Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mareluna 4 stars

Via Carlo De Angelis, 84071 Castellabate, Italy

#2 of 8 hotels in Castellabate

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 367 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room a little bit small. To reach the big and nice beach if Pozzillo you need to take the shuttle service from the hotel otherwise b, by foot, you can only reach the beach near the harbour of San Marco under the cliff in front of the hotel (but there is always the swimming pool :-)

    The dinner is great. More in general the kitchen there is to try. Swimming pool with warm or cold water. Possibility to walk to the small village or to the next beach. The hotel crew was able to satisfy almost any request

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was not great in our room, the farthest from the lobby. (The great view more than made up for that shortcoming) Bedside lighting could have been better for reading.

    Because we visited in mid May, definitely not high season, we could enjoy being in one of the best rooms of the hotel. The view was outstanding. The pool restful and attractive. The staff very pleasant - even housekeeping staff immediately cleaned our room when requested - something other hotels find difficult! The breakfast was good and our one dinner we enjoyed very much. We liked the town and our walk on the beach to Santa Maria.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not really a 4 star hotel. No room coffee/tea facilities, bathroom designed dangerously! too many stairs to get to the room. Prior warning if you are travelling with a baby would have been appreciated. breakfast not something to go back for!

    Dinner was good, courtesy of staff and overall structure was nice. View over the sea is a plus. very nice and well kept park and very clean rooms and overall structure. Big open parking space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The hotel's own restaurant closed at the end of September. Which we didn't know. Too much single use of plastic cups in rooms and the restaurant ( at breakfast ). A clear option to not have towels changed would be good. Otherwise they are changed every day; which is not required. Info about how/where to put waste for re-cycling would be good.

    Great spot with lovely sea views from block 4. Castellabate San Marco and its harbour is lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Staff speaks English very badly, language must be improved for such a hotel. Breakfast didn't have vegetables (except tomatoes for two out of eight days of our stay), which is surprising.

    Hotel is in a calm place, but all the facilities are nearby. Hotel is high quality and completely satisfies its rating. It has a private parking pace, pool and some of the rooms has private balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very uncomfortable. The rooms smelled bad and with opened windows it was too hot to sleep. Shower door didn't work. Towels smelled bad. He hotel stuff was also not helpful. The breakfast was ok but nothing special.

    Nothing really. Was planning to stay there for three days but could only do one.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    ----

    Usually i do not write reviews, but this hotel is perfect if you want to have a quite, confortable and relaxing vacation. Great pool for children, and especially the food was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Human-scale hote, comfortable but unpretentious. Good value for money. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Beautiful views of the sunset over Capri from the terrace in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from Budapest by car...:-/

    Medium-sized modern hotel, great kitchen, friendly staff, correct services, Sirene Beach, location near to the coast, to the small harbor and to the city-center, style of Castellabate, absence of hugh mass of tourists.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    Nice hotel, kind people and great room. Hotel was very quiet, just a few guests (end of may). Nice swimming pool and shuttle service to the beach (couple of minutes). Breakfast is very good, lots of choices. Hotel is in San Marco di Castellabate. On walkin distance a couple of restaurants, or in Santa Maria (5m. by car) more restaurants. We had a very relaxing stay because it was very quiet and just a few tourists in the whole region. I don't know how this is in the summer, but I highly reccomend this Hotel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely grounds, peaceful neighborhood We were late season, so not many tourists around. Quaint back streets for exploring. expansive breakfast buffet Two exceptional restaurants just down the street

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    First, we've been told the season was already over, so the hotel's private beach was closed (and no shuttle from hotel to beach), so we have to pay the beach fee; and also the hotel restaurant was open only for breakfast. Second, although the hotel should be pet-friendly, dogs are not allowed in the restaurant - even when there was just a few guests (and all of them seemed to be just in love with our dachsie lady). Third (minor), a few hangers in the closet would have been useful.

    Pool, large parking, garden with playground.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The cleaning lady sometimes arrived early. Own beach is not directly next to the hotel.

    Friendly staff with nice location. Excellent breakfast, good parking space. Room with seaview is just perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    shower cubicle and fittings furniture poor condition decoration {all areas needs redecorating} bed was hard need a softer more comfortable bed mini bar and main bar was bit pricey

    view from balcony breakfast was just ok pool was clean and fair size

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to take a hotel bus to go to the private beach, beach is lovely but you have to watch time to catch the bus again...

    Location in nice village, good swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in our room did not work. We complained several times. They made no effort to fix during the day or provide us a discount for our inconvenience. I want my money back. The food was terrible. Half board is a full joke. The pool was not an infinity pool as advertised and there was no private beach. Pets were allowed but were forbidden in everyplace on the property.

    The town was quaint. The staff was polite.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Nothing really. A great Hotel and I would recommend it as a holiday destination.

    We loved the location, the hotel itself and the friendly staff and the very relaxed atmpsphere. We had a brilliant holiday in Hotel Mareluna..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 23 nights

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not big and the beds were very hard. Expected more from a 4 star hotel.

    Nice setup. Great location , close to the beach and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - AirCo not working (room #409) - Could not get blinds up; so terrace/balcony could not be used in satisfactory way.

    - Design hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The female receptionist accused us of lying about a room discount that her colleague had assured us of.

    Location is good for San Marco harbour.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The peace and quiet was great , nice area, general manageress was fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super Hotel in Top Lage

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved as some things were not replaced

    Pool was lovely

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are starting to age a bit. Half of the promised square meters are wasted on the pointless space at the entrance and corridor. There is no beach per se, you got to walk for it, though the walk is breathtakingly beautiful

    Best location at the Castellabate coast. Far from the crowds, close to the sea. Charming sea view. Great pool.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Boring breakfasts. Items would run out and not be replaced. Superficially pleasant but really rather uninspiring restaurant decor.

    A modern, rather minimalist but very pleasant and well maintained hotel overlooking the harbour at San Marco. Nice garden at the back overlooking the sea and between the buildings. Worth booking a room with balcony and sea view. Really nice, large swimming pool with good sun beds (no sea views). Pool bar closed by late September and no sign of anyone handing out towels or the like, but quiet (in late September) and very pleasant. Very easy parking. Not a grand hotel, but really very pleasant. Would thoroughly recommend in its price bracket; indeed, booked to return next year (and we have the impression that a number of the guests are return visitors). The surrounding area is glorious. And untouristy. The Cilento national park is very beautiful, and Castelabatte, San Marco and Santa Maria make up a lovely trio of almost connecting villages. Agropoli was a delightful surprise - the old hill town is delightful and not a sign of tourist tat in sight. Very convenient for the magnificent site of Paestum.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We appreciated the free WiFi but it was only available in public areas which, whilst not disastrous, after all we were on holiday, but was inconvenient if you needed to check emails.

    Modern clean hotel. The rooms with a sea view are worth the extra money just to be able to sit on the balcony and watch the sun set The swimming pool was a real bonus and well looked after. We loved being able to walk out of the garden on to the cliff path and walk down to the little bar above the harbour for a beer.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No tea or coffee facilities in room, we all really missed making a cup of hot tea. Room service was expensive for a cup of tea. and drinks always came Luke warm not hot.

    Location. Very Friendly Very clean

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were so fantastic and helpful, really couldn't do enough for us.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no coffee /tea facilities in room

    nice rooms good views clean

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff, cleanliness, views, pool. A wonderful stay

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard bed

    Scenery, peace and quiet and everyone SO friendly and VERY patient with our rudimentary Italian

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Browse Hotel Mareluna traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: