Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Ludovisi Palace Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Via Ludovisi 43, Via Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy

#417 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 848 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable Hotel in Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were starting our honeymoon after getting married in France and Rome was our first destination. Our flight from Marseille was cancelled at the last minute due to strikes in both airports so we had to rent a car, drive to the border, take 3 trains and make an unplanned stop in Genoa for 1 night. We had already booked and paid for 3 nights at the Ludovisi Palace in Rome and missed our first night due to all the extra travel we had to do to get to Rome. We called ahead to let them know and to ask if there was any way they could refund us for the night that we were going to miss because of the strikes which were obviously out of our control. We were told that they would not be able to do that as we had pre-paid through Booking.com. We said that was very disappointing and were told to speak to a manager about it before we left. On Monday morning at check out there was no one available to talk to us. This wasn't very satisfactory.

    The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was big with a nice bath. We were affected by airport strikes and did not arrive until the morning after the day we were due to check in.We missed breakfast but the staff brought us a lovely tray to our bedroom. The hop on hop off bus tours stopped right outside the hotel which was very handy. The area was nice and the hotel is a 10 minute walk to Spanish Steps and a 15 minute walk to the Trevi Fountain.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    5.4
    Over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Over priced. No facilities at all. The hotel didnt even have an iron. They had to borrow it from another hotel to accomodate. The staff at the front tried to help but the manager didny give a crap and didnt want to be bothered over the weekend. Not sure what kind of manager is that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    2.5
    Very unhappy
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stuff attitude, very noisy place I couldn’t sleep for 4 nights I could hear the other room everything, breakfast was very bad coffee was not good, in the bathroom didn’t have enough facilities and was not cleaned overal was the worst place I’ve ever stayed.

    I didn’t like anything about the hotel was very diaponted I feel just wast of money to book in this hotel Ludovisi, the stuff are not nice not helpful very less facilities in the room very noisy from the other rooms I could here everything I was very unhappy my during stay was the worst hotel I’ve been so far I requested for big room they gave me the smallest room Didn’t have even space to open my bag. The bed was not clean not well managed coffee was not good and I never book again stay at Ludovisi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel in a lovely part of the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were lovely and very helpful in answering questions. The toilet in the room leaked a few times after flushing, and they fixed it immediately. Breakfast was great, especially for a European hotel- lots of variety. Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    6.7
    Although we ask in the reservation a room with bath cause we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although we ask in the reservation a room with bath cause we travel with a toddler they claim they're out, but when we said all 4 rooms will leave they found one. Very disappointing. The room is extremely small, especially when you travel with kids... The cost of the parking is 10 € more experience then the parking place that we took 50 m from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    7.9
    Clean and comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was quiet dark having only a small window looking into the internal lightcourt. The advertised room mentioned a balcony with city views, which are apparently only on the 6th floor and were all booked. That had been one of the attractions in booking the room, though I was told it just meant that there are some in the hotel.

    The hotel is in a quieter part of the city, though within walking distance to a number of attractions - the Spanish Steps being the closest and the train stations (Barberini approx. 600m). Room was a bit on the small side but it was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was included and had a selection of sweet and savoury.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    10
    Great location,great room,great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was great size for a European hotel, as was the bathroom. Location was in a great neighborhood and convenient to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    7.9
    Very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Basic bathroom amenities such as toilet roll, body soap and shampoo were not replenished daily. Maybe by mistake, in room complementary coffee was decaf only.

    Very good breakfast. Clean and comfort.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    10
    Very good stay. Always feel welcome there.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Been going there long time. They’ve made many improvements over the years including room and bathroom remodels. Front desk people great especially Marco!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    4.6
    Property was new and room was clean although small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    AC was not working and i complaint thrice to the staff , but nothing worked out in our two days stay. We had to sleep in suffocated room. And at the end we had to open windows and sleep

    Property was new and room was clean although small

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    9.2
    Great stuff, tasty breakfast with many delicious cakes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sometimes in the morning TV doesn’t work, and that’s all)

    Great stuff, tasty breakfast with many delicious cakes. Location is very convenient, the street is green and not noisy . The hotel is light and clean. Will recommend it to my friends! Thank you)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    5.4
    Noise insulation very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Appalling sound insulation between our room & that next door and the room above. We could hear everything of our neighbours - convo, laughter, sex (lucky us), so had no choice but to go to bed & wake up at same time as them. Clip clacking of heels in room above maddening. If there's that sort of noise pollution what is the use of a clean room or nice bathroom? Do not follow hotel's recommendation to eat at Tempio di Bacco restaurant behind hotel. We had one of the worst restaurant meals we have ever eaten - does not speak well for hotel that they could recommend it.

    Clean and conveniently located. Nice bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    8.3
    Friendly hotel in great location just don't expect to get a drink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No formal bar as such but did offer bar services only on Friday and Saturday so that staying other nights of the week as we did (Sunday) there was no bar service. For a 4 Star hotel in Rome this is deplorable. There was a mini bar bug poor selection and no glasses to accommodate its use.

    Clean room. Great shower. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    10
    I would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could have been better as there was only an automated coffee machine with mediocre coffee.

    The location of the hotel was excellent and it was very modern and clean. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    8.8
    Room was very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very hot, AC was set to heating and couldn’t be changed. Cleaners took the glasses after the first night, but never replaced them.

    Room was very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    6.3
    It was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did not like the fact that they were not honest regarding the Triple Room.They mentioned it's a room with three standard beds were actually it was a room with a double bed and the third is a foldable bed.Moreover,they didn't charge accordingly.They charged me for a Triple room!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    2.5
    I was looking for taxi at hotel and The man at the reception told me he will get a taxi for us.he wa
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was looking for taxi at hotel and The man at the reception told me he will get a taxi for us.he wanted me to pay the taxi charge to him and he gonna pay him however he didnt pay him and i paid another 50€ at the airport.it wad not fair and they lie to me.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    7.1
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was great. 20 minute walk from Terminal station and 5 minutes to the top of the Spanish steps. From there you can get to most of the popular landmarks without too much hassle. Not much in the way of a food selection at the hotel, but there are loads of restaurants and cafes in the area. Breakfast was OK. Set me up for the morning until I could get some pizza in. Room was modern and clean. Not that you would spend a lot of time there. Wi-Fi was not bad. I managed to watch something on Netflix when I got back to the hotel at night. TV was pointless, unless you speak Italian. I would recommend this hotel as a good base if you are visiting Rome for a few days.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    7.9
    Good stay, clean hotel. A few points to be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi signal was not good at the room and at some places of the hotel. Didn't reach all spots in the room (bed, for example). We had to move to catch the signal. The waitress at the breakfast room was not very polite. We saw she was bringing coffees from inside the kitchen made with a professional coffee machine they had in the kitchen (they had lesser quality instant coffee maker at the buffet). When we asked her if we could get one she answered in a very impolite way saying they only made expressos in the good machine, which was not true since we saw all kinds off coffess coming out.

    The location was great, only 10 mins walk from the Trevi fountain. Room was clean and comfortable. Not too big, but not too small.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    With an improved breakfast, view from your room and a little size increase in room size this is a 5 star hotel

    Room is great Small but not too small and very clean Bathroom is brand new and very big There is nothing you can complain about when comparing price to what you are getting, it went above and beyond expectations Service is better than some 5 star hotels in Dubai Breakfast is very simple but for that price it's an absolute steal

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    2.5
    The worst hotel ever!
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The worst hotel ever!!!! The staff is the worst staff and the service is not even a one star hotel service!!! They should train people how to talk to the guest before hiring them!!!!!!! Very much in recommended will make sure that none of my entourage would book at this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    10
    Comfortable hotel and really close to the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We made a cup of coffee on the first night we arrived and this wasn’t replaced or the cups cleaned for the remainder of our stay.

    The room was nicely decorated with a lovely modern feel and the bathroom was beautiful with a waterfall shower. Only a few minutes walk to the metro station which was great to get to the train station, collosseum and Vatican Museums.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was quite small and it's quite noisy if your room faces the road! Also go for breakfast early or you may be disappointed!

    The location, the hotel is within walking distance to a large variety of bars and restaurants. You can also walk to most of the attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    10
    I was very comfortable and well-taken care of by the staff. Would certainly return.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Their breakfasts are fine if unexciting but breakfast isn't the meal you want to concentrate on when in Rome.

    The staff is very courteous and helpful. Always have been. They will go out of their way for you. They make you feel welcome. And the upgraded decor in the rooms is very nice. This is a good value hotel in the center of Rome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    3.3
    Not at all as hoped or expected in fact was extremely disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that the 'delicious snacks' advertised for happy hour were nowhere near delicious but closer to stale, dry and desperate,the green olives were wrinkled and dry. I was unable to have an advertised Bloody Mary as there was no tomato juice so was offered orange juice in its place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    8.3
    Great location to walk to popular tourist attractions - but noisy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    EXTREMELY NOISY if you stay next to elevator (like we did) - could hear ALL sounds! It is not sound proof like other hotels in that category! Extremely small room

    Great breakfast with perfect location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    8.3
    Hotel itself was lovely, as is Rome, but ride to airport was dangerous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning was problematic until the hotel switched to their heating mode. There was no way of turning the fan off when the hotel's system was on the air conditioning mode. Even though we had the thermostat turned all the way up the fan remained on low speed, thereby continually cooling the room whether the room control was on cooling or heating mode. We had to open the windows to get some heat, until they switched on to the heat mode in the main system. In this mode the fan could be turned off when we switched the room control to the "cooling" mode. The private car transfer arranged by the hotel was a disaster. While we were paying a premium rate of 60 Euros vs. taxi at 48 Euros or private car at 55 Euros, the so-called "limousine" provided was an old Mercedes station wagon whose upholstery was falling apart. The car was obviously in poor condition as we experienced a blow-out at high speeds on the highway to the airport, thereby risking our lives. DO NOT ACCEPT THEIR RECOMMENDATION FOR TRANSPORTATION!

    Room 107 was very large by European standards with a very large washroom. The location is excellent with a hop-on, hop-off bus stop just one block away. Excellent restaurants were within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel with average breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was very basic and for sure not a 4-star hotel breakfast. And the lady who works in the breakfast room was very rude.

    The location is close to the spanish steps and in a beutifull area. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms are awesome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    10
    It was a perfect stay!!! Grazie mille, ludovisi palace!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We are not writing these as negative comments, because we loved our stay there, we just think these might help other people enjoy their stay there too. -Some people might prefer a view to the street instead of quietness. We might too, in another city, but, in Rome, we were out in the city walking all day long, so, the last thing we might care about when returning for a nice sleep, would be this! -Disposable slippers might be useful to some people less prepared than us. (Perhaps they're available on demand, we din't check). Anyway, the whole floor was so clean, one could walk barefoot. -In the shower you may be puzzled about the hot/cold direction of the handle, unless you check it for a while before you enter (the first time). -The bed-boxes are low above the floor and you may bump your toes, when approaching the bed.

    We, (a family of three), very much enjoyed our three-night stay in Rome, at the Ludovisi Palace Hotel. It is a rather small but comfortable and very beautiful and carefully made hotel. The common rooms and spaces (reception, dining, lounge) are very nice and comfortable. It has two elevators which were never crowded. The location is close to everything a tourist might ask or need or want to visit and see. The room was spacious and very clean, the main bed was king-size, the bathroom was also spacious and super-clean and tidy, very well and carefully renovated with high-quality items and materials. The room was 4th floor, internal and quiet, windows opening at a wide space providing more than adequate daylight and fresh air. Everything in the main room and bathroom functioned properly (but, just in case, in the shower, check the first time, which handle-direction is hot and which is cold and remember this). The cleaning service was daily and the provision of towels, soap, shampoo, paper, was ample (some might notice the lack of disposable slippers and bath-robes, but we didn’t mind, because we prefer towels and always cary our own slippers, for sanitary and slipping- safety reasons). We also enjoyed the breakfast, which was excellent in quality, quantity and variety and with perfect coffee. Last, but not least, I’d wish to comment on the classic, Italian politeness and kindness of the personnel. Always there, always kind and helpful but also discrete! We were provided a very helpful map of Rome for free, marked with the main routes for sight-seeing. When we were leaving, they kept our luggage for a few hours for free, so we could take a last stroll out in the city. Special thanks to Mr Giorgio, at the reception, who was as kind as to disregard an unexpected pre-charging problem with my debit-card and wait for me to come over and arrange it personally (grazie mille!).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2017

    7.9
    Room was clean and hotel was very well located!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast is just OK, not too much variety but decent. The closets were a little too small. WIFI was relatively poor.

    Room was clean and hotel was very well located! Its easy to walk to the Spanish steps, Trevi fountain and metro. The AC was perfect! It was extremely hot in Rome, so it was nice and refreshing to have the room AC. There was TV with many channels, kettle with coffee/tea and safe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I was dissappointed with the room for the first day as it was dark one but on the next day they offered to me a better room with street view! Thanks!

    The room was clean. Frendly and very helpfull staff, thanks! Great location - just next to the Spanish stairs and all popular places you have to visit! Hop on Hop off bus station just next to the hotel which was very convinient!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2017

    7.5
    Good for a Short Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was surrounded in glass including the toilet. We prefer privacy when using the toilet.

    The room was nicely decorated. We went on an early morning tour which left before breakfast. They gave us breakfast in a bag to take with us. The staff were really helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    10
    Clean contemporary rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean contemporary rooms. Attentive staff and a quality breakfast (simple but effective). Perfect location, 2 minutes from the Spanish steps and 5 minutes to the Trevi Fountain.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    10
    Little gem of a hotel in Rome near Via Veneto!! Awesome stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing! Perfect for what I needed it for.

    Hotel was renovated, super clean and modern. Spacious bathrooms. And in a great neighbourhood, on a quiet side street. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and hotel was kid friendly. Only stayed one night as was catching a flight next day, but wish I booked my previous Rome stay here. I know I'll be back next time! Oh and price is right!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I'd like the balcony in sixth floor rooms which is the best place for relaxing and smoking, the location was excellent and easy to reach to city center, I had my best days of my life there in Rome and I will never forget that.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    8.8
    wonderful location...super bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast...parking is expensive...

    the window was amazng....location is very good...staff were nice...breakfast was very simple...bathroom is marvelous

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    4.6
    The room was dirty in general - especially the floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was dirty in general - especially the floor. The breakfast area felt stuffy and the staff was behaving very unprofessionally. You must to have certain attitude when you work in a hotel, otherwise change the job!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    7.1
    Nice but not over the top nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More plugs are needed in the room especially by the beds. One major thing I did not like... stepping off the elevator on our floor and seeing the huge piles of laundry and laundry cart that seemed to be parked there permanently. I realize they are tight for space but that is an eyesore. Why are there no hooks in the bathroom to hang towels?

    Breakfast was good. Front desk staff a little flustered as they seemed to have technical difficulties the two days we were there but otherwise very friendly. Room very nice, although a bit sparse. We really liked the location. Not far from the Spanish Steps and the hop on-hop-off bus stop is right there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    5.4
    Far from expected, I would avoid booking here if you have other options
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Many many things. Extremely disappointed in general if to put it mildly. To start with the hotel has unilaterally modified the price of the reservation under the pretext of a simple request of merging the two existing reservations. As a result the price almost doubled and the hotel refused to admit their fault. Booking.com dealt with the situation in my favor and now I hope that booking.com will deliver on their promise and refund me the difference in question. Room was very small, I believe much smaller then advertised. Isolation is a genuine disaster!!!! I was in room 405 and I could literally hear every word my neighbors were saying!!!!!! Extremely uncomfortable situation. I lightly complained about it but I was told that it's a general problem, not only in my room... if it is so, the star rating of this hotel is highly questionable... breakfast personnel is very nice but the breakfast itself is very poor in fact.... also, None of my special requests were granted etc. Wifi connection was extremely poor. No proper duvet but two extremely tired and not very clean looking blankets which I had to use as I was really cold with aircon on and with aircon down it was unbearable hot with over 32 degrees outside. Well, all those things and some others made me write this review as is. Though I still consider i am very mild in my complaints here... To resume, for the money I paid I could have found much much much better option. I'll never stay at this hotel again.

    The only nice thing about my stay here was that most of personnel are nice and friendly. Very nice and friendly cleaning lady, whose greeting were brightening my morning. Breakfast personnel was extremely friendly and smiley. Location is quite fair as well. But good things stop there. Bed is comfy, but redardless my request it was NOT a proper double bed but two matrasses were put together and it was, of course, felt.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location... lived like a local !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very friendly and i also loved the location. On the first night i was booked into a disabled room which was dark and like a prison cell despite my booking request for a room with a balcony! The shower leaked big time and it was quite a mess! However, the lovely lady on the front desk assured me that she would put things right the next day and sure enough, for the next 2 days I enjoyed a superb room ...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    9.2
    Great small place in a fabulous part of Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our original room had no safe for our valuables like our passports or a closet to hang our clothes in.Very small but they changed it after our first night and everything was great!

    Wonderful clean and very safe neighborhood with lots of great restaurants and very close to a lot of the sites

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2017

    3.8
    The AC in our room was not working and we were informed that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC in our room was not working and we were informed that there was nothing that hotel could do to fix it. Even the location of our room was pathetic, overlooking a rear shaft of the hotel that was filthy, so we could not even open our windows to get some relief from the non-functional AC. Would never stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2017

    7.1
    Nice staff-ok hotell (overpriced)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We paid approx 8000kr (€8100) for three nights. We expected a little more from the rooms and the hotel as a whole. I cant understand why it has 4stars. We had a room for three people (1 adult+2children). It was located on the first floor facing an uggly dark yard. The room was like a cave.

    Extremely friendly and helpfull staff. They helped me change to a better room (smaller but brighter) The romans are overall very pleasant and friedly. And Rom is great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    4.6
    4* hotel at 2* level of service and NOISY!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisy hotel with a very low level of service, breakfast is not on the level od 4* hotel, but only 2*. During night very noisy area and also hotel rooms have very bad sound isolation. Never again.

    Hotel is renovated, but this is all.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2017

    6.7
    Good hotel in a excelent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is in a period of reconstruction which was not clearly specified on Booking website. Because of this fact some facilities like the bar were not available.Also the noise during the day it can not be ignored. Despite this the prices of accomodation have not been decreased.

    The staff and surroundings (great location at walking distance from almost every acient attraction in Rome).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable and recommendable ( Careful if renovation going on )
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Last 2 days 2nd and 3rd were dramatically bad due to the high noise ( Renovation going on )

    Perfect location ; Excellent smiling staff . Highly recommendable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2016

    4.6
    Avoid while renovations are still ongoing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a lot of noise from the renovations, that starts at 7:30 AM and does not stop; it's like an infinite drill that works forever. We couldn't even talk in our room because of the noise. We stayed only one night and moved to another hotel.

    Location is good, it seemed a safe neighborhood. The rooms were also nicely furnished and clean. Breakfast was OK, nothing to write home about.

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2016

    4.6
    Not even close to four stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    * Very small room (definitely not 18 m²; just a few centimetres of room on either side of the bed; the cupboard/cabinet for clothing on the foot side of the bed couldn't open it's doors fully before hitting the bed) * No duvet (only plain sheets with a blanket that felt dirty) * No easily available electric sockets (after a while we found a single one by moving the cupboard/cabinet and unplugging the TV; only usable because we always bring a power strip with extension cord) * No desk (which the room was advertised to have) * Hard bed * Hard pillows * Barely functioning flush on toilet, had to flush multiple times to have any hope of results * Toilet paper holder positioned directly behind the toilet seat, making it impossible to reach while sitting on the toilet * Toilet paper holder mounting was loose, making the toilet paper sit at an angle with risk of falling off the holder when pulling on it * Very small shower space resulting in the shower curtain constantly clinging to your body * Dirty shower curtain * Very unstable feel to the bathtub floor; you feel how it "bends" each time you shift your weight a bit * Crackling paint/outer layer in the bathtub * Weird/broken shower head giving a combination mist and a few very sharp jets that actually hurt sometimes * Visibly Broken shower head mount; couldn't hold the shower head a a set angle * Loud A/C * Non-existing room security; you leave the (single) key in the reception and only give your room number the get it when you get back (even with different staff that you haven't already met)

    * The location * Nice staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2016

    8.8
    Very nice place for this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WC is old. No bathrobe in the room and no blankets! I heard everything was going on on my floor! Even breathing of my neighbors.

    Service! Andrea and Marco were very nice and helpful!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2016

    9.6
    We really enjoyed the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really enjoyed the location. We only used a cab to get from the train station with our bags and it was only 10 Euro. So close to Barberni Metro stop we rode all over. The Spanish Steps were a light walk away. Lots of trees in the area made for a park like retreat. Breakfast was good, lots of different choices. The air conditioning worked great!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2016

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only available power points, in room, were behind the wardrobe.

    Great location. Excellent value for money. Comfortable room. Good choice at breakfast.L

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2016

    10
    This hotel is a very nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    This hotel is a very nice place to stay. The location is good, the staff was friendly and efficient. Special thanks to Marco for being helpful and to Carmen who made great espresso every morning.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2016

    8.3
    Welcoming place, does the job but far from luxe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a 4 star hotel. Location is good but means 10-30 min walking to the central sights, piazzas, etc.

    The staff is super accommodating in this slightly-shabby little hotel. Breakfast is nothing special but plentiful and has all basics, including fluffy scrambled eggs

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2016

    9.2
    Great location and clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was too hard for me.

    Location was central to all site seeing attractions. Breakfast was great and served early enough for those who want an early start. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    10
    Excellent Hotel, a few minor issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room safe had a battery which was hanging by a thread, we had to adjust this daily - this needs fixed quickly. The shower was a bit of a "hit or miss" scenario. Temperature of water went from warm to cold, then switched off by itself. This could be a major problem for children or elderly people. Lights in bathroom and bedroom flickered quite a lot. They need an Electrician to sort this out.

    The hotel location was excellent, in a very safe and desirable area, with the American Embassy nearby, on the same street. The hotel staff were very helpful, but non-intrusive. Room was very clean and spacious, had everything we needed. Website didn't specify that there were tea/coffee facilities in room - that was an added bonus! Maria, who arranged my Airport Taxi booking was so helpful. All the Reception staff were very professional and informative, as were the Porters. Cleaning staff did a great job - beds were made up, towels etc replaced daily. This was a lovely Hotel in a beautiful location, with easy access to all the various tourist attractions. I just wish we had more time to explore the city of Rome, which was so very beautiful. I would definitely go back to the Ludovisi Palace Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2016

    8.8
    Nice good-quality hotel close to the city centre but away from the tourist crowds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Family Package
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some noise could be heard from noisy neighbours in the corridor. Impossible to have constant water temperature in the shower + it was not possible to adjust the height of the shower head. No single beds for 4 adults, but 2 double beds instead. Matrasses were a bit hard.

    Nice staff. A big room for 4 adults. The room at the rear did not have a great view but it did not matter as we did not stay in the room during daytime. Due to its location, the room was quiet. Modern and big bathroom. Breakfast was good. The hotel proposed a taxi pick-up from the airport, with a competitive price. Very good location close to the city centre but without a lot of tourists running around. NB: it is high on a hill so requires a little bit of climbing when returning to the hotel. Missing blankets and sheets were brought very quickly when asked for. Metro station near, although due to the hill not very handy with big luggage.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2016

    4.2
    *unfriendly reception staff and not cooperative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    *unfriendly reception staff and not cooperative. they mislead me regarding the parking and charged me 3 times more. *the breakfast in a small and dirty room .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    5.8
    Great staff average hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too small room before the upgrade. Some of the appliances in the bathroom were malfunctioning.

    Staff was helpful and willing to address problems quickly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    9.6
    The staff was very very kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very very kind and helpful. My girlfriend fell sick on our vacation and we had to return back early which was gladly accommodated for by the manager Mr. Georgio. Thanks!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2016

    8.3
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are smaller than they appear on the photos. Elevator is slow and the entrance door is heavy!

    Breakfast was good. Rooms are clean and the staff is nice and helpful!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2016

    9.2
    Very good stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Light shade was busted up next to bed. Toilet and bidet too close next to each other and cramped.

    Excellent, friendly and very professional staff. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable and luxurious in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air con unit was quite noisy do had to switch it off overnight.

    Lovely breakfast. Room was cool and comfortable. Good location close to the Spanish steps and Trevor Fountain

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2016

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    NO SOUNDPOOFING. Literally NO. We were able to hear someone snoring in the adjacent room! Luckily, most of the time the hotel was really quiet. But if you happen to have loud neighbours next door — you're in trouble. Every sound from other rooms or corridor can and will disturb you.

    Great location. Close to subway. Two stations away from Termini. Close to many interesting places and restaurants, and still on a quiet side street. Bath tub is a plus even though it's very small. Private balcony was fabulous! We lived on the 6th floor. I'm not sure if it's available on other floors.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2016

    5.8
    The worst receptionists ever
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wasn't enough tables for me to have my breakfast, regarding this fact I decided to look what the food was like and saw how dry and unrealth it was so I decided not to queue and wait for a table as it wasn't a point to eat it. Two of the receptionists, one man, and one lady were very uneducated with me and I am very disappointed with this nonsense treatment that I got, bad humorated staff, they seems to be at the worst of their days so I definitely won't go back anymore to this hotel and would no suggest anyone to go to a hotel for have to deal with unprofessional staff that treat you horribly, I definitely think that instead of those employees work at a hotel reception they would do better selling water in the beach as it is the category that I would see them doing well with all my respect. Good manners and professionalism is essential for a hotel to survive and have a reccomendation.

    The localisation

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2016

    9.6
    good Location,friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have to say that they surprised us with a bottle of Prosecco (it was the honeymoon trip for my sister) ,they could not be happier than that,the staff were so kind, the Reception Ginevra and the guy Vincenzo were so kind and helpful, the location is just 6-7min by walk from Spanish stairs so I can say that you can explore the center of Rome just by walk.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2016

    6.3
    Not what you would be entitled to expect from a 4 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The single room and the bathroom I was given didn't' look anything like the one booked in "booking.com". The very smal bathroom has plastic curtains, a shower over the bath tub, towels that didn't look that fresh and clean, no robe or sleepers ,like in the photos when booked. The bedroom was much smaller and looking totally different from the one that came with my confirmation of booking.The level of comfort doesn't justify the 4 stars price.

    Not a bad location if you have a car. Big comfortable bed. Good choices at breckfest if you choose the right room ( there are 2 breckfest rooms).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2016

    6.3
    A/C in room was very efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Special Family Package
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We asked for gluten free when booking and was very dissapointed with a few biscuits we were given at breakfast. Especially when GF products are abundant in Italy.

    A/C in room was very efficient

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    8.8
    Ma is service and front desk were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small breakfast area

    Ma is service and front desk were excellent. Everyone was polite

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    5.0
    Too expensive for what they have to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is not at all a four stars hotel !

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.6
    Glad we found this hotel and would recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.6
    Location was fab and the room was lovely and spacious for 4...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was fab and the room was lovely and spacious for 4 of us

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    8.3
    Amazing Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing Location!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    Great location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location and value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    8.3
    Staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room size

    Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    7.5
    location, nearby restaurants
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast could be tastier

    location, nearby restaurants

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ludovisi Palace Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: