Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mare Blu Terme 5 stars

Via Pontano, 36, Ischia Porto, 80077 Ischia, Italy

#47 of 179 hotels in Ischia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 295 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not 5star. Room basic. Would be lucky to qualify as 3 star in UK. No sun after midday on balcony so had no choice but to leave room. No coffee facility in room. Unable to make a drink. Noisy air con. Had to have toilet seat changed and bathroom layout not good as toilet cramped up against shower and had to move onto it sideways. One morning when group of Germans arrived we asked at breakfast three different staff for coffee and 30 minutes later no coffee arrived so we left -minus a coffee.

    Terraces & view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thermal pool needed better cleaning.

    4 star with great breakfast and a location near to the castle. Sister hotel on water side had very nice verandah to relax at. My hotel had a thermal pool (a little dirty) but overall a beautifully appointed hotel worth its stars.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator was slow. No stairs to the terrace level. No black-out curtains- need to shut shutters. Parking should be inclusive.

    The staff were exceptionally helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single bed is too small.

    Wonderful staff. Very clean hotel. Lovely single room with a balcony. Spa treatments -the best massage I have had in many years (thanks to Antonio!):) Access to the sea and sister hotel across the road provides the option to be at the seaside. The hotel swimming pool is fantastic - very clean and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from large groups of children at a hostel next door late into the evening.

    Fantastic view of Castello Aragonese from our huge terrace. Very polite, helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel it self was disappointing. We felt the hotel thought it was something it wasn't. All fur coat no knickers if you know what I mean. After a long day travelling we arrived tired, hot and in shorts and t-shirt. We were met at reception by a man who looked us up and down gave a look of disapproval and asked us to read a hotel brochure. All I wanted to do was freshen up and get something to eat. On the brochure it stated that smart attire to he worn at all times in the hotel. Obviously this was why we got THE LOOK..... We paid €20 euros to get tow shirts laundered so my husband had a shirt to wear in the hotel. We got these two days later on the day we were leaving!!!! 😂 So smart attire seems to mean you can walk around in the hotels dressing gowns as everyone seemed to be doing, maybe everyone else decided not to get their clothes laundered.... Long story short, very pretentious, thinks is more than it is. Decor downstairs beautiful, the veiw from our room stunning, decor in the room not great. I would definitely only say 3* on the room basis. Breakfast OK, but the restaurant manager again thought himself to be something hes not. He was obviously preparing trays of breakfast to go to people's rooms however he was happy to push past you and take the last items of things rather than allow you to have them and then wait for more.... Very rude. Breakfast was nice with a variety of options. The spa treatments were well over priced. €130 for a mud bath!

    Disappointed. We felt the hotel thought it was something it wasn't. Nothing to do with the hotel, but you need to be aware. After a long day's travelling we arrived at the hotel sadly ripped off by the taxi at the port. I wax advised the taxi would be €20.when the taxi driver asked where we were going and said this hotel the tariff was blasted up to hyper drive and €20 added straight away. €40 euros it cost, be very careful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was extremely small and no air con for the first 3 days! The gym was non-existent which was a shame - one very old bike and a couple of weights. Jogging machine was covered in plastic!!

    Location was fantastic and our balcony had great view of the Castle. The sister Hotel next door had a great sunbathing area. My husband thought the spin bikes on the top balcony of that hotel were amazing with views across the Bay of Naples.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee in the rooms No shower curtain so the bathroom flooded when you had a shower.

    The location was excellent. The poolside area was great with the sun loungers and umbrellas and view of the church.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More a 3-4 stars hotel than 5 stars. Before booking, I read the comments and watched the pictures. Our stay was supposed to be perfect and luxurious, but it was disappointing. The pictures does not reflect reality. The hotel is old and has bad taste decoration. It is located at 15 minutes by walk of the harbour.

    Breakfast and nice staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing not to like

    Location and thermal pool as well as the amazingly friendly staff at the hotel. The breakfast selection is very good and offers many choices of fresh fruit, fresh joghurt and many other varieties of cold and hot food items. The coffee is great as well and the waiters are all wonderful. Also the restaurant has a fantastic menu for lunch and dinner options and the food is very recommendable and can compete with 5 star restaurants around the world!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Main course for our dinner was only ok, whereas the appetizer and dessert were fabulous.

    Beautiful view of the sea and castle from our wraparound patio. Thermal and spa services were wonderful and reasonably priced. Excellent breakfast buffet with very good variety. We felt well taken care of by all staff members.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception staff very poor when checking in. Porter however excellent. State of linen in the dining room was poor being really dirty especially around the bottom of the tablecloths.

    Location was great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travel for living, and these staffs were the most professional and kind. Everybody greet you with smile on there face and welcomes you all the time. You cannot find these kind of service at any other hotels. They are the 5plus hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cab old and not servised, problems by closing and opening doors, water on the floor... No info about room service, missing any kind of 5 stars hotel services as cofee/tea maker in the room...

    Very nice and friendly hotel. Clean rooms. Breakfast nice, would be more variations.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggling to find anything...pillows were a little on the hard side. The speciality evening for the fireworks on the rooftop was very overpriced and although beautifully presented there was little we ate and the sweets didn't arrive until about midnight!

    The fact that we could use the facilities at the sister hotel a short walk away. Perfect spot for sunbathing, always a bed available and a good restaurant with lovely staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast at Mare Blue could use a little bit of diversity, especially for people who stay there more than a couple of days. Have to say that the cheff's idea of scrambled eggs was a little strange.

    Good Beach facilities (private platform) of the nearby hotel which you can use as resident of Mare Blue. Great view from there tof Aragone Castle. Good value for money of dinner at Mare Blue (promotional €30)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Internet did not work at all in guest rooms and did not work well in the common areas. Reception staff did not speak English well and some were not helpful.

    Breakfast and breakfast staff were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Price might be more moderate

    Almost ideal place for a beach holiday, superb location and surrounding spa facilities right next to the beach. Lot of things to see arround and fantastic reasonable priced restaurants. Very friendly staff and all local peolple around

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location with the beach just across the road and only a short stroll to top restaurants and boutique shops. A spectacular view over the water with the Aragonese Castle in the backdrop. Staff where friendly, helpful and efficient. The room/hotel was clean and well maintained. Having access to the sister hotel across the road also added to the overall experience. We'll be back!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really. Maybe the rooms have more the level of & 3-4* than a 4-5* hotel. But very confortable.

    Very friendly and competent staff. Access to sisetr hotel next door Miramar allows access to private beach, pool next to the sea, fantastic restuarant on the roof, ... still enjoying the Mare Blu more intimate and relaxing ambiance. Delicious cocktails from comptent barman !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They've tried The usual room hoax on me. We booked and paid for a deluxe double with terrace and they've put us in a standard room(22sqm) instead of 27sqm that we paid for. The first night we had to sleep in The small room because The one we booked was occupied. Of course when i went to ask them about The room they lied to me saying that all rolms are small but i was prepared(booking.com tells you The size of The room) and that was my winning point. Such a shame and lack of professionalism.

    The hotel is right next to The Beach.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is not great although it's a good location for walking to better areas

    Ability to use the other hotel's beach sun beds and facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facilities were great however room was a little small

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Localisation, staff, clean room with see and castle view, beautiful garden - all on the high level , very profesional spa

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and badly decorated

    The location was great with amazing views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, friendly personnel, fantastic breakfast and great location to explore Ischia.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 237 (or was it 273?) has a wonderful terrace overlooking the castle. Very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb facilities, friendly and welcomoming staff, overall a fantastic experience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms small and beds too firm for us.

    Right across road from private beach. Very luxurious - friendly staff on reception & dining room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ABSOLUTELY excellent!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in Ischia port. Don't be put off by the stripy wallpaper! 😀

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    This property was perfect for us

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Great location, friendly staff nice place to relax.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Add raw food

    The pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff we're really helpful and polite, we didn't like the room view and they did their best to change it 👍

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too hard and somewhat uncomfortable.

    Staff was very friendly and service was great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed single mattress terrible

    Proximity to castle , shops and restaurants Very good massage.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing!

    Everything was wonderful! The staff was most helpful, great breakfast included in the price, and a perfect location : water view and walking distance to many sights.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Spa pool is quite small and it is difficult to understand whether it looks not clean because of thermal water or it is not taken care of enough. And i did not see that they change water in it,as someone wrote before, maybe it was not high season and they did it not so often or we did not understand how they do it.

    Overall the hotel is very nice, the location is good( cafe,restaurants,castle, not so far from the port,erc). It is not new, but kept quite well. The breakfast was quite good. What i did not understand is that we were given first the worst variant of available rooms ( in the corner, very small room, no place for two suitcases, looking to the backyard), although we were in April and all the hotel was almost empty. The next day we asked to change it and the lady very friendly let us chooose the one we like and even wirh upgrade.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it didn't feel like a five star hotel. More like a four stars. Breakfast pastries did not taste fresh and tasted like shop bought. The breakfast was definitely average. Outdoor swimming pool was freezing although was told on website temperature was kept at 26c or something. The indoor pool in the sister hotel was tiny more like a big jacuzzi. The Turkish bath water seemed really dirty and yellow and after spending 30 mins in it your skin is covered in some yellow muds and difficult to wash off.

    Great location. Beautiful views of the castle and short walk to both the old town and the port and the shopping street. Could use the sun terrace of the sister hotel for sunbathing which was nice.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We asked for a taxi to take us to the port, but they called a private hire car - which was fine, except that it took about 20 minutes to arrive, and we'd been told "no more than 5".

    We're not used to lazing around on a vacation, but this proved the perfect place to do it. It's a spa hotel, and guests have free access to its swimming pool, thermal pool, sauna and foot baths (hot and cold troughs with big pebbles to walk on). All wonderful. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The hotel has what looks like a good restaurant (daily menus were posted, for example), but we never got a chance to try it - the hotel is a short walk away from Ischia Porto, and we ate there instead. Our room was clean and comfortable, but not large. The staff were helpful and accommodating, modulo the nit about departure.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    King bed is combined by two twins. Beach is poor. The location is several minutes to restaurants and stores.

    clean and quiet. Breakfast is good with many fruits. There is a thermal pool for relax.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was small but this was offset by us having a balcony. The air con was not working - staff told us it was too early to switch it on but we enjoyed warm weather but the date was fixed when they switched on the air con - could have been more flexible?

    We booked through www.ischiareview.com who were very helpful with the hotel, transfers and tours. The breakfasts were excellent with helpful staff. The bed was comfortable. We upgraded to room with a sea view and balcony on the 4th floor. Dion from Ischia Review gave invaluable help and advice.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic place in a nice quiet location. We had a room with a million dollar view balcony overlooking sea and castle, we enjoyed every moment there. Nice clean thermal pool and good turkish bath , sauna at the sister hotel make this place exceptional. Very friendly stuff and delicious gourmet breakfast with champagne make the picture perfect.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We only discovered the swimming pool and thermal pool on our last evening. When we arrived we were told all about the facilities in the sister hotel but nothing about ours. We therefore assumed we didn't have a pool.....

    Fantastic location. We had a room with balcony overlooking the sea and castle, so nice to relax on pre-dinner. Fantastic pool and the sister hotel had perfect sun decks with access to the swim in the sea.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very limited (almost no) mobile network coverage in the room

    Good location - close the Ischia town, with view to the Aragon castle, private sand beach in front of the hotel, spa, nice personnel, availability of the Russian speaking administrator.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Size of deluxe rooms with sea view balcony is very very modest. Breakfast menu was not much wide and it was similar each day. A bit overpriced.

    Amazing location, next to crystal clear sea shore, very comfortable beach, own thermal pool, very friendly and effecient staff. Democratic relxing environment

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and very helpful staff. Wonderful location with fantastic views. Easy access to the beach. Swimming and thermal pool. Free access for residents to the facilities of the sister hotel next door, including an extensive spa.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We enjoyed the whole experience fabulous Hotel.

    The Hotel ...all the facilities in particular thermal spa pool turkish bath... very friendly staff especially those who cleaned and tidied the room.Hotel spotlessly clean and very comfortable...fantastic view of sea other islands and mainland from our room. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Tea was never hot at breakfast and we British like our tea hot !

    Position excellent for the town and staff very friendly and helpful and the decor very pleasing

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff and room

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing not to like

    Great location, very comfy beds, super friendly staff and excellent food

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Access to partner hotel only via street

    Breakfast was good, beautiful lobby, great staff...facilities of partner hotel

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Information on prices and fees can be improved

    Location staff and food

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sorry NOTHING :

    Pleasant location and plenty to keep you active

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was fantastic. We could use the thermal spa in Mareblu and the beach of Miramare. The staff was extremely kind and helpfu

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As we had to work a lot by using the PC during our stay the provided wi-fi signal was awful.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi was spotty.

    The staff, food, rooms and pool were all excellent. The spacious balcony had a spectacular view.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Clean friendly good location

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all, everything was fantastic

    Great hotel, superb restaurant & all staff throughout the hotel were amazingly friendly

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms a bit small

    Faculities Location Friendliness

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no

    All good

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Hotel Mare Blu Terme traveller photo gallery