Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Marc'Aurelio 4 stars

Via Gregorio XI 141, Aurelio, 00166 Rome, Italy

#676 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 722 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was good for us as we were attending a conference around the corner. If you want to see the centre of Rome it is 10 minutes walk from Cornelia Metro station (trains are regular and frequent)and you get in to the tourist area in about 20 minutes. This hotel was good value and in a 'normal' area of Rome without the frenetic bustle of the centre. Friendly, helpful and courteous staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    3rd time a guest, will happily be a 4th time when I next visit Rome. It is clean, friendly, and staffed with wonderful people. The neighborhood is residential, real Rome, with neighborhood restaurants and not tourist traps. Yet it is but a short walk and Metro ride and you are in the heart of Rome. That said, we walk to the center of Rome (~90 minutes), then ride the Metro out at day's end. Just a wonderful, wonderful place. :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so unhelpful...We had an situation of flat tyre, we asked them to call somebody, the responded: no, call your assistance; and returned to reception.... They stated on booking that parking is PRIVATE; that's not entirely true, they have parking but it's not monitored, it's not secured...

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It got quite warm even in December but it was easy to turn off the heating.

    The bedroom was fairly basic but large and had everything you would need in it. Everything was really good for what was paid. cannot complain for the price. Breakfast was good and staff were friendly and called a taxi to the airport for us and waiting outside with us as it was dark. Would stay again. A little while from the centre but bus was easy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far from major touristic attractions, you can rely on Roman bus system (apart from the rush hour). Toaletry OK, but for a 4-star hotel we could expect a little bit more...I found some leftovers from previous users.

    Located in a lovely neighbourhood with plenty of nice restaurants, stores and small markets. Comfortable accomodations (including a large bed) in a relaxing atmosphere. You can reach the Fiumicino airport in less than half an hour. Fair price for an unforgettable Roman stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable rooms. The staff is friendly and helpful. Perfect location 15mins from the Metro on the same line of Musei Vaticani and Roma Termini. There is a Sitbus stop 15/20mins from the hotel so there is no need to arrive to Termini to go to Fiumicino airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Well the breakfast is most like a 3 star hotel not 4 , but that is just my opinion . You still have options to eat don't get me wrong

    The staff was very helpful a specially a night shift guy at the reception which helped me out with an issue i had at a gas station machine on my last night in Rome , on the 24th of November 2017 !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    TV was small. Furnishings were basic but very clean. Rooms need more soundproofing.

    They could accommodate my diet with Gluten Free bread. We had an early mooring flight for which they provided a pre-packaged breakfast to go. I requested hot water for tea as I was not feeling well but none was available. A few minutes later an employee came to our door with a tea kettle etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant downstairs was not open for lunch and had a very limited dinner menu. The coffee at breakfast was abysmal and the boiled eggs were hard and cold. A small quantity of sausages were provided but looked less than enticing.

    Quite close to the underground Metro and the local supermarket. Staff were very helpful & pleasant. Room was clean and tidy - towels replaced every day if specified. Hot water system worked really well - great shower. There is a small patio and garden out the back which is very relaxing to sit in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel operates a rip off of the guests. This is never a 4 Star Hotel, it is more a 1 or 2 Star Hotel. The recipe employee is very unfriedly (man). He talks very unfriendly and repeat everything multiple. AND: You have to know that for each night you have to pay 6 euro extra because it is a 4 star hotel and this for each people. So 120 euro for 2 People for 10 days or 120 euro for 5 days for 4 people. For the price of 50 euro for one night you can find a lot of better hotels in room. sure, in Rome you have to pay a tax. But a tax should be fair, suitable and the hotels looks like a 2 star hotel and the tax for a 2 star hotel is 3 fewer.

    Absolutly nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First, we arrived way before check in time, so we only wanted to ask whether it was possible to leave our luggage somewhere (just like in any other hotel in the world, and especially in four star hotels) so that we would go for a walk and come back later to check in, but the receptionist didn't let us time to explain our plans: he was so upset we had arrived earlier that he greeted us with a cold "next!" and reminded us that check in time was at 2 pm but that we would get a room anyway and gave us, indeed, a room directly... He didn't hide his irritation at us (or the other customers) making us feel totally unwelcome... On top of that he did not apologise.... Although the hotel is clean, the bed is not really comfortable and there's no room service. Our room had a view on the street, and thus the noise that goes with it as well. The air conditioning system was noisy as well. The breakfast in not really a continental breakfast: hard-boiled eggs, no bacon, no fruit... plastic cups for juices and water !!! and a huge difficulty for the staff to greet the guests... Time is of the essence and 9.30 is 9.30! so even if you're not done eating your breakfast, you know you have to leave! We went to the U2 concert one day but couldn't go back to the hotel due to the lack of buses, so we wanted to call a cab: bad luck for us, our phone didn't work for the cab number (a special Italian number)! No problem: we could ask the hotel to call a cab for us... Bad luck again: the hotel replied they couldn't do that for us... so on our way back, we had to ask ANOTHER HOTEL to call a cab for us, which they did without hesitation... I thought all these services were included in a 4 star hotel, and it seems Marc Aurelio is not a real four star hotel...

    It was clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning and it was very hot while we were there.

    Room was a comfortable size and the bed was comfy. There was someone on the desk most if not all of the time. Close to metro stop for travelling into the centre. Lots of small cafe's nearby and close to local shops. About a 30 minute walk to Vatican City. Free car parking at the rear of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Air conditioning could have been better (although it was 34 deg outside!). Would have appreciated a bit more choice for breakfast, it was typical continental & the coffee from the machine was not good, but you could order a coffee from the waiter, the cappucino was good.

    Within short walking distance (15 Mins) of nearest Metro. Some good restaraunts nearby. Staff always friendly & helpful. Room included a decent safe, fridge, bath/shower & was very clean & quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose that hotel because it was supposed to be wheelchair accessible. I contacted the staff before via email and phone to confirm that everything would work out. They confirmed that it'll be fine. BUT, the main lift barely fits a normal sized wheelchair, the room was way too small and the bathroom didn't have any handles for the shower or toilet. It would have been fine though. However, breakfast was in the basement and for that a second lift was necessary. This lift was way too small to fit a wheelchair, moreover, on the second day it was broken. I would never recommend this hotel when traveling with someone in a wheelchair. Since it's also commonly used for groups, it gets quite noisy when groups arrive late at night. On the last night a group of schoolkids arrived which kept us awake for a major part of the night.

    Parking situation was very nice, lots of space

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They offer poor breakfast and stairs to the restaurant were not very clean.

    It is a quiet place, comfortable room, very well wi-fi, not too far to Vatican and Rome historical center.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of student parties staying during our stay. Had to tell them to keep the noise down.

    Brilliant Breakfast and very friendly and helpful. Good location, close to Metro.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We don't feel comfortable in the bed, because it very hard, not enough variety of breakfast.

    The staffs are fantastic and helpful, the room is specious, the bathroom and the surrounding area are very clean. I like the vending machine.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Althouth it is not so close to the center, it has good public transportation.

    Clean and quiet. Pleasant people. They extend breakfast hours to make you feel confortable. Close to the hotel there is a genuine and inexpensive italian restaurant with italian clients and excellent food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room design is quite old, a refurbishment would be necessary especially to update the bathroom. The mattress was extremely uncomfortable: very old and, even worse, I could feel the springs on my back... A reminiscence of my grandma bed, this is not acceptable for a 4stars hotel. I can bear the old fashioned design but changing the overused mattress should be a must for the management.

    The staff is very kind and I also appreciated the possibility to park for free (it is very hard to find a parking spot in the district)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was faaar from 4-star hotel. No fresh fruit, no vegetables, no fresh fried eggs (only boild), no fried ham,... For price should be better. Coffee-no comment. It wouldn't cost them so much to prepare good breakfast.

    Location near (800 m) from metro station Cornellia. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not too great. Nearby street loud at night. Mattress was not very comfortable.

    Helpful staff, decent priced hotel in short / medium distance to the Rome metro

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast had very little fresh ingredients. The fruit juice was not fresh, there was no fresh fruit provided or cartons of yoghurt. The pool was not in use.

    The staff were extremely helpful and provided maps and information about the local area and central Rome. Room was very clean and comfortably furnished.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very poor - nothing to remind a 4 star hotel. There are no fruits served at all and water is served in small plastic glasses.

    I liked the location and the friendly staff, but mostly the free private parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms not couzy. Old furniture. Dont look like 4 stars.breakfast not so good. Every meal just of the bread.no fruits at all.staff badly speaks english dont explain everything. Price too big for such

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Did not have breakfast on the booking website it says breakfast is included But it not

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a 4 star hotel, maybe 2 star... 13-15min to train station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None.

    Location, room and breakfast were all excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a old furniture and quit expensive

    The bed was confy and the bed sheets was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very poor breakfast, noise due to the street, 15 min walk from the metro

    large room, cleaning every day

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor is dusty.. and our room was facing the busy street... with a baby was quite difficult to put him to sleep..

    Linens were clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too hard.

    Location and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel! Facilities ok and location ok! 30 min by bus from center! Has a private parking which is really good in Rome!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were pretty much old

    Staff was very polite and rooms clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    EVERYTHING !

    NOTHING !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not 4stars hotel for sure but cheaper than most 4stars hotel. Basic breakfast, no functional pool.

    Close enough to the metro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very nice place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't in the Hotel long enough to dislike anything it was just a place to sleep

    Price ok but old and very basic

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    mediocre breakfast, bit far ( around 800m) from metro station

    nice service, friendly and helpful, room clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner in our room wasn't very good

    The lady on reception was excellent. Very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Smily staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small tv poor AC

    spacious room large bathroom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff professionale e gentile

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and tidy room, nice variety for breakfast, helpful staff and everything else in general was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy place, and I arrive 3 hours early, they told me 50€ after that they tooke from me 70€ with no poligase and the hotel is 4+ stars and We need too pay 5€ each for breackfast

    Averige

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Two singlebeds supposed to be 90 to 130 cm. but it was only 70 cm,and the bed is too hard.because of the wood attached under the matress.I can hear neighbors snoring throughout the night.

    Cleanliness of the room Personnel were fine.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We found the bed very firm, and there was no soundproofing between walls and floors, so sleep didn't come easily for us

    The location was excellent, within a 750 m walk to the metro. Breakfast was plentiful and having car parking provided free, was great. Staff were helpful and we loved the authentic Italian restaurant that was suggested to us for dinner, so returned there another night.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The coffee was not good. It tasted as if it was not coffee but Cafe D'Orzo. Irrelevant, as the breakfast was very good, overall, and you find places to drink fantastic cappuccino on every corner.

    The rooms were clean, the staff were super nice, the breakfast - except for the coffee - was very good, the bed mattress was very comfortable and the sleep restful.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were nearly made to pay for WiFi

    The receptionist asked us to pay for wifibut on the website it said free. We questioned this then they later gave it to us for free

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast could be better in 4-star hotel. Air conditioning isn't enough for hot weather. It cannot acheive comfortable temperature in the room.

    Convenient location - 10 minutes walk from Cornelia metro station. There are buses to the center, but they don't follow to schedule - once we waited for 40 minutes! Clean spacious room, friendly personnel, convenient bed. Big free parking. Wifi was free, although during booking it was paid.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel requires serious renovation. This is definitely not a four star hotel. And should not cost more than 90 Euro for double room. We were charged 140 Euro for triple room. The Room was very small with very poor AC service. Bed linen, pillow, curtains were very old and I could smell that these were used for ages. Paints/wallpaper was coming off in several places. The corridor passage also needs renovation. There is a swimming pool but without a drop of water. The pool looked dirty which has not been cleaned for several years.

    Breakfast, the front-desk staff, restaurant staff and free parking.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Awful bed, awful breakfast, no wifi free service, small rooms, no ventilation at least in the room I stayed. Lot of noise as I got the room next to the road. I could hear next room guest snoring - poor sound proof rooms. quite small shower. Travelling time roughly 35 minutes to the city. Did not feel like a hotel. Hotel no better than 2 star.

    Staff was okay.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had to pay for wi-fi and it wasn't very good; very slow internet. Also the beds were not very comfortable and the breakfast lacked variety. The location is not very near a subway station; about 15 minute walk to the nearest one.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean too.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room ! Broken Carpet and poor materiel

    Location , parking , frienfly staff

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    10 minute walking distance from metro stadion, clean

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location: Far from the center Breakfast was very poor

    The room was ok

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing - it is wonderful

    Everything. We are repeat visitors, and will return again.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Ur services isn't bad, comparing it with where am coming from

    Ur servic

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No restaurant

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was not great, we only ate there one day because we didn't care for the food and coffee.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff at the reception was extremely friendly. The hotel was great, the breakfast excellent.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Having to pay for wif-fi

    Helpful staff, including the cleaning ladies

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff was very helpful.

    Breakfast is very simple and poor quality.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was too small

    Staff very kind

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not so clean

    Staffs were helpful,but hotel wasn't 4*

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There are no some facilities like suna and swuming pool inside hotel

    Friendly , reception staffs

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The kindless of personnel

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: