Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Lux 3 stars

Calle Delle Rasse, Castello 4541, Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy

#266 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1047 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Walls were covered with fabric, which looks very old-fashioned and depressing.

    Location is the best. You stay at the heart of Venice, like literally. All stuff speaking good English. It is rare in Italy! Breakfast was nice. My room had a little balcony which was really cute. Wonderful price/performance ratio.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    Central to all the sights but wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    needs updating, wallpaper is very unique and ornate but is dirty. safe was broken so unable to use. air conditioning had no off switch, had to open a window to turn it off! Torn between the noise from the air con or outside to get to sleep. no amenities in room, no kettle, mini fridge also broken. mouldy shower curtains.

    central location. patio from room. standard continental breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.1
    The best is the location, which is excellent, very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small and bad lighted. Actually, there is not common spaces in the hotel. The breakfast could be better.

    The best is the location, which is excellent, very close to San Marco And San Marco-Zacaria station. The staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice and comfortable and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many light switches and air conditioning unit switches broken. So didn’t attempt to turn off air conditioner (but worked great, room was at 21 degrees constantly). No porters and narrow stairs to take your luggage up but I’d imagine all of Venice is the same. Room small but manageable (open one suit case at a time). We had a large bag each and two smaller bags each.

    Great location and nice old charm. Great aircon and WiFi.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.8
    The location of the hotel is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast choices were limited and the air conditioning left a lot to be desired.

    The location of the hotel is amazing. It is central and close to water transport which is necessary when staying in Venice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic location, good breakfast and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea/coffee making facilities in the room would have made this a better experience

    The room was very clean and well presented. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    3.8
    The property was located in a good location to vaporettos...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival, we were given a shoebox of a room that was filthy and smelled. My boyfriend and i asked for a larger room, which we taken to. This one was also filthy. The bedspread and chair upholstery was stained. The walls were covered in marks from people dragging their luggage across the small space, and could have easily been cleaned. The bathtub was also quite dirty and had paint peeling off of it. The hardware was completely rusted. When we decided to tell staff we would not be staying, they refused to refund our money, and kept our two night stay fee because they could not fill the room. I get that, but why is the facility so disgusting? It shouldn’t be our responsibility to pay for your rooms if they’re not livable. This place should be dirt cheap for what it is.

    The property was located in a good location to vaporettos and many major sites.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Good excellent location ,clean and small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have stayed in many hotels this Breakfast was the most simplest possible one.Only break butter cheese and cornflakes.I am not sure but may be this standard is followed across all Venice.Hotel do not provide Multi pin sockets so was unable to charge my mobile bse i had charger which cannot be plugged in.Usually all standard hotels do have this minimal facility.

    Breakfast was not upto standards,just bread,croissant and milk cornflakes.Location is quite good but rooms are pretty small (don't expect big rooms in Venice any where else as well).You pay money only for location but if you ask me you can stay at another location with much lesser price.Frequency of boats is excellent and you can reach here within 15-20 min from any other location.Night boats starts at 3:30 and you can reach airport by 5 AM if you have early morning flight. Bathroom and toilet is quite clean .AC temperature is controlled by person sitting at reception.You can walk through narrow lanes and can find real feel of Venice. Location is quite simple ,from airport take bus until piazza roma ,then boat till St Zaccaria (frequency is too good).Hotel is 150 mtr away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    3.5
    Worst hotel we've ever stayed at. Most arrogant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cons: I wish there was a negative rating which this hotel truly deserves. There was NO WATER in the hotel in the morning for us to get ready. Imagine a hotel with no water. The guy at the reception behaved extremely rudely and offered no help. I've recorded the entire conversation. The staff is extremely rude. No lifts You can't control the ac, have to call the reception every time to turn on/off, forget about the temperature settings. Bathroom flush not working and the reception staff gave a workaround very casually without even apologising. I read another review mentioning same issue which means the staff knows about it but do not care to fix it. Pathetic breakfast and just enough seats to accommodate 2-3 small families. The decor is a disappointing attempt towards venetian style with century old rugs. Most hotels in Venice are tiny and crammed but I'm sure they compensate it with a good hospitality and a smile.

    None apart from the location. Please don't waste your money on this hotel, if you run into issues with your room then you'll have to live with it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    Readiness of staff in meeting customer's needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit uncomfortable as I could feel the springs. Dust on the towel rail in the bathroom. Hair on the bed cover. Tap on bathroom sink old and gritty - should be changed.

    Readiness of staff in meeting customer's needs. Great location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Small room in a great part of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift (and very narrow stairs), we were only on level 2 so it was fine but if you have kids and travel with a lot of suitcases just be cautious. The room was a bit outdated but.. it was very clean. The breakfast was ok, small selection but still enough.

    The bathroom had been renovated recently and was very nice and clean. The wifi was surprisingly good. Location was great, you can take the water ferry from the airport and it takes you to within 200meters of this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    3.8
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old, dirty room in another building that the hotel seems to be, poor breakfast, no working wifi.The worse room that i have ever been...even i paid it 6 months before i went to Venice.

    Perfect location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    3.8
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt feel like a hotel. Rooms were down a different street so very isolating. Absolutely no internet for five days we were there and woman at reception just said line was down and didnt seem to care. Very dated and carpet old and tattered on stairs and not very safe. No air con at all and very small tv not great. Only a few channels in italian. Electrics looked poor! Screw nail through cord of hairdryer which was placed right beside bathroom sink..very dangerous! My husband and myself got lot of bites also Wouldnt stay again and dont know how it has 3 stars !!!

    Shower and bathroom was ok apart from dodgy looking electrics

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    5.4
    Will not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath tub was in horrible condition, I could not use it for shower the first day but due to extreme heat next day just use a luridly corner for quick shower. The surface had some patches of white paint or something like that. I stayed in Room 134. It also had water stained wall paper and the passage had moldy smell.

    Location and staff. Staff is extremely friendly, they made poor condition of the room bearable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    5.4
    Buy the location, nothing else worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We actually ended up staying in different hotel. We got transfer to hotel panada and were given a smaller room than advertised. Bed is the worst of all. In twin room, they have 1 bed and 1 sofa bed. The mattresses are old and even slope to the side. Food choice is limited

    Location Receptionist is helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    Decent place to just sleep and take shower if visiting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is old. Hall looks like it has not been cleaned for ages.

    Decent place to just sleep and take shower if visiting Venice for a day or two. Breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Great small hotel, even better price and the best location in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was friendly, especially Dejan, who helped a lot with tips on where to go and what to do while in Venice. Location - perfect. Price for what we got - great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    4.6
    Nice location but disapointing "hotel".
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn't nice at all. They even laughted at our faces for paying in cash. Also they weren't very helpful. The room wasn't as expected. It was a bit dirty and old and they sent us to an annex of the hotel that looked like the cleaning staff room.

    The breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    A nice property and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do not use the room safe. It is not secured and can be easily removed for the room.

    A good location near St. Marks and a vaporetto stop (I recommend contract the hotel directly for directions).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    it's clean and the room we stayed in had windows away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    air conditioning was not adjustable and the last day of the stay stopped working at all. as the breakfast room is small, we had to wait to get inside for our breakfast.

    it's clean and the room we stayed in had windows away from the street, so it was nice and quiet at night. staff is helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    The location close to St Mark's is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The fact that there was no lift. If you are an oldie or otherwise not very fit, and you are on the second floor or higher you may have some difficulty. Otherwise the hotel was well located and of acceptable standard with reasonably friendly staff.

    The location close to St Mark's is good. Dining area a little cramped, though breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.0
    Was not like the images .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was not like the images . My room had water damage and bathroom needed repairs. No elevator - hauling up luggage up flights of stairs without assistance from hotel staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    3.3
    Shocking discusting dont stay there the stuff are rude and dirty rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are rude dont acknowledge you Wi fi doesnt work reported it lady said there is an issue on check out again i told her no wifi she got my phone and connected when i asked at check in she said they have internet issues. Rooms are very very run down. Shower broken off wall toilet seat broken. Cockroach in room. Breakfast was shocking the lady in there was rude no communication skills at all not even a hello. All this was stated at check out the receptions could not care on bit. Stated to me 'do you know were you are?' I do not recommend this hotel at all

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.0
    Bad Accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't clean and comfortable at all. The room was so small. And the walls were covered by fabric which lead to dust so you cannot breathe easily.

    Just the location was okay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Couldn't complain about anything as was good value for money for central Venice.

    Ideal location. Bed very comfy. Air con not working initially but soon sorted. Breakfast ideal. Great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    3.3
    Book if you want to ruin your vacation:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ist bad,dirty,just don't go there.we booked the lux hotel and we have been send in one building behind the hotel.it was the dirtyest hotel I ever seen in my life.and btw our "balcony"was a door to some clima compressors,was so loud we had to buy and sleep with earplugs.wifi didn't work

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    3.8
    Would not recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - textile on walls - walls and carpets are very old. they smell and gave me allergy. - Smell - There is a leaking ventilation central system, which stinks for all the floors and if your room is on the ground floor it makes a lot of noise. - Fridge - not working properly - No elevator - breakfast is very poor.

    Location is nice just 2 minutes from San Marco . However I would advice to stay in Cannaregio - its a bit further but less crowded and facilities are of a better quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    The staff were amazing, we asked for directions as we needed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard and very very squeaky. Every time you rolled over you’d hear a massive screech.

    The staff were amazing, we asked for directions as we needed to be somewhere early in the morning and he not only helped with directions but made sure our included breakfast was ready for us in a takeaway bag in the morning! So great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    3.8
    Internet scam, rude staff and poor breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was promised but never worked. The staff was rude and lied about the internet connection. The breakfast was miserable. And that's for a price of almost 150 dollars per night. All in all the hotel is better avoided.

    The location is very central.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi doesn't work and they couldn't find me a solution, I've reported 3 times to 3 different staff member about a drip in the toilet and a broken light that was flashing took them 2 days to fix the toilet drip and the light was broken since we arrived until we left the hotel.

    Very good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Pretty comfortable stay and staff helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were three floors up and very steep stairs to walk. No help with luggage. Only one plug in room. Difficult god charging phones etc.

    Breakfast was typical continental style was find

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.3
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately there was no porter (as advertised) to assist with your luggage. Having to carry my luggage (for a 30 day trip) up two flights of stairs was not acceptable. The wi-fi was erratic. And the bed as hard as a rock. However, the price and location made up for this.

    The location was perfect. Close to the water bus and St Mark's Square. The croissants were delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was in very nice location close to the main square...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were some little things in the bathroom that could easily been fixed for more comfortable use.

    The hotel was in very nice location close to the main square in a calm street. The rooms are beautiful. Very much value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    There was a very bad smell which came from the bathroom in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a very bad smell which came from the bathroom in the night. It was disgusting, i guess it comes from the canal. BUT The locación is perfect in the centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.0
    Really bad hotel but staff are extremely helpful and friendly and they made it tolerable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room is very bad. Mold all over the room, tv very small and problematic. At conditioning broken, WiFi constantly drops, and the list goes on. Breakfast also bad. Nevertheless the staff are extremely helpful and friendly and they made it tolerable

    Staff are very friendly, helpful and tried to solve all problems once they came... nevertheless the lack of a reasonable infrastructure at the hotel made it one quite bad choice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a few stains here and there, no elevator to climb with a suitcase on 4 th floor, but you can’t expect an elevator in an old town. WiFi is not that great: it often loses connection. But overall it’s an ok hotel with everything needed. And you can’t expect a hotel in Venice for 100 euro to be like a 4 stars hotel, can you?

    After reading the bad reviews I was afraid it would be bad, however it wasn’t. The price for Venice is quite low. The location is just amazing: 2 minutes walk from San Marco.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Very well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite the decoration (which I liked), the room looked very old and needed a renovation and maintenance. The air conditioner was not working properly and the shower as well. Because de the hotel was in the city center we had a lot of noise during our stay and we could not close the window because was too hot. There is no elevator, so if you have a big luggage it will a bit difficult to put it in the room.

    Excellent location. Very close to the ferry station e to the main sightseeing in Venice. The room size was ok (with a minibar), also comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    2.5
    Usually if I have a place to sleep and shower I'm ok but this time I regret my choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sorry to say but it was bad. It's down a dark alley way and if you aren't paying very careful attention you'll miss it. Some say the location is great, but come back at 1 am in pitch blackness and we'll see how you feel. Had to fight some weird doors to see the narrow staircase that led to the front desk. Got our room key, just one for a couple of people? Then proceeded to find a stale smelling room with burn marks on the ceiling from probably some exploded lightbulbs and some weird hopefully dirt marks on the walls not to mention the locked storage areas that looked like they've been attacked by a woodpecker. One window didn't open, had the handle missing, but the ones that did gave us a nice view of another tiny street with restaurants that made leaving the window open almost impossible at night if you wanted to get to bed early. Bathroom had flaking walls, a shower curtain that would stick to anything and a door that my partner could barely close. Bed was ok, bedding looked clean. Next morning the paid breakfast was a coffee a croissant and the potential of a bowl of cereal, that's it. Confirmed with other people staying there that it wasn't what we expected. Second night airconditioner turn on by it's self and starting flooding the room with dust and a horrible smell, went down to the reception to tell them about it where i got the most delightful "there's a problem in your room, just open the bathroom window and it will turn off". Got over all of these to find on the last night that a specialised dental guard that was neatly placed on top of a makeup case got thrown away, 75 euros into the trash.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    2.9
    Thankful iwas only one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Dirty and outdated room. Smelled like gas. Staff wasnt the friendliest. The website is deceiving this is certainly not a 4 star hotel

    Location is the only decent thing regarding this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    Great location and staff, but a bit more dirty then expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaness and breakfast

    Excelent staff, but very poor breakfast, dirty room and a lots of mold in the bathroom. AC/heating controlled from reception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi is free but the signal is weak. And you have to keep logging back in.

    Location is excellent, 5 minutes from St Mark's. Staff were friendly and helpful. The building is lovely, apparently 700 years old. It became a hotel about 35 years ago.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    6.7
    Adequate for purpose!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard of Reception was not very welcoming and not very professional when I arrived and I was kept waiting before being shown to my room..not helpful since I arrived late in the evening after tiring journey.

    The hotel and bedroom was well heated,particularly good as weather was extremely cold.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Perfectly located and moderately priced hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very steep stairs without elevator. It's OK if you're fit and don't have a heavy load, but could be a real problem for older/disabled people.

    Perfect location: just steps away from San Marco and vaporetto stop. Very friendly and helpful English-speaking staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Convenient location in a character building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and no one to help get my luggage up to the 4th floor with last flight of stairs quite narrow. But in buildings this age and size in Venice it is to be expected.

    I lucked out with a great room on the top floor with my own balcony with a view out to the water. Charming and comfy room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Keep this place secret - it a gem !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location location location - Walk down a laneway to find this hidden gem. 50 metres from the Grand Canal, 120 metres from St Marks Square. Staff always went out of their way to be helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    2.9
    poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our stay at this place was not pleasant at all, we found bedbuggs crowlling along the walls and beds, my nephew ended up bitten by a bounch of them in a different bedroom. The place its old fashion.

    It is very close to st. Marks Square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    Acceptabe for Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not realise the room was on fourth floor with no lift. Getting our luggage up and down was a challenge. Breakfast was also in a cramped room

    Staff were helpful with information on arrival

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.7
    This was a great location but be prepared if you stay in this area prices are a bit higher.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was quite firm and room was warm at 22 degrees C...we called to lower to 18 which is controlled by the desk but it was never changed so it wasn't that cool at night but it wasn't miserable. The breakfast was just modest but that is usual for the country anyway.

    The location was perfect as it was extremely close to St. Mark's Square and vaparettos (boat departures). They did help with transportation arrangements to the airport by boat for 15 euros one way which also takes about an hour but we enjoyed the ride. We were on the 4th floor so no noise at all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.4
    The location was very suitable for our stay in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were promised as there was no lift, that hotel staff would carry our cases up stairs. This did happen, but on our departure, this did not happen. We asked for this service the night before but were told in the morning the porterage staff were off duty. A big demand for us in our 70's struggling down 4 flights of stairs with cases. Other points: Aircon ineffective, fridge ineffective and safe not working. No effort made by hotel to address these issues.

    The location was very suitable for our stay in Venice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    5.8
    Good location but a bit outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and its facilities were outdated. The toilet was broken and I had to ask twice to get it fixed.

    Location is just behind the San Marco Square and despite the crowdedness in the area, the room was quiet and peaceful. It's also very close to the vaporetto stop.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.0
    Great location - easy to reach by public ferries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was strange, felt like we were in a unpleasant time warp. Receptionist laughed as he told us we had to cart our bags up 2 more flights of stairs once we reached reception. For the price it would be good to have a power point in the bedroom and free wifi wouldn't go astray.

    Great location - easy to reach by public ferries.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor breakfast. There is no elevator and we were on the 4th floor. Dirty carpets in the stairs.

    The location is great. The room was clean. Staff really friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    It had the best location you can find in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It had the best location you can find in Venice. Staff , Devjà and Erika, were very helpful and friendly and provide us with all the information we needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    2.9
    Too dirty and smelly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel pictures are very different from the real maintenance of the Hotel. It is in fact very old furnished, rooms are really dirty and I had to ask them several times to clean it up. Also is smells very bad, especially in higher floors.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Utterly perfect location, charming atmosphere and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A frustratingly disobedient shower head. There was a roof terrace, but no discernible view from it of note. I can't remember whether or not this was offered as a selling point, but don't book on this expectation alone. The breakfast was a bit basic, but this may just be an Italian thing.

    An exceptionally well located hotel. Minutes away from the water taxi stop and St. Mark's Square. This makes an enormous difference when in soaring heat and busy crowds. The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. The hotel had a very old world charm about it, which added to the atmosphere of the occasion.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.5
    Fantastic value for money accommodation in the heart of the main hub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower fell off the wall, but wouldn't detract from me staying here again.

    Location fantastic for St Mark's, some great little bars and restaurants within 2 mins walk. Staff extremely helpful. Rooms basic but importantly clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Not the best, not the worst.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast wasn't good, at all. The ac is controlled by the front desk and we called multiple times a day to have it turned to a more comfortable temp and it never adjusted more than 1 degree in the 3 days we were there.

    Location was the best I could've asked for and Erica was really helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.9
    A neat hotel for people without claustrophobia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was without meat, eggs or fruit. We asked them to heat up our croissants and it was not possible. The street entrance to the hotel is not neat with the water all over.

    The location and the neatness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    2.5
    Lux Hotel 👎🏻👎🏻👎🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area was so small, it can only accommodate about 10 to 12 pax. We have to queue and wait for our turn for breakfast which can take up to twenty minutes. The rooms were dim and dingy. When we made the reservation, we were not informed that some of us will be placed in another building. Our family was split. They gave us two rooms in the main building and two rooms in the next building. The attitude of the staff who checked us in was bad. He gave us no option, and acted as if he was doing us a big favour. No proper information was given to us who stayed in another building as to where we should go for our breakfast. Will not stay in this hotel again, even if we are given free rooms.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    3.3
    Will not choose to stay in this hotel again even if we were given the rooms for free.the
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff who attended to us did not give us proper information when we check in. He put us in the rooms in another building which were dingy and dim. Did not tell us the place we should go for our breakfast which was in another building opposite.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.1
    Very convenient location, but be sure to consider other factors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property does not have an elevator. Staff will help with your luggage, but help may not be immediate if they are assisting other guests. Property enters onto a staircase. No foyer to get out of weather or anything - you are either outside, or at the bottom of a narrow staircase. It's about 1.5 flights up to the reception area. After checking in, you'll have at least 1 more flight of stairs to get to the first floor of rooms. Depending on the physical abilities of your party members, this is definitely a factor to consider. Also, a decent breakfast is included, but in a pretty cramped space. The rooms could definitely benefit from much more lighting or lighter décor. However, bathroom lighting was very good.

    The location was good. The property was very clean. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.8
    Friendly personel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs only access, narrow. Poor breakfast. Air conditioning operated only from reception (need to call to adjust temperature). Dirty walls and ceilings with a lot of dust. Too expensive considering overall evaluation.

    Friendly personel. Good location. Easy access to airport boat transfer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    5.4
    This would be my first and last time to stay in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception, hotel rooms and breakfast area are separated into different buildings even though they are nearby each other. Breakfast is bad, with limited choice.

    The only thing that would be air conditioning in room, since Venice is really hot!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning couldn't be controlled in my room, it was a little bit cold.

    Location is very good. Walking to famous spots, Piazza San Marco and Ponte dei Sospiri, is in 5 mins; also, it is close to stop of ferries, about 3 mins. Staff is quite enthusiastic and helpful. Room is clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    Well located and ideal for short stays on Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nobody on reception when we arrived so we were left hanging around trying to find someone to check us in for around 10 minutes. We were also unable to alter the air conditioning in the room, which wasn't a massive issue as it was very hot weather but it would have been nice to be able to adapt to suit.

    The hotel was conveniently located being within walking distance of all the main attractions and everything Venice has to offer and is well suited to use as a base for short stays. The breakfast was perfectly fine and was as expected for the standard of hotel, without being amazing. If you're expecting complete luxury you should maybe look elsewhere (and get a better understanding of hotel rating systems) but if you want a good hotel in a well located spot in Venice, with friendly staff, than I'd recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was fantastic as was the staff. The hotel itself needs a bit more attention but was overall ok and the location made up for some of the shortcomings. We slept really well as the bed and mattress was excellent. Yes there was no elevator and the stairs were narrow but I knew that before booking so were perfectly ok with that.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Super location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor but it is typical for Italian hotels so I didn't see it as problem at all.

    Location was great. 1 minute to San Marco square and to San Zaccaria vaporetto.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.5
    Great stay at the Lux Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs - no lift. Would be no good for the elderly or disabled.

    Our room although on the top floor & up many steps had a roof top terrace with a view. This was an added bonus. The landlady that checked us in was very polite & very helpful. This hotel although small was very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    6.7
    Small, traditional old-Viennese charm in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small traditional room. Even smaller reception and breakfast area. No elevator though staff did help with our luggage. Was expecting a lot more for the price we paid but the excellent location negated the need for public transport to get to all the favourite sights.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.5
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs to our room but was aware of this on booking.

    Superb location, close to main attractions, bars and restaurants. Quaint Hotel with vintage Venetian entrance. Easy to find - rare in Venice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    5.0
    Unpleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bugs in 2 different rooms, had to move to another building. In The new building, room was smaller and bathroom was very small with no shower head. uncomfortable beds, no elevator and warm rooms. A/C stops at 20°C.

    Location was great. Staff was courteous.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.1
    Walking distance to all main attraction
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    price is too high for such small hotel. The staff at night was not friendly but the ones we met in the day time were good

    Breakfast was ok. But the good thing about this property was, all the main attraction where just in walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Lovely homely hotel in brilliant location close to Grand Canal and St Marks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the room was lovely it was very dark with little natural light and not very bright artificial light.

    The hotel was warm and welcoming...staff very helpful and it was in a brilliant location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.1
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As indicated in site, the hotel didn't have any elevators and we had to carry the suitcases ourselves all the way up and down with no staff help( They didn't even bother to ask). Breakfast hall is really small and all the days we had to wait to get our table. Breakfast is also below standard with just the croissant option.

    The location of the property was excellent- 2 minutes walk to St Marks square and 5 minutes walk to Piazza San Marco. The staff was friendly through out the stay and suggested some good restaurants nearby

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Central and comfortable Venice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken handrail on steps. Shower did not drain.

    Friendly receptance and help to our apartment. Small kitchionette and dining table. Very comfortable bed. Authentic decor. Modern bathroom. Spacious for Venice. Central location.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Lux traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: