Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Locanda del Ghetto

Cannaregio 2893, Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy

#196 of 316 B&Bs and Inns in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 380 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was sparse. We chose this property partially because of the Kosher breakfast. It turned out to be coffee, a box of cornflakes, 2 rolls and a pastry. Some of the staff wasn't vey friendly but some were very helpful.

    The room was beautiful, spacious and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minbar was actually a "micro" bar and didn't work. Pillows were hard.

    Staff were very friendly and accomodating. Breakfast rolls came from the nearby kosher bakery. Hotel turns off light sensors for Shabbat and keeps public areas lit. Location inside the ghetto is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was a problem with heating the water for coffee on friday afternoon so the man at the desk bought me a coffee from the restaurant next door. Much appreciated and very kind gesture

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing and helpful staff, speak English, place is very clean and perfectly organized. The view from the room is just stunning. There is plenty of parking space. The food is great, the owner makes amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The payment included a breakfast that the truth was not really one. Not tasty coffee, grapefruit juice, one roll with butter and Korson. they had to say that this was the breakfast and then I would not choose to include breakfast because I also paid for the meal and spent every morning money for breakfast outside.

    Very nice and courteous staff with personal attention Excellent location Large room with a beautiful balcony, comfortable bed and good tub All just fine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we liked the location and the ghetto was an oasis from the city. It was overcrowded with tourists and the cruise ships make the place difficult to get around. The tide was high and part of the city was flooded and added to the difficulty of getting around. Did not take the vaporettos as they were crowded and full. The city is very expensive and the crowds make it hard to visit.

    The hotel is located at a 15 minute walk from the train station. I was not prepared for the walk as we had some heavy suitcases since we were traveling for more than a month. Therefore we needed to hire a porter to take the luggage to the hotel and as we had to cross two bridges with steps it was a negotiating process at the station to bargain for a porter. The hotel is located in the Jewish Ghetto which is a lovely and quiet square and next door to a very fine restaurant. The view from the room was a small canal and bridge to the ghetto.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is very minimal, the staff were very rude. We had to pay city tax (which happens in most cities) but my brother had stayed in a hotel across the road and paid 2 euro city tax while I had to pay 4 euro, when I mentioned this to the receptionist, he was very rude and ignorant as if I was stupid for even asking why there would be a difference in the price. The room did not have a kettle and overall was not happy with the service.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was adequate but mediocre.

    The staff was wonderful and very helpful at all times. The location was convenient and our room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For its price, comfort and location, the experience left no negative traces...

    Locanda del Ghetto is located in the heart of the Jewish Ghetto. Housed in a very old building, the two-floor hotel is part of a Ghetto home that has a synagogue (currently not active) on its top floor. The entrance is nice, the rooms clean, with a friendly staff and a historic atmosphere. One should not expect a five-star hotel and there are corners here and there that need a bit of fresh paint, but I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, especially with windows that opened onto a small balcony (room 19) that looked over the Ghetto square. Perfect for lovers of quiet, historically-rich areas, and for those with kosher requirements there are synagogues and kosher restaurants in the area. When I arrived (in early December) the room quite late in the night, the room was very cold but the staff immediately took care of it with an extra heater and blankets that did the trick.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just one minor thing. We kept flooding the bathroom when we took a shower. Instead of a a shower curtain or solid door, our tub had a swinging glass panel that had a 1-2" gap from the top of the tub. We'd never encountered this type of tub before so we didn't know how to do it "correctly". After a couple of days, we folded a towel and put it between the gap, which reduced some of the flooding. An instruction manual/sign for us stupid American tourists would be helpful for next time ;)

    The front desk staff were super helpful and friendly, and the location in the heart of the Jewish ghetto really suited us. Thanks again for all the directions and recommendations on kosher food in the area! Reading the other reviews on booking.com, we knew what to expect with regards to a) needing to leave the key at the front desk and b) the included breakfast being slightly rushed. We didn't want to linger over a long breakfast - we wanted to get out and see Venice - so that was fine :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out time was too early. Breakfast did not have much vegetarian options.

    The owners were very nice to let us keep our luggage and get freshened up while collecting it back. Also, guided us really well for sightseeing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too bad the elevator is not working.

    Since space seems to be at a premium in the properties we used while in Europe, This suite was very roomy and had many amenities. All in all a very nice stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff; quiet, comfortable rooms; located in a lovely, family-friendly campo. Very close to, and with easy access to both the train and bus-to-the-airport stations. Fourth time staying here - hope to return again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast. Some fresh fruit and a better choice of cereals and rolls/pastries at breakfast. The same two white rolls and a massive jam filled croissant every morning and 1 packet of cornflakes between two people was not inspiring.

    Location - hotel in quiet spot but close enough to walk to other attractions. Close to one of the stops on the Aligulana airport service and the water buses. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The signs about these strange rules seemed a bit unnecessary, such as only 25 minutes to sit in the breakfast room, or late check out is NEVER possible.

    The staff was helpful and present. The breakfast fitted our needs perfectly. Andrea was very nice and helpful, and we felt at home. They took care of our shabbat needs and let us store our luggage after checkout. Will recommend to friends!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No Tea and Coffee making facilities in the room

    Breakfast was simple. Coffee/tea and juice. Croissant,and brioche. But I like a simple light breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very simple, it's not buffet, it's per person (3 breads with minipacks of butter jams honey, besides the coffee/milk/tea selection, one kind of supermarket juice, some mini toast packs and one box of corn flakes if I remember well). The big black stain next to the AC exit made me think about how clean the system actually was... I actually don't watch it and I don't think anybody cares anymore, but for those who care, the tv is very very small.

    Nice and friendly staff. Location is not close to the touristic things but this is GOOD because it's close to public transportation (close to the train station and water transportation) and the touristic areas are crazy packed with people, so the hotel is quiet and protected even if you have to do a 30 minutes walk or use a vaporetto to go to the attractions. Room and bathroom with good size. Very good water pressure. Big supermarket close by. Good wifi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    We were a bit disappointed with the booked transfer to get us from the airport to the hotel as we were dropped of at 'S Roma bus station with no knowledge or direction how to reach the hotel from there. I think in future it might be better to provide a map when booking up this service. or to arrange a hotel porter to meet us at the drop off point. The shower screen in the bathroom would not lock in place and kept moving around. This meant that when we tried to shower, the water kept spilling over the bath and flooding the floor. Even though I didn't mind paying. I was not made aware when booking that there was an additional Tax charge for the first five days of our stay which we did not budget for.

    The staff were really helpful and friendly. They all went out of their way to make our stay as perfect as possible. The size and portions of breakfast was just right for our requirements and was always served with a smile. The room we stayed in was spacious and provided a lot of light, with a good view of the square outside. Easy access to the main railway station and taxi boat services. Good Value for money. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was disappointing, with very limited choice and not very substantive.

    Overall it was a great place to stay, very quaint, and friendly staff who were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above, dusty room, things in the bathroom didn't work and noisy bar preparation too early in the morning

    Pleasantly surprised once inside as the exterior was a little shabby. The room and bathroom were a great size but there was a thick layer of dust on the stone wall over the bed, and the shower screen just didn't work which meant the bathroom flooded each time we showered. We had a room at the front overlooking the square which was lovely but unfortunately between 6.45 and 7am every morning the owner of the bar below dragged his tables and chairs out making and insane noise waking us up every time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for what you get but that's more of a Venice issue than specific to this hotel.

    Breakfast was basic but good - chocolate croissant, bread rolls and jam and coffee. They were also very accommodating and let us check in early at 12 once the room was ready.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from any sightseeing and was hard to find. Couldn't control room temp, had to open and close windows. The room had bed bugs.

    Had a canal view as requested.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location in Cannaregio area, close to station, ferry and restaurants, only a short stroll away from Rialto and San Marco, room overlooking canal, good breakfast and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be a bit more varied and individual, as every guest is offered the same repertoire.

    We stayed in the Junior suite on 1st fllor with small balcony. Although facing the main quare of Ghetto, it was very quiet during the night. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the (very good) German speaking gentleman. The Locanda is definately a good option for Venice visitors. The location is a bit off the beaten track, which makes it even more attractive. Very good restaurants (Anice Stellato, 40 Ladroni) and more and more emerging bars along the Miseridordia (like Al Timon) are within walking distance. If you are interested in culture, you find the Jewish Museum just next to the Locanda and the most beautiful Church, Santa Maria dell'Orto housing works of Tintoretto, is just a pittoresque short walk across the canals away.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was awful, no warm food, with limited items and of poor quality. The »waiter« is unkind and rough.

    Small hotel with a good atmoshere. Excellent location. Comfortable bed in a large pleasant room with terrace.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness. Only clean where you could see. Under bed very dusty. Room not cleaned thoroughly each day so dirt gathered on the floor

    Location. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was quite simple (tea/coffee, cereal and some bread), but it was absolutely sufficient for us. And considering the prices in Venice having breakfast included is a perk of its own!

    Location is absolutely perfect! It's where Venetians actually live and work, way less touristy than the rest of the city, but just 15-20 min walk to all the main attractions. The room was lovely and quite spacious. Bed was really big and comfy. Loved the shower! The staff was always very cheerful and helpful. They even printed out the schedule for the airport bus for us! Also, if you're coming from Marco Polo airport (and it's not high season), consider taking Alilaguna. There's a stop not far from the hotel and you'll arrive in the heart of the Venice in some 25 min! Overall, great stay and value for money. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    In a country that invented the espresso, having Nescafe-like watery coffee in the morning and dried bread did not excite - after the first day of our 9-day stay we had breakfast at Mejer round the corner. .

    Good-sized room and bathroom and large solid bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely horrible breakfast luckily there is Majer's around the corner. Staff pleasant but not really friendly. Stayed there for 4 nights and couldn't get any of the towels changed.

    Good location. Easy access to transport and good local restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only little boxes of cornflakes for breakfast. No eggs, yogurt or meats/cheeses. Yogurt and fruit would be easy/ simple and nice.

    Coffee was decent. Bread rolls were good. Very quiet. Lift was helpful and roomier than most in Europe. Had no problem with internet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean but very basic. Could have used a touch o decorating.

    Very helpful staff, comvenient and comfortable for Shabbat, room overlooking a canal.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked the AC to be cooler but it was fine at night.

    If you are looking to station the ghetto this is an amazing location. Also they serve a kosher breakfast if needed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would not change a thing.

    The location was great - inside the Jewish Ghetto and a few minutes from Gamgam restaurant. The Jewish Museum was also two doors down and we right across the courtyard from Chabad. We took a junior suite which had a patio so we could sit outside and enjoy the surroundings. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff was very nice. This property made our stay in Venice very memorable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast one small box of cornflakes to share between 2 people! and only one tea bag.

    What a great find in a lovely quiet square away from all the tourist action. Room was lovely just wished I had a balcony.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't great but we weren't really expecting much anyway. The hair dryer in the room was awful and didn't work.

    The bed was very comfy and the location was great. Staff were all very friendly and helpful! Wifi worked really well and so did the air con.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast pretty limited. Last stop on way to airport, therefore hard to get a seat on return. Strict rules (nothing to do with religious prohibitions or that it's located in the Jewish Ghetto) severely so at times and over pretty simple things (e.g. zero tolerance over late check out) readily available at other hotels/guest houses.

    Staff and owner very friendly and helpful. Excellent quiet location with a great deal of historical interest, nearby affordable shops and restaurants and a Vaporetto stop just 5 minutes walk. First stop on way from airport, therefore shortest journey

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was dull and could be more delicious and interesting Bathroom needed some maintenance

    Location very good Friendly staff in the Breakfast area

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Set breakfast.

    The bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little spare and the coffee could have been a bit better.

    Great out of the way location but easily accessible via water bus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very simple.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    זThis hottel located in the Ghetto.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast should have more variety with fresh food such as vegetables and cheese.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great area for restaurants and shops. Good access to ferry.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms, great location. The breakfast consisted of kosher cereal, rolls and croissant so that was great for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small room for 3 people

    in the heart of jewish ghetto next to synagogues and kosher restaurants nice staff kosher breakfest

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    hard to find the location

    Only few menu of breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is too poor

    location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room is not comfortable

    The location is good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the shower

    extra big bed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice and staff is very friendly, it's a good experience for us !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel needs some renovation.

    Very good location to take the vaporetto to the hotel from piazzale Roma.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor only coffee, bread and some fruit, the coffee was cold... etc.

    The location and the staff were really nice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed covers could have been cleaner, facilities for coffee/tea om the room would have been a nice gesture.

    Perfect ambiance, very friemdly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    lack of tea & Coffee facilities in the room

    cleanliness of the facilities, the friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good size room with large bathroom. Breakfast was good. Nice, quiet location and front desk staffed 24/7.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was awful

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very weak. No international news TV channel.

    Courteous staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very sparse (bread rolls with jam, a croissant and cornflakes).

    Great location. Room very spacious, clean and comfortable. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff wasn't great, room was expensive for what you get.

    Location was descent, a little far from major attractions but close from train station and restaurants, shops restaurants etc. room was clean...TV size is ridiculus...didn't know they made such small tv anymore..

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Boring breakfast no choice, same each day, 2 tasteless bread rolls plus one cardboard croissant, lukewarm water for tea. Expensive for Italy, but not for Venice.

    Very clean and tidy comfortable room, friendly staff. Quiet position but within easy walking distance of a variety of restaurants, shops etc. grand canal (for vaporetto) - 5min, rail station - 10min, Rialto Bridge - 15min and St Mark's sq. 20-25min walk.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Directions sent us to the wrong hotel so be sure to use the hotel web site rather than google.

    Very close to a varetta stop, and an easy walk to nearby restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could be better (cheap orange juice for example) Building is a bit old but it's a problem very common at Venice.

    Very good staff, very pleasant and calm district

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast is less than simple, almost not worth the trouble of going there. it's a pity, as with a tiny effort it could be improved, but there seems to be no intention of that. hairdryer not working properly.

    the quiet location is very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff where very friendly and cheery. The facilities where very nice and description was accurate. It was located outside the busy areas which made it not so busy, but close to get onto the main paths. We do recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was no air conditioning (controls only enable the funs, no cold air). TV was really small (14" at most). The breakfast was simple but good except the lack of fruits and the hard croissant. No free WiFi.

    The square in front of the hotel is nice and charmed. Its very near to the train station. It is not so far from the main attractions (the walk is full of interesting places as well). A good restaurant beside the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Group

    WIFE was free only for 2 hours. Breakfast was average. We stayed 3 in one room and the single bad was very uncomfortable.

    good location, near to the station and near to the water bus stop.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner was rude and unpleasant when we complained about the SUB-STANDARD BREAKFAST. In his favor - he did finally provide better rolls with our coffee. But, in short, breakfast was pathetic. One-star hotels provide a better one. It is also outrageous that in 2015 that we were limited in our use of WiFi.

    The location was excellent. The staff was kind, friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    1 hour of wifi is hard to share amongst a few people

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. They went above and beyond to help us enjoy our trip by calling up local services to see if they could accommodate us.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Unfortunatelly there are no possibility for the ironing of the clothes.

    The location is wonderfull - it is in the middle of life but nevertheless quiet. The furniture and equipment of the hotel is splendid and well stiled. The personal is very friendly. Well I would like to come back in that hotel.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Couple

    We love this site of Venice: vivid with young people, but not overcrowded by "Tourists". We like also, though no Jews, the New Ghetto atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel was very nice and the staff were excellent. Rooms were very comfortable, very clean and very nicely decorated. As requested we had a view of the canal.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi reception was poor, but I found this to be the case in most of Italy where we traveled. Especially Venice with the thick brick walls. I was a little surprised to only receive 2 hours of free wifi but didn't need to use it in the end.

    The location was wonderful, quiet and easy to reach from the train station. The staff was very friendly, especially the afternoon gentleman who spent a lot of time explaining Venice to us and suggesting interesting, off the beaten path things for us to see. The room was very clean and quiet, and the breakfast nice.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed here for our honeymoon but were highly disappointed. We got put in a room on the ground floor, that looked like a storage room or maybe for the night staff to stay in. We had booked an air conditioned room, and we found that the air conditioning was not working when we got there. When we complained about it te morning shift receptionist had argued that it is in fact working when it was obviously not. Later on we complained again as it was unbearable, and the evening shift receptionist had admitted to the fact that it wasn't working and that they had orders a new one a couple of weeks ago and it has yet to arrive. We got put a fan in our room. That was not the air conditioned room I booked and payed for. We felt very let down and when we asked to get a different room they would not allow this. This ruined Venice for us and a major part of our honeymoon.

    The receptionist, Andrea

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They turn off the hot water in the evening...took a cold shower. The morning we left we wanted to take a shower in the morning. The water was ice cold at 8:00a.m. We asked them to please turn on the hot water...they said ok, 5 minutes. 20 minutes later, still no hot water...took another cold shower.

    Large size room and bathroom. Comfortable King size bed. Quiet, safe location. Secure building

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was not so good . Limited

    Great location for religious jewish requirements Staff very helpful . Balocony room well worth the extra Rooms at back overlook canal .

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Locanda del Ghetto traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: