Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Marad 4 stars

Via Benedetto Croce 20, 80059 Torre del Greco, Italy

#8 of 33 hotels in Torre del Greco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 612 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is perfectly located for visits to Vesuv and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionists didn't give me the feeling of being particularly welcome. There was a lot of noise in the room above until late in the evening and in the early morning for unknown reasons. It sounded like furniture was being moved around permanently.

    The hotel is perfectly located for visits to Vesuv and Pompeii - if you have a car. The cleaning lady and personnel at the bar and restaurant were very friendly and helpful. The view from the rooftop bar with Carpi in front and Vesuv in the back was great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    The Marad Hotel is absolutely lovely, highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, all perfect.

    Everything, the staff were SO helpful at the reception desk and especially the cocktail waiter on the Sky Terrace, he was a real sweetie. All the restaurant staff were also really fantastic and had such a positive and nice attitude.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    4.2
    The hotel is clean and well presented but relatively small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff do nothing to promote the hotel or the locality. They show little interest in guests and provide no useful information to assist the traveller or the region. The only polite member of staff was the housemaid. Simple questions, over transport links are treated with disdain. Given that the walk from the railway station to the hotel is a hard uphill walk, when asked about buses or similar the response is that they have a shuttle bus. They provide no information as to how to access the facility or advice on taxis or other transport. The building is clean and pleasant but rooms are small. The staff would reduce the star rating to a 2 star at most. Expensive for what you get! Had better stays elsewhere with more polite staff. Will certainly not return

    The hotel is clean and well presented but relatively small for a 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing and easy parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mosquito's in Italy is an issue - get prepared.

    Fresh made pasteries for breakfast. Good variety for breakfast. Nice secluded swimming pool my kids loved. The rooms were clean and the aircon very handy in August.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    A great base for seeing the local historic sites - Pompeii etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that really jumps out for me, was there was a problem with mosquitoes around the pool area - don't forget your spray!!

    We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel, as we changed our booking at the last minute and chose Hotel Marad instead. Wasn't sure what to expect as we arrived, but the hotel is modern inside and out and the staff were welcoming. Perfectly located to take in the local sites, Pompeii and Vesuvius etc. There is a good sized pool, with loungers and bar. a large restaurant, with a good selection of local food, all served with a smile. the rooms were clean and modern with a nice sized bathroom, balcony and well stocked mini bar. the highlight for me, was the roof top bar, for pre-dinner drinks, a great spot to catch the last of the sunshine. Also they have free on-site parking, one thing that was missing in the other places we stayed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Well priced hotel with great access to Pompeii
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We would have preferred to have more access to other restaurants, since we stayed quite a few nights. However - that's not the hotel's fault!

    Our family of 6 stayed at Hotel Marad for its proximity to Pompeii and Herculaneum. The hotel is a ways from the train station - but they will pick you up and drive you to the train station. We were able to visit the sites with the local train relatively easily. The food in the restaurant was good and the staff were all friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful attentive and caring staff who are a credit to the owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Restaurants should not allow smoking. There is plenty of outside space for those wishing to partake rather than diners having to put up with their smoke spoiling what is otherwise excellent dining experience.

    There is nothing to dislike about the hotel other than smoking being allowed in the restaurants

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, bad food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant Was not good. Very expensive and maybe a project for Gordon ramsay. Breakfast Was ok.

    Great room. Very clean. Nice staff. Nice location. A pitty that such a hotel dosen't serve a good meal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Good stopover base for airport and Pompeii. Nice poolside days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old reception guy smoking literally by front door is unprofessional - smoke wafted right through into restaurant and lobby. Not even a customer! The staff! We stayed in the annexe where family rooms are. Feels a bit ‘separate’ from hotel. No issue though I wouldn’t have used my patio with residential neighbours looking over.

    Roof top bar is fab. Very boutique style ‘white hotel ibiza’ modern. Nice view. Loved it. Nice nibbles with drinks (though cocktails served v small). Good stopover base for airport & Pompeii. Restaurant was good & wine ok price (15e+). Soft drinks expensive (4e a coke can)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Pompeii visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel was great but not much In the immediate area Good train links to Naples Pompeii and Sorento.

    Very very good pleasant and friendly staff Excellent pool and roof terrace bar. Great room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was great, very clean and comfortable and air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Torre Del Greco is quite a neglected run down area so it was not very appealing to walk around (lots of litter and graffiti). There is not very much to see/do near the hotel so I would suggest that a car is a must if you stay here.

    The hotel was great, very clean and comfortable and air conditioning worked perfectly. The food was also great. Staff very friendly and helpful. The view from our family suite with a sea view was amazing! Mount Versuvius to the left and the sea view to the right - beautiful! Roof top Terrace was superb with all round views and perfect for star gazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.4
    I cannot recommend this place....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unfriedly reception at arrival. The poor kitchen. The air condition which didn’t function well. And many other small things....

    The friedly service in the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    It had a pool.
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and shower - it didn’t have coffee making ability in room

    It had a pool. It had a good breakfast Terrance looking out over the mountain and sea

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Clean modern rooms, efficient A/C, great views from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relatively small rooms, the staff members speak rather basic English

    Clean modern rooms, efficient A/C, great views from the balcony (Mt Vesuvius and sea view towards Capri), good restaurant and bar on the roof with good quality food although not a great choice, spacious free car park

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    The best place we’ve stayed at so far on our European Tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were fortunate to have a balcony from our south facing sea view in the quiet adjacent annex which was partially obscured by a lovely old pine tree !!!! Nothing to complain about really !!!

    The view from the top cocktail terrace on the main hotel building was astonishing !!! In fact breath taking , looking directly over the bay of Naples towards The isle of Capri and Sorrento to the south and Mount Vesuvius to the north Great selection of properly made cocktails ... alcoholic and non acohilic served with a delightful .... collection of canapés .... different selection each night .... made this roof top venue the perfect romantic setting for us a honeymoon couple to watch the sun go down Good selection of freshly cooked food with a different table d ‘hote menu every day The Chicken marinated in orange cream sauce was mouth watering and the “baked potatoes” were not as you would know them...crispy yet soft wedges roosted in herbs whow... real master chef moment !! The female restaurant manager deserves a special mention The height of helpfulness and kindness The cleaning staff were really thorough with their daily changes and even provided us with a miniature airer for us I asked for to help us with our laundry just so thoughtful This was the perfect location for anyone to visit Vesuvius Pompei Herculaneum and even Capri as there was a daily ferry for footpassengers from the little harbour at Torre del Greco .....Reception staff arranged everything including collection from hotel and no “rip off “prices

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    A little gem of a hotel that is great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Second time staying in this hotel. It's a little gem! Staff are helpful and friendly. Food in the restaurant is excellent. Roof top terrace is perfect for pina colades at the end of the day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Everything in the room is new, clean and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything in the room is new, clean and comfy. The staff was friendly. Very good breakfast (soy milk available). You can relax at the pool. Nice view. No problem with parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    The best hospitality experience we have ever had.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was perfect.

    We loved everything about Hotel Marad! The staff was incredibly helpful, friendly, polite and warm. We were welcomed as if we were part of the family. The building and grounds were immaculate. Absolutely loved our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel with amazing roof top!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is good but not exceptional. The hotel location is good to visit Pompeii and Naples but Torre del Greco does not have a lot to offer.

    The staff is lovely and is always making sure you're happy. The rooms are really good, specially the shower. The hotel decor is wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    This has to be the best hotel in Torro Del Greco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendliest place I ever stayed. Loved all the staff.

    This was the friendliest place I ever stayed at. They picked us up at the train station and took us to any location we wished. They helped me with tracing my family roots and I was able to get my grandmothers baptism papers from 1887. I loved all the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    A successful 5 days when we managed to see all the sights we had planned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Torre del Greco town has little to offer and is run down. Hotel was very nice to come back to after a day of sightseeing.

    Very well located for visiting Pompeii, Herculaneum,Naples and Sorrento by train. Hotel provides very good shuttle service to the station. Helpful welcoming staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Brief stay in lovely, helpful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our flight was delayed which meant the car rental desk would be closed when we arrived so we contacted the hotel and they arranged for a taxi to pick us up which took the stress out of the situation totally at a very reasonable price. The hotel was lovel with a good breakfast. Well located for getting to the Amalfi coast. Very happy with our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Seemed the best hotel in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was a bit soulless, felt like we were going somewhere after a wedding reception had finished. We had a four person family room and it was very cramped. Not so much a family room as a double with extra beds crammed in.

    Seemed the best hotel in the area. A clean, spacious and comfortable hotel in a slightly run down area. Excellent location for Vesuvius and Herculaneum and pretty good for Pompeii. Roof terrace and pool would be good in Summer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant helpful friendly staff with varying degrees of English
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy as there was a large group of French students staying the 2 nights who were very noisy during dinner and after dinner getting to and from their rooms.

    The variety of room choices when booking online.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    Great place for Herculaneum
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast finished earlier than any other hotel we’ve stayed at but this may be seasonal.

    Location was great and it was very clean. Restaurant staff were fantastic, friendly people. Quiet. I would imagine in summer it would be very popular.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    the best service ,spicily the dinning room manager Geppy,he...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    the best service ,spicily the dinning room manager Geppy,he was the best ,with me and my family ,Also Alessandro the buss boy he was very nice too. Overall the hotel is the best ,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    As long as Naples itself is not the focus of your visit, this is a good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    It was a bit pricey and a long, hilly walk to the train station and restaurants. The 25-minute train ride to Naples was generally very crowded. The hotel restaurant was immaculate, but rather too business-formal and lacking in character, and the food okay, but markedly more expensive compared to a typical restaurant in the area.

    The hotel provided a shuttle to and from the local commuter train station. The location was excellent for Pompeii and Herculaneum. The staff were helpful. The grounds were very nice, with views of the bay and Mt. Vesuvius.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.8
    I expected more of such a highly rated hotel but overall, it was acceptable for time we were there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The selection for breakfast was poor and inconsistent. It was also very chaotic. The walls were very thin and you could easily hear noise from the hall and other rooms. The lights in our room did not function very well and would go on and off randomly. We alerted the front desk to this but the problems presisted despite there efforts. Lastly, the location is fairly isolated and away from many restaurants. Although they were only 1km (approx) away, the walk was not easy (as we did have older people in our family joining) and the paths not well lit. Area around the hotel was also not very clean (but the hotel grounds were).

    The staff was great and the overall facilities very clean. The view from our balcony was quite nice. Onsite restaurant was good (we ate dinner there once) with good quality of food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable stay and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Located in very grotty urban area. Not many restaurants in walking distance. One of the reception staff (older man) was pretty rude.

    Nice hotel with reasonable restaurant. Breakfast acceptable. Good value. Good location for visiting Pompeii, Herculaneum, Amalfi Coast. Walking distance from station. Generally staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    2.5
    The staff was not at a 4 star-hotel level. They didn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were far from deserving 4 stars. We were in the 'annex' building, which corresponded to a 1 star hotel, rather than a 4 one. If we had known, we wouldn't have booked this hotel.

    The rooftop terrace

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing due to hotel's focus on groups.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is primarily for groups. Individual travelers come second. Breakfast was a nightmare with more than a hundred group travelers queuing for food. Dinner was similar.

    Easy parking. Good standard. Most of the staff tried hard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, not sure of the location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little bit out of the way, and there isn't much to do in the evenings

    Loved the quirky decor in the lobby and comfortable room. The pool and rooftop bar were also lovely...the views were amazing! The restaurant food was delicious, and priced very reasonably.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice pool and view but isolated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is fairly isolated. Other than 1 restaurant in the hotel and 1 gelato place near by, there wasn't much to do. The town looked a bit scary and ghost-like, not at all "stroll in the evening friendly". You really need a car to get to the surrounding sites and parking gets expensive.

    The facilities were good, we had a large terrasse with furniture and view on the sea and Capri island. Bathroom was large for 4 people and cleaned daily.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    We had a comfortable stay in a lovely location. Staff were helpful and the place was spotless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Alas the pool was not accessible for my daughter who is a wheelchair user so that was quite upsetting since there were stairs to get to the pool area...there easily could be a ramp installed. Some sort of signage outside towards the lobby is needed ! We did not figure out which way to go until we found someone to direct us. We had no view from our room but we did not specifically request one.It is not possible to have an iron in the room. No tea and coffee facilities were in the room but am not sure if we could have pre booked them.

    Loved the beautifully kept garden and the roof terrace, the decor and the room was spacious and very comfortable for our needs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel with friendly stuff but a bit expensive with this conditions!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were quite disappointed because the pool area was closing at 6.30 pm every day which we did not know before booking. We planed to have a refreshing swim in the evenings but it was not possible. Breakfast was good but the same every day (a bit boring). The service in the nice roof top bar was also over by the time we got back to the hotel.

    Generally a nice hotel with a cosy garden and pool. Free shuttle service to the station of the Circumvesuvianum was was good and fast. The driver boy ANTONIO was especially nice with us and he helped a lot with informations and tips. Thany you very much, Antonio!!! :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Really enjoyable, relaxed stay. Couldn't fault a thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well located for the Herculaneum and Pompeii sites and the Bay of Naples. Great staff and nice, relaxed atmosphere. Great rooftop bar overlooking Vesuvius and the bay - the perfect way to watch the sun go down!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Great location away form the big city for visiting Napoli & Campania area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Nothing

    Great hotel with recently renovated rooms (very clean!). Very friendly & helpful staff. Nice swimming pool with bar (snacks throughout the day), main restaurant with terrace and every day changing menu with 3 options for every course & different pizzas. Good breakfast (could do with more vegetables & fruit). We loved it and were here for the 2nd time. Tip: visit Napoli, Ercolano, Pompeï, Sorrento,... by train (Circumvessuviana line) and don't forget (Ana)Capri!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about this hotel. Super rooms, great pool and friendly staff. We stayed here to be close to Vesuvius and pompeii, we were literally at the foot of the mountain. The port was delightful and had quaint restaurants. Hotel marad was perfect for 2 days of relaxation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    I didnt want to leave, and genuinely loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was a little ordinary. Pasta and Pizza lovely, but meat dishes not so.

    This hotel is a little gem. The rooms are lovely, modern and tasteful.Air conditioning quiet, bed really comfy. Pool and outside area just right. Roof Terrace Bar with the most breathtaking views over the Bay of Naples and the Island of Capri. I loved it and will definately be going back. Please dont tell your friends about it thou.as I dont want it to be booked out!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    The roof top terrace is the best thing about this hotel with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The roof top terrace is the best thing about this hotel with fantastic views of Amalfi peninsula and Capri, and Vesuvius on the other side. Rooms were OK, spacious even for a family of 4. Free parking is a big plus, as well as the pool. Very good breakfast, above Italian standards.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful pool, handy location for Amalfi coast, brilliant free shuttle service to train station,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks were expensive in the bar at night and when we arrived at midnight we had no water so it would have been good to have reasonably priced drinks or water available either to buy or a kettle in the room to make a cup of complimentary tea as we were so thirsty. However this was the only negative thing as everything else was very good. You could get round this by simply buying drinks before arriving!

    The swimming pool was lovely, very relaxing on the next day after travelling from the UK before we travelled to Sorrento. The driver for the free shuttle bus to the station was particularly kind, helpful and fun. Plus the reception staff gave us lots of advice too on how to get to our next destination. This is a brilliant location to see Pompeii, Herculaneum and Vesuvius as very near local train which goes to all of these locations including Sorrento. It was also very quiet and peaceful away from the bustle of the city. Would definitely return if wanting to do more site seeing. The breakfast was good too with a selection of savoury and sweet including cheeses, cereals, yoghurts, scrambled eggs and boiled eggs, bacon, fruit, pastries, variety of fresh juices, hot drinks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    Room size, Amenities, Pool (small but nice), Breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff in restaurant (not bad but could be better) Location (typical italian streets + old houses, not so touristic and clean) Food - quite good but could be better

    Room size, Amenities, Pool (small but nice), Breakfast (sweet and savoury), Parking in front of the hotel (not street), Bar on the roof

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    A peaceful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No verandah with our room,but then I didn't ask or pay extra for one ,

    The pool ,gardens rooms were lovely ,a nice quiet hotel to relax , The breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.8
    Feedback
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was too small and room had two single beds instead of a double bed.

    Nice terrace bar, swimming pool. Food was great and staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    Quite nice, though some points to be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool towels must be replaced. No single vegetable during breakfast (in Italy, in June!). Swimming pool to be cleaned more often. Quite distant location from the sea or center, though with car it's ok. Personnel not super friendly (as in any hotel in Italy). Hotel is popular among locals for events/receptions/parties, what causes swimmming pool or/and terrace are closed earlier or totally (2 nights out of 3 in our case)

    Hotel itself is quite new and stylish. Easy to find. Terrace on the roof top with super views. Calm location. Autostrada and the road to Vesuvius is within the reach. Spacy parking. Comfy sunbeds by the pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel but a bit out of the way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate in the hotel every night because we struggled to find anywhere else nice to eat in the town. The hotel is lovely, but you need a car if you want to go and do any sightseeing etc. It didn't bother us, but dinner service doesn't start until 8pm so if you have young children this might not be ideal.

    The rooms were lovely - comfy beds, tea & coffee facilities, modern bathroom, very clean! The pool area was also very good - enclosed but still caught the sun until late afternoon. The food served at the hotel was very nice and the waiter service was brilliant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    A very 'classy' modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room didn't have a bath which I always miss when there isn't one - but the showers are very good showers - but I prefer a bath !.

    We liked the design of the hotel, modern but comfortable. Though the local town is nothing to shout about - the hotel is worth shouting about. Lovely rooms with super balconies. Breakfast good (not over the top) with very attentive staff in the breakfast room keeping a very close eye on everything from the re-filling of the scrambled egg to making sure the coffee machine was operating smoothly. We found all the staff very friendly throughout our stay. The hotel even dropped us off at the local train station so that we could catch the train to Naples (and offered to pick us up). The showers in the rooms are great - very strong with loads of piping hot water. We enjoyed sitting on the Sky Terrace - enjoying the views of Capri in the distance and Versuvius behind the hotel. The gardens are also well worth a wander. We felt very comfortable here and would definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    9.2
    One of the best value-for-money hotelrooms I enjoyed in recent years
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Village and harbour by foot 20+ minutes downhill, 30+ uphill; you can't have it all

    Spacious, very clean and comfortable rooms (the triple version); these rooms were recently renovated? Very large balcony with nice view. Perfect location as starting point for day-visits to Ercolano, Pompei and Vesuvius. Big private parking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    This hotel a great location for serial travelers like us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower cabin in our room was beginning to show some age. However, the bathroom was very good overall.

    This hotel a great location for serial travelers like us. It offers access to the Pompeii Amphitheater Entrance & parking lot, which provides direct access to the monument (20 min away via the A3 freeway) but also to Naples itself (30 min drive). Lastly, you can access the crater of Vesuvius via the DiNicola Ave. of Torre del Greco. This way we ended up doing most of the sightseeing in 3d/2 nights. Facilities: spacey room, great king bed, normal bed for the kid (no crib), A/C functioned very well (it was -3oC outside), great WiFi throughout the facility - was able to Skype for work uninterrupted! Breakfast had fresh dairy and the usual stuff. This place is a great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    5.8
    It might be amazing in summer?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    This might be an awesome location in summer with the beach so close but in winter.....it was a hotel in the middle of no where surrounded by prostitutes. The room was fine but nothing special. I'm quite sure there were bed bugs but we had stayed at a different place every night so maybe it was from somewhere else. I don't think so though - quite sure it was here. The food in the restaurant was delicious but the waiter encouraged us to purchase salads as appetizers that were easily a full meal (one of them could have fed both of us and we ordered 2 of them + steak for dinner?!?). So we spent a fair amount on dinner and ended up eating only 25% of what we got - that would be entirely on us except that the waiter was pushing us to do so. I wanted to like this hotel but in the end, it was not the best experience and I would not go back!

    For the price it was fine. The woman at the front desk was lovely and the food in the restaurant was delicious - the steak was awesome!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel, location, big free parking space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the coffee machine in the restaurant should be replaced, they should put the 'Do not disturb signs' in the rooms, put some felt stickers on chairs ( because you can hear every chair being dragged on the floor next door)

    the location is great if you have a car or if you're using the train. The train station is 15 min downhill on foot from the hotel. We used their shuttle service once. We liked their big parking space.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    Would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During breakfast, when it got crowded, the kitchen didn't managed to bring out food so fast while people were eating it, so you had to wait a little but if you are not in a hurry then it is a small detail.

    Very helpful staff. The sea view was even better than on the pictures. On the right side you could see a sea and on the left side you could see Vesuvius. If you come by car then there is a big parking lot to park the car.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Almost everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise

    Almost everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Nice 4* hotel with pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine at breakfast didn't work well.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely pool. Very good dinner. Good aircon.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Especially people, staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Especially people, staff! Great attitude and excellent service received!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay due to staff, location and facilities. Very nice roof top terrace with great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beds were pretty hard

    Great staff, very kind, especially in the restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    comfortable, quiet, nice little pool and a very nice view on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    comfortable, quiet, nice little pool and a very nice view on the roof top bar. Good to visit mount Vesuvius and Pompei

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Close to Vesuvius
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to Vesuvius

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.3
    Great service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service! The staff (all of them) are focussed on making your stay as pleasant as possible.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not in a very nice area but great to go on day trips to Pompeii and Vesuvius

    Beautiful in every way

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Welcoming and friendly staff. The shuttle service was free and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was great the water warm and perfect and clean and the service was outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Location, quiet, clean, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, quiet, clean, helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Definitely a place to revisit.
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Badly signposted.

    Extremely friendly staff, especially Anthony , spotlessly clean premises. I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed our time at Marad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many restaurants within walking distance.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. Good location for visiting Herculaneum & Vesuvius.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    A superb hotel with great food and wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service. Comfy bed. Great rooms. Superb food. Great Sky Terrace. Excellent cocktails.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    Very noisy rooms on 2nd floor under the sky lounge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy rooms on 2nd floor under the sky lounge. Breakfast not as great as advertised.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    brand new rooms , nice view , helpfull stuff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location ... closed pool .....

    brand new rooms , nice view , helpfull stuff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating didn't work well The beds can be much better

    Amazing staff Good location outside Naples

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Good location and comfortable parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access with stairs is a bit troublesome.

    Good location and comfortable parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.8
    Morden room,clean
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Breakfast,the reception not kind

    Morden room,clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Family with 4 children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, easy to find, friendly staff. All recently refurbished. Very comfortable nights sleep. Very close to Vesuvius and Herculaneum.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Modern facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find by car

    Location clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Good and quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good and quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.8
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Older Male with Glasses, extremely unfriendly and not helpful at all.

    Good location for MT Vesuvius, Pompeii and Herculaneum.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Marad traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: