Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Lorena 2 stars

Via Faenza 1, San Lorenzo, 50123 Florence, Italy

#151 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 890 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.3
    the location is really good, close to everything, 10 mins...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we have to handle the key to the reception whenever we go out. and i have noticed that they came into the room to check if we have turned off the air conditioner and the light. this is totally unexceptionable. . As we have paid for the room, i do not think anyone have the right to enter, except cleaning or emergency.

    the location is really good, close to everything, 10 mins walk from the station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Good stay in florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many reminders about things that can not be done, which seems a normal practice in italy. Except for sabina, other staff are not friendly

    Excellent location, walking distance to firenze smn and other attractions in florence. Sabina is a good host, accompanied me to phone shop to buy sim card. Towels, pillows, bedsheet, toiletries and water pressure and temperatures are all good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location but very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    God, it was noisy. Really unable to sleep. Although old town, but the street was really busy. In addition to traffic probably ten garbage trucks during night coming to empty different bins on the piazza next to hotell with lot of noise. You can close the windows, hard covers, shades, but that does not make the difference. Manager can talk about double layer glass, but that does also mean nothing if the window design is from Mussolini era. Breakfast: boiled eggs -good, but no ham or real cheese. That should not cost too much.

    Good location close to station and sights.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Two nights in Firenze
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location near the train station and not far from the Duomo. Staff were great sand helped us out with our bags when checking in and out, nice sized abd comfy room that was very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    The location is one of the best points of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was a bit slow processing the check-in and payment, but was very polite and well mannered. The feel of the whole place was a bit old fashioned.

    The location is one of the best points of the hotel. It is very near the city centre and the Duomo. The room was very clean and tidy. There is air conditioning, which is a must if you travel in summer time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    The location is perfect if you stay for just a couple of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is perfect if you stay for just a couple of days and plan to visit Florence's most famous sights, especially the Medici chapel that is just opposite the hotel. The streets near the hotel are pedestrian aka 'area pedonale' and full of people having rest in a lovely atmosphere of the old historical town with the spirit of the great art.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Central location, in front of of Capella Medici, 100 m from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift (very small) is available from second floor. The reception is also on the second floor. No free parking, but the personnel helps you to find suitable one.

    Central location, in front of of Capella Medici, 100 m from Santa Maria del Fiore Duomo. Extremely friendly staff. Cozy room, but a bit small (old building after all).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location, but rooms are not quiet and toiletries and bedsheets are never changed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is practically no privacy as you can hear almost everything in the next room. The management looked to save money from everything so they didn't change our bedsheets, towels or toilet paper once in four days. Also, bad plumbing meant that you had to flush for a really long time.

    The location was great, and the staff was very helpful with everything we asked, which made the experience nice. The rooms and the bathroom were cleaned everytime we left.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    The location is good and the rooms were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist’s behaviour who met us while check in was not so friendly. But the other receptionist when we check out he was so friendly.

    The location is good and the rooms were clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    The best location you can ask for right in the heart of it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best location you can ask for right in the heart of it all I love the views from my two window had double glazing so no noise when I slept , very close to Santa Maria Novella train station and (bus station next door to train station 6euro to airport 1/2 hr trip great staff very helpful with everything and even helped with my bags felt very safe has I was travelling alone fantastic little cafe underneath and great restaurants everywhere definitely recommend Hotel Loren Thankyou Lorenzo and Sabina Margherita

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Awesome Central Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of one of the beds meant that it was very hot in that bed and the air conditioning did not help.

    The location was phenomenal with a view of the duomo from the window. Within easy walking distance of everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.4
    The beat things are the location and the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1- you must a climb many stairs to even get to the supposed lobby, 2- there is an elevator but small and slow if you don’t use it you must climb even more stairs to your room, 3- the entire property is old and dingy, 4- the rooms are not very big, if you get a room with private bathroom the toilet is literally next to the shower curtain, 5- the AC does not work, it only cools the room after 2-3am.

    The beat things are the location and the price. But that’s all that’s worth it. The rest is really bad.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    A Room with a View!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room, older furnishings (trade off for a great location at a good price)

    Beautiful view of the cathedral and bell tower from the room window! Very good location - close to the historic city center but in a quiet-at-night location. Personable hotel staff; they treated us very well (we've stayed twice). Room-controlled AC. Good value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Good stay. Good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was quite out dated.

    Excellent central location in the heart of it all. If you are looking for clean, affordable, comfortable, this is your place. A walking distance to station with luggage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    Great, cheap stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no spare toilet paper rolls in the room and only 1 on the roll - so if you run out.. We were asked to turn the AC off every time we left the room, which was a little annoying to remember. There were a lot signs around the hotel stipulating that it's a 2 star hotel so they will only change sheets every other day... it felt a little bit like "we're only going to do minimum and you can't argue because the law says". I don't think it was the intention however it was the impression I got. This did not dampen the great stay we had here though.

    Location of the property is excellent - walking distance to all major tourist attractions and the main train station. The staff were friendly and let us check in early. I liked being able to leave the room keys with reception, which alleviated stress of losing them. The staff realised that we required another baggage rack in the room and provided same without us asking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Very very close to Basilica San Lorenzo Maggiore and also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower has a weak water flower.

    Very very close to Basilica San Lorenzo Maggiore and also close to other main attractions. Very good location! The staff is very friendly and helpful! The decoration is a little older but the bed is comfortable, not that soft type. Good for my fragile back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    the best personal ever, very kind and pro client orientated,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    during the night there is noise from the street as the hotel is located on the square with restaurants.

    the best personal ever, very kind and pro client orientated, helpful. One of the most nice stuff I ever met. The room has everything what you need, even it is simple. The bed is good, there is all details you need for the stay. Location is great in the center and not far from the train station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Staff are very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some furniture is old. The hotel starts from the first floor of the building, but there's no elevator between ground floor and first floor. It can be a problem if you have heavy luggages.

    Staff are very friendly. The room is spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location, room had everything I needed, staff were helpful. I'd recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly sketchy elevator, but at least they had one!!!

    I have a heavy pack so really needed somewhere not too far from the station and this was just perfect. I was pleasantly surprised with a pretty basic room but comfortable and an amazing view of the Medici Cuppola and Duomo from my balcony! Given I booked day before I was really happy and would have stayed another night. Shared bathroom was fine, didn't seem like anyone else was using it and just across the hallway from my room. Staff gave a nice welcome and explained everything clearly - not necessarily up for a chat, but that's fine - were helpful and lent me an adaptor as mine didn't fit the old plugs in the room. I would stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.8
    I will not stay here again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was not real friendly. Maybe that is just normal but I am just use to staff in a hotel being a bit more friendly towards their guests.

    Not a whole lot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got exactlly what we were expecting from all the pictures and reviews here in Booking. Perfect location - 200 m from Duomo and train station, good value for the money. The stuff were very polite and helpful, the breakfast was really good and tasty. The shared bathroom was always clean and we even did not feel it like shared :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though it was clean, the sink in our room didn’t work properly and would gurgle throughout the night and bring up unknown material into the sink. The staff were rude and accused us of putting stuff in the sink?! It was dated, the light bulbs didn’t work, the front came off of a plug and the room we had on the first floor was very noisy from the street below.

    Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Windows need to be replaced - they don't block street sounds at all. Overall, hotel needs some renovation, but you get what you pay for. Great alternative to a hostel.

    Great location, close to everything. Private room for the price of a hostel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.3
    staff were extremely welcoming and kind,making up slightly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room quality needs an upgrade and inappropriate signs in bedroom stuck on wall in sticky tape saying its forbidden to put bags on bed. I have never! it desperately needs a lick of paint,wallpaper and improved bathroom facilities. given the positioning it's a gold mine waiting to have an interior designer make some small changes which would quickly uplift the whole hotel.

    staff were extremely welcoming and kind,making up slightly for the shortcomings of the hostel style of hotel. an excellent positioning close to key attractions though so very budget friendly....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money in a very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good value for money and great location (next to Cappelle Medicee, Mercato Centrale and a 5 minute walk from Piazza Duomo. Owners are really kind and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice location and place to stay in general. Loved that it was close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevators were not accessible from the ground floor so I dont recommend this for people that need wheelchair accessibility. However the hosts came down from the first floor to help us with the bags. There was an elevator from the first floor up. Its also in the central area so it can get a little noisey but its okay once you close the windows. Not used to leaving the keys with the front desk whenever we left the hotel...it was inconvinent as we went back and forth to the hotel

    Loved the antique style of the rooms and that was very well maintained. I assume the elderly gentleman at the front counter was the owner and he seemed to keep everything in control.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Value for money - great location and pleasant owners/staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good value for money. Great location, the street the hotel is on has lots of good bars and restaurants, and all main attractions were accessible by foot. The owners/staff were very pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and we had a nice view of the Dome from our window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    wouldn't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not comfy at all, they were two beds not put together properly so we kept falling in the gap between them

    The location was great and the staff were nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located 5 minutes from main city attractions! Many restaurants and bars around, Central market is right on the corner of the street. The host was very friendly, provided me with a map and explained the best way to organize a day in the city. The room is pretty small, however, very cozy. In my opinion, it's the best choice if you travel alone and don't plan to spend much on accomodation

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.8
    would not stay again. pricey for location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    room overlooked very busy/noisy area. couldn't open windows because of noise. detailed instructions by mgr.--how to turn key and open door, don't sleep in 2nd bed, when i asked a question i was told the answer was coming. room was warm.

    room was clean. interesting old building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice cheap stay in the middle of Florence, close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is right above a bar in piazza degli Aldobradini so you can expect some loud music untill 23.30 during the weekend. Other than that, nothing.

    Very good continental breakfast with fresh-baked croissants, cereals, eggs, jams, bread, coffee, tea and orange juice served by a very friendly guy. Professional service in a family-owned business. Would recommend :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    If I travel to florence I stay in lorena hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in my room doesn't work . They do their effort to fix it but not happend.

    The location was great. Staff are so kind and helpful. Breakfast was good. My room has city view of del fiore. The cafe under hotel has very good music and they are happy .you can sence of happy life there. The hotel was so clean. Although my room has shared bathroom but it does not disturb me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    2.5
    Ll never recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hello !! Everything beginning from the staff to the accommodation was pathetic. Staff was non cooperative. At one instance, they shout at us. Very un professional. The begins from the first floor. So, the luggage needs to be carried manually as there is no lifit to take the luggage to the first floor. The photo which has been put shows the spacious area of reception. But, actually this is not the case. Room service is very pathetic. The attitude of the staff is very non friendly. They dont cooperate. For instance, they dont provide tea kit voluntarily and when you ask for they tend to resist. They dont clean the room daily. They want you to keep the room keys at their reception compulsorily. They theeatened us of tge charge of 100 euros if we loose the key. No electric kettle was provided when requested for to get the hot drinking water. Although the location is good, but there are many other better options in the sane location. Also, preferably, dont use booking.com, as we have experienced that we were getting tge same hotels at cheaper prices at ither apps and websites.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Perfect location ! In front of medici chapel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is perfect! Just in front the Medici chapel and really close to the centre. There is a 99c in front of the hotel. The staff are friendly :) I would suggest this hotel !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.5
    Location is fantastic, centrally located near the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is fantastic, centrally located near the main sights and to the train station. Rooms a little dated but overall ideal for a tourist looking for somewhere to stay. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    A wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The double bed in our room was actually two single mattresses in one large frame side by side - not an issue, really, but can prove to be a bit annoying for people who toss and turn in their sleep.

    The location was great (a short walk away from the Duomo, + a superb view from our bedroom window!), the facilities were wonderful, but the best part about Hotel Lorena was the staff! They were very helpful, explained everything about check-in and check-out from the get-go, and answered all our questions very politely. I'd definitely recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Florence.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    The staff was really nice and they explained ver kindly how...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes there was a weird noise in the wall and then it went away.

    The staff was really nice and they explained ver kindly how I could go everwhere. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.3
    Good centrally located budget accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inefficient check-out procedure, I paid taxes in cash, but man seemed reluctant to use my booking.com card details for room payment until I insisted he do so, misunderstanding due to language barrier, perhaps?

    Good budget accommodation, clean, spacious en-suite family room with view of Medici Chapel and square, great central location, safe locality with staff at reception. Lady very helpful with free attractions map.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    I recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Right in the middle of everything, but close to train station. Very friendly staff. Nice and clean, walls thick enough. You can leave your luggage after check-out

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.7
    Fair for the price but could have been better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too much noise outside the hotel combined with non soundproof windows. Also too much noise from other rooms. Dust hidden here and there. More noticeably on the top of the folding bathroom door.

    Polite and helpful staff. 24h reception

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location and value, perfect for light sleepers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many surfaces to put luggage and contents once unpacked. Wifi can be spotty at times (usually evenings).

    Convenient location from the train station and to San Lorenzo Market and the Duomo. Very good value and very clean. The double layer window blocks out all light and noise for a comfortable sleep.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    Clean, friendly and met our needs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too warm for me and had to open the window to let Air in- and was very noisy as we faced an active courtyard. Would recommend an inside facing room. Also no elevator up to the hotel lobby but the owner helped with our bags.

    Family run hotel, lovely people. Breakfast was great. All of the basics were covered.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location, helpful staff, clean & comfortable rooms, a tasty breakfast and a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you can't climb stairs you might have a problem. The lift starts from the 1st floor (which is the 2nd floor in American)

    Great location, helpful staff, clean & comfortable rooms, a tasty breakfast and a good price. It's not a fancy hotel (which is expected, since it's not in the expensive price range), but you'll be comfortable, relaxed and happy here. We would definitely recommend Hotel Lorena

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.2
    Close to the train station and only a few walks away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom, but that is really no big deal and it is clean most of the times.

    Close to the train station and only a few walks away from all the attractions with cafes and foods all around the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Excellent Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit noisy.But can manage.

    Fantastic Hotel with great people in the reception. They are very polite and helpful.Even got the room early which we did not expect.Great location .Reception is always willing to provide information.Shopping is easy.Can walk from the main station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely location, great hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt get any fresh towels or fresh bedding for our 2nd day. I'm not sure if we were meant to, but we went out for the morning and came back whilst the cleaners were sorting the rooms. I'm not sure if they forgot or not. Didnt effect our experience there though.

    Lovely hotel with great staff. The location was perfect and they explained everything to us as well as provide us with a map of Florence. Friendly and approachable with a lovely view of San Lorenzo church. Would definitely stay again. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel and great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was turned off. Reportedly it is a city ordinance for that time of the year. Not a big deal since it was late October. But opening a window was not an option because of the street noise. Not an issue! I am just warm blooded.

    I liked everything! The staff was very friendly. Both my rooms were very nice and comfortable. I loved having a private bathroom again. I do not know how they afford that price in Florence, and in a central location, but I was very thankful. City Wonders once again gave a first rate all day tour of Florence.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    This place is a gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only real thing is the WiFi isn’t as stable as I would have liked but I’m not going to make this place down because of that as I had my own European SIM card when required.

    This place is a gem. The staff are very friendly and it was nice to know that breakfast staff was also the room cleaner so after a few days she knew who I was and what coffee I have. After a few days here I asked to stay an extra few nights to which they happily obliged and gave me the same rate. (Even though they were booked out online). I was initially concerned of the shared bathroom facility but upon arrival I was advised the bathroom I had allocated was only myself and another room. I never had an issue with the bathroom - it was always clean and available! The bed was very comfortable to.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    Very nice and cozy hotel in the heart of Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing a bit unpleasant - a bit too loud outside, if you prefer to sleep with windows open. But again, the stuff offered us to change the room on the other side.

    Very nice and cozy hotel in the heart of Florence. Situated in a walking distance from Station and all the bus stops, which makes it easy to travel to and from it. Amazing stuff! We had a very late check in and were professionally met and accommodated. Very good breakfast. Great cappuccino. And the room itself was clean, neat and cozy. Would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.3
    Nice people but noisy location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place next to the hotel is very noisy, therefore I could not sleep well.

    The people at the reception are very nice and the breakfast was very good, with a lot of choice, for a little price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    A real gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first flight of stairs to get to reception but if you are fit a small flight of stairs is nothing , so really a very small complaint when everything else is excellent

    We liked everything about the hotel and it's owners who were very kind and caring. The hotel is a 8 minute walk to the train and bus station it's also right in the centre of town with the sights a few minutes walk from the hotel, could not have asked for more.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Easy efficient hotel in great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed could have been more comfortable and windows needed black out curtains.

    Easy 5 minute walk to and from the train station. The hotel is in a excellent area very close to the Duomo and the street was filled with cafes and restaurants. We were also able to leave our bags securely with the hotel staff after we checked out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Great budget hotel and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - the shower head in your bathroom is stick on the wall, it couldn't be moved - unstable wifi....

    - with air condition, a bit noisy but it works well - great location, next to the central market and lots spots, 5 mins walking distance to train station - great value for money - the room and all facilities are clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.3
    if only this hotel could share but a bit of the charm and beauty of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel didn't mirror what was portrayed via the photos online and we also had a leaking AC unit of which was not fixed or looked at whilst we stayed even though we told the hotel management.

    Lozenzo on the front desk was a good sport, polite and very helpful when needed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    3.8
    To be avoided, but okay if you're desperate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is probably the dirtiest I've ever been to. The lobby looks nice, but once you go to the rooms, you immediately notice that the hotel has not been properly cleaned and renovated in years. The carpet was disgusting, we had food remains on the carpet from previous guests and the cleaning staff only vacuumed the room after our 4-5 day. The bed in our first room was broken, the shower was dirty and the toilet was clogged, also we could not open the window. We asked for a room change and luckily managed to speak with someone from the reception that was very nice. Except for him, the other members of the staff (excl. cleaning ladies) at the lobby was extremely rude. I would not return to this hotel ever again, and I do not recommend it.

    I really liked the location - it is in the center of everything, access to metro, trains, close to shops and restaurants!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.8
    Well-situated
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room wasn't too clean and we found the room's door open everyday, so the security wasn't very high.

    The best of this hotel is the situation. It's on the center, so you can visit the main places easily, and there are lots of restaurants around. The room with bathroom was comfortable and with silent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    We had a comfortable and convenient stay in Florence
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was significant noise from the street from rubbish collectors and street cleaning machines. Florence is kept clean though.

    The family feel of the hotel and their attention to rectifying any problems

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Great location, excellent helpful staff, luggage storage
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I could not ask for anything different.

    VERY Helpful staff. Met us at door and carried luggage to first floor check in. Offered to store our luggage for us but room was then ready at noon and they allowed us early checkin. Fantastic location. Excellent breakfast. Stored luggage after checkout so I could attend an 11am mass then rest in the lounge area before 2 pm train. I would definitely recommend Hotel Loreno. You will not be disappointed Air conditioner was great. Simple accommodations but well worth the price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.5
    Good for a two star!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no soap in the public bathroom, so you's have to get back to your room before you could wash your hands - not so hygienic... the wifi is really bad.

    Excellent location in the smack of things without being loud. Clean and respectable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.8
    Could be better, could be worse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room with shared bathroom (no other rooms were available when booking) had also shared toilet which was quite inconvenient and unexpected. The AC has only one mode - too cold - but was required to run at night otherwise the noise from outside would not let us sleep at all.

    Close to train station and all the main atractions. Polite staff. If you pay cash instead of card you can get breakfast for free.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    8.3
    good budget hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise from outside, however, not excessive & mostly blocked by the windows/shutters - BUT remember this is a city centre location, with lots of cafes, restaurants & bars nearby, one of the reasons why it's so well located!

    Hotel in great location just 7/8 minutes walk from Santa Maria Novella station and within walking distance of most main tourist sites e.g Duomo, Accademia ,Uffizi & Ponte Vecchio Room was basic but very clean & comfortable Staff were friendly and helpful Free wi-fi which worked well

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    8.3
    - Perfect view on the Medici Chapel (and Duomo from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Cleaning could be better - For me not enough comfortable bathroom

    - Perfect view on the Medici Chapel (and Duomo from the topmost floors) - Very good breakfast - Perfect staff - Very good location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.2
    The great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were really hot and air was dry. Couldn't open the windows due to noise at night. Breakfast want the best

    Great location. Clean. Affordable. Helpful Staff. Nearby laundromat. A bit dated decor but not an issue.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    7.1
    Great location, quite warm rooms but Not so warm staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't feel so welcomed by staff. Smell of entrance and lobby was not so good.

    Great Location. Near Duemo, near train statin. Quiet, warm and clean room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    8.8
    good value for money at excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice one person bedroom. Clean towels every other day. Shared bathroom was very clean, never had problem that it was occupied. Friendly staff. Breakfast is nothing very special, but a decent croissant and coffee and tea for only 5 euro. Excellent location, both in relation to train/bus station and the city centre!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    4.6
    Hotel Lorena
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator starts at 1st floor not ground floor so if you have plenty of luggages you need to carry them to the 1st floor other than that everything is perfect

    Location is perfect

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    9.2
    Graet stay - pity about the city parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would like to have known in advance how expensive car parking is in central Florence. I would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room but I realise this is not the norm in the cheaper European hotels

    Location ideal for exploring central Florence on foot. The staff were very helpful and gave useful advice about finding our way around.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel in the heart of Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Walls were thin and it was loud in the mornings. Bed was a little firm and they only provided you with one pillow per person.

    Size of room, size of bathroom, cleanliness, location, friendly staff, cost.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    An excellent hotel in the heart of Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing!

    The room and bath ensuite was wonderful! The breakfast was excellent! The People at the desk were friendly, informative and very willing to help and just talk on any subject! We enjoyed every minute.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.6
    I really loved this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really loved this hotel. The whole place is spotless - its so clean! I found the staff to be friendly and welcoming and helped me find the main sights using a map of the city, which they gave me. The location is excellent and gives you a great start for exploring the city being next to the Medici Chapels and a minute from the Duomo! The bedroom was spacious, I paid for a single and had a double (love a free upgrade) and the room was lovely with a view of the Duomo. I would definitely love to return, what a fab hotel, run by kind and warm people!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.2
    Great locations and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of elevator from ground floor to 1st floor.

    Central location. Close to train station, sights, market, restaurants. Staff great source of information. Large room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.9
    LOCATION good and easy to go anywhere by train, tram or bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is a bit hard. Towels change every second day.

    LOCATION good and easy to go anywhere by train, tram or bus. Lorenzo is very helpful and very nice. Water pressure is so good!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.2
    Best location and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent. Hotel is not fancy, just basic, but it's clean tidy and comfortable. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommending this to others.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.9
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was little bit old hotel so it might be better to have some restoration..

    The location was perfect.. near the train station and on the center of the city.. the room was clean..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    5.8
    Lovely hotel but mix up with my booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel they transferred me to had very poor natural light in both rooms I tried - one window looking out to a wall a few feet away.

    I reviewed this hotel a few months ago and gave it a great rating. Unfortunately, there was a mix up with my booking which they informed me about 3 days before I was due to stay there, when I was already in Italy. They booked a nearby hotel for me which was good, but one of the attractions for me returning to Firenze was the cosy hotel room I had stayed in before, with lots of natural light through two windows with different outlooks. Hence I can only give hotel Lorena a neutral review this time because I did not stay there!

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: