Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mario's 3 stars

Via Faenza 89, 50123 Florence, Italy

#85 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 784 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Friendly hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls so woken up multiple times both in the evenings and mornings by people in rooms next door. While the beds and towels were clean the bathroom was mouldy and shower was blocked so had to be careful not to flood the bathroom.

    Really friendly helpful staff, good location. Yummy breakfast. Really appreciated the mosquito repellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    I would hardly stay in this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I found that price is unreasonably high for this hotel! Satellite channels were not working and problem was not fixed even upon our request. Toiletries were filled up only once and only upon our request. Towels were not changed for 3 days, we were asked to request for that...

    Location is good, just near to the Train Station which is very convenient for travelling and not so far away from the city centre. There are many nice cafes, restaurants and shops around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    The location from the train station was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn’t an elevator so you have to drag luggage upstairs. We felt that the hotel was outdated.

    The location from the train station was perfect. The staff was very nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.6
    I will never return to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Has nothing to do with what is presented in the pictures. Everything in the room was old and dirty. The walls need an urgent restauration. The bed cover looks very dirty. There was a small room that was suppose to be a cabinet but was very dirty and basic. We had a fan with a power plug inside the shower room which was not water proof in any way. Breakfast after 9:30 is reduced to scraps. I would never come back here again.

    Location is good. Close to train station and turistic attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Good value in Florence
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low water pressure from the shower; chambermaid didn't replace toilet paper some times; area around toilet extremely small.

    Good breakfast with very fresh pastries; good location, between central station and main attractions in the city; comfortable and spacious room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.4
    Great location, poor hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean enough, starting with the cover blanket that looked like it hasn't been washed in a long time and ending with the bathroom where the space between the tiles was full of mold. The walls need a fresh paintwork as well. I also found the breakfast lacking because they did not have any vegetables or fruit. The pastry was really good though. The location on the other hand was great, all the major attractions are in a walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is in a historic building with a good location...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner did not work well but there’s heater in the room.

    The hotel is in a historic building with a good location near by railway station. The stuff arr very friendly and helpful. The bathroom is clean. Rich breakfast include coffee/bread/cheese/hams/eggs/yoghurt/fruit~

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful curtious staff, anticipated our need ie carrying bags, offering a later check out if desired. Super breakfast, different pastries daily. Many fruit varieties. Books on area available to read.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel and very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very cold, but we only stayed for one night so it was ok.

    Beautiful hotel and very nice staff. Upon our arrival we were upgraded to a bigger room at no extra charge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds could be more comfortable and the pillows were very thin. Mevertheless, I had good night sleep .

    Very friendly. As they slogan says, they make me feel like home far from home. The rooms were comfortable and big enough, very hot though. Good beakfast. Average location, next to the station and not far to the main spots in Florence (you can do it on foot).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Nice family hotel, good breakfast and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything is fine and just as described! This is a small and cosy family hotel. They provide a spasious room (for Italy it's spacious enough) with tea-coffee facilities in the room, drinking water free of charge, good Italian breakfast (especially yogurt was fantastic! not a Fruttis, but natural). The location is perfect - in the heart of the city, 5 minutes walk from the train station, but in a narrow quiet street with lots of good cafes and restaurants. The staff gave us good advices where to go. They were so friendly and helpful with all our questions that it made us feel like at home. They care a lot! Every morning they asked us how we liked our stay. Grazie mille!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Dont know how to express my gratitude to the employees of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont know how to express my gratitude to the employees of this hotel...every one of them is super nice and helpful! They r the best in Europe! Would definitely come back next time when am in Firenze!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i wish they provide more pillows Too much carbs (breads) on breakfast, so-so selection Room quite small and dark

    Location Friendliness and helpfulness of staff Free flow hot beverage during breakfast Cleanliness of my room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.9
    Close by the Train station (2 mins) and 8 mins to exacltly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had a bad smell in a room during all the staying. The "double bed" is made of two single once what makes it pretty uncomfortable.

    Close by the Train station (2 mins) and 8 mins to exacltly the Old city center. Very friendly stuff. Small bar at the reception is for your disposal. Pretty quiet area distanced from the busy roads etc. but it's quiet in a room if you have a windows with a back yard view only as I had I suppose.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    6.7
    Very expensive. Definitely not a 3 star. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast. I saw the milk from previous morning staying all day and night exposed in the desk without any cap or fridge. They offer a parking that they cooperate for 21 euros per night when you can "free" street park with a risk for fine worth 26 euros.I chose to risk it so for 3 days I skiped paying 63 euros to the hotel. City tax according to the official site was 18 euros for 2 persons for 3 nights in 3 star hotel. The desk asked me 21.

    Great location. Professional staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.3
    The location was brilliant -5 min from the train station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was on carpet in the room, as we were travelling at the beginning of December it was a little bit cold

    The location was brilliant -5 min from the train station and 10 min from Il Duomo. Guys at the reception were very helpful- told about the city and helped with all of our requests. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was really good (you can ask for scrambled eggs for your breakfast at the reception ;)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the train station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had some problems with water temperature control in a bathroom, but light problems.

    The hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the train station and 7 minutes walk from the Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore. The staff was very supportive, breakfast - nourishing and tasty. There were a kettle with tea/coffee stuff, a fridge, a lot of towels, comfortable beds and a conditioner in our room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Very recommendable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff, very good standard of the property in general. Convenient location to reach all the major attractions. Nice breakfast and internet connection.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are no hooks in the bathroom to hang the clothes and towels.

    Excellent location. For those who arrive with a train there is no need to get a taxi - the place is very close to the railway station. 15-20 min walk to the very center. Excellent breakfast. Nice hall

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    We stayed for a week. Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a really bad smell in the bathroom. We had to keep the bathroom door closed and the fan on the whole time. I don’t think it is the hotels fault I think it is just a Florence thing. We noticed the smell in other buildings during our time there.

    I loved the lounge area in the main reception where I could read my book early in the morning with a coffee. The breakfast was included and it was really great—cereals,pastries, coffee machine and eggs if you wanted. The location was really good—the street outside was really well lit at night and we felt very safe walking around. Every night we watched a movie (in English) on the TV.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    atmospheric and stylish small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect location - close to the station and to the center. Attentive personnel provided all kind of info you may need. Very nice breakfasts. Atmospheric and stylish small hotel. Would defenitely stay here again when next time in Florence.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Excellent - I'd stay there again if we ever go back to Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback was that we could hear a lot of noise from the people staying in the room next to us.

    The room we had was lovely. The bed was big, and great that it had a fridge. We didn't choose to book breakfast when we booked our stay, but when we arrived they told us they would give us breakfast for free anyway which was so kind of them, and it was lovely!!! They were all very friendly. It's super close to the train station as well, and pretty central for all the things you'd want to go to.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    Quaint hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe in the room was inoperable due to no batteries.

    Great bathroom with a large shower. Front staff always frie doy and helpful. Very nice breakfast. So close to the train station and centre of town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Great value, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel on first floor of property so the door is easy to miss.

    Very close to Forence santa maria n train stationand short walk to city centre. Fantastic value for money. Everything you need especially if you are on a budget! Definitely would stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Good location, good breakfast, good room and on suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, although staff helped carry bags up stairs

    Good location, good breakfast, good room and on suite. All in all a very good place to stay. Very friendly,informative and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was slow especially in my room. There was no elevator in the building. Good thing the hotel was located in the first floor.

    The hotel is quaintly located on one whole floor of a building. Upon entrance, the rich leather sofas and cozy interiors made me feel I was really in the heart of renaissance. Edoardo and Riccardo, the receptionists, were accommodating and friendly. The room (room 14) was big, with a spacious bathroom and walk-in-closet. The breakfast buffet was abundant, with a selection of pastries, hams and cheese, and scarmbled eggs were even available upon request. Everything was well kept and organized.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Nice staff, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Excellent location, very close to Santa Maria Novella station and on a comfortable walking distance to all the most of the major sites. Exceptional hospitality and service, nice breakfast, clean rooms. If You have difficulties climbing stairs, have in mind, that this little cosy hotel is on the first floor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Good old fashion service with a smile in Firenze
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mosquitoes! the hotel did provide insect repellent which was very effective.

    The hotel staff were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and the reception was open 24 hours. I was attending a conference which was a 5 minute stroll away which made life very easy. The breakfasts were mouth watering with fresh baked pastries each morning. Free Wi-Fi was good and fast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There were no plugs/sockets next to the bed.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. The rooms were air conditioned and cleaned daily. The location is very close to the central station, as well as many restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    The location was very goo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There weren't much soundproofing. At times I heard hairdryers being used in other rooms.

    The location was very goo. Not in the central however very close to all tourist locations and also the train station. The breakfast was also lovely. Most of all the staff were very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.3
    generally fine - the staff were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no view and small bathroo,

    our room was quite basic, with a very small bathroom. However it had everything we needed - just can't describe it as great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel made a stay in the fabulous Florence even better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    A family run, friendly hotel with really helpful, welcoming and effective staff. It took 5 minutes to walk from the train station and 10 minutes meandering to get to the Duomo and central area. It is located in a quiet area right next to the main attractions but also close to lower cost places to eat and to shop. The rooms are traditional and full of character. Comfy, clean and well presented bedrooms and bathroom. The breakfast is fantastic and plentiful. I am so pleased we chose this hotel it was perfect. The owner is a friendly man and his reception staff super helpful. We will be going back

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel. Excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to fault.

    If you are looking for a nice place to stay in Florence, don't look further. Mario's hotel is nice, service is great and the location is perfect. Breakfast is also great. We had a great stay. Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Great location, price, performance, comfort...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its location is perfect. 5 minutes walk to the train station. 10 minutes walk to duomo square. While you are walking around the hotel, you can find a lot of restaurants and markets. There is always a personnel at the desk day and night and they are so nice and polite people. We were so delightful to stay here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely helpful staff, especially the brothers-owners, large enough bed, quiet and clean buffet-room, cozy atmosphere, especially in the lobby. Close both to the main tourist attractions and train station, being safe at the same time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Convenient hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was quite hard and the pillows totally flat, so not madly comfortable.

    Breakfast was lovely, all very fresh, and a lovely touch was giving us a couple of croissants to take away as we were leaving on a very early train. AC was excellent, and double glazed windows to block out any street noise. Restaurants are at the door and a short 2 minute walk away. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Decent choice near train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is located on the second floor of the building, and there is no elevator. However, the staff will help carry bags up and down the stairs. Our room was cramped, with barely any space to maneuver around the beds. Also, the bathroom is set up as if it were in a narrow hallway. It was difficult for us to move from the toilet and shower area to the sink (and we are all 5'8" or shorter and on the slender side).

    The hotel is an easy walk from the train station, and the staff members are all very friendly and speak English. The hotel also captures much of the ambience of classical Italy. Our room was promptly and thoroughly cleaned every morning, making it very nice to come back to for a mid-afternoon rest.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    Cute boutique hotel in Florence city center, classic room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cute boutique hotel in Florence city center, classic room with antique stained glass window. Room is comfortable though not new. Staff is exceptionally courteous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Very good location.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very good location. Staff very helpful. Good atmosphere. Very welcoming reception area. Splendid selection of books and information in a lounge/reception area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Homely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the personal touch in the Hotel. There was always someone ready at reception to help, assist, advise. & the place itself was beautiful with stained glass windows & big wooden doors.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    City centre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location close to the train station which was handy as we used the train to visit other places. Staff were excellent and very hopeful. Room was a good size too and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is quite small, I imagine a tall person would have an issue with the sink and toilet. Don't bother to ask for an omelette at breakfast, it is done in the microwaves, not good at all. Take the sweets instead :)

    I liked the staff, they were all very friendly and polite. The room is quite large, the bad was excellent, AC functional. The area is quite central, plenty of restaurants around, the train station at 5 minutes (if you want to go to Pisa for one day, you just need to walk a few minutes to the train). For the breakfast, what I enjoyed were the pastries, different and tasty. They have also lots of fruits. The waiting area is nice and cosy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Staff was amazing, food was excellent and Location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff was amazing, food was excellent and Location was perfect. I want to come stay there again. Try the Italian restaurant a few doors down called Trattoria Enzo and Piero it has great food and people!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    I lost my heart in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really enjoyed my stay at this family run hotel. The staff was kind and helpful, they treated me like a dear friend. This hotel is highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    A great welcome from the staff as we arrived very early and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great welcome from the staff as we arrived very early and a little tired from the sleeper train. We were offered a complementary breakfast as a honeymoon gift, even though we weren't actually checking in until later that day. Great recommendations on local restaurants for dinner. A good location for all the city sites without being too touristy itself.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    A hidden gem
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were hard to find. There is just a small sign on the outside wall and you could easily walk past the entrance and not know it.

    The staff was very accommodating. They intuited what you needed and were quick to respond. The breakfast was more than adequate. The room was not lavish but it was more than adequate. The restaurants nearby were value priced. This is my go to hotel in the future.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, would stay here again and definitely recommend to friends

    Fantastic location, good choice at breakfast, clean and comfortable, friendly staff, complete value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    En suite very small, clean but small. Good thing I'm not fat!

    Hotel is so fab and looks wonderful and so Italian rather than too modern. Location excellent and breakfast was great. Staff amazingly helpful too. Was lovely going back after dinner and having a drink in their bar and relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    The location was brilliant and Trastevere suburb was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was brilliant and Trastevere suburb was picturesque - lots of beautiful little alleys to explore and Trattorias to enjoy lunch/dinner/drinks

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location and friendly staff (but noisy neighbours)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Hotel is on first floor: coffee shop on ground floor opens at 7 (preparing for the day with the radio playing loud music); recommend not to take a room on the street side

    - Excellent location; close to both city center and train/bus station - Very friendly staff (all spoke English very well)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    A very good stay in Firenze
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    toilet is small but acceptable and clean , shower room is very well sized and easy to use.

    Elegant hotel, good location, very near train station. Attentive and friendly staff. Breakfast is also very good. Quiet and comfortable room. A

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.3
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We lived in the room #3 near the door between hall and reservation desk, so we heard everyone who check-in or check-out) And a lot of mopeds on the streets, you will hear them during the night and in the morning, I would recommend to close the window at night. Wi-Fi is good for everyday using (email, social networks, googling), but if you want to load file to the storage or download something big you will face with some problems.

    Absolutely amazing design and style of this hotel. Very-very friendly staff. Bonuses: - close to the train station - 5 min by foot - close to the Piazza del Duomo - 10 min by foot - calm street, not so many tourist - you can go to restaurants with wonderful Italian food near - we check-in earlier - very close shops with fruits, food, etc and them works till night - very comfortable and clean room, really big and good bed - good air-conditioning - breakfast is good: toasts, eggs, cheese, croissants, fruits, pastries, coffee/tea - on check-out date you can leave your bags and food in refrigerator and go for a walk

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    A great inexpensive hotel within walking distance to EVERYTHING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wish we had an iron and ironing board.

    Wonderful folks here. Isabel from Peru was so nice at breakfast and Ricky at the desk was super nice and helpful with tips for restaurants and things to do and recommendations for where to buy the best grappa! They both especially made us feel very welcome and at home, but everyone at Hotel Mario's was great. A great value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Of all the places that we stayed at, Hotel Mario is our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Of all the places that we stayed at, Hotel Mario is our favourite in Italy. The breakfast room was laid out nicely, food was fresh and good variety, the staff were helpful and great, location was perfect, we had a nice size bathroom, the room itself was good size and bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.8
    friendly service always and very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our bathroom was quite small

    friendly service always and very helpful the hotel was very clean and very homely breakfast was very tasty, varied each day and very fresh the room had everything you needed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    More than you could wish for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is at the second floor, with no lift (you can get help from the staff to lift your bags)

    Quiet rooms Hotel is situated in historic building Nice inner courtyard with lots of flowers and trees Great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Great Hotel at great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A bit noisy from the street but only until 23.00. I also believe that in the summer time I would miss the refrigerator in the room... Of course you can ask the stuff to keep something in their refrigerator!

    The street was full of tourists until 23.00 at night with great restaurants, ice cream shops and mini markets. This way we had the chance to take a stroll also at night without having to walk all the way to the centre (Duomo) where the restaurant are more expensive. The Hotel was very atmospheric, the stuff made us feel very welcomed!! Always smiling, always trying their best to satisfy all our needs and answered all our questions. They made us reservations to visit Pitty Palace as well. The breakfast was rich, every day with different pastries. Great espresso! There is also a kettle for hot water and a complimentary basket with coffee, tea in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.3
    Great location if you are going to use the train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes in the room were a put off. The mosquito repellant was a nuisance.

    Very generous hosts who allowed us to have a sumptuous breakfast very early before we caught a train.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Great location. Great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with an extra pillow on the bed. One thin pillow didn't quite cut it

    Perfect location. The service was immaculate and the breakfast was great. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Lovely ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a lovely ambience with gentle music piping through the common area. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic and wifi great. Florence is small enough to walk everywhere, but this hotel is close to the main train station, so you don't have to lug heavy suitcases far.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Florence at its finest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room didn't have a view but with so many incredible sights just outside the door it didn't matter at all.

    The room was beautiful and the staff we're incredibly helpful. The location was very convenient with only a 5 minute walk to the train station and a 10 minute walk to the Duomo. We loved Florence and Hotel Mario's. Be sure to pack your walking shoes and head across the bridge to the Boboli Gardens, have an apperativo at the public library (upstairs) and visit the incredible galleries and museums.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice and cozy hotel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some other quests were a bit loud in the evening.

    We had a small, cozy room with a separate bathroom. Room was clean, bed comfortable, wifi worked really well. Breakfast was good too and the staff members were friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated really close to railway station and is easy to find.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.5
    Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was alright, but could be made much better with fresh fruit, something warm.

    The location is great, right by the station and direct walk to the city center/sights. Hotel is comfy/cozy and staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Nice stay in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The following things are suggestions, not necessarily negative aspects: If you are using the AC for heating in the cold seasons, please clean the the dust filters often. In our room the filters were really dirty. The ventilation in the bathroom is bad, the wall and the window casement starts to be moldy. The hairdryer smelled burnt when we used it, but we asked for an another one at the reception, and we received a good one.

    Very cozy hotel. We was sceptic about the posted photos, but the hotel looks like the as in the pictures. The room and the bathroom was clean and spacious. The bed and pillows are comfortable. The room is well equipped. The breakfast is delicious and varied. The staff is really helpful. Location is good: 5 minutes from SMN train station and 10-15 minutes from Santa Maria del Fiore. Overall a great experience.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    Location next to the train station was perfect for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had noisy neighbours and room was not soundproofed.

    Location next to the train station was perfect for us. Also walking distance to many attractions. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    6.7
    The room was larger than most hotel rooms in Europe, and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room generally looked a little worn. I found 2 fleas in my bed, which made me feel a little creepy. It was also fairly loud in the evenings and mornings, partly because the room keys are large, mental, and old-fashioned. They are not worth the ambiance, when they rattle down the hall! Also, it would have been helpful if they had provided the WIFI code when I checked in.

    The room was larger than most hotel rooms in Europe, and the bathroom had a lovely rain-style hot shower. The breakfast was really good and varied from one day to the next. And I loved the cappuccino in the mornings! In terms of location, it was very close to the conference center where my meeting was held. It's also very close to the train station (a few minutes walk at the most).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.2
    very friendly staff, feeling of home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi didn't work all the time on mobile (no problem on computer). Breakfast had a large amount of sweets and almost none for vegetables.

    very friendly staff, feeling of home

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.9
    If this is you budget, then absolutely go do it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had lack of toiletries like shampoo. Room, at least the one I was in, has terrible view. Shower drain was clogged.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is very good. Accepted early check in at 10 o'clock.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    10
    IF YOU WANT A PERFECT AUTHENTIC ITALIAN ATMOSPHERE HOTEL WITH A BILANGUAL STAFF, SEACH NO FURTHER.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOW THAT WE ARE GETTING OLDER (I AM NOW 72), IT'S A LITTLE HARDER FOR ME TO CLIMB THE ONE FLIGHT OF STAIRS TO GET TO THE LOBBY. MY WIFE AND I ARE ACTIVE, AND WE LIKE TO LEAVE THE HOTEL IN THE MORNING AND COME BACK A COUPLE OF TIMES IN THE AFTERNOON. THAT'S THREE TIMES UP THE STAIRS. BUT HOTEL MARIO'S IS SO OUTSTANDING, WE ARE JUST GOING TO HAVE TO DEAL WITH THE STAIRS. EVERYTHING ELSE ABOUT HOTEL MARIO'S OVER SHADOWS THIS ONE ISSUE.

    WE HAVE BEEN TO FLORENCE 31 TIMES SINCE 1987, AND WE HAVE STAYED AT HOTEL MARIO'S MORE THAN 25 OF THOSE TIMES; IT'S PERFECT; LOCATION, ITALIAN ATMOSPHERE, COMFORT, EXCELLENT ROOMS, ENGLISH SPEAKING WELL INFORMED STAFF, EAGER TO HELP IN EVERY WAY. IT'S THE BEST; AND IT'S UNDER PRICED, FOR SURE. IF YOU WANT A TRULY ITALIAN EXPERIENCE IN A HOTEL, THIS IS THE ONE. IT'S THE BEST THREE STAR IN ITALY, AND I HAVE PERSONALLY DRIVEN OVER 60,000 MILES IN ITALY; SO FAR. TRY IT, YOU'LL LOVE IT.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.6
    Exceptional value, excellent breakfast, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little small though it did have a shower, toilet, sink and bidet.

    Comfortable beds, close to train/bus station and all the sights, helpful staff and excellent breakfast. The price made it very economical. The breakfast included hard boiled eggs, yogurt, meats and cheese, a variety of breads and pastries, cereal, fruit, espresso and coffees. I think it is an exceptional value, convenient and a charming place.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    7.9
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit old and tired .. but certainly still clean and comfortable

    Staff were extremely helpful. There was a rail strike and they helped us replan our bookings

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noise around 11pm from the street below. But didn't last long.

    10 mins walk from the train Station.very central for all main sights.Clean, comfortable, the breakfast was well worth having. The staff could not have been more helpfull.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.9
    hotel stay very good after the initial shock and disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not Hotel Mario's fault but we chose the hotel because we understood from your description that it had on site parking. Instead we had to use a facility nearby which took our car away to an unknown destination. The reason onsite parking was important was because we were carrying valuable wedding clothes belonging to our son and his wife who were getting married in a castle nearby. Secondly the entrance to the hotel was very dark and unwelcoming and there was no lift.

    The staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.2
    A definite yes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was rustic and I immediately had the feeling of being back in a bygone era. The bed was comfy and the room was very clean, as were the washroom facilities. The staff was excellent and extremely helpful. Since we had to catch a train in the afternoon, they offered us to checkout 2 hours later.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.8
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Hotel is on the first floor.

    Lovely staff. Very welcoming & helpful. Very good breakfast. Price is reasonable for Florence. Nice rustic florentine decor. Close to railway station. Close to restaurants. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Mario's traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: