Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mandetta 3 stars

Via Torre Di Mare 30, 84047 Paestum, Italy

#12 of 31 hotels in Paestum

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 202 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    3.3
    No air conditioning. Wish we'd gone elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main reason I chose this hotel was for the air conditioning. Air conditioning, however, did not work. It's a sham. We complained about it and they moved us to a different room bc "the other room's A/C was "broken," but both rooms had air vents that blew nothing but room temp air. We were so hot (this is mid-July) that we couldn't sleep. Tried to leave the hotel but our car was locked in the gated parking lot and no one answered the phone when we tried to call for help. In addition, the shutters were broken, shower drain was clogged, lamp was broken, bed was hard and tiny (narrower than a standard twin), dinner was burned, and breakfast coffee was terrible. We were also charged a restaurant table fee (coperto) even though we were hotel guests. We also asked for bike rentals in Booking, and those were not offered at the hotel. It looks like a great place from the outside, but it's a sham. We paid way too much for what we were given. It really messed up our anniversary getaway.

    Right next to the beach and close to Paestum ruins.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    family run and seemed uninterested. one of the main reasons i booked this hotel was the promise of bike availability. when i arrived i asked for two and was informed they had none as were waiting for new ones. if i had not already paid online i would have left and gone elsewhere.at the least i would have felt they could have scrounged up 2 bikes but not important to the owners daughter. the paestum ruins were over a kilometre away and we had to walk .i was more than a little chagrined to see other tourists with their loan bikes from nearby hotels. equally i enjoy a bike ride in the mornings to explore local towns/villages especially in the flat areas of pine forest and beach.we ended up staying on the beach as i had no wish to explore by car in the local area. i shall be raising this whole matter with booking .com as if i am expected to pay in advance it is their responsibility to ensure the facilities are as advertised.

    site on beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Beach location close to the temples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was so-so. Other than espresso, coffee was bad. No bikes available!

    Virtually on the beach. Friendly staff. Close to the temples. Clean, nicely appointed. Incredible value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Keep in mind, the free-to-borrow bicycles (which are a great feature when staying here), in Jul '17 were in a poor state. They might not be suitable for all - definitely not for children(!) unless they get some maintenance done.

    Great location, very helpful staff. Borrowed a bicycle to get to the ruins, free of charge. Good location to walk around at night, near the beach, shops, and restaurants. Only an easy-going 20 minute-or-so walk from the train station, leading you along the site of the ruins. Would recommend for solo travelers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant, we stayed one more night. Stay here if you want a private beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't that good, neither was the bathroom of the main building

    Private beach (you have to pay for the umbrella and seats though) which is very nice. The rooms are okay in the main building but a lot better in the side building.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Best for visiting Paestum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not great restaurant for other meals.

    Great location. Rita was lovely to have as a hostess. Room was great with s balcony overlooking the ocean. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    8.3
    Location right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant a little pricey and waitresses over attentive - "Tutto Bebe?" Every 2 minutes. Others may like that of course.

    Location right on the beach. Short distance to temples. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right on the beach. Saw the sun set. Had chocolates when we wrtived

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel option to enjoy the beach and walk to the wonderful ruins at Paestum!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room with a view of the water, nice! And breakfast was excepcional!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Located right on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located right on the beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    great place, right on the beach
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    air con would have been ideal

    great place, right on the beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location, delicious food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly, accommodating ownership.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Vicinity to the beach and restaurants close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was hard AC was weak at times

    Vicinity to the beach and restaurants close by. Good breakfast Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    Everything is ok and very comfortable. But the restaurant in hotel is little bit expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant in hotel was little bit expensive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    10
    Excellent service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent service! Excellent location! One of my family's favorite places to stay in Italy! Steps to the beach and enjoyable walk to the ruins.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    8.8
    The property is across the street from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The property is across the street from the beach. It is also a good location for visiting the ruins. The staff was helpful and offered some useful advice, even about a good place to buy good mozzarella.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    9.6
    Close to historical / museum location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Close to historical / museum location. Great breakfast with homemade marmelade. Friendly staff. Parking in hotel. Beach in location with towels / chairs available.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    10
    We had seafront room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    We had seafront room .very spacious, light and airy. Considerate English speaking staff. One and a half km from ruins. Quiet and uncrowded. good food

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    10
    Beer and wine on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beer and wine on the beach. Awesome fish restaurant with excellent wine selection from all over Italy. Also some of the best Aglianico wines from the area.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    The location is practically on the sand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only issue was the Wi-Fi. The signal is strong on the ground floor, but in the room it was poor.

    The location is practically on the sand. The beach is wide, clean, great for long walks. The Paestum ruins are a very short drive, or a quick bike ride away on the free hotel bikes. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. A great value for the low price.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    9.6
    I went to Paestum specifically to see the Greek ruins and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I think that the hotel restaurant (and there are not many other options in early May) is a bit pretentious. It is popular at lunchtimes. The food was not bad but I thought it overpriced compared to other places that I had visited. The breakfast is a bit basic.

    I went to Paestum specifically to see the Greek ruins and museum, which are excellent. It is also a seaside resort and the hotel is next to the beach. My room was excellent with a balcony facing the sea. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.6
    I loved the decor, the view, the food, the beach and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hallway lights are on timers or motion sensors. Sometimes there was no light in the hallway outside our room and it was hard to put the key in the lock. Also, the door did not close or lock very securely.

    I loved the decor, the view, the food, the beach and the helpfulness of the staff. This is a wonderful accommodation and I will stay here the next time I visit Paestum!

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    5.4
    Location near seashore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel has two standards of rooms - bad ones (no view, bars on windows, mold on walls) that we were offered and relatively nice ones that we got when we complained. However the manager was clearly not happy about giving them to us. The breakfast had some questionable items (old ham, rancid butter). Also, because there is a restaurant downstairs, there was quite a strong fish odor in the corridors.Overall, it did not seem like 3 star hotel, more like average bed and breakfast. I would choose a different hotel if I were to go there again, the sea view is nice, but not worth it.

    Location near seashore Balcony with sea view (if you're lucky to get one) Strawberries and croissants for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    10
    The room was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The room was comfy. The hotel decor is beautiful. The restaurant was excellent. Right on the beach. Saracen tower on the street.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    6.7
    Good position, close to the sea and to the riuns of ancient...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Wi-fi doesn't work, a very bad acustical insulation

    Good position, close to the sea and to the riuns of ancient Paestum.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.2
    Great seaside resort away from the crowds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great seaside resort away from the crowds. Paestum nearby is a bonus.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    10
    Location to the beach and ruins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location to the beach and ruins. It is a family run establishment that is warm and welcoming. We liked everything about this place.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    5.4
    staff is very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bathroom was not clean; warm water was hardly warm

    staff is very friendly

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    Location near lovely beach and free bikes to visit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location near lovely beach and free bikes to visit magnificent ruins, wonderful dinner, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    8.3
    - the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    - walls a bit thin

    - the restaurant - location opposite the beach - the owners - very helpful despite our minimal Italian language skills

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: