Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Marta Guest House

Via Tacito 41, Vatican City - Prati, 00193 Rome, Italy

#1807 of 3,119 B&Bs and Inns in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 162 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    The personal was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have not free parking place.

    The personal was perfect. The personal gave us our trip plan. The location was very good- everything could be taken by foot. We recoment this apartament!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location ,nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be great if the Room has window to streets

    Best Location few foot steps to sitbus which directly goes to Ciampino Airport and about 12 min walking to lepanto metro station ,great staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    This was a great experience as a lone female traveler.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was missing a safe box and a phone to at least call the front desk directly just in case. I wasn't impressed with the breakfast either.

    Loved the old style building. I didn't want a modern or fancy hotel, this guest house was perfect. The room had the necessities I needed. Loved the old fashion elevator, dresser, and desk. Also loved the fact that it's located within walking distance to the river, vatican city, the castle, and of course the Metro!! The shuttle bus to and from the airport is literally, literally around the corner of the guest house building for 6 euros!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Marta Guest House offers good value for the price announced: nice and restful small place
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was quite small and the heating rather on the low side (we happened to stay in Rome for a stretch of beautiful but quite cold and windy weather, fortunately we had brought serious woollens!). Then I was expecting to find the usual small tray for tea/coffee with corresponding electric kettle (as the room description on Booking.com seemed to promise) but nothing of the kind was provided. Thankfully, the extremely nice room maid organised a kettle and tea cups for us and generally was most helpful.

    An excellent location and at the same time the quiet of a small establishment, giving a feeling of semi-privacy we appreciated all the more as we were extremely busy over the day and evening catching up with different friends and their various problems. No time for sightseeing, not even for one good exhibition! Marta Guest House has unusual character (pretty bits of antique furniture), a nice change after different more modern but standardised hotels. We got plenty of hot water for our shower in the morning and the breakfast perfectly answered our needs since our main meal often was a good but late dinner the evening before, following Roman habits. The price was very moderate.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.0
    Would not choose this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard beds, A/C did not work, lots of mosquitoes, we got many many mosquito bites while sleeping there, the breakfast was the worst I've seen so far, just cereal and toast

    Nice big towels, lots of restaurants in the area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.5
    Confusion at the desk, but a location that can't be beat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor issues with check in. We were late arriving, but messaged the property to let them know. I'm booked a room with aircon for a few extra Euro, but when we arrived I was told one was not available. The price was reduced to reflect this at checkout, but still. Checkout time on booking was listed as 1200, and a genius benefit of a two hour late checkout, which I requested. The gentleman at the checkout was surprised to see me at 1400! This was quickly cleared up with a call to the owner, but the hotel should be on the same page as the booking website. Finally, hardest bed in Rome! But after a long day of sightseeing, most any bed will do.

    Outstanding location near the Vatican. Very good value for the area. Room was very large and would be comfortable for multiple day stays. Powerful overhead fan. The nearby grassy area is really wonderful for relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    10
    Perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A shower and a toilet small. No thing that prevents me go back to

    An amazing team. Excellent location! Pleasant clean room and maintained. Good breakfast. recommended. I'd love to go back to.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast could get better.

    The location is great. Very helpful staff, nice room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Location, personnel, price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, but for the price it is probably enough. electricity not very stable

    Location, personnel, price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was only croissant and wheat bread

    Good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    very short but very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything

    Maybe I wanted a better breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location, cleanliness and staff! I sent my parents here and they were very picky but they had an outstanding time!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Thanks for a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and very warm welcome

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    location and excellent staff andrew above and beyond on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed was uncomfortable but for the price ok

    location and excellent staff andrew above and beyond on evening shift

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, friendly and attentive staff, comfortable bed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    5.0
    We were able to check in later in the evening (10:00 pm)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On arrival we were told our room would cost 51 euros, as we arrived late after 12 hours of travel we paid and walked the 3 flights up to our room. The next morning when reviewing our original booking we saw we had been overcharged by 12 euros. We went to the front desk, showed the booking and explained the situation and we were told we had been given a slightly bigger double room than the double room we had originally booked. We explained that this had never been explained to us and that we would preferred our original booking. We had to argue with the man at the front desk for 20 minutes before he begrudgingly agreed to refund us the money we were overcharged.

    We were able to check in later in the evening (10:00 pm)

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    10
    Location was ideal for siteseeing, and staff members were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For those without GPS, I wish the booking instructions had been more specific about how to locate the entrance.

    Location was ideal for siteseeing, and staff members were very helpful with directions.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    5.4
    Relatively good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not all that was in the description of the room was actually offered. Almost inexistent breakfast. Bad cost benefit ratio.

    Relatively good location. Very attentive staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    10
    Location was amazing, staff was so nice and helpfull, wifi...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Make sure you ask for the room further away from the front door. Everytime someone walked in it felt like they're walking into our room...

    Location was amazing, staff was so nice and helpfull, wifi was so good, room was big with little sofa and kitchen. Clean and simple.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    9.6
    People was really really kind.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Didn't know that there was a bus shuttle which come directly to the ghest house....Didn't received any response about questions that I send by email.....

    People was really really kind. The place is perfect in prder to visit the city. It is reall really clean. Just prefect! :D

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    8.3
    The staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very helpful. Would like to particularly mention Paul for his kind and unassuming manner.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    6.3
    Cheap, Nice staff, very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No AC, power broke all night, fan didnt work, way to hot temp in room

    Cheap, Nice staff, very good location

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    9.2
    location is excellent, staff very helpful, map free
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    week wi-fi, does not work in room, only in breakfast room

    location is excellent, staff very helpful, map free

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    7.5
    The staff was very nice and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-fi didn't work. Breakfast was very small and the bed was really hard.

    The staff was very nice and helpful! Good location.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea/coffee in room

    Location

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location. Friendly staff. I would like to stay this hotel again!

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: