Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Lord Byron - Small Luxury Hotels of the World 5 stars

Via G. De Notaris 5, Villa Borghese Parioli, 00197 Rome, Italy

#251 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 163 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the facilities are very 70s and kind of tired in need of a face-lift

    Nice hotel and really great service. Very comfortable in a very nice location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a bit far from the city center, but the service more than made up for it. In addition, the neighborhood was filled with wonderful dinning opportunities away from the touristy spots with no value.

    They worked in advance to arrange various tours for our first trip to Roma. They had everything well organized and spelled out in notes for our use. Throughout our stay the different staff members were all well informed and clarified details along the way. The breakfast was wonderful with plenty of choices. There was always enough for all. The service was great and the cappuccinos were served with pleasure. The restaurant food was excellent and they accommodated my wife’s allergies noted on the reservation without a reminder.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Unfortunately we were in Rome for a family funeral and I was only at the hotel briefly but other members of my family were there for slightly longer. The staff could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the bar was cosy and elegant, drinks and snacks prices were rather steep (though I guess this is a luxury hotel so one should expect luxury prices?). The only real minus for me personally was the very firm bed mattress.

    Beautiful art deco hotel, ever so slightly faded in some parts. Felt very privileged to be staying in such a beautifully appointed place. Hotel is in a very quiet position so very little traffic and within easy stroll of Borghese Gardens. The staff were absolutely marvellous; we were greeted by name on arrival, and the breakfast manager remembered our coffee choice after just one day! Breakfasts were varied and delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel concierge told me that tickets to the Borghese Gallery were sold out, so I had to use his agent. After I paid his fee, I looked on line and found out that they were available at two times on Saturday, the day before. So he lied. Then when we visited the gallery, 3 tickets were issued! I clearly overpaid. The clerk kept the third ticket, probably to sell later and give the proceeds to the concierge. Welcome to Roman corruption. This is NOT a five star luxury hotel.

    The entrance is up a long flight of steps, with a landing. Then as you enter the hotel, there is another step in the same marble which is not marked. I tripped over it and entered on my knees. This construction would be illegal in NY. And without a white strip on the step, as you enter from the sun, it blends into the entrance and causes a dangerous condition. The TV didn't work, the furniture was chipped, one bar of soap and two towels are all you get, the restaurant is closed. Not as promised.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is bad for 5star hotel, rooms are not cleaned as they should be (especially not the bathroom), location is not very good if You want to explore city on foot.

    Art deco decoration is outstanding! Comfortable room!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant! A luxurious looking, but a gloomy underground space. Cuisine, neither traditional nor international, something in-between, but with no charm. Add to this, that the minimum waiting time is about 60 min, and my dish was luke-warm. Good wine selection.

    Breakfast, good for an international standard (not the poor Italian breakfast). Remember to order your eggs to the waiter.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on New Year, and heating is only from air conditioning system which is old and didn’t heat well. We were provided with electrical heater, and that helped. WiFi connection was not fast and reliable during our stay, maybe due to holidays season.

    Nice interior, very “Roman” style luxury environment.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee and juices at breakfast.

    We were upgraded to a suite so it was lovely to have small room separate to the bedroom as I go to bed much earlier than my husband. Beautiful decor in the public rooms of the hotel (reception, dining room etc). Very friendly and priced professional staff both on reception and at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel décor seems to have had better days.Very outdated rooms . We were cold at night. The bathtub and bathroom area had mold and rust around the windows. Don't think I would stay here again

    The location was lovely.could walk through the Borgese Gardens down to the shopping area The food was very good at dinner as well as breakfast.The staff was very welcoming and efficient

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The one lift was out of order on our final day, requiring manual handling of our heavy luggage. Some very loud young Americans slammed doors and ran from room to room until 0130am. on our final night. Very annoying and disruptive at the time and out of character for such a property. Pointless to report but should be monitored more thoroughly by hotel staff.

    The hotel was lovely and well positioned . No views to speak of, not much in the way of garden, but in a quiet part of Rome very close to the beautiful Villa Borghese and within walking distance of most things (The Spanish/Chinese Steps a mere 15 minute stroll). We borrowed the hotel push bikes and had a great afternoon eating gelati and pretending to be locals. Great breakfasts and English speaking, attentive staff. The restaurant is a Rome favourite, pricey but well worth the euros! We will return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gym or pool - but I'm scraping the barrel here!

    Sensational room and bathroom - just vast!!! Incredible service from all hotel staff, amazing breakfast and dinner... beautiful beautiful hotel, just amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest, we were so disappointed and unhappy with our classic room that we spent more money and upgraded to the only other available room in the hotel. The classic room bed was not supportive ( it felt just like foam but without springs), the air conditioner did not work effectively in the 35 degree heat, and the shower was small and dark with very poor hot water supply and pressure. The shower also had a shower curtain (in 2017 in a luxury hotel?!) And then there was the decor: in desperate need of an up date, flourescent lighting in the ceiling, chipped surfaces on furniture, paint, mirrors and accessories, faded floral drapes, dusty, faded and dated textured wallpaper, dull and faded chrome fixtures. When we moved up to the Junior Suite, things were not much better unfortunately, though the air conditioning worked better in this room. The rooms do not live up to the photos on their website or the style and quality of the communal areas, nor do they match my expectations of a small luxury hotel let alone a 5 star establishment. I felt like I was staying in a 3 star motel which was such a shame considering how great the staff are.

    The staff are so helpful and professional. The communal spaces are stylish with Art Deco furnishings and lovely artworks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaf tea instead of tea bags for breakfast.

    The staff go the extra mile for you. The Art Deco furniture and cleverly collected art make the place unique. We also loved Lord Byron, the hotel cat!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were there in the last few days of April and it was quite hot - however, the hotel refused to turn the air-conditioning units in the rooms on until 1st May resulting in stuffy and restless sleep. A bit petty.

    Very good location - only a short 15 minute walk to the centre of town. Very large king sized bed in a large room - much bigger than expected. Great bar downstairs and the breakfasts were terrific. Staff were friendly and very helpful...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this hotel was terrible. The food , the service, the attitude. Please do not stay at this property. Even a three star hotel would be better. Avoid the Lord Byron.

    This was the most horrible hotel i have ever stayed at.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner restaurant was mediocre. We ate the first night. Probably one of the worse risottos I have ever had and the pasta was too thick. The bread was old and poorly made. Stay away from the dinner restaurant. All other things were great.

    Quiet location in the nice embassy area. Good breakfast. Nice to get away from all the tourists in the evening. Close to a very nice park. Count on taxi trips daily of between 15-30 EUR.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a big spread for Breakfast. The chef will make you a great fluffy, ham and cheese omelette on request. Fantastic view from the room. Beds were very comfortable. Unlike other hotels in Europe, the room was spacious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small thing: perhaps could be more variety at breakfast.

    Quiet location, good sized rooms for a major city getaway hotel, friendly and helpful staff. All round a lovely, welcoming and homely atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic attention to detail in all aspects. The owner met us and others as is always around making sure every need is attended to. Oh and the decor is Brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was further from the centre than expected from advertising and the price.

    Concierge service and attentive staff. Superior attention to clients and care.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is old and rundown

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, enjoyed breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional service in a beautiful and elegant hotel. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is amazing, especially the service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some 20 minutes to get to the ancient city

    Outstanding breakfast, proximity to Villa Borghese

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Large room and very friendly staff. I also appreciated being able to watch the Super Rugby in bed. Bliss!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lunch

    The staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service !!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great and knowledgeable staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The bed was amazing!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    W found a lizard in the room

    VVIP service provided from staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Away from the bustle of central Rome with good non tourist restaurants Excellent ambience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Entire experience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor Size and comfort of the bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    had a few problems with the TV and in a perfect world the air conditioning could have been cooler.

    Everything!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quite place tucked away in Rome

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good Hotel on good location with good service, excellent sleep quality

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel :) amazing stay there with Family, great staff and unforgettable experience. Great rooms!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel with extremely friendly staff. Enjoyed are stay and will come back if we go back to Rome.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air-conditioning was already closed for Winter.

    Quiet location close to Villa Borghese.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot breakfast option in buffet often cold

    Service and staff super friendly nothing too much trouble

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic rooms, not the normal global brand hotel. Our rooms were exceptionally large and well appointed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wonderful friendly staff and excellent rooms that were clean, quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely boutique hotel, very clean and well maintained, lovely breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is lots of marble in the bathroom so it looks luxurious but the shower sprays everywhere. TV was small and operation somewhat erratic.

    Our bed was wonderfully comfortable. We had requested a quiet room and found it extraordinarily quiet. Staff were bothprofessional and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing that disappointed was we took two hotel bikes out on our last morning. On one bike the chain kept coming off and my husband had to keep trying to put it back on, but it just kept coming off again rendering the bike unusable. - and it had wonky handlebars, the other bike the seat kept sliding down. Neither was really fit for purpose. Please check / sort out the bikes so they can be used without this inconvenience! it did spoil our last morning as we had to mess about with this so much and still couldn't get the first bike to be useable.

    Lovely hotel on the edge of the beautiful Villa Borghese gardens, we really liked the location and the hotel itself is comfortable and spacious. Very nice room, with huge marble bathroom, cosy bathrobes, very big comfortable bed, very clean and attractive hotel. Nice breakfast too!

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Taps in bath room were not intuitive and took a little working out. Shower was fine but I prefer one that is walk-in.

    Very efficient and personalized service, preferable to the big chains. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - The staff is super nice and very attentive - Dinner and Wine at the hotel were great - In 15 minutes we were able to walk to Piazza del Popolo, and then it took us further 10 minutes through vibrant Via del Corso to Trevi and Pantheon. We enjoyed our walk thoroughly. - The staff took great care of parking the car

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had the do not disturb sign however the room service came in and cleaned. The breakfast was very limited.

    The lobby and the outside appearance is nice. Staff were helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is not a very big choice of breakfast meals, but what they have is of very good quality and tasty.

    The hotel is very stylish and cosy. The stuff is very nice and polite.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Curtains a bit worn.

    Hotel owner is an astute collector of high quality Art Deco furniture, art and fittings. From the exquisite furnishings in the dining and receiving areas to the unique hardware down to the extraordinary door pulls, the use of these extraordinary pieces in the everyday areas of the hotel was an unexpected treat.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A bit pricy, but we knew that... Distance to city centre.

    Breakfast was fantastic. The bar was incredible, great coctails. Interior is beautiful, very stilish, this is the place Hercule Poirot would stay when visiting Rome.... Service was tremendous. Quiet and nice location Free bicycles at the hotel

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We would have liked to be able to make a hot drink in our room.

    We loved the location and the style and ambience of the hotel. The staff are fantastic. The food is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit off the beaten track if you need to sight see and not many places to eat at close by in the evenings.

    Small boutique type hotel, excellent staff .

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bed was so hard and uncomfortable. The wifi did not work The carpet in our room was stained and smelled Water poured out of our a/c vent We requested a cab to the airport and the staff forgot to order Location out of city center. Nothing in area for tourists

    Beautiful public areas. Definitely faded glory

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is central, comfortable and the staff (especially Michela) are outstanding - and the breakfast is great. Nothing was too much trouble, everyone was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We like every aspect of staying at this lovely hotel!

    A most memorable stay, with staff who are knowledgeable, efficient, and most kind and helpful. They make our stay most comfortable. The ambiance of the hotel is one of comfort, luxury and beauty, in equal measure. The breakfast and dinners are excellent, and service is impeccable. This hotel offers luxury, and comfort and joy, and our stay there reminds us that we are truly home away from home! Kindness, joy, comfort and beauty are the four key elements of our experience at this lovely and charming luxurious hotel! It is very well located, easy to take taxis into the centre of the city, and yet is located at an upmarket and quiet part of the Villa Borghese Gardens!

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is our most memorable stay at a hotel with the most luxurious, elegant beauty and which offers comfort and pleasure in equal measure! The service is excellent and the staff is most kind, helpful, knowledgeable, and well informed. The concierge service is top of the line, and communication (including email and phone communication) with hotel guests are excellent. We have been so well cared for: it is like arriving at our luxurious home away from home! Such a memorable stay for us! All the staff are experienced, professional, knowledgeable, very friendly, efficient, and genuinely kind! Breakfast and dinners at the hotel are truly memorable, and the service is impeccable!

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All staff were very friendly and helpful. Andrea, the Concierge was a great help to us in planning and organising our excursions. The hotel has a very cosy boutique feel and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff helpful, very fast responsive to any request. We celebrate New Year at the hotel - the atmosphere was great , live music, good food and smiling , elegant staff. Thanks a lot.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A few more restaurants in walking distance would have been nice

    Staff very friendly, quiet location near Borghese garden, comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar area.Lack of outside space for relaxing.

    Service.Room.Decor.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    suberb service, hotel atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Far from centre, should take taxi to go back at night. Rooms would be nice an update, a little bit old.

    Breakfast is amazing, little chic hotel.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Equipment and furniture

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very pleasant helpful staff. Quiet and calm atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautiful Art Deco, small,sophisticated charming hotel. Very friendly helpful service.Away from the crowds, next to the villa Borgehse.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all to complain about.

    The hotel staff were very friendly and helped to make my friends 50th birthday a special day.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was like staying in their family home . What a delight

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV for English speaking guests

    Comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent hotel and staff

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Browse Hotel Lord Byron - Small Luxury Hotels of the World traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: