Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mahara Hotel & Wellness 4 stars

Lungomare San Vito,3, 91026 Mazara del Vallo, Italy

#6 of 9 hotels in Mazara del Vallo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 266 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We walked one mile in the rain from the port to this hotel to be told by Fredrica at front desk hotel fully booked only suite available at 180 . We walked back to the port stopped at Mucho Gusto fantastic ice cream shop and booked our room on internet . On second day we asked to stay extra night to be told by the same fredrica sorry fully booked only suite available . We told her ok we check out to be told immediately there are rooms available . What kind of games does Fredrica play with customers ? Not a nice experience on holiday . We were perplexed . Very strange attitude to hospitality . Her excuse when we questioned her ? Oh I checked with my manager .

    We live liked the swimming pool area and on our second day a wonderful staff member at front desk called Martina who was really friendly and helpful .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get wi fi in my room, and room was a bit sparse. Breakfast was ok but lacked fruit and any typical Sicilian products

    Comfy big bed and handy fridge

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toilet at swimming pool Only American coffee... Small damages in bathroom (see photos) Unfriendly waitress at breakfast So far in 2weeks in sicilia the worst experience... For a 4stars hotel quite a shame.

    Good matress

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An explanation for a/c regulation needs to be in room. The front desk controls as well as, keeping magnetic key inserted in slot to keep a.c. on. The set up makes economical sense for the hotel but no explanation left us initially overheated, frustrated, & cranky on a hot day after traveling. We called front desk several times until we figured out system.

    Lovely pool, lobby, bedding, courtyard, bathroom & facility in general. Nice breakfast. Would recommend using pool. Ate wonderful gelato & cannolli at place we found while strolling away from town on same road as resort. Find the old town museum converted from a church to see the Dancing Satyre. Make sure you watch interesting video of its discovery. Go in morning as ac is limited. We didn't see much in town, it looked quite inviting along waterfront.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi did not work most of the time.

    Lovely room with sea view; great to swim in and relax around a very nice pool; great breakfast with all sorts of variety including bacon and eggs; excellent value. We stayed here 8 years ago and came back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Occasional flaky wifi in the rooms, but was OK in the lobby area

    A well run modern style hotel with pool and fitness suite etc and about 0.5km along the seafront to the old town. The only slight downside was that this is a favourite hotel for coach tour groups. While these usually had left the hotel by 0800, they usually depleted the breakfast offering for later (lazy!) risers. The walls also transmitted sounds from other floors and this did keep us awake on one night as a group of jet lagged Japanese tourists all rang home into the early hours. But in general. this is one of the better hotels in Mazaro and a great base for exploring SW Sicily and the very pretty old town of Mazaro.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we loved the location, just outside the main town centre and a pleasant walk along the seafront promenade. The hotel is fairly new and well kept. Very disappointed that the wellness centre which was the reason I chose this hotel, was closed for the 3 days we were there. Wonderful and friendly staff though.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was located on a very noisy room (even when I requested the opposite on the online booking). The noise was coming from a room that was keep open, probably containing the air conditioning turbines, in any case reflecting a design failure. The ceiling of the bathroom was at parts broken

    Location was good and the staff was friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows should have mosquito screens. Walls are not sound-proofed. All in all should be a 3 star and not a 4 star hotel.

    Room with terrace overlooking interior courtyard, good breakfast. The swimming pool was nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bar and restaurant closes early, in some cases at 10pm impossbile to get even some water.

    The food was really good in the restaurant, dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only minor criticisms would be a weak wifi signal and from a personal perspective, that the breakfast offering could be improved.

    Great location - convenient for the town as well as being 50 meters from the seafront. Added bonus of having a wellness centre at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    As we have travelled extensively throughout the Mediterranean area I could not personally find any fault with the hotel.

    friendliness and attention to detail of all the staff , beginning with the night porter at 230am when we arrived and the receptionist printing flight confirmations from my phone email when we left , the swift room cleaning plus the evening manager Edwardo close personal attention in the restaurant and a very pleasant chat with the enthusiastic owner who introduced him self to several guests . Pleasant air conditioned rooms ours faced the into the spacious courtyard , excellent meals , good quality presentation and standard of decor and relaxed environment with nice pool and secure underground car parking . an ideal place to base to tour the island and return .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position, helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of breakfast can be improved

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant. The maincourse was cold and not very delicious.

    Comfortable room , clean.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The faucet in bathroom is like a showew. The staff for breakfast was lazy. What are they doing standing there?

    Great location, reception Staff, the restaurant manager for dinner

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Of the eight hotels we stayed in in Sicily this was the only 'four star' and it was the worst. The other three star hotels were superior. A bland very expensive hotel choked with noisy tour groups. Breakfast not up to standard unless you liked a big dish full of cold scrambled egg into which some cooked bacon had been dropped. Don't be fooled by the 'wellness' appendage - everything has to be paid for - even a swimming towel hire for the pool was 4 euros. Avoid!

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location to the Valley of the Temples in Agrigento was a few minuets away. The staff were great and they made it a wonderful experience outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Spa was closed on Wednesday and no bar until 4.pm. If using pool facility then a service by the pool would be great. Food and drink.

    Venue in great place.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only mild complaint I had was that you have to pay extra for the sauna and hot tub in the spa facilities. Wifi was very spotty.

    Loved the spa (although you have to pay extra to use the sauna and hot tub) services. Massages were terrific. Hotel location was great - right across from the Mediterranean - and the room was large enough with a lovely balcony. Bathroom was large with nice shower. Very comfortable! Free parking also.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi breaks down very often.

    Breakfast is good, Pool is nice.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    WI-fi

    Staff Linda

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, especially at the Cocktail/ refreshments bar

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints

    Swiimming pool, large balcony, easy walk to town centre.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms need a bit of upgrading

    Quite near the centre, ideal for summer. Very good service and very helpful staff

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Browse Mahara Hotel & Wellness traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: