Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Lux 3 stars

Via Galileo Galilei, 218/A, 41100 Modena, Italy

#8 of 28 hotels in Modena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 931 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    We decided to stay at Lux Hotel because it was on our way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could make the balcony space more inviting with a garden furniture :)

    We decided to stay at Lux Hotel because it was on our way and very fast reachable from the highway (Take notice: The whole Modena Nord tangente is under construction!) There was a huge parking lot in front of the hotel. We were warmly welcomed by the polite reception staff - sig. Domenico, sig.ra Donata and sig.ra Roberta. The room was spacious and we enjoyed a wonderful sunset on the huge balcony. Be cautious- there is a live wire on the railings! The breakfast was rich and tasty. For all these reasons we came back for the second time! Modena’s centre is just 4 km away by car. If you just want to relax after a long ride, you can order a yammii pizza at restaurant Bite just around the corner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Very large room, ideally with family and kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very large room, ideally with family and kids. Breakfastroom was very nice a very friendly man behind de coffee bar. We used just for one night but were very positively suprised about the size of the room and all the rest. We came very late but were already expected infront of the hotel and guided to our locked parking space. Very warm welcome. Excellent!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was really nice. Breakfast is incredible good and the hotel have all the services our group (2 adults and 2 kids) needed. Perfect for visiting Modena and surroundings. Great value for money. Absolutely recommended. Thanks!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    The rooms were spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit far from the center of town, but otherwise there wasn't much to dislike.

    The rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast was great with made to order coffee. Free parking and dog friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    A comfortable, roomy stay with a great free breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was extremely spacious, with 5 people in the room we were not tripping over each other. The room was very clean as were the facilities. It was very close to all the activities that we had planned during our stay. The free breakfast was amazing, there were lots of choices of things to eat, even for my wife who is gluten free. The staff were very friendly and helpful to recommend places to eat in the city. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Best nights' sleep in a log while.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is a little out of the way, but perfectly adequate for a short stay in the area.

    Had an excellent night's sleep in a big bedroom having got my work completed. Breakfast was excellent and a good coffee.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    Spacious rooms, excellent breakfast, nice and friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no convenient public transportation nearby to go downtown.

    Spacious rooms, excellent breakfast, nice and friendly staff, free parking. Easy to find, close to the main roads.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Great one
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast - big variety of juices, salty and sweet things, fruits. The personnel was extremely friendly - we were late as our flight got delayed and they wellcomed us after 00:30. There is a bus stop nearby (Garibaldi or something) with a bus going to the center. Parking infront of the hotel is available - free and spacious. Comfortable bed and very nice room/bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    A great base to travel around the Emilia-Romagna region;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A great base to travel around the Emilia-Romagna region; we rented a car and, since the hotel was on the outskirts of the city of Modena, we were close to the main motorways. The free parking at the hotel was particularly useful for us! The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was of a high standard each morning. Our room was impeccably clean, and it had a lovely large balcony from which to watch the sunset (though watch out for the electric wire!!).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Big rooms and great breakfast, but quite far from the city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is really out of the centre, so except for a (good) bar there is not much to do here. Even if there was a no smoking sign, there was a scent of smoke in the room.

    The rooms are really big, the beds are comfortable and the bathroom is spacious and clean. There is a lift and the breakfast is really good, coffee made on the moment, a good selection of pastry and local salami and cheese. And personnel is very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful breakfast, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only down side really is that the room was somewhat noisy - the doors have a crack so you hear everything from the coridor and from the rooms next door. But it really wasn't so bad, we slept just fine. I guess it depends on the courtesy of your neighbours.

    Hotel Lux has very accessible location (especially if you travel by car), lots of parking space, good connection to the city center (the bus stop is near by), the staff was really friendly. The room was really big and had all the basic amenities you would need. What really makes hotel Lux stand out is their breakfast - sure they don't have a kitchen so no fried eggs and such, but they really make it up with abundance of everything else, including different pies, fresh fruit and prosciutto. And they make you fresh coffee with your breakfast. I was in hotel breakfast heaven!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel but avoid the Friday and Saturday night as a night club next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed a Thursday night which was fine. However on Friday night we found our room very noisy as next to the Hotel was a bar called Soup 212 with playing classic Euro trash techno till about 02:30 / 03:00 which is we were staying the Saturday night as well I am sure would of gone on again.

    We used the hotel as a base to visit Ferrari and Lamborghini both about 30 /40 minutes away but a easy drive. Hotel had gated parking and breakfast was good as well room was a family room with 3 big beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Modena suggested stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t say any. All was fine.

    Very good breakfast and lots of varieties. The room I had was very big. Very quite hotel and close to motorway exit. It was a very last minute booking that went soon through. Modena is also a city rich in art, architecture and Ferrari cars. But don’t forget it’s food!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed our over night stay- clean hotel great breakfast & definitely recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room had the smell of cigarette smoke, however they moved us very quickly to anther 5th floor room..... most grateful for that However the next room had a very noisy air conditioning unit .... we didn't complain we just turn the unit off. And opened the door.

    Great breakfast, clean hotel, Spacious rooms, 5 th floor rooms have huge balconies accommodating and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Worth visiting again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The home-made cakes were delicius and really special! The staff were very firendly and helpful. Thew were speaking English which was not the case elsewhere in Italy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Good value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite minimalistic, dark and not that exciting.

    Okay hotel to spend a night or two in. Wifi was excellent! Very good restaurant in the hotel called 212. Nice service at the reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast. Nice and helpful staff. Big, nice family room and really big balcony (terrace). For the accommodation during the way on or from the holiday excellent choice nearby the main motorway in Italy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Not "lux", but good :)
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Why there is no furniture on a huge terrace, like this?

    Cleand and huge size room, with an even bigger terrace. Helpful staff, altogether this is a good quality place. And it is not far from anything, althoug much easier to reach for those coming by car, indeed. For an overnight stop near the highway perfect. Breakfast is also OK, although I missed some bigger variety in the non sweet sector. Working WIFI.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    6.7
    It is good experiences for me to stay at Lux Hotel as the view point of foreigner.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Far from Modena city center. You should not go there if you do not have a car. Not comfort for foreigners. Currently hotel's wifi is not good. Your internet connection might be interrupted sometime.

    very helpful staff and receptionists. Good food for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    Not A Tourist Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, where do I start? This is not a tourist hotel - it's too far from the tourist centre of Modena, and if you don't have a car, forget it. Also, the WiFi is shocking, near on unusable in the bedroom. To make it worse I was told, "don't rely on the WiFi when you book the hotel," by a receptionist. Really? Get your act together, Hotel Lux.

    There's a great pizza restaurant and related bar next to the hotel, open from 6.00 a.m. till 2.00 a.m.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    8.3
    Perfect hotel for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like overall however, as an environmentally conscious family, we were disappointed to see plastic bowls and cups at breakfast time. It's a lot of waste for our planet.

    I liked the location for what our family needed which wasn't to be in the city centre. We also left our son's favourite teddy behind and the hotel was quick in dispatching it to us by post. Thank you!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    breakfast is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast is good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.8
    Strange but ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff grumpy no evening meal option and live bird scarer on all balconies.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    highly recommendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    modern building w/ ample parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Lovely place for family to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place for family to stay.beds very comfortable. Clean and tidy.Booked the same day before stay in.Staff very polite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Great on-site restaurant and lovely breakfast in the morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great on-site restaurant and lovely breakfast in the morning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Large room with airco at a veruit fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can see that the hotel is a bit older.

    Large room with airco at a veruit fair price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast! The room was pretty good and the staff was very good as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    It was quite and clean, easy to get to from the highway,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite and clean, easy to get to from the highway, good service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    Service was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Basic but spacious clean rooms, friendly staff, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic but spacious clean rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious rooms. Nice breakfast with lots of different sweets and cookies for children.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Very good hotel, very attentive crew, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good hotel, very attentive crew, good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Clean, nice, friendly staff, excellent breakfast.
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, nice, friendly staff, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.8
    wi-fi,parking
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wi-fi,parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel for location, great hotel room,
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Staffs are kind and very clean and roomy hotel. Breakfast is great too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.7
    Staff was lovely.
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were hard. No glasses in the room.

    Staff was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok

    Ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Perfect staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect staff. Delicious breakfast. The room was big enough for the 3 of us. Everything was perfect here!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    italian breakfast with lost of sweet treats
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    italian breakfast with lost of sweet treats, could be complimented with a more traditional breakfast

    italian breakfast with lost of sweet treats

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.3
    Fine to stay for the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fine to stay for the night

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Easy to find parking place for te car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator is very small

    Easy to find parking place for te car. Good and fast internet connection. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    excellent price/performance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    far away from centre, need car to arrive easy

    good bed, good climate, good area to walk (quite walking), very clean and fresh room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.9
    Parking was difficult
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was difficult

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.5
    Lux says it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room as no soft furnishings

    Whole package especially the massive bedroom, changing room and bathroom, took pictures

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Big room and fast WiFi

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.2
    Comforteble and good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Veery noce and helpfull staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.5
    Large family room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large family room. Convenient, clean, basic.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.3
    great breakfast options, large room, comfortable, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great breakfast options, large room, comfortable, friendly stuff, free parking, free wifi

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    10
    The location, near the highway, the room, very big and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is very good for a night - not good if you want to take a walk in the nearby, but this was not my desire :-)

    The location, near the highway, the room, very big and clean.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    5.4
    Nothing special
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    States in description "restaurant"! There is no restaurant within the hotel, there is a small average pizzaria next door! Unable to use the balcony due to maintenance.

    Nothing special

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    7.5
    A comfy bed and very clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didnt like the location, we found it difficult to find.

    A comfy bed and very clean room

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    9.2
    great staff, location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    great staff, location and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.2
    Conveniently situated for visiting my particular client.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Conveniently situated for visiting my particular client. Breakfast. The adjacent restaurant 'Bite' is very good.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    8.3
    Convinient location, just off the motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convinient location, just off the motorway. Large comfortable room. English speaking staff.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: