Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Marconi 3 stars

San Polo 729, San Polo, 30125 Venice, Italy

#238 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 947 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very good breakfast. Too hard madress.

    Excellent location close to Rialto bridge and Canal Grande. Traditional decoration. Enough space for two separate beds for the children.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    It was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view in my first room wasn’t very good. I wasn’t told where the breakfast was on the first night. There was construction (hammering and drilling throughout the day) and some of the other people staying had children making a lot of noise.

    Staff changed my room to better accommodate me. When I actually found breakfast it was great. Staff was very nice and professional. The location is very close to the Rialto bridge so when the tourist rush was finished, there was a nice view (from my second room) from the window.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.8
    You pay for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor rooms. The breakfast restaurant located in dark level with no windows and, no fresh air and sweaty warm. Couldnot wait to go out and have a breakfast on the street near the hotel.

    Perfect location. I was dreaming from my childhood once to stay near Rialto.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location/perfect price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner kept making funny noises in the middle of the night.

    There is a lovely table and chairs in the window with an air conditioner right there. It is the perfect location to watch the tourist and life on the Grand Canal. They allowed us to store our luggage after check out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    4.6
    Bathroom was nice with big tub and good fixtures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby and hotel room both smelled bad- moldy and/or dusty. Front desk was not friendly at any point (we met several of the workers during our 2 night stay).

    Bathroom was nice with big tub and good fixtures. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    At 90€ it is a bargain in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Everything in Venice is old but this place has thin walls all around - Two single mattresses in one double bed. These days it seems to be standard but I still don't like it

    - Great location, just next to Rialto - At 90€ on a Friday it is a bargain for local standards - Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    It was a pleasant stay, we liked the location, its fair enough with the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room just behind the washing machine and the kitchen/breakfast room sometimes its a bit noisy. One night we didn’t have hot water to shower.

    The location is very strategic, just beside de ponte de rialto.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location. Couldn’t have been more central for all the sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No enough lighting in the room. The shelf where the TV was located was too low. I kept banging my head on it. The rugs by the beds could go because we kept slipping on it and nearly fell a few times.

    Great location. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    I am not used to give a negative advise.
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful... nosy and smoked corridor on day long The breakfast was not great... only industrial food and not typical but not expensive ! If you want to listen to the pee of your old neighbors of room, you can book this Hotel... and You have a timetable Of all shower of your floor... So the last visit for me, you can find better!

    I am not used to give a negative advise... See under this line Bed confortable !!! Location top !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall satisfactory, gave us ground floor room. My 3 months old baby, who slept more here than home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would prefer a entry key card rather than keep buzzing the receptionist, at times had to wait for someone to unlock building entry door for safety reasons.

    The beds were comfortable, dark room made sleeping peaceful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.1
    The location is fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We came with our 2 small children and we were booked at 4th floor. The hotel has no lift hence its difficult for us to climb up and down the stairs especially when the kids are sleeping and would not not be able to walk by themselves and we have to carry them from the ground to the 4th floor.

    The location as it sits exactly at the foot of Rialto bridge

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.8
    Nice location but felt unwelcome with my toddler
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My daughter was sick one night and the staff was very unfriendly and unhelpful. I had to call three times and be very pissed off before they agreed to give me an additional set of sheets.1 The beds are tiny.

    The location is perfect close to San Marco and Vaporetto stop Rialto. Lots of restaurants and streets to wonder around

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    I have stayed in several hotels and apartments in Venice, and I will look no further.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is in the very center of Venice (about 100 m. from the Rialto Bridge). It is an ideal location to walk from to every part of the city, and except for the Grand Canal, the architecture can be best seen by walking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    3.8
    If you value sleep and customer service do NOT stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The experience from start to finish was poor! At check in we received no information about the hotel, not even breakfast time or location. After walking up 5 flights of stairs we arrived at our room - note there is no lift. The room was dull and had severe damp. We asked if we could pay for an upgrade the staff were unhelpful and said this is the best we have! That evening we returned to the hotel and it may as well have been a hostel as we could hear EVERYTHING from the rooms next door. They had a young child who screamed all night, this combined with the smoking area below our window was a nightmare for sleep. Furthermore our bed backed onto the next rooms bathroom and the Plumming sounded like an industrial water plant so when they were using the bathroom at 11:30pm and 6:30am we were privy to all! At check out, we were just asked to pay €4 for two Small's bottles of water and pay out city tax. They didn't even ask how our stay was- just give us the money and off you go! If the staff were more accommodating it would have made the difference but the combination of their poor attitude and the dated hotel left us feeling less than satisfied. I would NOT recommend this hotel! Frequent travellers- not asking for the world just a little customer service and no leaks would have been nice!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Good location, next to Rialto bridge, good breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater is over heat from bathroom, smell from toilet in the morning

    Good location, next to Rialto bridge, good breakfast and very comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast.

    Amazing bath area... more bright lights wld be good. Their cappuccino are amazing and cheapest in town. Right next to main hub and Rialta bridge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    3.8
    Location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was facing Calle del Gambaro, a small street where young people go for smoking and drinking. For more than 4 hours (from 10.30pm to 2.30pm) on Saturday night, continuous shoutings and drunk people outside made impossible to sleep. Reactions from the hotel concierge were minimum notwithstanding our continuous calls to act immediately. There were minimum attempts from the staff to reduce the disturbance of guests of the hotel from illegal behaviour of the drunk crowd outside the hotel. In addition to the hotel, the wi-fi connection extremely poor. Staff was unpleasant overall. The TV in the room was not working well due to the remote control missing.

    Location was very good. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.0
    Perfect location next to Ponte Rialto with many restaurants,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy especially during the early morning when neighbours start to work.

    Perfect location next to Ponte Rialto with many restaurants, shops and some bars for young people nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Location cannot be beat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked the reception staff about getting to Murano and Burano. He suggested taking the waterbus out of San Marco Square. We did that and it was definitely the long way. We wished he had shown us the option of walking to the last stop before the water bus crosses the channel. Instead after walking to the square, we sat on the boat and had to stop at every stop before crossing. It doubled the length of the trip. We could have walked 10 minutes from the hotel to the last boat stop...and just caught the same waterbus and it would have been 10 minutes from there. Not a huge deal, but it would have been nice to know. It won't keep me from trying to book that hotel again.

    The location is amazing. All you have to do is find the Rialto Bridge and the hotel is right there. The room was nice, clean and equipped with a mini bar should you need something. The rooms were a nice size (not tiny, but not huge). I booked three rooms and we were all assigned rooms right next to each other. We did not get the awesome view rooms, but we were happy with ours. Breakfast was good and included in our room rate.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.5
    Saddly unexpected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Day satff not very happy to help. Room pictures not very ilustrative. They post only pictures from the top rooms. Should show pictures of the lower budget rooms as well. Great cost/benefit but customers should be aware of what they are paying for.

    Great location. Night staff very atentious and with local knowledge

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    3.8
    a rip off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rip off

    unbelievable rip off....how can a hotel with paint pealing from the ceilings of a questionable 3 star rating charge nearly 400 euros for one night .Not even a kettle to make tea in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.3
    Good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no left so if you have young children it is hard to climb the stairs, the walls are thin and you can hear the noise from the bathroom next to you

    The location is really good, the staff are friendly and the hotel was clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    A perfect accomodation at few steps from the main attractions of Venice, just next to Rialto Bridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is too narrow. By the way, it was very clean and the hotel provides bath amenities.

    The location is excellent, just next to "Ponte di Rialto". Very large room suitable for a family of 4 persons. Free wi-fi, good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.7
    The breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms very litlle small. The hotel did not had any elevator. Windows were jammed.

    The breakfast was good. Location of the property is gery good. 2 minutes walk from Rialto Bridge and the water taxi station. Many restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.5
    A lovely stay in Venice and great location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Th reception area a little musty and no bar insid. The room had no kettle or tea making facilities. Would be hard to manage if trouble walking unless on first floor.

    The hotel was in an amazing location right beside the Rialto bridge. Very easy to find as could be seen from the bus stop. The hotel is very dated and small entrance but very large bedroom which had four beds and plenty of space. Breakfast bar very nice and lots of choice. Staff friendly and welcoming. Restaurants right that outside although not cheap but brilliant for enjoying the views and again very friendly. Shops also on ththe doorstep and gondolas . Would definitely recommend this for a short stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.5
    Venice with 3 kids under 10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Small room. Compact bathroom. Outdated decor. Perhaps , my negatives are just the how things are in Venice !!

    Great location, superb staff. Warm and welcoming feel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.1
    A brilliant stay in Venice and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the room and bathroom were very clean they are a little ‘tired’ looking. If you like very firm mattresses then the beds will be to your liking.

    The location was perfect, a stone’s throw from the Rialto bridge. So a short walk to Saint Mark’s square. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.7
    Not good value for money (but Venice is very expensive)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Your room was not facing the Grande canal, but the opposite house, so the windows were of no use. It was rather noisy in the late evening. The room was dark, old and not very practical. During our stay, the cleaner took our foreign plastic water bottles from the table. Surely, they had no economical value, but they had some personal value for us and we would have liked to take them home. When I tried to ask about them, the man in the reception didn't understand me even if he pretended to speak English.

    The reason why I chose this hotel for me and my daughter was the location and it was as good as promised. The breakfast was very good, much better than usually in Italy. The air condition and WiFi both worked well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.3
    Reasonable for Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting across the Rialto bridge in the middle of the night with heavy bags and then climbing two flights of stairs (no porters at night) was really disappointing. Other than five star hotels, I suspect most other hotels in Venice don't have elevators. So, if you have problems go up stairs with bags, make sure there are porters to help you.

    Close proximity to the main attractions

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Staff were friendly and the breakfast was tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and the breakfast was tasty. The smell of freshly baked pastries woke us every morning. The location was fantastic as you always knew where you needed to return from walking in any direction. Close to everything yet cosy and quiet inside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Large comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in Venice you have to remember that the buildings are old and there are very few lifts. We were on the 4th floor lots of steps.

    Large comfortable room. Very clean. Friendly helpful staff. Location fantastic. Next to the Rialto Bridge. Good breakfast. Would recommend it to friends as long as they are able to manage the stairs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    Lovely stay to see biennale. Safe helpful for single female traveller. In the middle of everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited canal view rooms so you have to book in advance. Can be a bit noisy on Saturday night..but so is Venice.

    Great property in a fabulous location with the old world charm of Venice throughout. It's been there a long time but it matches the city. Don't expect new or brash. Just settle in. Pretty good breakfast. Friendly staff. No lift. Great wifi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.4
    Location was great, charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the lobby was atrocious. Like an old smoky Vegas casino. We stayed there three nights and we both woke up with bug bites each morning. We won't stay here again.

    Location was great, charming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.0
    Good location but below standard facilities, shocking.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel does not have a lift. We had to stay in a room which was on the fourth floor. The hairdryer was broken. There is no iron on site and therefore you cannot iron your clothes. The room and particularly the pillows smell of smoke.

    The location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.6
    Ok for the price paid but not for the price and bargain it was made out to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After being shown this place as a genius discount bargain from £1110 for 2 x nights and getting it for £400 I can safely say it is more realistic that pigs can fly than it being a £550 a night room. Asked for a refund so we could go to another hotel as it was our honeymoon. They gave us a canal view for the 2nd night but to be frank it was a little late. It was the busiest part as well. I felt it was misrepresented and not great for the money but then again it is Venice.

    Venice experience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Expensive not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid 500.00 for a room on the water. Our room was not. I would have been better off to have paid 100.00 for a hotel room behind this hotel. I splurged for a room on the grand canal. That was an expensive disappointment.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.3
    Good location but really old very very small room i mean...
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and very small room ..i expect more than that because it was not cheap

    Good location but really old very very small room i mean tiny ..good staff but in general doesn't worth the money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.3
    Location was great though arriving by Water Bus with lots of luggage is a problem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Though location was great, literally 20 metres from Rialto bridge, but on the other side from the Water Bus stop, so lugging all the luggage across the Rialto bridge was a challenge! Property bit old, room furniture and decor rather dated!

    Location was great, literally 20 metres from Rialto bridge!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    This is the right hotel to book when you want to stay 1 or 2 days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the entrance of the hotel you are received with a smile and a direct feeling of relaxation. It looks very nice, is easy to find and the location is astonishing and very central! You can walk to the San Marco platz or take a boat right in the front of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Great location and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only think we did not like is that we did not stay longer. :))

    Great location and for sure a must if it's your first time in Venice. Great views of the Rialto Bridge from the small terrace outside the room we stayed in. Loved every single bit of it and totally worth the money. The breakfast was also good. It's really easy to get to from the airport with the boat straight to Rialto bridge and from there just a few minutes walk to the hotel. 10 min walk also to San Marco square. Totally loved our stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    location, good breakfast as for Italy, friendly staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room (only for 1-2 days stay) without any outdoors view, but for Venice it's normal situation

    location, good breakfast as for Italy, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location next to Rialto Bridge, with good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Location is perfect! Right next to the Rialto Bridge which is a stop on the public Water Bus. We took the Water Bus FROM the train station, and then TO the airport, upon departure. Plus you are 7 minute walk to St. Marks, so we went several times to walk around the tourist spots. As a bonus, on our side of the canal,(the hotel is on the opposite side of the Rialto Bridge from St. Marks, but you just walk up and over), there were great restaurants, and simple pizza cafes. The hotel is older and the rooms are small, but that is fair for the price and the location. The hotel staff was extremely knowledgable. Breakfast was good!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is right on Grand Canal. The hotel is located near Rialto Station (water bus station) you just have to cross bridge and it's on main street. Staff at reception is very helpful and they can also arrange city tour for you. Breakfast is also nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no elevator in the building. The food choice was very limited when we had breakfast.

    The location is super. The hotel is old but very beautiful. Nice staff. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Good air conditioner system.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift is available. From the window of our room, we saw nothing but a wall of the neighbouring building.

    I enjoyed scrambled eggs at breakfast. It would have been much nicer if served with ketchup though. The Rialto bridge was so close to the hotel that we were just there before breakfast, where we enjoyed the charming view without being annoyed by the crowds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Great place to stay foer a first visit to Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were staying on the first floor; but as there was no lift those on higher floors need to be aware. Breakfast was average

    Situated right next to the Rialto bridge it was easy to get anywhere with two vaporetto stops nearby. Great restaurants and a comfortable room. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Location was good, since the hotel was very easy to find (a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I missed gluten-free bread at the breakfast, although otherwise the breakfast was quite sufficient. I would also recommend using earplugs while sleeping, since the noise coming from the corridor and other rooms can be irritating.

    Location was good, since the hotel was very easy to find (a good thing in a city where getting lost is very likely), and you get to cross the Rialto bridge several times during your stay at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic Venice location - only minor complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower curtain was very thin and light, with no magnets or clips or anything to hold it in place. The air that the shower moves when it is turned on is enough to vacuum-seal the curtain to your body, no matter how hard you try to stand away from it. Also, there is no ventilation system, so the steam filled up the whole bathroom and also leaked into the bedroom. The air conditioner was able to keep the air bearable in the summer, but not very cool.

    Location is great - right next to the base of the Rialto Bridge and a short walk away from Piazza San Marco. The included breakfast had a lot of good options and even stayed open after their posted ending time because we weren't finished yet. The water pressure and temperature in the shower is wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.7
    Centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish someone had informed us that getting our luggage to the hotel would be so difficult. We took a train and water bus, which was fine. However, we had to get our luggage up and down the many steps of Rialto Bridge on our own which was horrible. It would be good if the hotel notified people in advance of this difficulty along with options to make it easier, such as calling them and they could provide a porter we could pay, or something other than just taking a water taxi. A water taxi is very expensive. Besides, I called and asked the hotel in advance for suggestions on how to get to them and they never mentioned this. The hotel was also quite pricey.

    Centrally located. Quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    6.3
    I would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would not stay there again. The hotel looked very quaint in the pictures, but it was far from it. Everything felt and looked old. They still use blankets on the beds....

    The hotel is close to Rialto bridge. I chose the hotel because of the location and the price. After being to Venice I would stay anywhere on the island, you can't go wrong.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, old hotel on the canal in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the location of our hotel and our room. We were right next to the Rialto Bridge, but our room looked out on a little alley street instead of the busy canal side. It was lovely. Breakfast was the best! Fluffy scrambled eggs, lots of bacon and hot sausages, and much more. Our room was clean, as was our private bath. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.5
    All about the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are way smaller than depicted, there is no elevator and the reception area needs to be refurbished.

    Location, location, location. You can't get closer to Rialto bridge and the heart of town. Bathroom was clean and functional. Breakfast was all you could wish and more. Staff was very accommodating and helped as much as possible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Very satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Moment of leaving the hotel and coming back home :)

    - Amazing location - Super friendly and helpfull staff - View from the window (if you have a room with the Canale Grande view) - Comfortable bed - Good breackfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wished I could have check in early after a long haul flight.

    The room was beautiful venetian decoration and I had a balcony over looking the Grand Canal!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    4.6
    Nice Spot! No So Nice People!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in and out was really disappointing. After a long flight to get there, I didn't like the attitude that we seem to get when we arrived. The rolling of the eyes and heavy sighs that were offered by the female receptionist in response to some predictable basic tourist questions asked by naïve excited tourists, really made me question my booking. Check out was just as bad. I just wanted to get out of there in a hurry. The rooms were pretty basic for the price. The TV didn't work and there were some suspicious brown stains on the linen and in the bathroom, but we just got on with it. Thanks to "Jerry"" for at least trying to fix things...don't worry maybe next time. You don't go to Venice to sit in your room and watch TV! The hotel is on the grand canal and literally meters from the Rialto Bridge. It really is a great spot to see Venice. It would have been nice to get the room and the customer service to go with it. Descent money to stay there.

    Fantastic location and a nice breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.4
    Location excellent but otherwise disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no AC-DC, though they said on the website they had AC-DC, they told us to open ghd windows. We did, it was very loud late at night and early in the morning, also the breakfast was inadequate and the coffee was terrible.

    The location was very good. The rooms were clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.1
    The Filipino staff were very courteous and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Filipino staff were very courteous and friendly. The hotel is beside good restaurants and near shops with a very nice view of the canal and Rialto Bridge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.3
    Very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Unfortunately because its on the grand canal, near restaurants and an older building it can get noisy at night.

    Very central location. Staff are helpful. The rooms are comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    2.5
    Hideous place, pile of vomit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I requested a clean room with canal view at the time of booking but was placed in a dirty suffocating room with loads of mosquitoes in it. I asked for change and was told that other rooms are worse! They are nothing like the picture. Breakfast was crap! With toaster not working, water separating in jam. Watery scrambled egg. Warm water for tea. I requested the refund so I can go to a better place with my kids but was refused. I would like to get my money back, it was a torture and staff was grumpy and rude!!

    I did not like anything about this hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    5.4
    Location , paintings ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One week before arriving we realised that we need to change the dates, since the reservation was not refundable I ask the reservation office for changing the dates, they accepted which was nice but then they charged us 100 euro more. Considering that it was in a period that the half of hotel was empty ! So at the end we payed the price of 5 star hotel in that period just because they find out that we are in trouble and it's a good chance for them to charge us as much as possible !

    Location , paintings ,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facility is so so. The wall is really thin that you can hear clearly the sound of shower from next door. No ticket for the deposited baggage.

    Great location which is just near the water bus station and a walkable distance to Piazza San Marco. Nice breakfast. Worth the money when having great deal in price.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    5.4
    Basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The common areas were all very worn, dated and old. The triple room was extremely small. The lighting in the room was poor. It is not a hotel to relax and enjoy the rooms or the common areas. Good for sleeping and that is it. If it weren't for the discounted price, I would not have stayed here otherwise.

    Location is the best thing about the property. Bathrooms were clean and all the sanitary ware seemed relatively new. The sheets and pillows were clean as was the room. Beds were adequate. Breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location, but room too small for 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi didn't work all the time. Sometimes it didn't work for hours. When asked why it wasn't working in my room the staff just said it should be working but didn't fix anything! I booked a room for 2 adults and 2 kids. There were only 2 beds in the room and our youngest had to sleep on our bed, which was too small for 3 people.

    Location is perfect!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a very cheap room, so it was to be expected. Right next to a noisey kitchen and busy alley way. Heater was so old and loud that we did not use it. But we paid a low price so it was value for money in this particular location.

    Location is great, front door enters the grand canal. Close to some very good restaurants. Breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    5.4
    saty if you "only" care about the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. no kettle. you got to ask staff for hot water all the time(and their will ask for EURO5 for the "room service") 2. staff are kind of rude and grumpy, I do not know why. 3. smelly(old hotel) and noisy(when someone flushes the toilet next room)

    good location and nothing else.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.5
    Good Base Camp to see the City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Venice does smell depending on where you are and the hotels hallways and reception were a bit smelly. However, our room was not. At times the hotel can be noisy as the walls are not very thick. Avoid the restaurants surrounding the hotel as their prices are ridiculously high. Watch out for City Tax.

    The hotel was in the perfect location for all the big sites to see in Venice. The maids were very good, our room was always cleaned and fresh linen and towels supplied everyday. The breakfast had good choice and was tasty. The staff were friendly and very helpful, if we needed something they got it almost immediately.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    Unforgettable, fantastic, loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was exactly as I would want it. would love to go back

    Breakfast is exceptional good! room was lovely. Staff were fantastic. Bathroom was lovely. Location is perfect

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.2
    Lovely old hotel in the heart of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just to note, if you are coming by water bus, the drop off is across the river from the hotel. This means you need to carry your suitcase over the Rialto Bridge--which is all steps.

    The hotel is in a prime location, just steps away from the Rialto Bridge. It is an old hotel and had the feel of a bed and breakfast, as the rooms look like they are in your grandmother's house and she has not redecorated since 1965. But that is exactly what I would expect of a small hotel in Venice. It is close to water transport to the airport. Overall, we loved it!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.6
    really great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    if the price lower will be more prefect.

    this hotel accept my booking request at the check-in day and sold me the last room they had, and I very satisfied the room, it has a big bathtub and space of room is quite large.The location is great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    8.8
    Idela location to explore Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being an old building, rooms are not very 'soundproofed' and you might hear loud room neighbours

    Premium location, just a few steps from the Rialto Bridge. As in most hotels n Venice the rooms are not large but very clean, and have a special charme. Staff is very kind and very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.2
    Very good location with good view of Rialto Bridge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not good impression from staff at breakfast...

    Very good location, just a minutes walk away from the Rialto Bridge and very good view of Rialto Bridge from the balcony of the room. Vaporetto stations, both Rialto & Rialto Mercato, are within 3 minutes by walk.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.9
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The daytime lobby woman was like a robot, and one day she asked us leave the keys and when we came back we found our things changed place in our room. I guess a renovation was made in our room for some tv changing. It would be better to wait for our check out or ask permission or told us to tidy up our room in case of. It is permissible to smoke in lobby. Such a bad smell and bad first impression.

    Good Location, stayed in a canal view room and the view was stunning, very varios breakfast with cooked egg and cooked bacon and jams and all taste good. The nighttime lobby man was very helpfull thanks for advised and help.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    8.8
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good location. The room and bathroom were big, with a bad. The breakfast was ok (several choices), the whole building smells of croissant in the morning :-). Nice staff. All this taking into account that it was low season and we paid ca. 50 euros per night for a double bedroom.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    7.1
    Great hotel choice for short stay in beautiful Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room can provide a little more comfort; like water, slipper and a real mirror. Noise from next door; water noise from tap, people chatting down stair, knocking on walls, etc can be disturbing.

    My family loves the hotel location. It is just by the famous Railto Bridge. Water transport is very easy with Gondola and Water Bus stop just outside the hotel door step. Our dinner in the late evening by the Grand canal was just outside the hotel. Great hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.9
    CHARMING OLD FASHIONED HOTEL IN GREAT LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NEEDS MODERNISING... ESPECIALLY BATHROOM CLEANING STUFF WAS LEFT ALL OVER CORRIDORS AS THEY KEPT IT CLEAN DURING THE DAY DUE TO THROUGH PUT OF CLIENTS

    LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION... RIALTO BRIDGE. VERY FRIENDLY HOTEL WITH GREAT SERVICE AND A CERTAIN CHARM

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Marconi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: