Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of M.E.C. 3 stars

Via Plinio 52, 80045 Pompei, Italy

#21 of 29 hotels in Pompei

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 250 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Pompei for good goodness sakes is your neighbourhood .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pompei for good goodness sakes is your neighbourhood .. East walk from local train from Naples .. Bit of a mission to the main station onto Salerno but do able .. excellent stay ..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location, very close to Pompeii ruins and the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very close to Pompeii ruins and the train station (easy walking distance), so very convenient for trips to Herculaneum, Mount Vesuv, Sorrento etc. Very quiet room despite being so close to train station and major roads. Delightful eating areas under a magnificent wisteria that was in bloom during our visit and covered the whole outdoor area of the hotel. The food was pretty good too, both breakfast and dinner, in particular the pear juice and coffee and big range of lovely cakes and pastries at breakfast. Excellent service: most of the staff there had quite good English. Tania and Raphaelo were particularly helpful in answering all our queries, and even showed us the hotel's very own Pompeii ruins displayed under glass in the basement. We were made to feel very welcome and special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    4.6
    Would not go back
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bookings.com said laundry service available but there wasn't one...this is the main reason I chose this hotel :/ Was told they could organise a 20euro return taxi to take us less than 2km to the laundromat. When we checked out, the overnight staff were unhelpful and credit card terminal wasn't working. We nearly missed our train. Would recommend staying in pompei and not here. Restaurant food some of the worst we had eaten over our two weeks in Italy.

    The manager was helpful and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.0
    would go to pompei again ,but would not stay at m e c, hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    cleaning staff didn,t clean rooms very well left bits , never empted bin all week we were there, beds were very hard , first couple of nights didn,t get much sleep alot of traffic noise all night.

    the staff were really good couldn,t do enough for you but they were always looking for a tip every time they served you , location quite good close to pompei ruins ,and railway station,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Very nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was spacious and clean, the staff very friendly. The location is just near the Pompeii ruins, it's a bit close to the railway, but it didn't bother us. There are plenty of pizza places near by and a very big supermarket (open 24 h) about 10 min walking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a bit outdated and needs some renovation. Old furniture in the room. Slow wifi.

    Good location if you are visiting Pompeii excavation. Just 5 min walking distance to the entrance. Nice staff, they brought a water for our dog in the restaurant without even asking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Great for a 1 nighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location to visit the ruins. 2 min walk away. Kept out bags for the day to walk around pompeii. Definately get a tour guide when entering to buy ticket around 0830 in the morning.sooo close to train tracks yet fully soundproof rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Location is really great, very close to the both, train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not good

    Location is really great, very close to the both, train station and excavation site. For breakfast you can have yogurt, croissants, cheese, prosciutto etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Our Pompeii stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could use some TLC on the outside balcony's and surrounding areas, rooms could be a little more updated in bedding or add also a small fan.

    The hotel is literally less that 100 yards from the entrance of Pompeii ruins. And near little cheap sidewalk vendors. The rooms have A/C but it's not as powerful as American style. Family of Four each of us had own bed two twin and a queen. Rooms wear clean and always fresh towels . the family room we had was huge u could have fit 4 more twin beds . What u need to know if u want room cleaning in the morning u need to drop off your key to front desk so they can clean it while you're out. The parking lot is small but it's worth it. At 10€ a day with 24/7 hr coverage. The parking lot personnel are very nice n helpful, the front desk is very helpful. N there is places two eat all near by. Also for the price u can't beat it. We were near the highway on ramps n streets needed to go visit sorrento, n other areas. From airport is a 35min drive due to we had to do city driving in Naples before u got on the highway. If not it probably would have been 15-20 mins, n to sorrento its 30mins at most. I highly recommend for a family on a budget.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice clean room, great breakfast and in close proximity to all necessities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arrival from Rome there was no hot water in the shower. My partner informed the man at reception who had been advised by a boiler man for us to wait 20minutes for it to heat up, which it didn't. My partner spoke to man on the desk on 3 occasions over a 3 hour period from 19.00 - 21.00 and there was still no hot water and no sign of anyone doing anything about it, as we kept on being told to wait 20 minutes. Worrying that we would be left with a cold shower, I went down to reception as asked to see the manager. On being directed to the manager and explaining the situation stating we had paid for 3 nights and this was not good enough, I asked what would be done about the issue as all I wanted was shower after travelling all day. The manager made a phone call & my partner & I were promptly taken to a different room to shower where the water was hot and we could sleep for the remainder of our stay. We are unsure why it took so long and why we were not offered this in first or second instance, but once I had spoken to the manager it seemed to be resolved quickly.

    Great choice for breakfast. Nice comfortable room Good location within easy walking distance to the train station, Pompeii & the old city. Would have been easy to book trips from reception if necessary.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant restaurant and convenient to ruins and train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of cereal

    Pompeii is not an easy place to get to. Once in Pompeii the hotel is convenient to circumvesuviana train and entrance to Pompeii ruins. Nice restaurant. Typical European breakfast, however there was no cereal. Why do European hotels have so many sweets for breakfast?

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Very nice staff and good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was really nice! The waiter Jack was very pleasant, a young man who is really good in his job, doing it with always with a big smile :) The room was really clean, the cleaning lady also very nice, it is near the train station which was very good for visiting other cities. Breakfast was excellent. All together, very nice hotel and good for its price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    Happy that they checked us in late.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I probably should have requested for a room that is far or not facing the entrance to the highway. I am light sleeper so any noise wakes me up.

    Happy that they checked us in late. Their staff was nice, and patient as we had a little misunderstanding with the train station transport on our check out. The bathroom in our room was a big space. It's very close to a train station, which we didn't realize until we arrived there. We got off at the station a little farther than the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    9.2
    Great budget hotel for a base in Pompeii.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is central, but that also means a certain amount of traffic noise (a worthwhile trade-off for us).

    The location was excellent - close to station and Pompeii ruins. The family room was very spacious, with wonderful shuttered doors opening over the courtyard. The included breakfast was very good, with coffee, pastries, yoghurt and omelette. The staff were friendly and very helpful, allowing us to leave our bags there while we visited Pompeii and allowing us to print RyanAir boarding passes at no cost. All in all a very good budget hotel to use as a base in Pompeii.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    Best of Pompeii
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was superb! The service was incredible. Great value. The MEC was far better than expected. Such attention to detail and service was A++++ we cannot promote this enough. The food was splendid in their restaurant. We wished we could have stayed longer and taken it with us on our European holiday.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    4.2
    There are a lot of better place to stay in Pompei.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old and dirty. Over hotel there is a railway so is very noisy especially at night. Small parking extra payed (10 euro). One of three beds was broken.

    Near entrance to Pompei ruins. Restaurant personel is very nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    10
    A great place to stay with comfort and too a
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great welcome and friendly staff, right opposite the entrance to the ruins and lovely restaurant. The room was clean and well Presented and we slept well!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    5.8
    Hotel has the best possible location, just few meters from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is poor, restaurant in the hotel has very poor ambient. Air conditioner is not working at all!

    Hotel has the best possible location, just few meters from the main entrence to the ruins.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    5.4
    This is a maybe hotel but there is much better place to stay in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was full of ant's (room 18), i booked a room for 2 nights but left after the first night due to the ant's. As well i booked the room 3 months before my stay and the hotel after a month tried to triple the price but i called Booking.com and they sorted it out for me, but again the hotel tried to say they wanted more money again after a month but called booking.com and they sorted it outdoor me.

    the hotel was close to Pompeii

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    4.2
    Please don't book for your own sake...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding had stains , shower had mold and room looked like a shanty flat

    It was 150 m from the ruins

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Great friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy from traffic

    Great friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    A good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy because of yrains

    Close to Pompeii entrance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.1
    Location near Pompeii
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiters not very friendly or attentive

    Location near Pompeii Reception staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Location and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Norhing

    Location and price. Helpful staff. Clean room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.8
    They were helpful with coordinating flight to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were helpful with coordinating flight to the airport

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location to visit Pompeii ruins
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location to visit Pompeii ruins

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smells of onion and powders everywhere.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    5.0
    Satellite TV, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were uncomfortable. Air conditioning unit was noisy and inefficient.

    Satellite TV, breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.6
    Very close to Pompeii entrance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Located on a main road but brilliant location for visiting Pompeii. The family room and bathroom were huge, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    5.4
    price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not clean. close to road and train no elevator. breackfast medium this is a resturant with a few rooms upstairs not a hotel

    price

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    6.3
    Ok no great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small , it could be upgrade The shower was very small almost like a rv shower

    Around the corner from Pompeii ruins,

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    8.3
    Great location for visiting Pompei.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant downstairs is overpriced and seems to be suited to the coach party quality of food. There are other restaurants close by but they seem to offer the same quality just for a cheaper price.

    Great location for visiting Pompei. Private on site parking. Reasonable breakfast selection. Easy to find, right on the main road which does make for a noisier room but this is not a location for relaxing in the room. It was reasonably quiet for sleeping.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very noisy, it is close to the highway and local train. When we arrive there was a sign that we need to pay first, so we did pay in cash before we got our keys. In the evening we didn't appreciate a question from the receptionist " did you pay?" as he is counting the money.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    8.3
    The hotel manager, Adriano Cautiello, was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing. We had a great Pompeii experience.

    The hotel manager, Adriano Cautiello, was amazing. Our car window had been smashed in a robbery in Rome threatening to ruin our vacation. Not speaking Italian I was having a terrible time finding a repair shop. Adriano saved the day! He got on the phone over and over finding a repair shop and working out details with them. He even offered to go to the shop with us to help get us thru our car nightmare! We never met a nicer guy. Thanks Adriano!

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.5
    Members of the hotel stuff were really nice, kind,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Prices in restaurant (should be a little bit cheaper).

    Members of the hotel stuff were really nice, kind, professional and flexible for our individual wishes. Rooms were clean and tidy, good wifi coverage. Hotel is situated in very good localisation (about 15 minutes from Pompeii town centre). Breakfast was included. Food in hotel restaurant (home made fresh pasta, pastries) was delicious. Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.3
    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly - going out of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly - going out of their way to make our stay enjoyable - even preparing a breakfast for on the road due to our early start the next day.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.6
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing not to like.

    Everything!! Location fantastic, staff were really friendly and helpful, breakfast more than adequate, rooms and property were super at the price. We had a wonderful stay here. Thank you so much MEC, we will be back!!

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    8.8
    We booked ahead to stay one night and they let us into our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    .

    We booked ahead to stay one night and they let us into our room two hours early so we could visit the ruins to which this hotel is the nearest. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and we are in the restaurant which was good food, reasonably priced. Our waiter was open about which fish was fresh and which were frozen. The sea bass was delicious. We have read reviews before visiting the hotel and it seems to us that if you're a coach party you don't get the one to one friendly service that you do if staying the night. A total recommendation to use this hotel if visiting Pompeii.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    5.8
    Parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff Expensive restaurant Not so good internet connection

    Parking Location

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.5
    excellent location to pompei
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor breakfast

    excellent location to pompei

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff, Great location for visiting Pompei and easy to get to train station to visit other towns.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse M.E.C. traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: