Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lucca In Villa San Donato

Via Delle Tagliate Prima 49 (parking in Via Silvio Pieri 22) , 55100 Lucca, Italy

#48 of 137 B&Bs and Inns in Lucca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 209 B&B reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing!

    Best place we stayed at during our trip through Italy. Such a nice welcome we had. We received the best advice where to eat and what to do!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!!! Some may prefer to be a little closer to the centre of things, but other bonuses described outway this. It was just the quiet charming Italian break we were seeking. Railway station a bit of a jaunt maybe.

    The host was fantastic and went out of his way to accommodate our needs. Property was lovely, quiet neighbourhood, ten minutes walk from the walled town. Easy for anyone able bodied - a little bit far if you are needing sticks to walk but my dad with sticks was able to make it. Lovely little garden to relax in if you wish, buffet self service breakfast plentiful - as many cups of tea/coffee as you want, lovely fresh bread - white/brown/rye- a very good range for a B and B. Yoghurts, pastries, biscuits, ham/salami, cheese, cereal, fresh fruit, good hot drinks /coffee machine, toaster. Could choose to eat inside, on balcony, or in garden. Host always on hand and exceptionally welcoming. Happily advised us about local area, gave us reliable info re transport and good places to visit. I was with elderly parents - dad limited mobility and host even gave us lifts to town in his car. B and B itself was charming and lovingly kept. Host friendly but not intrusive and spoke English well. If you’re looking for a little taste of real Italy and a warm Italian welcome this is it! Bathroom had plenty hot water - not a particularly amazing shower if you’re used to modern 5 star hotels, but worked fine. We had everything we needed (hair dryer, kettle supplied) and if you ran out of teabags all you had to do was ask and it appeared. Plentiful towels, replaced daily. Bedrooms lovely - had everything we needed, and had lovely shutters on windows. Beds comfy and made and bathroom cleaned daily. Air con worked well. Bus station 5 mins walk away. Would love to revisit and definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing needed to be improved.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly and the location excellent - just a couple of minutes from the city walls. We accidentally left our travel documents behind when we left - they called us quickly and brought them to the station to save us trekking back. So kind!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not fancy the breakfast option as we are not used to Italian sweet breakfasts. no problem with Luca helping us find the nearest food market.

    Luca has a very nice villa with great access to one of the main entrances to the main town. I liked the easy free parking in his secure garden. Rooms are dated but in an authentic and cared for state. Great high cielings with modern heat and cooling.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room quite small although it had a small balcony that two people could sit outside on. Check in/out was a cubby hole under stairs - ALL OF WHICH ADDS TO THE CHARM OF THE PLACE.

    10 room hotel in an old property, 5 minutes gentle stroll outside the city walls. Very tasteful, boutique atmosphere. Manager was very friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. Nice garden that you could sit out in plus car parking space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our host Luca was very nice and helpful, showed us all the important things to visit in Lucca. Location is perfect, easy to park the car and walk few minutes to the historical centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay was too short. I would like to go back and explore Lucca.

    Great little place a few minutes walk from Lucca’s walls. Nice staff. Room was simple, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in a double room for two nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the villa to be extremely clean and well run. Luca is doing a great job of managing the villa and works tirelessly. Our room was large and nicely decorated, and the breakfast includes a nice selection of pastries, cheese, hams, coffee cakes and juices. The villa is well located about a ten minute walk to the old town walls.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is quite small (especially for the tall (Dutch) people). Our room (studio) was located across the breakfast room, so that you could hear the other guests and they would look in your room if you opened the door.

    The hotel is located just outside of the city walls, with the advantage of parking places and also within walking distance of the center. The hotel owner is great, really facilitating and friendly. All at low costs!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super host, Luca, ensured that every detail of our stay was excellent. Lovely high-celinged room, really comfortable bed and three minute walk to wall entry. Garden was also lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely Villa. Friendly obliging staff. Easy walking to the walled town. Bicycles available. Secure parking. Tasty breakfast selection. Have stayed here twice before and the new owners are doing a great job. If we ever return to Lucca it would be where we would choose to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was very comfortable. There was large bed with very nice matress. The room was equipped with all the necessary staff: hairdryer, fridge (minibar), furniture, fan, coffee/tea maker, tv. The room had a big balcony with a view on a garden. The room was tidy and clean thanks to everyday cleaning service. The hosts take good care of guests and puts a lot of effort to their wellbeing. The villa is cosy with a tuscan atmosphere and although it is located near the city walls the area is very quiet and allows a rest.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Magic place, beautiful room with romantic decoration, end nice smeel of flowers when you get in.Quiet place, well maintained, relaxing and confy.Breakfast room tidy and well decorated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. This is by far, the best B&B we have stayed in during our trip. The location is perfect, just a very short walk to the main attractions. The people that run it are fantastic and offered up some great recommendations and the property itself was lovely, well decorated and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Coffee: Your breakfast coffee is a mess. Please change the machine and the beans. Breakfast is alright: Ham, Cheese, Toasts and a lot of local pastry and sweets. Parking lot: Don't get me wrong, i am used to italian narrow streets and entrances, so it was fine for me. But if have problems with both, than you gonna have a hard time parking in and out. Especially if you have a big car and the parking space is full. Just know it.

    Both hosts are super nice. They help out and are always on point. The location is alright. It could be a little be noisy outside. This accomodation is probably not the best for a long stay, but 2-3 day s are alright. There are parking lots on the property. We had a balcony. You are really fast on the highway, so you don't need to drive through or around Lucca. We enjoyed the stay in our apartment and the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The house and the rooms are beautiful and clean. The location is a stone's throw from the town centre. The hosts are very kind and thoughtful and the breakfast is good. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't have time to spend more days there

    We made a stop in Lucca on our way from Belgium to Rome. The B&B Lucca in Villa was a wonderful surprise. We had a lovely stay and Luca and Claudio made our short stay simply perfect, welcoming us and giving tips and suggestions about Lucca. We felt immediately at home, with friends. The structure is full of atmosphere and the room was a small gem. The bed was super comfortable and in the morning the breakfast was delicious. The location is absolutely perfect to go around and explore The center of Lucca and the possibility to park our car was a plus. We will come back for sure! :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Luca our host was the best. He was friendly, accommodating, provided great service, did research for us on a day-trip to Pisa. We stayed an extra night because of him, the short walk to old Lucca center, the comfort of the room, and the value. Breakfast was good. The private on-site secure parking was invaluable travelling with a car. I would stay there again and highly recommend it. It was a great stay with great value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    The position of the property was fantastic 500 mtrs from entry to old city. Private car parking if needed. Breakfast was fresh every day. Luca our host went above and beyond to make our stay in Lucca wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager, Luca, was really friendly and hospitable. He immediately offered us a new room when there was noisy work going on outside our room. He also took us to the station by car at the end of our stay. A perfect host! The location is ideal - just outside the city walls, so cheaper than most, but a 15-minute walk to the city centre. Lucca is a great town - a very pleasant place to spend a few days.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful place. The manager was the nicest person we have dealt with. Will pick up and deliver you from and to the airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice b&b for our quick stay in Lucas. The owner was so helpful and waited up for us as we arrived later than expected.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room with comfy bed Top location and convenient parking in secure car park Very helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was perfect!!

    Gorgeous. Classic Italian B&B.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful and interesting house. Welcoming comfortable room. Available parking, and great breakfast. Easy short walk to historic centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really!

    The owner was perfect very kind and very helpful very kind and make our stay fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good breakfast, good central location 5 mins away from Lucca centre. Very helful, and great for parking if travelling by car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host was amazing, so friendly and helpful and went out of his way to help us in every way possible. Thank you Luca so much.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    Very beautiful villa

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house was spotless

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cozy apartment. Friendly staff. Near the city. Definitely would recommend to a friend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were very helpful & very good location to Lucca

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a great place to stay ,and so close to the old town. would stay here again if we go back ..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was wonderful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nice family-run B&B with safe parking in the backyard. Excellent value for money close to the centre of Lucca. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff, even gave us a ride back to the train station. Very nice room. Short walk into old Town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I had more time in Lucca ☺

    Luca went out of his way to ensure my stay was comfortable.I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this residence.

    Stayed in June 2017

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: