Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Locanda Milano This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Via Volta 62, 22034 Brunate, Italy

#11 of 15 hotels in Brunate

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 238 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    8.8
    traditional Italian locanda, does what it says on the tin
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi a little weak in the room (but good downstairs)

    Great location in Brunate, 2 minutes from the top of the funicular. nice balcony looking out on to the town. comfy bed, nice staff, good but basic breakfast - just a good traditional italian hotel. Oh, and they have a nice roof terrace too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay, the service was good and the staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The hotel is very close to the funicolare, it was very well situated. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. I really enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    6.7
    After checking out it was great that we could leave the car...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room. Quite a lot of noise from people moving/ working below us.

    After checking out it was great that we could leave the car for a couple of hours to explore Como. Nice touch on their part.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    8.3
    Room was slightly small considering 4 people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Most of the staff speak Italian and only one staff speaks English. The winding road to the hotel is a bit of tedious drive

    Room was slightly small considering 4 people. Not much space for luggage. But it’s good place. They have a very nice restaurant at the hotel. The food looked delicious. We only had breakfast. Pleasant place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    6.7
    This is a simple Hotel locates at the top of the mountain. An Amazing new from your window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can be noisy in the evening when staff waiting football or have noisy clients outside at the terrace. All rooms are very basic.

    A view at the top of the pmuntain is great. There is a good restaurant near by with a view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    9.2
    Cozy, peaceful place in great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good, peaceful location in the Brunate village up in the mountain next to Como lake. Very close to multiple restaurants with stunning view to lake Como, City of Como and the Alps. Just around the corner you have access to mountain train (funicolare) which takes you straight to City of Como.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    5.8
    Terribly noisy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - No wifi signal in half of the room. - Tiny room, not very spacious - The size of the shower probably resembles the one on the International Space Station - We arrived on a very hot Friday afternoon after a full day of driving. The first thing we did was opening the windows. As we discovered, our room overlooked the terrasse area of the restaurant - where guests and locals were dining/drinking/smoking/talking quite loudly. Closing the windows was not an option due to the heat. Just to top this, a nearby restaurant (50-100 meters away) started blasting music through massive speakers which was later substituted with live music. This lasted until 2-3 a.m. The noise and the heat made the night a terrible experience.

    Small boutique hotel on the hill above Como. The road up is very steep and narrow with numerous hairpins. Alternatively the cable car from Como stops a few hundred meters from the hotel. Parking was not a problem for our motorcycles, but for cars it can be complicated. The guy at the front desk spoke good English as well. Typical (bit basic) Italian breakfast. The view from the city is spectacular (though you don't see any of it from the hotel itself).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    9.6
    Great spot for a fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was great that they offer free of charge bicycles to go to the peninsula. I really enjoyed that. The team I is great and the breakfast very tasty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    9.6
    View of room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Two beds rooms are very bery small but 3 beds room are very fine . Only one of our bedrooms had fridge

    View of room . Very good staff. Parking is near hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    7.9
    fabulous typically itialian family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    this was a typically family run itialian hotel. No frills or spills. very relaxed and everything you need for a pleasant stay. the restauant wasn't the best, however the service and price were reasonable. The rooms wern't the best, howeve were clean, and had fresh towels daily but there is no air condioning so in the height of summer can be a little uncomfortable. we had a balconly so we let a breeze through also by keeping the bathroom window open also at night. The breakfast again was very relaxed with croissants, fresh fruit ham cheeses and breads, along with cereals and juices. All in all if you want a truly authentic itialian experience with no spills or thrills then I would recommend this place every time. Also the added bonus there is parking available which is a real bonus in this area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    7.5
    Nice friendly hotel with great views close by
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tea coffee in room. Could have done with a fan weather was very hot. Access by by car a bit tight and a bit scary if you don't like heights ( my partner not me ) I liked the roads

    Quiet location good access to como on fermicular railway .5mins walk from hotel. Friendly helpfully staff. Free parking nearby. Spectacular views 2 min walk looking over como 700metres 2000ft above como on side of mountain

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    9.6
    The crew is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast and Air conditioner

    The crew is amazing. Good beers with a good crew company and stories. The breakfast was nice, There were not many choices to be make We really enjoyed our time in Brunate, We made a nice walk through the city with a great views of lake como and the city of como. A great resutrant in the city: Bella Vista (10 min walking from the hotel).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    4.6
    Il comportamento dell' addetto alla reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Il comportamento dell' addetto alla reception all'arrivo

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    Lovely small hotel near funicular station with the bar and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely small hotel near funicular station with the bar and restaurant on the first floor. I loved my stay there. And they have tasty breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    8.3
    Great service, especially Alessandra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extra Parking facility

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    10
    Very nice stuff, good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice stuff, good place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    7.9
    Good stopover with things to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is out of the way of the busy area next to the lake but accessible by the funicular. The food was prepared by the excellent chef to our taste.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    6.7
    Overcharged!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was overcharged. Didnt tell us other additional fees

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location during road trip through Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quality of the bed

    Extremely friendly personnel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2017

    10
    Very friendly hotel with helpful owner and family atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly hotel with helpful owner and family atmosphere. I highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    7.9
    Lovely staff, warm and welcoming.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely staff, warm and welcoming. Something that is fairly unique for Como !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2016

    10
    Fantastico!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Everything!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    7.5
    Comfortable and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking, very tight and at the top of very light roads

    Location and the staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2016

    8.3
    Good location, quality was good for the price we'd paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Wifi connection was not good in our room.

    Good location, quality was good for the price we'd paid. I would recommend this hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2016

    9.2
    The lovely staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing!

    The lovely staff and location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2015

    5.4
    - Kindness of owners and personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Unacceptable P/Q ratio (room was about 12m2 and bathroom 2m2) with no air conditioning. - garage proposed by Booking.com is the one of the owner and hence not available. - parking is impossible in the area while the owner (with the condition that you leave your car's key at the reception) manages to put 6 cars on the terrace... When we were there, the one leaving first in the morning had his car at the end of the queue with the inherent 'circus' of moving 5 cars to get the 6th out and then the 5 others back in ! All that done by the owners.. - more a 'pensione', maybe 'albergo' but definitely NOT a hotel !

    - Kindness of owners and personnel - Good food - Good wine list (quality wines)

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2015

    7.9
    The facility was clean, the food was good and the staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was VERY noisy in the afternoon and evening. Kids were running up and down the halls playing "chase" in the late afternoon. At night the locals would gather in the bar downstairs. The doors were open and they would drift outside every few minutes. They closed down around 1:00 each morning.

    The facility was clean, the food was good and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location (in Brunate) made it difficult to explore the surrounding area. After making the drive up there, we felt we need to park the car until time to leave. It was a very narrow road getting there. We used the funicular to travel to Como and beyond.

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2015

    6.3
    Close to the funicular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The parking is a mess The room and bathroom are tiny. The WIFI didn't really work. There was mold on the bathroom wall. The road to Brunate is challenging

    Close to the funicular. Great view 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2015

    8.8
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was perfect. It was walking distance from the Funicular. The town was amazing with gorgeous views everywhere. The restaurant in the hotel had superb food.

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2015

    9.6
    We just needed something easy of the highway and this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We just needed something easy of the highway and this worked: cheap, free parking, clean room. With only an hour notice, had a baby cot ready for us. I didn't prebook breakfast, but we decided 7€ was a great value for what they had:fresh fruit, pastries, eggs, bacon, etc. Filled us up for the day and young kids were free. Staff was really nice, had no problems with parking (we had skis and bags in our car).

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2016

    9.2
    The rüdes with the funicolare
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The rüdes with the funicolare

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2015

    9.6
    Perfect spot to see Lago di Como.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect spot to see Lago di Como. Lovely room with a balcony. Easy access with funicular to Como. Everything works out!

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2015

    7.9
    Guy running reception was the star of the show, really held...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from the restaurant while we were trying to sleep

    Guy running reception was the star of the show, really held the place together and worked hard

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful location in quaint mountain top village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    En suite bathroom was cramped, very difficult for big/tall people

    Beautiful location in quaint mountain top village

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: