Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mare Nostrum Petit Hôtel 2 stars

Via Enrico Giunta 12, 97016 Pozzallo, Italy

#2 of 7 hotels in Pozzallo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 156 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a little noisy (Friday night, teenagers revelling on the streets). The absence of a private carpark is always a worry, but, as yet, nothing has ever happened to my far-too-flashy car!

    The welcome was warm and heartfelt (as it always is). Every time I come, I feel like a returning member of the family - this is wonderful to look forward to after a long day of travelling! My room was big and comfortable, and breakfast served with a smile. It is always a pleasure to come back to Mare Nostrum, and I shall return :) They really like dogs, too, and mine always gets extra pats when we arrive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good.

    The room has a fridge. We liked that there are lots of restaurants and bars within a short walking distance. We liked that the owner told us in advance that there is no taxi stand at the train station so he arranged for one to meet us. Similarly, he arranged a morning taxi to the ferry to Malta. Breakfast was generous including fresh, still warm croissants and cappuccino.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could be updated to current time. Fridge is so noisy that I unplugged it to sleep. Balcony in need of maintenance.

    Location in proximity of the ferry, good restaurants and bars in walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ONLY thing is the parking question (I have a car I'm very proud of!). The place to park is 50 metres from the hotel. Nothing has ever happened to my car when parked there, it's just I would prefer a private carpark arrangement.

    Excellent welcome (I have stayed before and they recognised me -and my dog- so I did not have to fill in any forms :) ) It's a lovely little hotel, well situated on a busy road; no noise problem in the rooms though. The room I had this time was huge - with separate corridor and bathroom; perfect for me and the dog. The hotel situation is wonderful for (dog) walking - the beach is a few minutes away, and there's a modern promenade, connecting to the Giardino Communale directly by the sea that I always look forward to. I'll most certainly come again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enrico made sure our stay was perfect in Pozallo! He is thoughtful and very empathetic. Needless to say that breakfast was stunning and rooms were super tidy. I can definitely recommend the Mare Nostrum!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WIFI was a shambles but then what's new on the road in small [ and some big ] accommodations .

    Suitable stopover after a late arrival from Malta . Good size room . Cosy breakfast area and some nice design touches around the property . The owner was quite helpful and whilst we were there he rescued a Swedish woman whose flight had been cancelled by calling the airline and arranging things for her . Well done .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was fine.

    Our stay at the Mare Nostrum was extremely good. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is great and we had a nice spacious room. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Pozzallo.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very central and Enrico Caruso was extremely helpful and polite. Altough we've checked in at around 23:00hrs, he spared some time to explain about some restaurants as well as supplied us with a detailed map.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner couldnt do enough for us. Moved his car to allow us to park so we could see our car. He is great have never in my 70 years had such friendly good service

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was hard to connect to. The furniture looked fine but it was all on the cheap side. But it did look good if you did not look too close to the quality. But the friendliness of the owner made up for most things.

    Owner was exceptionally helpful and friendly and a real gentlemen. Location is excellent for the town centre and for easy commuting. Internet was good once you manage to get into it. Overall the place looks clean and well thought out.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find from the Ferry Terminal. Enrico was really nice and gave us information about the area and helped us with the car rental. The room was clean & spacious and the breakfast really good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Welcome drink for Genius was not provided. Total amount was blocked on my debit card a couple of days before arrival, but afterwards card was charged with different authorization code (as explained by my bank), which led to charging one amount and keeping second amount blocked. As a result, I had negative balance on my card and penalties from the issuing bank. And it's all despite to promise from the owner that it won't happen, and my card's balance won't be affected. I am very disappointed.

    Staff was very friendly, they allowed us to check in before noon. We were provided with triple room instead of double, room even had it's own kitchen and fridge.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location and ample parking near by. Staff are great and rooms were very good, especially for a few people and for a few nights. Would recommend

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little tired in places but it just adds to the Sicilian summer seaside feeling. This is more than made up for by the price and the cleanliness.

    Enrico and his family were super friendly. The hotel was extremely clean and the breakfast delicious. One minute walk to the sea, ample parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Complicated system to access Wi-Fi - you need to register (but free of charge) and then every time log in with a password

    Nice place, well located, well maintained.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For finding a parking space one has to be patient. In order to get a parking space within a few minutes turn right at the intersection just before the B&B hotel and turn right once again to reach the biggest car park next to the hotel.

    The breakfast is good. The variety of food is above the Italian average. This B&B has an elevator. Even though the reception is not occupied for 24 hrs owner Enrico will come within 5 minutes to welcome his clients.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good for the town and the beach. Enrico is very helpful and accommodating, and is a fan of Inspector Montalbano! In addition, this was the first time in Sicily that the coffee was served exactly as I like it - speaking as an Englishman.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I don't know if it was the light (i.e. the colour of the light / light bulbs / fluorescent lighting), but everything had a very bleak and depressing filling to it. It's very hard to put into words. It looked like a cheap motel. It's very hard to ignore this, even if the price we paid was the one for a cheap motel. The bathroom was the most depressing of them all: rather badly maintained (the shower cabin looked awful and had something that looked like mould), the lighting was horrible (mostly fluorescent) and everything looked cheap and depressing. I were supposed to stay for four nights, but couldn't take it any more and left after the third night.

    The owner is fabulously nice He is extremely kind and helpful and goes out of his way to accommodate you. He's also very knowledgeable of the local history of the province of Ragusa and will happily provide you with trip suggestions, restaurants, sites etc. all in a very coherent and cohesive way. The breakfast is decent enough, but it's the Italian-oh-so-sweet-you'll-get-diabetes-one. But I guess that's normal for Italians. The room was basic, but decent. We stayed in a two-rooms suite and there was AC in both rooms. There's a basic TV and the basic necessities. It's clean. The beach is within five minutes walk.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    none, really

    family friendly environment cosy rooms in the centre of Pozzalo

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was super friendly and the owner went out of his way to help us and give us directions. I will definitely visit again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, very helpful proprietor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great for a stopover after the ferry crossing from Malta.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Manager was super nice, when we arrived on our cycles he came out to greet us. Which was a nice touch and sets a great tone for your stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly helpful host. We had a problem with a ticket and Enrico went out of his way to help us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wall paper peeling off bathroom walls

    Impressive breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The towels were quite rough.

    Great location for Virtu Ferry to Malta

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room whilst comfortable and clean could do with an update

    Owner and staff very helpful with our car hire problem and extremely welcoming

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big room, very good location, very comfortable bed. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made the reservation very late and they waited for us to arrive.... saved our day!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very professional B&B, to be honest feels more like a hotel than a B&B

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Location and quite,

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Even kept our bags for the day after check out so we wouldn't have to carry them around with us all day.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean & friendly owners.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to the Malta ferry and easy parking

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No private parking;

    Very friendly and helpful staff with excellent English; very nice to my dog;

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful at reception

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was superb to stay at this hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotless accommodationnand very friendly, helpfully staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Enrico, the owner, was very kind and helpful. Moved his car to park ours. Very good breakfast. Very central position. Certainly would recommend.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We missed being offered boiled eggs as part of our continental breakfast

    Good location, welcoming owner, free parking and comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic personel, very tidy, clean and comfortable. Absolutely fabulous stay!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast but no full english breakfast

    Central location, very clean, good shower, big rooms

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent staff Good location Clean Great bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Only stayed the one night as our ferry to Sicily was delayed. Enrico was an extremely helpful/welcoming host who couldn't do enough for us from welcome drinks to allowing us to stay on till noon to catch our ferry! The accommodation was very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast! Would definitely stay again!!

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fabulously nice hotel convenient for the ferry. The owner was so helpful when I got lost late at night trying to locate the hotel that he drove out to get me. Very friendly and superb facilities.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely. Close to water and great restaurants. Very clean and the staff, especially Enrico, were wonderful. Very flexible and they can rent you a car. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Our only regret is that we had to cancel our last night. Please note that the rating for facilities is not full due to present refurbishment works in the dining area and not for any other reason. Otherwise full marks in all categories.

    Signor Caruso and his staff were very hospitable and eager to ensure that we were being very well looked after. He helped us in every way he could. When we had to leave prematurely due to the Pozzallo - Malta catamaran ferry cancelling trips for three days from 25 Nov due to very bad weather, he was so understanding and cooperative when we had to cancel our last night.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very clean and spacious, staff were extremely attentive and couldn't do enough to accommodate especially as I am disabled. Beautiful breakfast also.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All was good. A very nice place to stay.

    Everything was just perfect: the place and facilities, a really good service, kind staff,very convinient location close to the center and the beach... wonderful place to spend some days in Pozzallo, we will be back for sure.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Couple

    Enrico (the owner) was very helpful. We actually arrived late at the hotel and the reception was closed. We rang the door and Enrico answered and came by in a few minutes. He greeted us as if we were friends and made us feel comfortable straight away. Breakfast was varied and good. And most important of all, hotel was very clean! Also, very close to beach and less than 25 mins away (on foot) from port (to catch catamaran to Malta).

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Enrico, the owner of the place, really makes you like you've visited family! He's very welcoming, very thoughtful and makes everything possible to have a great time. Breakfast was being served 7:30-9:30 every morning but because we were waking up late he was saving some for us every day! The place is in a very convenient location, 5 mins walk to two really nice beaches and 10 mins drive to Maganuco and Marina di Modica. The rooms are also really clean, quiet and spacious. I will definitely go back there sometime!

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    it is noisy outside, when the windows are opened

    - the owner Enrico is very nice! He gives perfect advices!! which places to visit, where to eat, what to admire, beaches (I have never visited so perfect clean beaches with so warm water), etc.. And he is very helpful! - the whole personnel is very friendly - breakfast: they make good coffee, there are tasty baked products (once even homemade) for each breakfast. Not only sweet breakfast - you can hire beach umbrellas in the hotel - perfect decision!!!

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owner Enrico very helpful. Spacious room, entry and bathroom. Lovely Quote on the wall by a famous Itslian writer - each room named after writers. Some of the furnishings could be updated eg the purple quilted bed cover!

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly and hospitable owner/staff. Room was brightly furnished, spacious and clean. Although we had not separately request, hotel thoughtfully provided us with a separate cot for our toddler. Hotel is also located very close to the Pozzallo terminal, main shopping street and restaurants. Pastries at breakfast were delicious. No extra charge for wifi in room.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Well located B&B when using the ferry to Malta. When I spoke to the owner when approaching Pozzallo on the train he offered to arrange a local taxi to meet us at the railway station which is about a mile from the B&B. We took him up on his offer and the local taxi driver was waiting on the station platform when we arrived. The owner also arranged a local taxi to take us to the ferry port the following morning. When we checked in at the B&B the owner gave us a lot of very useful local information on the town and gave us a map. The room was quite spacious, very clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Mare Nostrum is situated in an ideal location, walking distance from Pozzallo centre and the beach. Enrico and his team are doing an excellent job. Well done!

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing is overlooked at Mare Nostrum. Centrally located, plenty of free parking in the street, good advice, great breakfast and above all, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Enrico was incredibly welcoming and helpful - we arrived late and were greeted by name. Enrico has also provided lots of really useful information on restaurants, sightseeing and transportation and helped us organise a trip last minute to Siracusa (fantastic). We also got to the ferry port to Malta in plenty of time. Mare Nostrum is great value for money - well done Enrico!

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No way to make yourself a drink first thing in the morning or late at night. Even a vending machine would have helped.

    Enrico the owner makes you feel that you were glad you stayed here. Spacious room for the price.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    • Family with young children

    We had to book extra rooms while we where there because the hotel didn't understand the booking request. For breakfast the yoghurt had to be replaced because it was rotten.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is some street noise outside the room - but it did not bother our sleep.

    Excellent, friendly, welcoming customer service. A large two-roomed family accommodation was very comfortable. Would not hesitate to stay again. Breakfast is good.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a lovely spot. Enrico is more gracious than you would imagine possible. Waited for our late arrival and then drove us to the best restaurant in town where he had gotten us in after hours. Everything about the facility is right on. Would stay there again in a heartbeat

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location Cleanliness Staff Price Free wifi

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was all right.

    Extremely clean and central. Breakfast was really nice and the owners are really helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Owner and staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. Highly recommended. Very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Breakfasts no variety

    Cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Couple

    Good service

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff wonderful, location excellent, near cafes, shops and sea front, facilities are good including disabled lift, breakfast was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good Breakfast and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad Internet conection

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Couple

    Enrico Caruso is a great Opera Singer.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    + close to the beach and city centre + very clean + very helpful staff / owner

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Street noise.

    A new fridge was delivered promptly to match room description. Clean, neat, adequate space. Very friendly and helpful staff.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: