Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Marco Polo Rome 3 stars

Via Magenta 39, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#785 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 141 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money in a typical building
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance to the hotel is a bit shabby and one needs to go to the third floor to get to the reception. The first night the AC wasn't working well but was fixed by the second night.

    Great staff, who were very helpful in all our requests. The new rooms on the 6 th floor are very nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    4.6
    Location was good, only 3-5 minutes walk to Roma Termini
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a family room for 4 adults, with 2 double beds and 2 single beds or double bed, but when I checked in, they gave me a small room with one double bed and a bunk bed for children. They stated they have no other room for me.

    Location was good, only 3-5 minutes walk to Roma Termini

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is too small and on the last day of our stay lift not working. We carried our luggages all the way down from 3rd floor of the building.

    Hotel is just a walking distance to the train station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location, fair price, bad hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C did not work well at all, very thin prison mattress and thin walls

    Check in wasn’t ready at 4 pm even though Booking said it was. The front desk said it was because there were late checkouts at 3 and the rooms wouldn’t be ready until 6 pm and “that’s why we got a cheaper rate on the room”

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.8
    Had a great time during our stay with our four kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were flat used to bigger fluffier pillows. Would be nice to get some bread to do toast but otherwise accomodating.

    The staff on reception were lovely and very helpful. Rooms were neat and tidy, hotel close to train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.3
    Well priced accomodation central to trsin and buss trerminal to aitport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIfi patchy in room, and slightly bdtter srround reception.zno cups or bowls left in room.

    Front desk stsff were welcoming and provided good tips on how to get arround. Breakfast staff helpful also.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    5.8
    Close to Termini station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t work at room 321, actually you can only text via what’sApp or email, but no video calls or Skype session. There were only two towels in bathroom for person, no disposable toothbrush or anything else.

    Close to Termini station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Lovely little Italian hotel with character, very friendly helpful staff, very close to Termini
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful Room was spotless, very comfortable bed! Location minutes from the Termini, ideal location for tourists Will hold luggage for you after check out

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location and good value for Rome .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room for 4 adults was very cramped with no space for the luggage. We had been before and had a bigger room.

    Excellent location to use the public transport and local restaurants. Air con excellent . Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room, for a triple bed which we needed for 3 travellers.

    Good location. Close to the Termini station. Very good proximity to loads of restaurants. Desk staff friendly and helpful. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    nice, small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    stairs before an old elevator . roo.ms and breakfast room was also smll.

    rooms were quiet and hotel was close to rome termini railway station, rooms overlooked a quiet courtyard

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.7
    Good location, fine if all you want is a bed for the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. Bed not particularly comfortable and pillow was as flat as a pancake. Breakfast nothing to write home about.

    Well located right near termini station. Great access to airport bus and metro trains.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    8.8
    Worth to book, I would recomend others
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you come for breakfast around 10 am you have almost nothing to eat, they don't put extra things on plates

    Very good location, close to Termini Station, nice small room cleaned every day, good wi-fi

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.6
    The staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a bit small.

    The staff were very helpful. Breakfasts were lovely and fresh each morning. The location is awesome, close to Roma Termini and with in walking distance to Trevi Fountain, Colosseum, Pantheon and Piazza Navona.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.1
    Great location and the room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, nothing like what the photos showed and the shower was hot and cold. Only 1 towel per person provided.

    Great location and the room was clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple but cosy hotel. Clean rooms and staff was friendly. Thanks!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny, dingy feel since each floor had various hotels

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Clean, great location but overall exceptional service will see us return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil complaints.

    Exceptional customer service. Local knowledge and dining recommendations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    4.6
    Elevator
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Any dining Table not exist. No Mirror exist. Bas Smell in the Room. So Disturbant Sounds.

    Elevator Lights Bathroom & wc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not the same as we saw in Internet.

    Location is good. Only opposite to Termini Station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi doesn't work full time!!!!!!

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    Marco Polo stay .... a must for the happy traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very keen and interested in your stay. Helpful and knowledgeable. Thanks Christiaan, Thomas snd the others

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.8
    Recommended 3 star hotel for a short stay in Rome within an advantageous location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not always fresh

    Clean, Comfortable and nicely located

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.6
    Super Agradable!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi at rooms...

    Breakfast excellent...location excellent...kind personnel...baggage storage safe!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    2.5
    Very lazy staff apart from lady running the breakfast area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 hour wait for room, reception close to room and very noisy, breakfast room tiny

    The lift

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.1
    Good for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location from termini station and kind staffs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    8.8
    It was located in a very good place i mean near to every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a room there was not any glasses also vattenkokare

    It was located in a very good place i mean near to every thing that we need

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    7.5
    The location was very good, an easy walk from the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact that it was on the third floor, but it did have a lift.

    The location was very good, an easy walk from the station. The staff were very informative and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    8.3
    Great location, close to Termni Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Would have preferred a room with a larger window (needed light on in room all the time), but it was fine for a couple of nights.

    Great location, close to Termni Station. Friendly & helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    9.6
    It was so close to the train station and I had an early...
    • Solo traveller

    I believe Italy is very different as far as their decor goes and I did not mind the change, but I am an artist and I did not like the colors.

    It was so close to the train station and I had an early morning plane to catch.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    10
    Excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent staff. Very close to termini train station. Great location. There were five of us and we were all very comfortable. The gentlemen at the front desk were very helpful to us and alway willing to answer any questions. Restaurant under the hotel was outstanding. Breakfast was ok. Arrive early.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    9.6
    Location, close to train and metro so ideal for all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast room was very small so was always full even if only a handful of guests, although the food was very good for typical continental breakfast.

    Location, close to train and metro so ideal for all sightseeing

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    5.0
    Location: Very close to the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The window overlooks the courtyard, a courtyard full of dirty old building walls, dirty sanitary piping and several stinking and noisy restaurant ventilators. Very poor breakfast in terms of quality and variety. Unprofessional staff.

    Location: Very close to the train station

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    10
    For exploring Rome, the location next to the Termini is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They were so busy that our room was not ready when we arrived. TA lovely stay inhis was quickly sorted and they gave us free coffee and and a free breakfast to say sorry

    For exploring Rome, the location next to the Termini is brilliant. The hotel itself was well appointed and comfortable. If we go back to rome we will stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.1
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast did not meet my expectations. The selection was poor, there weren't even eggs. Mainly, it was bread, cheese, and cold cuts.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was convenient because it was right behind Termini station but also quiet at night.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    9.6
    Great location-two blocks from termini rail station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Elevator barely holds one person and one piece of luggage so be prepared to drag bags up/down three flights.

    Great location-two blocks from termini rail station. Clean modern rooms.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    5.4
    It seemed difficult for staff to do simple things such as...
    • Group

    It seemed difficult for staff to do simple things such as have our rooms ready on time (after check in time) and as we asked. Room was made as a double and not a twin. We were also treated poorly when we asked for it to be changed. We also had to change rooms after 3 nights of our 4 night stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    10
    Great location, so close to the main train station/bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a shame we couldn't enjoy the lie in but we had to leave to go to the almafi coast, as the bed was comfy

    Great location, so close to the main train station/bus station for commuting around Great spot for eating out at all the restaurants Great price, even though we arrived at 2am and left at 10am tw next day we enjoyed out stay Breakfast was good, staff made me an espresso from the machine and we were treated well.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    6.3
    Helpful and friendly staff, rooms were cleaned every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The single room was very tiny with a small and uncomfortable bed, not enough light in the room, the window view was somewhat depressive, avoid a single room if you can!

    Helpful and friendly staff, rooms were cleaned every day. Proximity to the Termini rail station could be seen as a plus, some nice restaurants at the doorstep.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.2
    Helpful staff, friendly approachable and knowledgable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Small lift.

    Helpful staff, friendly approachable and knowledgable.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    8.3
    Delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bad smell in bathroom

    Delicious breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    4.6
    so dirty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    so dirty!too noisy!

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast / Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast / Location

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    7.5
    HELPFUL STAFF
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    NO REFRIGERATOR WITH AN EXTREAM HEAT!

    HELPFUL STAFF

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: