in the shower and on the bed linen. I'm certain you can get better value for your money elsewhere make sure you look around!

    The staff were friendly and the hotel is in a good spot

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Very good continental breakfast. Helpful and kind staff. The hotel has great character. Excellent location. Easy walk from the train station. Next to a Vaporreto stop. But also is off the main strip somos more quiet location. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Venice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's just a small thing... but the dishes at the breakfast don't have to be thrown sooo loudly ;)

    The Spot is just perfect, the Locanda i located very very close to the Vaporreto and the Grand Canal. It's also in our favourite part of Venice - Canneregio. The rooms are very nice and clean, perfect to rest after a long day. Very good value for money also when you compare it to other hotels in Venice. Thank you for our time!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think Venice is becoming more and more a ghost town with not that many people actually living there. You notice that especially at night. But of course this has nothing to do with the hotel,...other than it means it's quiet at night.

    The location was great. It was easily reachable from the train station but still away from the real busy places. Cannaregio is worth exploring especially at night. There are quiet a few trattorias and small ristorantes that are not to be found by google or yelp but soo good. Gotta get away from the main drag and walk north towards the lagoon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bit noisy street in the morning - street cleaning and supply delivery trolleys (but you can always close windows to prevent it) Rare drops of water from floor above in the bathroom.

    Location - Super easy to get to: just the second Vaporetto stop from the main bus station and actually 30meters from the stop (no staircase, no bridges). Walking distance St. Marco (30 mins), Rialto Bridge (15 mins) Hotel/room - nice venetian style with touches of luxury. Room was large enough, private bathroom larger than average. Corner room with views to both canal and the church San Marcuola was just amazing. Breakfast - was rich enough served by very skilled and helpfull staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It proposes to choose a stay without breakfast, delicious coffee, but not necessarily breakfast. Patisseries and cafes in a close location.

    Good location. Rooms large like on hotels in Venice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing which could have made life easier is if the hotel could supply more in depth directions to the hotel. From the airport boat stop it's actually 5 minutes walking distance, looking for a water bus stop did not help, as it was not clearly visible, however using shops as knowing where to turn might help i.e. on the main street look for Tim Tim Shop and turn facing. Just a suggestion as it could help visitors. Possible a little to far from main locations for those who struggle with mobility. However, not an issue if your happy wandering and exploring. Great hotel.

    Excellent value, attentive staff, very clean, good contential breakfast. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very uncomfortable. It was inclined inwards so you would fall to the middle of it which is nice if you want to hug your partner but less nice if you want to sleep. The room was decorated in very old fashion and everything was used out. You had to ask the reception to switch on your Air Condition. Hotel switch it of to save money. Which is OK but you have to remember asking switch on AC. The room had only 1 chair. We were 2. No Sofa. Had to sit on bed to watch TV. It was cozy. After all it is Venice...

    We stayed 2 nights. The place is near the Grand Canal bus station, this is very convenient. The room is fairly large, the bathroom OK. The breakfast was nice. The Staff nice too. It was a fair place to stay. The Air-condition was GREAT !!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows and mattresses were very firm.

    It was very close to the boat dock and shopping. Once you figure it out, very easy to navigate around the property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is perfect. It is easy to reach by walking from the train station(Santa Lucia) in around 15 minutes, it is also just by a vaporetto stop which is great for going to San Marco area and plus it is in a very quiet neighbourhood. We loved our room which had windows looking to the small canal next to the hotel. It was a real pleasure staying in such a room in front of which small boats pass by once in a while. The room was also clean and quite big (we were 3 people). The breakfast in the morning was rich and tasty. Lastly, the personnel was kind and helpful. I really recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only down side I had was the mattress was extremely hard.

    The hotel was quaint, and in a great location. Just outside was a Vaporetto Stop (water shuttle). They served a small continental breakfast in the lobby. The bathroom had a stand up shower, toilet, and bidet. The room also had an air conditioner unit. They were very willing to hold our luggage, before check-in, so we could spend our day exploring Venice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom were very clean. The neighborhood was very quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, I don't like that I am not in Venice now.

    It was a beautiful location could watch the gondolas from our room window. Staff gave a history of the building, they were so friendly and helpful. We will return one day. Walking distance to everything, even with a senior. Train station very close.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traditional old Italian hotel. Very clean! Big bathroom and air conditoning that actually works! Location was perfect! If you're traveling by waterbus, get off at Mercuola stop (casino stop) and go to the right of the church that's right there at the stop. The hotel entrance is right there on your right. You can get off at the train station stop (Ferrovia) also but it is pretty confusing finding the hotel from there, I got really lost.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent airco, very good location next to vaporetti stop, frendly staff, nice breakfast included with cheese, bacon, salami and good croissants. Excellent value for money. Nice family rooms for 4.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps some more cereal options or eggs for breakfast. Beds a little hard but still manageable.

    The hotel had a great location, 50m to the front door, small family friendly hotel, all amenities close by but still far away from the crowds. Giuseppe was very friendly and helpful with directions. The ladies at breakfast were very nice and obliging. Nice that our beds were made and fresh towels each day. I requested a room on the ground floor, they did accommodate this.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ca 10-15 min walking from railway station or bus stop (or 1-2 stops by water bus). Cold Italian breakfast available. An old house but with lift. San Marcuola-Casino water bus stop next doors. Coop supermarket round the corner. Lots of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No eggs for breakfast. No tea/coffee making facilities and no facial tissue paper in the room. Shower water temperature becomes cold suddenly.

    Near the vaporetto stop.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the ground floor and we couldn't open the blinds because then everything in the room would be visible from the street , that made us feel claustrophobic, and we had no day light in the room. Very uncomfortable, hard ,spring bed that dipped in the middle, 3 nights I was there I didn't get a good night sleep, bedding didn't get changed at all in those 3 days there. Limited options at the breakfast as they are serving certain amount of bread and coffee per person, staff at the breakfast quite rude , first morning the woman said we can't have a breakfast because she haven't set the table for 2 people! !! Room needs updating, stained top cover on the bed and broken hairdryer in bathroom. Most of the staff wasn't interested in customer service. Very noisy every evening because our room was close to the reception and we could hear all the people coming and going.

    The location was good , just two vapporeto stops from train station and just around the corner to the grand canal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a really lovely stay here. The location was perfect and very quiet. The breakfasts were delicious with a good selection of food. Everyone was incredibly helpful and polite. We will definitely be returning to this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy in the morning, maybe for vaporetto stop.

    Location is just perfect, calm and nice place. Vaporeto stop is in two steps. View to the grand canal, from some rooms. Nice breakfast and service in the kitchen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Very good location, next to a Vaporetto stop. Hotel decoration charming with a Venitian touch. Very good breakfast. Friendly staff. Very silent room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok but not any thing to write home about. A croissant, some ham and cheese, roll, packets of french toast, biscuits jam etc. Yogurts and fruit were also on offer.

    The location was great, just a few steps from the vaporetto stop (line 1 &2) and a few minutes walk from shops and restaurants.We had a family room which for Venice was a very good size, a king size bed and 2 singles. The room was clean, i thought the bed was fine but my husband and kids said they were too firm. The room overlooked the canal which at times was noisy but the boats pasted quickly and i quite liked it! This is Venice and if you want a room over looking a canal you will get some noise. Air con worked fine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little noisy from Vaporetto pulling in and out during the night ( This cannot not be helped)

    All of the staff at the Locanda Ca' San Marcuola were excellent from the time my party and I arrived till the time we left, The very, very sweet lady who prepared our breakfast each day made sure we were able to eat on the day of our departure because we had to leave early to get to the airport. Maria ordered a porter to be at the hotel the night before to puck up our luggage and Nick made sure all our luggage was properly handled as we ate. This was the end of a memorable Cruz on board the Holland Cruz line. Thanks to the wonderful staff at the hotel Johnny, Christine and I all agree we will one day return to the hotel. Loren Fitzgerald

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a lot of fairly loud noise in the mornings, as it is located near a busy street.

    Very good localization - just around the corner from a vaporetto stop and a short walk away from many restaurants and shops. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was so small, as part of the elevator is in part of the room. The elevator is very odd. You have to push the button very hard all the way through, and it is very slow.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The second night the desk attendant asked us to turn in our key as we were leaving which was very odd and no other desk attendants had us to do that. Another desk personnel gave us directions to the vaporetta which was totally out of the way.

    The breakfast was nice however we couldn't take advantage of it the second day since we had to leave by 7 a.m. The room was very nice and the bathroom was lovely though the shower was small by American standards.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent value for money. You get what you pay for. Super clean room, ok breakfast, helpful reception staff. The location is super, especially when you travel with a toddler and you need everything (vaporetto included) in hand. I would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For breakfast they could offer something more - like eggs and salad and perhaps the serving stuff speak at least basic English? I am not English myself but if I travel abroad I always get myself around using English as it's normally used in most capital cities.

    Our room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Lovely friendly staff and option to leave the luggage in the hotel after checking out was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed took a little getting used to, being quite hard, but was OK after the first night. The WiFi was OK, but a little slow at times. The breakfast is standard Italian-style: rolls, cheese, meats, nothing cooked, but plentiful enough. Fine if that's what you're expecting.

    The location is very good for getting to parts of Venice - you are literally steps away from a useful vaporetto stop. We had a huge room (202) with a very impressive Murano glass chandelier and a balcony with a view over a side canal. The bathroom was very good. The service was friendly and it's reasonable value for money overall.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great place. There is water bus right next to the hotel. The staff is very nice. The breakfast are great. the room is very clean and comfortable. Will definitely recommend others to stay in this hotel when they visit Venice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was average, I was expecting more diversity, taking into consideration the feed backs from Booking. Also, being near elevator, it was sometime a bit noisy, but nothing really bothering.

    Excellent location, room was small, but very clean, bed was comfortable. I would strongly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    * We stayed for 2 nights only, but maybe closet space won't be enough for guests that have stuff for longer stay. * We got water side room but we we're also beside the elevator so I got awoken one night due to the noise. Win some, lose some I guess. * Not the fastest wifi.

    Family with 11 and 15 yr old kids. I booked San Marcuola because of the 24H reception and the possibility of canal side room. Not all rooms are along the canal but San Marcuola made my wish come true! All within my budget. During breakfast, we came in late so we got the table outside the mess hall. The table happens to have a canal view. It was the morning of the carneval water parade that started at the nearby SM/Casino vaporetto stop, so gondolas with parade participants in costumes were passing by, every now and then. So we got a nice preview of the parade while enjoying breakfast. Sweet, right? Breakfast was sufficient, with a rationed plate of ham and cheese, bread and soft croissant, juice, coffee. Not buffet but served, and amount is enough for us, and for someone with bigger appetite,maybe one could request for more. When we asked for some more Nutella packets, it was sweet that they came back with loads. No warm bread toast though, or maybe we just did not ask. Room was clean, space is well proportioned for us 4. Bed is comfortable for me. I wish there was duvet, because it took a while before I got warm with just the thin cotton sheets and fleece layer, but the others in my group where just fine with it. Convenient that there is mini fridge with soda bar. Staff were nice, attentive on the whole. They replied to my booking.com messages/requests in time. On our last night, we decided to trace the walk from hotel to the Guglie water bus stop to prepare for our Alilaguna boat trip to the airport the next day. We we're pleasantly surprised that the main street towards the Guglie stop has a good night buzz and small street market going on. Wish we had time to sample the restaurants. Managed to get a gelatto fix though. It is probably the cheapest and most generous serving you can get in Venice at 3€ for 2 scoops. Guglie stop was just 7min walk away, and the Alilaguna bus came on-time and actually arrived at the airport early.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location location, I love this neighborhood. Hotel staff is super helpful. Breakfast is lovely. I have used this hotel many times now. Convenient to a vaporetto stop also. I will always return.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing.

    Staff were FABULOUS. Felt they could not do more for us and truly wanted to help. Location is perfect, away from the crowds but close to Grand Canal (20 metres to a vaporetto stop), close to train station. We wven had a canal right outside our bedroom window which was very atmospheric. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi really didn't work well enough to be useful and the walls are very thin. You can hear the people in the next room talk clearly.

    The location was very good. The staff was very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Fantastic location...just so convenient. Beautiful building, very helpful staff. Still pinching myself that I picked such a nice place to stay for 4 nights as the first trip to Venice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    fairly limited breakfast

    Excellent location right next to vaporetto stop and near good selection of restaurants and shops. Very friendly staff, good size rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window opened to the piazza, so late in the evening the revelers woke us up...

    Great location, very easy to find and accessible to all of the sites and experiences

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No obvious air conditioning - details say that it is in every room but we couldn't find it. Canal very noisy from early in the morning so perhaps a room away from the canal side of the hotel would have been better.

    Loved the location and the room was nice and spacious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no extra pillows available and very few and poor quality clothes hangers in the wardrobe.

    From our arrival at the hotel until checking out the staff were surberb. Nothing was too much trouble and always with a smile. The location was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Locanda Ca' San Marcuola traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: