Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Maiuri 4 stars

Viale Unità D'Italia, 20, 80045 Pompei, Italy

#8 of 32 hotels in Pompei

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 154 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Andre, the owner, went out of his way to help us, not only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Andre, the owner, went out of his way to help us, not only setting up a wine tour and suggesting good restaurants, but also allowing us to park (for free) at a campground the family runs which is directly across the street from the main entrance to the ruins. The staff was very pleasant, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. If you are driving, be aware that the ZTL restriction is for buses only. I highly recommend this hotel. It was a very good value.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    A convenient and pleasant place to stay, with very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More comfortable seating in the lounge area and in the bedrooms.

    Rooms and breakfast good. Staff help excellent in providing information about visits in the area. Taxi service provided by the hotel first class. Pick and drop off at Naples airport very good . Also excellent free taxi to and from the three stations in Pompei.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Excellent value and sky tv
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room but they allow you to make tea or they can make you coffee at the bar for free to take to your room which was good.

    Staff were extremely helpful explaining where to eat, sights to see etc, parking was very good onsite and also offer free parking at their other site right opposite Pompei ruins. Breakfast was good and they will make you eggs how you like. Room was very clean, bed was comfy and has a balcony too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Warm hospitality when you visit Pompeii
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a nice place to stay. But the best and most memorable feature was the staff! As we were leaving, we asked how to get a taxi to see the Pompeii ruins. The young man at the desk drove us himself, showed us around the city enroute with commentary in excellent English, and at the end of the ride said, "no charge!" Very impressive hospitality.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice little new hotel near the highway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Nice little new hotel near the highway. Pompei site is pretty close. If you stay at the hotel you have free parking across the archeaological site which is a plus. Very safe private parking and good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    Did the job, one night stay in order to see the sights of Pompeii.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room was unattended, had to make own tea/coffee. Said bacon and eggs were available but no staff came over to ask us if we would like some.

    Good air con, quiet room, sky tv with english channels, comfrortable double bed and not two singles pushed together.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Overall a pleasant experience
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As I described above, the rooms need to be refurbished. Especially the bathroom and the shower which was really tiny.

    It was a nice hotel at a much convenient location in regards to the Pompeii archaeological site which I intended to visit, only 5 minutes away by car, but also away from the more crowded centre. The fact that they cooperate with a camping near the Pompeii site, was also extremely helpful as I was able to park at only 2 minutes distance from the entrance Marina, which is otherwise a very difficult task given the numerous visitors every time of the day. It also had private parking spaces in its premises which offered a sense of security. It offered a good breakfast, though for dishes one had to request at the bar like fried eggs or omelette the portions were really small. The room was clean but needs to be refurbished. The employees were very pleasant and helpful, readily offering assistance and replies to our querries.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    very friendly stuff, convenient parking place, easy to find...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very friendly stuff, convenient parking place, easy to find from the highway. Tee and coffee in the lobby, which was exeteremely appreciated by our elderly parents

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Excellent service, clean rooms, good breakfast and excellent situation for visiting sights around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Service was excellent and personal. Breakfast was tasty and there was also brown bread and good selection of tasty cakes. Sky TV was excellent bonus instead of only dubbed programs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Do not pay extra for the mountain view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid for a room with a mountain view. The only way you could see either the mountains or Vesuvius was to lean out over the balcony

    There was an ample breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Let the hotel staff arrange your transport from the airport as taxi driver charged €90.

    The rooms were as the photos show. Very clean and lovely powerful shower. Hotel staff all very friendly and speak great English. Fresh croissants for breakfast with yogurt and fruit. Sky with English channels. Would stay again. 10 mins from train station and 20 mins from pompei ruins which were amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    What we had booked as a no-frills, no-character hotel turned out to be surprisingly pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No restaurant - but the Macarrone, exactly opposite (across frightening road) served perfectly well.

    We liked this hotel. We were just there for two nights, visiting Pompeii. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is 1km from the ruins, so we elected to drive. The hotel arranged free parking at their sister organisation, a campsite, right opposite the ticket office. The hotel is not charming, it does not have a view, and architecturally it is just a block - which was all we needed for a couple of nights. But we found it very likeable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    The staff were very helpful genuine and very likeable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It wasn't a major issue for us, but the restaurant across the road was very quiet when we were there, but the food was fine. The hotel served breakfast which was excellent. Other restaurants are in the centre of town - about a mile walk.

    The staff were very helpful genuine and very likeable. The hotel (Maiuri) is named after the leader of the excavations during the early 1900s and we like that connection as the purpose of our visit was to see the ruins of Pompeii. The aircon worked well and was essential during our stay in July. The ruins are reachable on foot (about 1.5miles) if you like a walk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel set outside the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The final morning we had a early airport transfer and when we came down to reception the individual was dozing on a settee in the siting area. I asked about making a hot drink and was told that this was not allowed and it was only for breakfast. Disappointed with this as had paid for B&B which included the day we left, and all we wanted was a couple of drinks not a full continental breakfast.

    Staff were really helpful and the airport transfer provided by the hotel was simple, saved having to drive in Italy. The hotel is really clean and well maintained. We enjoyed the short walk into the main town and also passed a decent shop, just be aware of the opening times. Staff even arranged our trip to Vesuvius and ensured that the pick up was arriving.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    5.4
    Expensive dissapointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel cause I wanted a good night sleep in a good hotel after 4 noisy nights in Rome. The hotel turned out to be quite a walk away from the trainstation and the entrance to Pompeii. When I got to my room it was 28 degrees in there (outside temp 18 degrees). Somebody had put the heater on 28! The room looks nice, but the whole place is noisy. The floors have stone on them so you could hear all the movement, people walking, chairs being dragged across the floor. I couldnt sleep because of hearing people talking, toilets and showers running loudly, children runing in the corridors. The next morning I took a shower in what looked like a good bathroom. 10 minutes later the bathroom had turned into a pool. I dont mean a little water on the floor, I mean a centimeter or two of water. That probably explains why management had turned the heater on to 28 f##cking degrees. This is supposed to be a 4 star hotel. For me it was an expensive dissapointed. The man behind the desk at checkout even begged me to write a review. Well here it is. I wont be staying here again.

    Nice people behind the desk. Breakfast was good, fresh fruit, different kinds of breads, meats and cheeses, honey, jams etc. And a bar with good coffee. They even gave me a cappuccino half an hour after breakfast time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.6
    For Pompei a good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The road outside the hotel was sometimes a bit busy, during rush hour, but this was only short while

    The hotel was extremly clean and well kept. The staff were very friendly and helpful. All things considered, this is a very good hotel. If any of my friends wanted to visit the city of Pompei, I would have no hesitation in recomending this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.1
    Pleasurable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prices have increased since last stay

    Croissants were very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a little rough but still easy walk to attractions

    Staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.4
    We ended our stay a day early due to ants
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had tons of ants:(

    Joseph I was an amazing help during our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Great accommodation, well managed hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything fine, clean hotel, kind service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    Friendly and excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and excellent staff. Clean. Near city centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    The hospitality, the cleanliness, the breakfast and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hospitality, the cleanliness, the breakfast and location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi could be improved

    Facilities were recently refurbished and restructured. Much nicer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    Great find
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly Noisy being close to the auto strada could do with double glazing.

    The style and size did not feel lost like a big hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    I will stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good for us. Parking was really good. Staff are very friendly. Bar is good price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    Very nice well run place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Just a lovely hotel all round

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    Ottimo hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Efficienza staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.2
    Good value clean comfortable hotel, friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good value clean comfortable hotel, friendly helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    6.3
    Kindness and location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I am not sure, but there may have been a problem with the heating system.

    Kindness and location

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.8
    Fantastic reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic reception. Hotel gave us free lift to Pompei ruins to start tour which saved us a lot of time and showed extra thought and good service.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.3
    excellent staff, very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent staff, very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    8.3
    The staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi was a bit slower than desirable

    The staff. Proactive and switched on.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: