Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residenza Ca' Malipiero

Ruga Giuffa 4852, Sta. Maria Formosa, Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy

#90 of 316 B&Bs and Inns in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 716 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Authentic beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Climbing 6 floors in the heat! But we knew that when we booked and it was totally worth it.

    The hotel was beautiful! Great location , the room was very spacious and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel, friendly staff, excellent location for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    Fabulous hotel, friendly staff, excellent location for exploring venice. Couldn't have picked hotel to base ourselves for our trip.Rooms were spotlessly clean. Very romantic hotel. Something special in a beautiful city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Loved it
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We spent one night only, however we had a great experience in the hotel. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Also, the breakfast was delicious, I loved the chocolate cake :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    3.8
    Just the breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt feel like staying in a clean room. There were different types of mosquitos on the floor. There were no hot water at the beginning. The shower was not working.

    Just the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Location, location, location - a very special place to stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - stay exactly as you are.

    Location, location, location. Staff were superb as ever, especially the lady who looks after breakfast so well and makes some amazing cakes & treats - superb! We have been staying here for a number of years - love it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.5
    the area was very close to the main attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    after reading the reviews I decided to book this hotel but its was a big disappointment. The family was big but very old. There were insects in the room maybe caterpillars. the air conditioner was terrible. we couldn't sleep at night my kids were suffering from the heat in the room. the temperature was above forty. I wouldn't recommend this hotel during summer or travelling with kids. the hotel was on the third floor which was it was very difficult to carry luggage up and down.

    the area was very close to the main attractions. I loved the location it was right on a canal. the reception are helpful. the best thing about this hotel is the sweet lady in the breakfast room. she is amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was controlled by the establishment and put on a timer. It never got below 27 degrees Celsius which was very uncomfortable to sleep. The warm temperature kept us awake most of the night!!😞 There are lots of stairs to access the hotel and no elevator so I wouldn’t recommend it for anyone who has trouble with stairs.

    Breakfast was superb! The room was very clean and the personnel very pleasant! The location is perfect; very centralized, close to all major sightseeing venues and water taxi stop is a very convenient 2 minute walk. Also, lots of cute boutiques and good restaurants nearby!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    It’s good , only if it’s too hot the AC is not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is very basic and the AC is old water based , so it doesn’t bring good chill in hot days .. also the minibar is old so barely working..

    The location is good , the staff are very friendly ( probably the best thing is the staff) ..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location, great vibes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was relatively plain, still ok though.

    Great location, 5 mins to San Marco square, nice building from 15 century. A/C working perfectly, which is quite an asset during humid and hot days.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Overlooking rooftops in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that could be improved was the shower - it was just a trickle of water !!

    Great hotel, huge room overlooking rooftops of Venice, only moments from St Mark's Square. Lovely breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    Reasonably priced place, good location, and met my needs for a short weekend trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A small note about access to the property is to the left and requires ringing the buzzer for the front desk to let you in. It's misleading with the bridge right in front of the hotel that doesn't allow access. Rooms aren't made for tall people (I'm 6'5") as showers were quite short and required some ducking under doorways (could be due to it being a simple double room) but others could be bigger.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Great location, staff were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving! It was our favourite place in Italy!

    Great location, staff were amazing! Nothing was too much trouble, always smiling and friendly - they really made our stay easy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    4.6
    Friendly woman at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was stuffy, air con hardly worked. Woke up overnight because it was so hot (despite air con being on). WiFi very slow. Breakfast below average, although staff were nice.

    Friendly woman at breakfast. Communal areas were pretty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    The location was perfect and close to everything we wanted...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect and close to everything we wanted to see. It was a beautiful hotel and I loved the breakfast and the lady that served the breakfast was really friendly and super nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Away from the obvious tourist areas with better food and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took ages to find the entrance but it could have been the walk from the station with a suitcase and I was hot and grumpy :D

    Away from the obvious tourist areas with better food and prices. Great little pub just 60 second walk away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Great choice of hotel, amazing few days in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t be put off by the exterior appearance of the hotel, inside is really lovely.

    Very friendly, helpful Staff. Comfortable room, excellent location. Just perfect for mine and my daughter’s first visit to Venice. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Good place for stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The main entrance for the hotel is not on the front fo the building and there is not dirrections from where you can find the entrance door . The location of the entrance door is on the left side of the building and is with door bell because the reception is on the second floor of the hotel . The bathroom need small repairs ....

    The room was big enough , clean and comfortable . Breakfast was good with home made cakes and friendly staff . Location is good .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful palace, close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing: there is very poor water pressure in the shower. Sofa bed was uncomfortable (after all it is a sofa bed) and located right under the air conditioner. Watch your head when entering bedroom if you are taller than 6’2’’.

    Great location, 5 minutes walk to Piazza San Marco and 7 minutes to Ponte di Rialto (if you do not get lost). Very peaceful. Staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfast (in the room) was excellent. Solid WiFi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional hotel in an old Venetian palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel in the palace from the 15th century. Amazing elements - our room had the frescoes on the high ceilings, the room was very spacious and special. Breakfast was simple but there was enough choice. There was a big balcony with the view of the square on the level of reception where one can enjoy the evening. Overall great experience!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Just wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a great spread for a little hotel, especially as a vegetarian. The staff were exceptional. Location was perfect, the room was spacious and luxurious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly hotel staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very standard with no thrills. Preferred to eat in the neighbourhood since there are plenty of breakfast options. WiFi in the room was weak on some days while solid on others.

    Very friendly hotel staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    We would stay again. Old time grandeur in a great position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1 of the 2 or 3 front desk people we encountered seemed bored and disinterested in our appearance.

    The position and grandeur of the property were fantastic, and the enthusiasm of the breakfast lady.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Amazing hotel with a royal service level!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We missed a elevator, but in a historic building we can live well without one.

    The service was very good, and much better than expected. The man in the reseption helped us to take the suitcases up two floors. The lady who was in charge of the breakfast was extremely Nice and very helpsome. She offered coffe/Thea all the time, and asked if we neede something who was not on the table. When we was leaving it was raining, and they offered us to take With us one of the umbrellas belonging to the hotel for free. Whenever in Venice we will og back to this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The furniture was reflective of the period of the hotel. The sitting sofas were mostly for looks than comfort.

    Wonderful location! We found it quickly and thanks to other reviewers we found the entrance without any problems. Great restaurants within just a few steps.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is in the second floor without elevator (although they mentioned it in the description so I was aware), it would have been better if there was one,. :D

    The staff were awesome! Very hospitable and helpful people. Breakfast was good and I love the coffee. Our room has a good view of the plaza and small canal below with gondolas passing by. It is walking distance to St. Mark’s Basilica.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Very spacious and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is away from the boat stations and no lift. Being in 2nd floor its difficult to carry luggage.

    Very spacious and good value. Suitable for Families. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Great location such lovely staff what a room modern bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Great location such lovely staff what a room modern bathroom ancient bedroom felt so medieval reeks of history breakfast on balcony overlooking the campo Fab expensive for us but with the cash walked into El Castile each evening for food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, nice friendly staff, a lot of positive emotions!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was very good. Just a small remark - breakfast might be a little more diverse (e.g., add scrambled eggs, sausages to the main course) however this is not a problem.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Every our request was fulfilled. Very nice location, in the center of the city in a pretty close distance from main sightseeing. Building has unique historical authentic design. Wi-fi was quite good (taking into account that usually in Italy this is a problem). We have spent our spring visit to Venice extremely good! Thanks staff for their kind hospitality!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay. Would recommend for everyone including families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved everything about this hotel. Spacious rooms, helpful and friendly staff and great location. The breakfast is great. The hotel is in the middle of Ponte Vecchio and Piazza San Marco so just slightly out of the tourist area which is great as nice and quiet yet short stroll to both areas. Would absolutely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic, would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not so much a bad thing but we did find it a bit difficult to locate the entrance.

    Fantastic place to stay with lovely staff, we had a suite with a great view and the room itself was brilliant. We intend to rebook with this hotel next year.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic location hotel excellent staff excellent and polite would definitely stay at this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was above out expectations about this property

    The location was excellent all major attractions were within 10 mins of the hotel the only small problem was finding the entrance of the hotel it’s not the front door as your looking at the hotel its to the left hand side down the alleyway the second green door on the right

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    If we are coming back we will chose this hotel again, just requesting to be away from the kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom was just next to the kitchen, so in the morning was quite noisy. We wanted to sleep till late.

    The location is perfect, really close to st marks square and gran canal. There are restaurants and shops really close and it’s a quite place during the night. It is perfect for tourists.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower took a while to heat up, 3 minutes.

    Location is perfect. So near to St Marks Square and Rialto. Quiet at night and the room was warm and comfortable.Staff are excellent, chearful and ready to help. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Very friendly and helpful woman in the breakfast room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful woman in the breakfast room! Genuine Venice atmosphere at the hotel and perfect location in a calm part of the city but still close to the Piazza San Marco.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Amazing room with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the best! Coffee could be improved

    Room was very nice with very high ceiling in a very traditional style. We asked after the first night to change to a room with a view towards the square - our request was fulfilled immediate without any problems. Service was great and very helpful, providing recommendations and carrying our lugggage. The view was awesome. The room was clean. Heating was working and on. Breakfast was good, coffee and cacao could be improved.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    The front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly! We had an extremely early flight and the overnight desk manager arranged our transportation by boat and even walked us to the boat at 4:30am. The breakfast was excellent and the service was phenomenal. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone I knew going to Venice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful complex of 2 historic palaces in the centre of Venice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing really to criticise. As a hint : it is a large building complex with practically 2 palaces built into each other, 2 different entrances, one from the square ( Campo ), the other one from the street ( Ruga Giuffa ) and 2 different staircases. Both of them very historic; the noble room of each palace ( on 1st resp. 2nd floor ) having large old-time windows going out onto the square.

    Well renovated old palace in beautiful historic style, mostly original, situated very conveniently between Rialto and San Marco ( both about 5 min by foot ). Good restaurants nearby. Different sizes of rooms and modern bathrooms, so choose your room well. You should be at least somwhat fit to climb the stairs. Friendly and competent reception. Good though not overwhelming breakfast buffet. I had to leave earlier and on my request they opened for me earlier.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Close to everything. Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The employees are very friendly. Wait at the entrance, they will carry your luggage. The waitress for breakfast was so sweet!!!! She made the cake herself, and it was delicious. 😘

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    The room was very large and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very large and very clean. The stuff at the breakfast were very friendly. I would recommend your hotel. One little thing that the facade of the hotel could do with a good wash.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    1
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything wonderful. A stay in an ancient palazzo with huge rooms and view over Santana Narua Formosa

    Wonderful homemade cakes and spinach tart for breakfast and excellent cappuccino

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    This B&B had real "old Venezia" feel to it and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst breakfast in all of Italy...the instant coffee in the room was better than what they were serving in the dining room.

    This B&B had real "old Venezia" feel to it and was within 10 minute walk to St Mark's square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic friendly comfortable hotel near all the attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like about this place.

    The staff were really helpful and friendly. Beatrice, the receptionist was very knowledgeable and helpful. She helped us booked restaurants for dinner and told us the best spots in Venice. Waa great help. Breakfast was amazing. Maria’s cakes were delicious and everything was fresh. Defenetly recommend this place to all our friends.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Once we found the place - this was in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel changed our room on us. I had booked a specific suite & they tried to claim that wasn't possible. It was very clear from the booking.com site that I could choose the actual Junior Suite I wanted. The staff did end up giving us one of our 3 nights in the room I booked - but it is something to be mindful of for this place. Follow your booking up with a request.

    Once we found the place - this was in a good location. About a 3 minute walk through the wonderful lane ways that is Venice to San Marco. it is a unique property. We stayed in a Junior Suite which was wonderful - although if you are booking a specific room - suggest you email the property stipulating the actual room you want. The breakfast was really fantastic & the staff incredibly friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Luxurious hotel, good value for money, friendly staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was a little hard to find as google maps doesn't bring you to the right door if you only type in the name of the hotel. So if you are using google maps to get there make sure to put in the actual address of the hotel and not just the name.

    Excellent hotel. In the "special requests" we asked for a canal view if at all possible, not thinking we would actually get it as we booked the room very last minute. When we arrived, the guy behind reception was very friendly and helpful, when he was showing us to our room he acknowledged the fact that we had asked for a canal view so he said that he had upgraded us to the junior suite! The room was large with a beautiful venetian decor. It had a big comfortable bed, two big sofas, a flat screen TV, a table and two chairs, two big wardrobes, one of which contained a mini fridge, spare pillows and two pairs or slippers, two tall windows overlooking the canal and a big square, and a nice clean ensuite with a good shower and small bathtub. A nice big breakfast was served to us in our room on request the next morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    English breakfast tea at first but it wasn't replenished. Only Lipton tea after the first night. Any British person will tell you there's nothing that sinks the heart quite like the yellow label of Lipton Tea.

    Amazing public spaces. There's a beautiful balcony overlooking the square. They'll lend you a bottle opener and wine glasses. The staff on reception are lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    Amazingly good place to stay, been back four times!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Starting to get expensive to stay here.

    Superb location, amazing decor, fantastically helpful staff. Been staying here for a number of years, it's like meeting old friends when we return. Being able to sit and watch the Gondolas below from the window sipping a Bellini is pure heaven.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is in the heart of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in the heart of Venice. You can easily reach Rialto Bridge and San Marco Square. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.7
    Location, historical building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of things in the room were falling off - e.g. Shower seal and door step guard. A simple bit of glue would have done the trick. It is an old building but it was the modern additions which were all a little tired. We paid for a junior suit- if I'm honest I don't know what made it a suit, it was just a room.

    Location, historical building.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.8
    Hotel is located in a very good area, very close to San...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was long time closed, so when we arrived there was very unfresh smell in the whole area. The bed was also pretty unfresh.

    Hotel is located in a very good area, very close to San Marco square and main streets, but in a same time in a pretty quiet street. Stuff was friendly and pretty helpful. The hotel is in a very nice and old palazzo.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely central spot to tour Venice. Lovely staff and homely feel to the hotel. A real Venetian gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was very good in our room and bathroom . Thr room was tender during our stay. The only criticism would be that the loo seat was cracked and needed replacing.

    Good selection at breakfast including the homemade cakes! Staff very friendly and helpful, we felt welcome .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Ac in our room being a double room was to small. Other the. That would absolutely return

    The hotel was beautiful. Friendly staff and excellent service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    perfect place for our family trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i would suggest in investing in a good espresso machine as I prefer a good cappuccino in the morning

    nice big room. very clean and equipped with a good airco

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Great central stay with an old wibe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress is more on the 'soft' side. The view from the room.

    Great central location. Everything is near. Nice room. Bathroom has a bathtub. Wifi Ok. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Near reception is small balcony, where you can sit and smoke and the view on campo is great. Beautifull old Venetian building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.7
    A great family stay altogether.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are located on 3rd floor with no lift. Not friendly for old aged persons. The baggages were carried by the staff, quite helpful.

    Everything that was made available as promised!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    4.6
    Pick something else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and didn't match the pics.the ceiling was so low that my husband couldn't fit into shower. It was noisy due to construction in the building. Its on the third floor surely without a lift. It's very expensive for what it is. The location is not good in Venice standards.

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Old Venice BnB
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to scaffolding it was a bit tricky to find at first, the entrance is on the side passage. Decor of the room was very dated and shower temperamental but clean.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and you can request to sit on the balcony with the plaza view. Location was great and easy to walk from the water bus terminal. Be aware it is on the second floor (not a problem for us). It's a beautiful old building which dates back to the 1400's with picturesque main lounge and painted ceiling.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The Ca' Malipero is beside one of the small canals and faces onto the large Campo Sant Maria Formosa. It is a great location - much quieter than nearer to Ponte Realto area which is less than 10 minutes walk. The hotel, built in 1484, is classic inside but with modern facilities. The staff are excellent! The house maids do a great job. The dining room manageress is an excellent cook and there is a great range of food for breakfast. The reception staff are very helpful, for example Ullah the night receptionist made us a breakfast bag as we had to leave early on our last morning. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 4 flights of stairs were a little much after a long day of walking and sightseeing, especially for the older members of our party. There was also restoration work taking place on the floor above and the rear exterior of the building (which we weren't aware of). The noise would start around 8am which wasn't great but as we wanted to be up and out as early as possible anyway it wasn't an inconvenience to us.

    The breakfast was lovely, including freshly made croissants and cakes made by Ana. She was particularly helpful and cheerful every morning. All the staff were very happy to help...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.4
    Top floor location with 81 steps!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning was weak as was the water stream from the bathroom sink faucet. The suite was located on the top floor and with no elevator we had to climb 81 steps each day to get to our room. This was never stipulated when we booked the room. The breakfast was good and the staff member who worked the breakfast was very nice and attentive to our needs. The front desk upon check in did not seem to enthusiastic. Our stay in Venice could have been better had we known about the 81 steps we would have to climb everyday and with luggage on the first day since there is no hotel staff to help with the it. I also requested a suite with a nice view and what we got was rooftop views with scaffolding around 3 sides of the building. This being Italy I understand that the buildings undergo exterior updates because they are old however, this should have been told to us prior to arrival and even during booking.

    The location of the residence was perfect to get to all attractions. The suite was large enough for 4 people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    3.8
    An historic building with middleage services
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the entire hotel They move us in another room and still no air con. Only one little window on a little alley with scaffolding all around the building, the result: IMPOSSIBLE TO BREATHE FOR TWO CONSECUTIVE NIGHTS Quite frankly not the best way to prepare for two days around the city!

    Excellent location Very good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    4.6
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The building was under construction when we arrived, but it was not informed us and there's no notification from the booking.com site. The hotel staff told us the hotel only rented few floors of the building which is owned by few others and someone wanted to renovate the rooftop, so it's not their construction. Besides, the construction blocked the window of the room( there is one useless small window to the street). The room was totally different from the photo in the booking.com site. 2. I saw a big rat and a small lizard at the window of the room serving the breakfast. One female guests screamed and jump out of her chair as she saw the lizard passing by her side wall.

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.0
    Noisy, hard to find under construction, no breakfast. I would rate it a 4 out of 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel was under construction. It was noisy and breakfast was not included. I'm not sure that was made clear to me prior to making the reservations.

    Breakfast was not included

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.8
    Small room, clean, nice bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room, clean, nice bathroom. Breakfast was perfect with home-made cakes and fresh croissants. It is more a Bed and Breakfast than a hotel. Staff is friendly and location is amazing. Really in 10 minutes on San Marco square. Also close to Rialto. Considering the location, the room was fairly priced. The hotel is on the 2nd and 3rd level of an old palace. A bit of renovation wouldn't harm, but I personally liked the atmosphere a lot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked stale and in need of an uplift. The mattress was horrid...hard and you could feel springs as you moved. Too many steps to climb with luggage and an obscure entrance. Hotel difficult to find.

    the history of the place. The breakfasts were homemade and they provided tasty baked goods and unlimited cappuccinos.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    5.8
    Good for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As with much of Venice, some odor in the building. Our room was on side of building, which had a very loud alleyway right below.

    Location was good, but like most of Venice, a little confusing to get to. The building was old (built in 1484!), which was cool for us! Nice breakfast and nice staff!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Location and Space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were warned about the stairs and a nice young man carried our heavy bags up and down for us .... BUT ... they were an effort at the end of a long day.

    The location was excellent, at the midpoint of a triangle between St Marks, St Zaccharia and the Rialto. Located in Castello, there were obviously tourists, but it was not swarming all the time. The room was huge for Venice and quiet. The breakfasts were good and the lady who served was a delight. There are a range of restaurants and gelaterias in Ruga dei Giuffa. Althouh the staff told us to use the Rialto vaporetto stop on the way to the hotel, we found San Zaccharia had fewer people and less stairs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel, pretty room and super friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel with beautiful hall and balcony overlooking a canal, and a large and bright breakfast area. Our room (on top floor) was quite small, but very comfortable and nicely decorated. The hotel is located in Castello - close to most attractions and at the same time quiet at night, so you can rest properly. Highy recommended!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a bit of issue with the bathroom door and the water pressure when taking shower. You need to consider the lack of elevator if you are not well trained, or have problems to get high up on the stairs. Take anti mosquito products with you! Be aware, that this is not the Palazzo Malipiero at the Grand Canal, where Casanova also used to live.

    We had a great stay, very nice, friendly staff, the room at the top floor was huge, never had such a big room, they kept the Venetian historical style, lots of windows and light. The guys at the reception were fantastically helpful, carrying the luggages, advising for sightseeing and public transport, the lady serving the breakfast was also very cute coming back to ask if we need more coffee or tea:) thanks a lot!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    6.7
    Wonderful breakfast maitre !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was something unkempt about the place. It wasn't the cleanliness or amenities, that was perfect. The room was extremely large and had lots of empty spaces, like there was something missing. The cushions on the couch etc. were quite old too. However, it didn't really make the place uncomfortable, it was just odd.

    Wonderful and hard to believe location. We had a room overlooking the square. Close to quaint parts as well as a short walk to San Marco. And the staff is wonderful, especially the lady who serves the breakfast. She took really good care of everyone!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    5.8
    Average at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly, we received absolutely no information about how to access the hotel. It is on the 2nd floor of a building. The main entrance (pictured) is actually a private residence and the main entrance is by side-street/alley. The door is very badly signed with 2 bells (A&B) and we did not know which to ring. We had to phone the hotel, as we were wandering around for an hour. Check-in was ok. The hotel is in a very old building and the decor is a bit 'tired.' Our twin room was small, table and chairs in front of the wardrobe, no full-length mirror. It was perfectly clean and the room cleaning service was good. Most things were just 'ok;' not good, and not bad, but special mention must be given to the noise of other residents. The walls between our room and our neighbours must have been paper-thin as we could hear everything. They habitually showered any time between midnight to three AM. The noise from the water and their moving in the shower was as if we were in the same room! We actually heard them break wind in the shower... I finally bought my cousin ear plugs, as she was not sleeping well. At time of writing (and including local taxes) this equated to nearly £150 per night. Venice is expensive; I was prepared for this, but so is London and I have stayed in better hotels there for half the price. The building is very old and one cannot expect all creature comforts, but I expected a little more for the price we paid.

    The staff were helpful. Breakfast was good and he home-made pie was lovely!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.5
    Super-friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night we had room 107, which should be offered at a discount and described separately since it 1. has an extremely low roof (in bathroom too) and is cramped, 2. has a terrible bed (you can feel every movement of your sleeping partner), 3. has a stair and room right beside and above, which is quite loud, and 4. has a noisy plumbing duct near the head of one bed. They switched us to 105, which is next to the kitchen (breakfast prep noises before 8 AM) and you can hear people talking below in the street (no sound-proofing). 105 is otherwise a very nice room, with a high ceiling, good bathroom, and a very big and comfortable bed.

    Super-friendly staff! Wonderful high ceilings in most rooms. Great location near to San Marco and good canals. Breakfast was good (hard boiled eggs, ham, etc.). While the espresso from the push-button machine was good, the cappuccino was not good at all.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location, very polite stuff, delicious bakery for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot dish for breakfast (scramble egg for example) would be nice improvement

    Fantastic location, very polite stuff, delicious bakery for breakfast, very big room (superior)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Glorious Venezia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was all great! they forgot to order the room one day, bur afterwards appologized so musch than it's ok. Not for people with difficulties climibng stairs!

    Wonderful to stay in a huge 15th century room, with original paintings above. Great location in the centre but not the most crouded area. Stuff helpful and kind.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.3
    Right in the heart of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is located on the second floor of old Venetian house, that's why walls are very thin, so we heard all noises: neighbours, staff. Bed consisted of two single mattresses, so in the middle of the night someone was always in the hole. There is no elevator, so can be a problem for guests with heavy luggage.

    Location is really great. All members of the staff polite and welcoming. Breakfast rather various, but not for long stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    10
    Thoughtful staff that couldn't do enough for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, huge room, amazing breakfast and the staff we're incredibly thoughtful. Couldn't fault the place for the money we paid. I would highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Residenza Ca' Malipiero traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: