Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore 4 stars

Piazza del Popolo 7, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy

#19 of 97 hotels in Montecatini Terme

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 183 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food on the dinner menu was extremely basic. Both at breakfast and dinner the waiting staff set tables and constantly hovered around with trolleys giving the impression that they wanted you to hurry up and leave the area.

    The location, the traditional decor particularly the foyer the staircase and seating areas, the facilities for sitting / swimming outside, the reception staff. Our room was lovely and opened out onto a big terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Terrible coffee, which is disappointing when you are in Italy. You can have much better coffee and breakfast in the restaurants across for the same price.

    Excellent location in the town centre and very close to everything. Used to be a very nice hotel - in the past.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel should have a modern fitness center! If I had taken a photo of some "fitness equipment that I saw on the corridor, you would be shocked! Breakfast choice is not as good/wide, especially for African visitors!

    Good location and wide, high roof rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was small, there was no telephone in the room and I was unable to turn on the air-condition.

    The location was great. You have access to the entire City from this central location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift & bathrooms are so dated, the rooms are dated. The mattress was hard enough to cause back ache every night. The breakfast was not great. It's pretty much self service for Everything. when I asked for hot water for tea it came in a jug not a teapot! Some of the cake and buscuits were stale 1st morning that I wasn't tempted after that. The fruit and juice wasn't good quality.

    The outside and entrance are grand and beautiful marble is everywhere in reception including the main staircase which is beautiful. Staff were helpful. The price is fair.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - does not deserve 4 stars (it is rather 2.5 stars) - location, directly at the main square means it is noisy in the evenings - breakfast, coffee and eggs are really really bad, other stuff is also of poor quality - mattresses seem to be from the 60s and not changed since then

    - very friendly staff - location, directly at the main square

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi could be faster and requires your email address or FB account to utilize.

    This hotel has enormous old world charm. We loved the grand entrance, marble staircase, high ceilings in our room with crown molding and chandelier and cozy bar downstairs with pink velvet sofas. We also enjoyed the deep soaking bathtub in the room during the cold weather storm we experienced while there. They made great restaurant recommendations and have their own hotel restaurant, too, which we did not have time to try. The bed was very comfortable, and we also appreciate that it is a non-smoking property. The breakfast had a lot of good choices including eggs, a rarity in many European hotel breakfasts.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street parking was difficult at times.

    Perfectly situated in Piazza di Poppolo, in the nice town of Montecatini. Very accessible to all of Tuscany. Easy 5 minute walk to Centro train station. Staff was extremely competent and helpful. Would use this facility again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some problems with wi-fi, parking on the street depends on availability, but it is free from 8 p.m. to 8 a.m. bathroom is a little outdated. you can hear the flushing of water from the upper floor. room furniture would need some refreshment.

    charming, romantic family run hotel in the city centre. Perfect location with a few restaurants just across the piazza. terme and park in the near. our room was quite large with comfortable soft bed. we stayed on night more than we planed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be of better quality and options. There were too many sweet cakes and tarts. Coffee wasn’t so great so we went to the nearby cafe. Other than that it was an excellent stay.

    The location is amazing. Perfectly located next to several shops and restaurants along with the towns histroical buildings right around the corner. The staff was attentive and provided us great customer service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality & variety of breakfast items could be better. More fresh fruit and better coffee.

    Very relaxed atomosphere. Friendly, helpful staff. Comfortable, clean surroundings. Excellent quality & value four course evening meal. Nice range of options, including meat and fish. The decor , although a little dated, had an inviting ambience. The pool is quite nice although cold in October. Convenient to rail station for day access to Florence and many other towns. Montecatini is one of the best places to visit and stay in Italy to experience the food and culture.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioning was off in hotel and it was too hot to sleep without open window but noise/music from bars prevented sleep until after 1am. Asked twice for a fan but no one got back about this. Disappointed not to be allowed to eat in the beautiful dining room with the chandelier as this was reserved for groups only.

    Grand hotel style, lovely public areas, good breakfast, very pleasant maid who kept our rooms spotless.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our shower kept spraying!!! Our room key was very heavy lol. We could have left it at the front desk but did not do so. Just a thought. Wished the pool was open early and closed later. We never had a chance to use it!

    Room was nice and large and we had access to the full balcony, which was nice. Location is excellent - right in the hub of shopping, restaurants and entertainment...just a step out the door! Transportation one block away and you could hop on the train to anywhere! I loved our waitress and the lady that helped us at the front desk every day! I had written down their names but lost them. They were excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Although the staff were friendly enough, those on Reception were not really helpful. Whenever we queried anything, or asked for information, we could never receive an immediate answer: it was always a case of them offering to find out what we needed and promising to get back to us, but then never doing so. The rooms were rather old-fashioned and lacked any comfortable chairs. The shower worked ok, but the shower head could not be adjusted. The air conditioning was very noisy (impossible to keep it on at night) and not very efficient. The lighting was very poor. There were not enough electrical sockets to keep pace with charging modern devices.

    Great position with easy access to rail station. Friendly staff. A 'Grand Hotel' of the old style, although now looking a bit tired, (compared to when we stayed there 7 years ago). The 2 meals we had in the restaurant were excellent and very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel exists for touring parties and they all leave on tours very early so we were woken by other guests about 6.am every day,for that reason we would never stay there again.The hotel staff were excellent but can do nothing about these inconsiderate guests.Montacatini is lovely but would recommend a small hotel that does not cater for large tour groups

    the location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit noisy as could hear other rooms pipes but very old lovely hotel so probably can't be helped.. No shallow end in swimming pool so children who can't swim cannot really use it.

    It was grand and the staff were lovely. Maids cleaned room really well and were also really friendly Courtyard beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms a little dated, but it had a lovely array of old furniture, the ceilings were beautiful.

    Lovely grand hotel, located in center so easy to find restaurants, easy walk upto funicular, look down on pavement for names of stars. A very well to do town so high end shops. We had breakfast which was more than enough choice being continental. Also had bacon and scrambled eggs. The swimming pool a real bonus, great to cool off in.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the reviews I read on-line beforehand almost put me off going - glad I ignored them

    The hotel is in a great location in the center of this beautiful town. It has a lovely charm with period detailing. The staff are extremely helpful and very obliging.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They shall renovate rooms, change furniture and have bigger showers !

    Staff was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty

    No a\c

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Breakfast. Eggs dry, overdone.

    Great location, best in town. Good restaurant for dinner with great service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud

    Very central

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet & mattresses on beds need to be replaced ..!!

    The location & staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was tough

    The location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were attentive and extreme helpful through the hotel. We have a room with a balcony which was really nice and had great views.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in the dining room would have been nice

    A fantastic location and helpful staff. The swimming pool was small but lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a great position. the staff is very kind

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area would benefit from more sun loungers

    Great location. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast

    nice building

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast need to improve

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower. More water was on the floor than in the tub. The bed was ok.

    Amazing staff!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location,friendly staff,clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air-conditioning in our room left much to be desired....

    Natalia at the front desk was always cheerful and always so helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor Internet connection in the room. Heating was not sufficient during my stay at the room in January whereas the outside temperature was below 0C

    Staff was excellent, always smiling and ready to serve.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only two things let the hotel down: Breakfasts offer limited choice and the bedrooms are in need of modernisation.

    Hotel service was faultless. The staff were friendly and approachable and really put themselves out to make our stay enjoyable. Some of the best service we have experienced, anywhere.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The beds were not very comfortable. And the room had a lot of noise from the street and the bar in the courtyard below.

    Wonderful location, friendly staff, good breakfast, perfect place to enjoy the ambience of the evenings. Spacious bathroom with tub (love!)

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms are very standard and beds quite soft. Bar service in the evening could be improved - one bar staff member on who frequently disappeared during the evening. On one occasion a bar staff member was quite rude when ordering a drink.

    In general, staff were very helpful and courteous

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent breakfast, friendly staff, grand old hotel feeling

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location and the staff and owners were very friendly and extremely helpful

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Outstanding staff, great location, great value.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Good location & big rooms Friendly staff in reception & at restaurant

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old furnished, but cleaned and well maintained

    Great position in the square

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast

    Location and Liliana!

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    parking free but in the street

    Beautiful City in Tuscany

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Little bit disappointed by the hotel. Out room smelled of smoking the whole time.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noisy air confitionera little disappointing

    The pool was a great asset

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: