Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mare Pineta 3 stars

Ss 195 Km 33.400 Loc. Santa Margherita Di Pula, 09010 Santa Margherita di Pula, Italy

#18 of 26 hotels in Santa Margherita di Pula

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 125 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    3.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 16

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I got a room without water in the toilet. The lady at the reception asked me to stay one night and they would solve the problem next say ! is it normal in this hotel to use the toilet without water ?? Such suggestion caused a very bad impression on the quality of the staff. Of course I complained and she could find another room in 10min. Breakfast is at the very minimum level of quality and diversity.

    The trees and shadow around the rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overpriced. Middle of nowhere with no activities. In midAugust Sardinia is fully booked. I still cannot believe I paid 860 euros (for one person for 4 nights with breakfast) to stay in a cave! My ground floor room had no windows, no light - just an entrance doorway- which needs to be kept shut since it's right on the path to the reception and everyone can see inside.

    Beach is wonderful! So is the Pine forest. Good 'bagnino' vigilance and plenty of beach ombrellas. Yet the hotel is rundown and needs serious refurbishing eg restaurant lamps full of dead insects, many cracks on walls, old mattress with bad springs. Breakfast offers minimal variety. Internet wifi access only in front of the reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Disappointed the pool hasn't been cleaned for the whole time we stayed. Expected Didn't expect to walk far to catch a bus to Pula. Would've thought the hotel has their own shuttle travelling to Pula every hour.

    Flamingo beach and pool area. Boat trip - it was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not nice and not competent. Everything was extra (beach towels etc). The food was bad. It was very expensive for what it was. Super basic room that smelled like bleach. Uncomfortable bed, no wifi. The beach was dirty and the water full of rocks and algae and there are no sun beds and no bar service. You need to go to another hotel to pay. Overall bad experience.

    It was clean and that is about it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -My partner didn't know the meaning of the cord in the shower and pulled it. A short alarm rang but nobody came and checked if everything is fine. The question is, why the have an emergency cord if at the end nobody cares about you. -We washed our teeth and suddendly yellow water came out. Just disgusting -We couldn't pay at the Hotel. We had to take the car and drive 5 Minutes to an other Hotel to pay there. In an 3 Star Hotel I expect, that I can pay at the Hotel where I stayed. -Wifi only close by the reception. Wifi was really slow! -for closing the safe you need to go to the reception and ask the key. They will ask you for 50 Euro as deposit for the key.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few things , just furniture in the lobby

    Maybe the worst value for money I have ever experienced in my life. Cheated by nice pictures but the reality a real low level hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-fi only in the lobby and quite unreliable.

    The Hotel is connected to the nearby Flamingo Resort (indeed you pay at the reception of the Flamingo). We had half board. Breakfast was reasonable but not much varied. The dinner was average. Drinks are extras. Umbrella and chair on the beach are free. The swimming pool is small but nice. The room was small and very basic (no coffee machine, no socket in the toilet for shaving. The rooms are located in small buildings. The location is very peaceful and detached from everything but the Flaming resort and a nearby camping site (with reasonably cheap restaurant and small store). Public transportation to the location is very complex and it takes quite a long time from the airport in Cagliari to the Hotel (first the train to Cagliari and then a bus). Overall the journey takes 1,5 hours but connections are not frequent. A taxi costs 80 euros while public transportation costs just a bit more than 5 euros. We eventually rented a car. With it we could visit Chia's beaches (30' away) and went further west to Teulada and Portopino (60'). Overall the Hotel is worth what we have paid.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only very minor drawbacks - - a bit hard to find in the first instance - best to go to the Flamingo and ask - not warned that bill has to be settled at the Flamingo - nice if the pool was a bit longer - had to go to the (4 minute walk away) for very slow wifi. - a free English TV channel such as BBC World would be good.

    Friendly staff. Very clean room with comfortable beds, useful fridge and effective air-con (travel kettle useful kit to take with you, as always). Spaciously laid out site right on a long, quiet beach. Pool area sheltered from the frequent strong breezes. Authentic, well presented Italian food at dinner and good breakfast choices. Comfortable deck chairs provided under shades on the beach. Great base for touring the many fantastic beaches and archaeology of the region and the underrated atmospheric charm of Cagliari itself (you won't have much to do without a car). A few web posts are a bit negative about this place - quite unfair - it does, well, what it says on the tin. Don't go there if you want busy resort facilities on your doorstep, run-of-the-mill Brit/German-style holiday food (not a chip in sight) or to stream entertainment on your device.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we disliked. We all agreed we loved our hotel and would never stay elsewhere when we return to Sardinia.

    Staff was above and beyond helpful, friendly and comepetant. Three of us were splitting one room, so they put three twin beds in a room! Never heard of a hotel doing that. The main front desk lady, Tiziana, was our fave--she was able to wrangle us a beach tour on the wrong day to better accommodate our schedule. Everyone on staff was incredibly friendly and remembered who we were/always seemed to anticipate whether we were there to ask for a taxi or some wine (haha). The location is particularly killer. We were right an awesome beach that's totally empty and private at night. You can take a trolley into Pula very easily, and if you need a taxi, the front desk can get you one, pronto (unlike a nearby very swanky resort where cabs take literally an hour--not sure if our Mare Pineta friends are just nicer to taxi drivers or what) Bonus--the shower has GREAT aucoustics, if you're the singing in the shower type (and why wouldn't you sing after all that beach time??) Also, the whole property smells intensely like jasmine it's LOVELY.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far-away place, every shop and entertainment available only by car. Wifi connection available only at reception desk.

    Wonderful dinners, every day different menu. Fast and friendly staff. Nice and clean beach, free sunbeads. Possibility to use large swimming pool and restaurant at nearby Flamingo hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a slightly rundown feeling, the food is a distinctly economical and the cooks not great.

    Lovely location, great staff, relaxing environment, lovely beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We choose half board the food is 5/10 not good quality and variety. Italians are known for excellent food and this hotel does not demonstrate this. But for the price we paid you can not expect lobster...a freshly made pasta would be nice! The hotel beach offer deck chairs and no sun beds. The beds and umbrellas are €15 which seems a little greedy and wrong considering its a hotel beach. isolated from any other beach you are forced to pay this!! The pool is a good size however as usual with guests they place their towels on them at 5 in the morning to reserve a prime spot and leave them unattended most of the day!! I stayed for two nights with my mother and baby. It suited is fine as we had travelled a lot around the island and only needed a place to stay for the final two nights of the trip. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who wants a luxurious resort, this place is clean comfortable and convenient. There are lots of families great for kids between 3-10 they have a kids club and cheesy entertainment to keep them occupied. The restaurant staff were extremely friendly.

    Great hotel and facilities for the price. Clean rooms, good size and comfortable. Can use the facilities of the sister hotel flamingo. Very friendly staff. If you rent a car this is a good base to explore the amazing beaches of Chia and the coast. Restaurant Mirage is amazing and a 20 minute drive.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no internet. no tv remote. ac remote did not work. staff is rude. the website says a lie when it says "free wifi". bad rooms. smelly toilet on first night. unclean. Total rip-off. All facilities are in Flamingo. Never go to Mare-Pineta. Even in Flamingo, where there is wifi, you need coupons every hour for a new password. Staff is generally rude other than one guy.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dissapointing breakfast. Only canned fruit.

    Right next to the beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    wifi only in lobby, troubles connecting swimming pool too small breakfast every day the same, no variation car needed to get anywhere

    sunbeds on beach for free long sandy beach

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Don't expect culinary highlights, but we never remained hungry either. Look out for signs to find the right small road that leads to the hotel, no big signs.

    I was looking for a hotel as close to the sea as possible. After reading all the reviews on Flamingo and Mare Pineta, I opted for the least - and it was a good choice. I would recommend this hotel if you like a peaceful and quiet location without too much music and life after dinner. For those who need life is still possible to walk to Flamingo for an evening drink.

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 16

Browse Hotel Mare Pineta traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: