Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Marco Polo 3 stars

Via Dei Cipressi, 37016 Garda, Italy

#42 of 42 hotels in Garda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 351 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.3

  • Comfort

    5.2

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    5.4

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    4.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 14

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.0
    Nice staff , stuffy rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleaners were shouting & slamming doors very early in the morning..breakfast was finished at 9.30 which seems a little early for holiday & the rooms were way overpriced for what they are.It is at best a 2 star hotel.

    the location is good with a nice pool & friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    4.6
    I would visit the resort again, but not this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    This hotel is a throw back from the 1970s, in desperate need of a facelift. The restaurant staff were miserable and the breakfast was grim, and the same every day. The location was a little out of town, and up a very steep long windy hill. Not to be tacked by the unfit or elderly.

    The view from the bar and top pool is beautiful. The top pool and restaurant is stunning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.4
    Very basic, adequate, very good price but in future I'd prefer to pay double for a nicer hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not particularly friendly or efficient. The decor and music and overall feel inside is quite old and very dated.

    Nice pool and lovely gardens. Beautiful views from the restaurant terrace. It's fine if you just need a base but if you're walking you should be aware that it is a little way up a very steep hill.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    Fab location very dated but comfy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast it would appear you have to sit where your told.!!!' Other clients aren't keen on you sitting where they want to. It caters for Germans only

    The hotel is very dated I guess it was last updated late 70's having said this it was clean the bed was comfortable and the shower was hot no air con though so if all you want is a bed then it's spot on. Pool freezing long up hill walk to hotel but bar has a wonderful view of lake

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    2.5
    The worst hotel I have ever been! Dirty, smelling and with impolite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no air conditioner and of course there is no fridge in the room. Room repair the last time was done probably in the 60's or 70's. All is sticky and cleanliness is doubtful. In the bathroom is just a very thin towel. The breakfast room is full of burning oil smell. We took boiled eggs - one of them was old. We didn't risk to eat anything more. The staff is very unkind and insulting. To my request to put a stamp on the bill of the payment I got a gesture with a finger at the temples and the answer that I am not normal. The administrator did not finish even the conversation with me and immediately left.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    4.2
    Ok for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sound isolation att all! So loud. And the reseption staff was not very guestfriendly.

    Ok for the price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    Basic but good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Climb up to it from the road

    Basic but good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.4
    Nothing like a hotel, more like a holiday camp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Nothing like a hotel, more like a holiday camp. No ac or fan and waiters very rude at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly, especially the evening bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Location from the lake side. It is up a very steep hill and half an hour walk to Garda centre.

    The staff were very friendly, especially the evening bar maid. The views from the bar were fabulous. We were put into a chalet which was clean and had everything we needed with parking in front. Breakfast was really nice.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.1
    Location, price, facilities and suited exactly what we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was 2 singles pushed together so not the comfiest. Although rooms functional and hotel clean etc, felt it needs a little facelift from the 80s! The wifi was poor coverage and could only be used in reception (even when our room was just below!) it also didn't tell you that paying for wifi was only 1 device.

    Location, price, facilities and suited exactly what we needed for a good base

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    5.8
    Staff happy & helpful, food was fair to good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Butlins with Sun comes to mind. Suited to Young families, set meal time ? NO Air Con made sleep impossible

    Staff happy & helpful, food was fair to good. both pools very good and the Pizzeria good.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    4.2
    Shover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everithig else.

    Shover

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    2.5
    Every thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Every thing

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    6.7
    Just outside Garda town, 10 mins walk, nice pool,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel decore is a little tired but guess that's reflected in the price.

    Just outside Garda town, 10 mins walk, nice pool,

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 14

Browse Hotel Marco Polo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: