Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Manganelli Palace 3 stars

Via Recalcaccia 2, 95131 Catania, Italy

#14 of 56 hotels in Catania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1217 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast was good and fresh, staff was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall appearance of hotel- worn, dirty carpeting in hallways, walls need painting, tubs need bleach to remove mold from grouting. Neighborhood is questionable

    Breakfast was good and fresh, staff was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect Hotel for short stay in Catania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location in Centre of Catania. Staff very friendly and helpful. Fantastic breakfast, lovely roof terrace. Great bathroom / shower. Would definitely stay in this hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Great for staying in Catania. Very friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room that we had booked had a comfortable bed but pushed up against the wall, which was a problem for one of us. However, we still did think the room was very good value for money.

    We had a very comfortable night there prior to flying home from Catania Airport. We particularly liked the roof terrace used at night as a bar and in the morning for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    2.9
    Located near town but rough street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug sockets, dirty bath with long black hairs, charged double as they stated booked single occupancy but we didn’t! Rude, disinterested staff, revolting breakfast

    Located near town but rough street

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    a perfect place to stay in the center of Catania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gian-Carlo welcomed us very warmly and gave us very good advises. All staff has been very nice. especially efficient was the charming lady in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it ....

    The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. Paola, Stefanía and Valentina treated us like family. It was hard leaving. We felt like staying another few nights. The breakfast was so delicious and the evening appetizers were all different, healthy and yummy. We were too tired one night and had a nice dinner in their terrace. They have a modern elevator and comfortable lobby. Location was really good too, walking distance from the Church and Main Street. Highly recommend it !!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to gain entry - buzzed in only if the desk clerk is at the desk BUDGET ROOM was disgracefully small for the price. Carpet was DISGUSTINGLY DIRTY - A health hazard! Shower was small Bed was small and uncomfortable and in a corner No cold water NEVER AGAIN

    A room with a balcony Common areas modern

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not readily available in hotel or it’s environs, but not impossible if u parked a little ways away from the hotel.

    Excellent Front desk lady- Valentina. Spoke perfect Spanish and very friendly. And Stefanía from the breakfast room was charming, professional and lovely!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room with the street view was pretty loud at night.

    Very central location - inside a hip area just minutes away from the main square. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Nice breakfast including home-made Italian pastries. Large rooms and new silent ACs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    The hotel was worth what we paid for it & the staff was friendly & terrace breakfast was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luckily we checked out the hotel one day in advance. On their web site there was a large attractive door opening out to the street. It took us time to find this door which is the only entrance to the hotel & is located in a narrow street so one cannot park there. We found a small parking lot which was always full next to it so one of us had to stay in the car or be hauled away while the other one had to find the hotel. The large door is never open so you have to buzz the disability button in order to be buzzed in. We found a small courtyard with 2 tiny parking places inside. A man told me I had to go to the 4th floor where I would find the receptionist. The receptionist was very friendly. At first I was not sure we would get a place to park but once I told her we would not get to stay there she reserved a place downstairs. One has to enter the parking area in the courtyard through a narrow passage with two huge wood doors facing the street. The receptionist has to come downstairs when she gets a moment to open the door. All in all everything went well. Give yourselves lots of time to check in I you have a car!!!!

    The staff was friendly & the location was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    The location of the hotel is excellent, on a quiet square...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is excellent, on a quiet square right in the middle of the old town. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooftop terrace offers beautiful views while enjoying an excellent and varied breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    It was very nice to be in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is difficult,very busy in the street.

    The breakfast was great,fresh orange juice, the lady who served the breakfast very friendly. On the roof you have a view of the ETNA.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    King of Catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beautiful hotel, very clean. The breakfast excellent, very fresh and great choice of good quality. The staff extremely friendly and helpful. The room a joy, noise reducing windoes and a very comfortable bed. Hotel situated in the heart of Catania. Perfect!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    The out side of the property, needs to be cleaned, the side...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The out side of the property, needs to be cleaned, the side walk had cat poop in more than several places Difficult walking to the outside resturant at night. The Hotel itself and the staff , room , food were all good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel in Catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, onsite parking, and large room. This is a great location to stay in Catania. Wonderful hospitality and very nice breakfast on the terrace. Wish I had more than one night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.8
    Not the worse and not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had an odd smell. Very very noisy outside of the building every night because of where it is located in the city.....bring earplugs. Pillows were very flat and needed 3 additional and beds were uncomfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Great choice and thoroughly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Draughty window. Weak shower.

    Unique stylish property with super friendly staff. Lovely breakfast terrace with delicious fresh orange juice. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Gem of a find, no downsides at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    The breakfast was extra special and service fine throughout. Excellent central location but quiet too. Room was good too.Really no downsides . Price very good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay at this hotel . Stefania made us welcome at breakfast . She was lovely .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge not working

    We loved the room 103 , we celebrated our wedding anniversary in Sicily and this room with its spectacular ceilings made it so special , with its little balcony over looking the square .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    3.8
    Awful trading on 8.3 status issued in 2014
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all pretty but Dad. We refused to sleep in two rooms due to the poor state and dirty state. We had to pay an extra 100€ for a’premium room’ which again was of poor quality standard lacked basic facilities and was dirty and required some maintaince. The Management tried to repay us the 100€ and begged us notvreportvthe matter to Booking .com. I refused the repayment andvingirmed them that I shall be complaining in writing. At no time did the senior manager attempt to contact or visit or respond to ur our email us despite what we consider quite serious issues.

    The breakfasts were its only redeeming feature

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    4 stars hotel at the price of a 3 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect

    Beautiful palace in the most central area of Catania, near to the main sights, restaurants, shopping, etc Big room with modern bathroom in a historical context Very tasteful breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.8
    All in all, just fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not that I didn't like it, it was just odd that you take an elevator to the 4th floor for reception and then you have to take another elevator to the third floor - where I guess all the rooms are.

    many choices for breakfast. centrally located. great wi-fi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.9
    Okay, nothing more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was one of the more expensive hotels we stayed at during our Sicily break, and we weren’t too impressed. Coming out of the lift, we walked into what felt like a building site as there were renovations still clearly on going. Check in was slow and seemed to involve a lot more admin than it should. (we arrived at 8.30pm and just wanted to get out to dinner). The hotel felt like a labyrinth, having to go down another 1 floor in another lift to our room (meaning we had to take 2 different lifts to get out of the building). The breakfast was okay, nothing particularly great and was staffed by just one seemingly overworked lady who was rushing around dealing with coffee orders for a number of tables. There were also not enough tables at breakfast, and so we sat down at a table that hadn’t been fully cleared from the previous guests

    The hotel itself was fine, quiet and clean and the staff were friendly enough, it just didn’t seem worth the price and could definitely do with some improvements to the initial impressions and efficiency if it wants to be worth the price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is on a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is on a very good location. It is literally 5 to 10 min. walking distance from the main attractions. The rooms are big and clean. The staff is very polite and helpful and always keeping an eye on you if you need any assistance. Job well done.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Really enjoyed the hotel and staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed the hotel and staff very friendly. The lift was not operating but fortunately they had employed a man to carry the baggage up and down the stairs. Probably should have been mentioned on the booking site as some may have had problems and unable to get to reception or their room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few English speaking channels on the TV would have been nice

    Bed was big and comfortable, also had extra pillows and blankets in the room. Plenty of choice at breakfast and the roof terrace was a nice way to end your day with a drink from the bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.8
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no pre-warning, even at the last minute, that the hotel, four floors up, had no working lift.! Breakfast coffee was terrible.

    We liked the central position and the friendly receptionist.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    5.8
    The property is in a good location, the rooms are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet and bedspread were old and needed to be changed. When I arrived after a long day travelling, the receptionist was on his telephonino and was in no hurry to end his conversation, the car park was full, so had to park on the street.

    The property is in a good location, the rooms are comfortable, with a fridge, and there is a lift. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed my stay. Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need to be updated. Carpeting old and worn.

    Large comfortable room. Great location. Very friendly staff. Breakfast is very good Enjoyed the buffet supper. It was raining one evening and it was nice to have the option to stay in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Nice place in the heart of Catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could have sent an email telling us the lift was out of order . This at first disappointed us

    Friends staff. Excel lento location. Comfortable room. Beautiful breakfast terrace

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.3
    Compared with other places not value for money and expected more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service at breakfast, foods not replenished despite arriving in good time so poor selection , tables not cleaned, Poor toilet flush. Shower weak and only warm. Hotel generally tired looking.

    Location of hotel Size of room Decor & frescoe on ceiling

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    Terrific location and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area and rooms are a bit tired. They could definitely use new carpets. Our room was small and the bed a bit saggy.

    The location is excellent, in the heart of Catania. The staff were very helpful, both in communications before our stay and during our stay. The breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Great value Palace !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The superior bedroom we choose was the biggest and with the most ornate ceiling I've ever stayed in so it lived up to its name Palace ,located on the 4th floor of the building it was a great central location with friendly and helpful staff .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    Fun place and very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water wasn't hot in the morning, bathroom was always slippy, mosquitos got into the room.even though window was closed,tv channels were not as internationally mixed, breakfast room was plain and small

    Great sized room ,bathroom was massive too, pleasant and helpful staff, quirky lift, bed was nice and comfortable, location is surperb,good space overall

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.3
    Sicilian food and people are great - well worth going.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small lift carrying to reception on 4th floor can cause a bit of a log jam when arriving/leaving. Although being that far up does cut down street noise, for something so centrally located.

    Staff were wonderful - roof terrace for drinks is excellent - rooms a bit faded and seen better days, but its right in the middle of town and easy walk to the train, buses station and tourist attractions in town. Very close to some excellent bars/restaurants as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power points they were to small for our conversions, we had the large you had the small would've been good to know!

    Great customer service, beautiful hotel and close to everything!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Everything was really good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was really good. Central hotel, friendly staff, clean and spacious room especially the bathroom. Breakfast was superb. Will visit again next time we are in Catania.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    I couldn't have been more pleased with choosing the hotel for our 2 night stay in Catania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Have no complaints at all. Great value for the money

    This is a great little hotel and a terrific value. The staff couldn't have been nicer, the breakfast beautifully and amply done and the large patio for dining and reading outside the dining area is great. My son and I took the flybus from the airport ($4.00 per ticket) and were dropped off a 2 to 3 minute walk to the hotel. We walked each day to the central bus and train stations in 15 or so minutes and never felt unsafe. All in all a fantastic hotel I'll definitely revisit on my next trip to Catania.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    Go for the Suite
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a wider choice of brioches

    Free room upgrade from superior double to Suite!!! the suite is amazing with 1700s frescos and floor tiles

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in Catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The happy hour could have had a cheaper buffet (paying for drinks AND the food separately discouraged us from spending time on the rooftop terrace). One price that includes a drink and some snacks would have been better - but that's just a suggestion and not a negative

    The hotel's location can't be beat. All the main points of interest are within walking distance, and there is plenty of shopping around. The hotel occupies two top floors of a baroque palace (with lift!), even though the hotel is very modern, it's nice to walk into a palace... Although the hotel doesn't have a gym (I did not care, as we were there just for one night, and there is enough walking one does around this beautiful city), there is a lovely rooftop bar/lounging terrace on top floor where breakfast is served in the morning and happy hour and classical choice of cocktails and top quality, freshly made Italian snacks. The room we had was a very good size, clean, with comfortable beds and A/C. Very friendly, helpful staff. We'll definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    If you are looking for a true Sicilian city hotel experience then you can get no better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was a bit uncomfortable.. but hey this was a budget room (didn't know this prior to arrival ) booked through booking.com from the uk

    Our hotel is on the 4th floor of a Palazzo, stunning paired vaulted ceiling, the hotel was secure, central to everything in the old town. The roof terrace was a bonus... breakfast was excellent.. good Italian coffee and more than just cake on offer. The staff were so helpful and professional.. for the money it was amazing. Top quality

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A footstep away from via etnea and the centre. English speaking, extra helpfull staff, providing solutions and good ideas. Great breakfast with local food. Exceptional architectural details. Nice breezy terrace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Amazing Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was walking distance to everything, great restaurants, shopping, couldn't have picked a better spot to stay. Loved the history of the building

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was the one closest to the reception and we could hear every time the phone rang, someone went to talk to the staff. Walls are paper thin so bring earplugs!

    Nice central hotel. Good value for the money. Clean room, comfy bed, nice breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Second time in this hotel and even better than the first...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Second time in this hotel and even better than the first time three years ago. Nice staff, perfect location, very clean and convenient. Thank you, Manganelli Palace.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Fabulous, charming flat near downtown Catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms at Manganelli Palace were very spacious with murals on the high ceilings. I had originally booked for 2 nights and had to add another 2 nights. They e-mailed me back quickly with a response and I was able to stay in the same room for the 4 nights vs. 2 different rooms as the reservations were from 2 separate times. I traveled with 3 teenagers and this was their favorite stay for the last 2 weeks of travelling in Italy. Parking you must reserve in advance, which I was not aware of, but they accommodated my car the other 3 nights. I rented a car from the airport to drive in Sicily. (if you have never driven in big cities, do not rent a car as the driving in Italy is pretty crazy dodging cars and mopeds from both sides as there are not many rules regarding driving safely here). The stay here included breakfast which was very good with varieties from hard boiled eggs, cheese, ham, prosciutto, fresh fruit, extensive pastry trays, cereal, fruit juices and of course coffee. There was outdoor seating on the roof balcony that was very peaceful to hang out at night or in the morning time. This is a charming place that is tucked away on the 4th floor of this building. The lift only accommodates 2 people at a time, so moving luggage can take a few trips. However, we all enjoyed this older type of lift that we rarely see or use in the states. The common areas were contemporary in decor but the rooms had the old world feel, which I really liked. Location is close to everything in the downtown area within walking distance. We all loved staying here and I would definitely return back here to stay again if I returned back to Sicily!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    excelent stay very happy with this choise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't find one negative thing

    very convenient location, very clean hotel, staff were really friendly and professional excelent breakfast. I would raccomand this hotel to everyone I would defenetely go back there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel in an interesting location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is a weirdly two-sided issue. As stated in the "positives", it met all our planning criteria and was well located for the centre of the city. On the other hand ... the natural walking route from the mainline station is along Via Giovanni di Prima, which borders the San Berillo district. This is not necessarily an area most tourists would wish to include on their itinerary. We chose to walk, we chose this route, but it is worth being aware of if you are of a sensitive disposition. Against this, it enabled us to find a terrific restaurant in a courtyard ... in San Berillo!

    We booked this for our final overnight before our flight home, so we wanted somewhere that was walkable from the main Catania Centrale railway station on arrival and walkable to an airport bus service on our departure. We also wanted to be reasonably central in order to be able to scout out restaurants for our evening meal. This hotel met all those criteria. There is no ground floor reception, which we weren't expecting. Guests are buzzed in at the street-level entrance and directed to take a lift (elevator) to the fourth floor, which is where the reception is located. Rooms are on the fourth floor and some (including ours) on the third floor, which is accessed by means of a separate short-distance lift. All a bit disorienting, but once you are up there, everything looks and runs just like a normal hotel. Rooms and facilities are all good - ours had a jacuzzi-style bath in a large bathroom. The manager was very helpful. We were faced with a public transport strike on the morning of our departure and he arranged a taxi (against our principles as backpackers, but it seemed the best option!) to take us to the airport. Breakfast on the open air rooftop terrace was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.1
    A good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we were given a double bed. It was very large bur even so we did not really want to share. We arrived very late and the chap on desk said he could remedy it but it would take half an hour. My son and I were exhausted. Hey ho!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Pleasantly surprised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved being in young, arty area. Convenient, parking close by. Room had gorgeous painted ceiling. Breakfast good. Nice rooftop terrace. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    Happy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but that's the only thing that was missing.

    Friendly helpful staff, characterful and clean rooms, comfy bed, great breakfast, lovely terrace, handy location near to historic centre but also quiet for a good night's sleep, views over Etna.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    An old palazzo as a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    An old palazzo as a hotel. Located on the 4th flour you reach it with the most stylish art-deco type elevator that could feature in any Agatha Christy or Roald Dahl. When you enter the rooms the first is the wow-factor of the original handpainted decor. Their new addition of a terrace gives a wonderful breakfast area and a place to relax in the evenings. The very friendly staff will cater for all your needs any time of the day. An ideal location for a holiday.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Value for Money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been nice if the hotel was on the ground floor. It is a bit difficult getting to the fourth floor and the lift is small. These are really minor issues compared to the benefits of the hotel.

    The room was very spacious and beautiful. The local is excellent and close to the markets and shops. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I will definitely return to this hotel again. It is good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    The staff were very courteous and helpful.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What I didn't like the property has little control over. It is on the 4 th floor, has a tiny elevator and is tightly locked up with an outside bell. The street it is on does not feel safe at night. As to controllable issues, the dining room has a dank smell.

    The staff were very courteous and helpful. They arranged for a taxi to the airport; the driver arrived early and was also very helpful. The hotel is located very near to major tourist attractions. The roof top veranda off the dining room and bar is nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location for a short stay in Catania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linen was not changed during our four day stay. Had to request bath towels each day. Shower door was in need of maintenance.

    Excellent location for a short stay in Catania. Suite was quite outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Bestest location - everything in Catania within few minutes...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was Sunday night and people partied until 2am in the city. We did keep window open so it was a wee but loud, otherwise fine.

    Bestest location - everything in Catania within few minutes of walking. View from the room is also worth the price. There is a little square in front of hotel, if you are lucky you can park there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    Central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, room size and roof terrace. Lots of excellent restaurants nearby - a special shout out to Streetfood, great food and speedy friendly service!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    There is small roof terrace where you can have breakfast in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room had a fresco on the roof, nice but the construction to preserve it made the room very noisy wrt to the neighbouring room.

    There is small roof terrace where you can have breakfast in the sun or shadow.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wi-fi is sometimes slow, also our room was very noisy, without earplug you won't have ANY sleep as it's located near to one of the main roads with lot of traffics also during the night

    location is great, staff always nice, breakfast is amazing (also decent gluten-free food upon request!), I recommend you to enjoy it on the wonderful terrace

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    Manganelli Palace delivers a quality experience for travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would like the Maganelli to possibly develop a little bar area - it would have been nice to have a pre or post dinner drink in the little lounge area. Serving wines and a small selection of spirits would suffice.

    A really excellent hotel to stay at. The staff were most helpful and friendly yet at all times totally professional. So nice to stay in a hotel and be treated as a guest rather than just another traveller passing through. We had a great room, large well maintained and with brilliant air con. Beds very comfortable. Had best night's sleep in ages here. The breakfast was plentiful and managed by an excellent young lady. Fresh produce every morning. Having the advantage of eating breakfast on the roof with the sun shining down made for a great way to start the day. Some reviewers mention the olde world lift. This just added to the pleasure of staying at the Manganelli Palace. We have stayed in some of the most expensive hotels around the world and made a conscious decision to try the small quirky style for a change........ we were not disappointed. In fact we will be looking out for the same style in other parts of the world. Well done to all at Maganelli Palace, we enjoyed our stay and recommend that others be adventurous and give the small hotels a try.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    4.6
    Best ghing is the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only one person looking after everything. We arrived in the evening and could not find the entrance to car park and nobody could come outside to help us guide us or bring in the bags, etc . Try to have breakfast early because once fruit salad, croissants, etc are finished they don't replace them

    Best ghing is the location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    7.9
    Charming oasis in a buzzing town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall hotel is charming, full of character, but a bit tired and would do with some maintenance here and there. Carpet in our small room looked very old, had lots of stains. Some shower/sink appliances were loose/broken.

    We love how central is to everything in town. Our room was the smallest out of all available, but it was fine. Room had everything you need, including extra bedding. Bed was big, comfortable enough. We loved the painted ceiling in our room and big balcony door, also it was rather quite inside, considering that hotel is in the middle of busy town. Breakfast was good, continental, good selection.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    Classic Catania!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If staying for one night in a classic historical palace in a wonderful city is your thing, look no further than this hotel! The welcome from the beautiful young lady in reception after a rather frenetic battle through the city traffic was wonderful. Hand painted frescos in the room was a first for us and a beautiful roof top setting for a scenic breakfast looking at Mt Etna with wonderful food and barista style cappuccinos was first rate. Fantastic staff & great memories are made here. Terryfic..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.5
    need sound proofing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room is not sound proofed and we could hear every cough, every phone call and every conversation like the other customer and hotel staff were inside our room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    8.3
    Ita a great hotel in the center of catania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking fee of 14€, while we had assumed it is free.

    Ita a great hotel in the center of catania. It has lots of charme, very competent and friendly staff and a great terrace for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    10
    Clean and comfortable hotel with that Sicilian charm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you like southern Italy and baroque buildings that have seen better days, you will love your stay in Catania and in this hotel. The hotel is on the fourth floor of a beautiful baroque palace. The service, the breakfast, the cleanliness - all was outstanding. In the evening I recommending seeing an opera in Teatro Bellini, just a few hundred meters from this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.5
    Great location but rooms a bit run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Flaky paint on ceiling Despite complaining several times about toilet not flushing we kept being told to press flush button firmly and it would work, however, neither I nor my wife was able to get toilet to flush! Complained about toilet seat being broken. Later informed that it had been repaired but same problem persisted!

    Size of double rooms.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    8.3
    Cozy Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    couldn't see live football games.

    Stayed 4 nights. Staffs are gentle and kind. They all speak English. Breakfast is quite nice, variety of Italian deserts and cafe. The site was difficult to find for first time but once we got used to the town, noticed the location is decent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.8
    A hotel inside a palace in the very centre of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mould at the sides of the shower, otherwise everything was fine.

    The hotel is in the very centre of Catania, just off Via Etnea which makes it easy to walk to all sites and to travel to other cities. The station is 10 minutes walk away. Breakfast is great with bread, cheeses and cold cuts, cereals, fresh fruit, juices and a delicious selection of croissants and sweets. Staff is really helpful and the room was spacious, comfortable and we could see the Etna from our balcony. Even though the balcony overlooked a busy square, it was very quiet inside.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, comfortable stay in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom lay out could have been better.

    Excellent location. Friendly staff. Rooms clean,spacious and comfortable and breakfast buffet really good in lovely area with outdoor terrace.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.2
    Perfect location and large bedroom with small balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception desk on 4th floor Noise from the street

    Perfect location and large bedroom with small balcony Nice cappuccino for breakfast Parking of the hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.3
    Vert bad breakfast cold coffee had to ask every morning to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Vert bad breakfast cold coffee had to ask every morning to warm the coffee because it was always cold breakfast bad fruit too ripe to eat 0 out of 10 for breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    8.8
    Staff was very friendly and helpful with everything we asked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does not have a restaurant so no room service. It wouldn't be my first choice of travel with small kids. The hotel information should say this clearly. It is however very well located in the city center so lots of food options nearby.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful with everything we asked for.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.2
    A good quiet and safe place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit hard to find initially but ok thereafter

    Good size shower with hot water Near to the sights, sites, and food A bit of a walk to the train station and bus station but the route was direct and was only 15 mins

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    2.5
    when i made the check in, they told me that the parcking is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    when i made the check in, they told me that the parcking is 1,40 euro cent/night, and after the trip the parcking was 14 euro/night. it s a huge difference of what they told and what they ask. when i told them they said that it's impossible. And of course after i paid i haven't received the bill.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Manganelli Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: