Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mary 3 stars

Via Fiume 177, 19122 La Spezia, Italy

#15 of 23 hotels in La Spezia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1531 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the shower place was very small, couldn’t move much!

    Directly opposite the train station, very convenient especially with baggages! Breakfast was very good, exceeding my expectation!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only Problem was parking. Booking.com should advice or warn if the Hotel is having a limited number of paking spots. There are Parking places around but look not so sure. The Hotel Mary is cozy and the staff very nice. Great Location and very well positioned. I recommend it but not for the People whoc are driving and Need parking safe.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything. It is across from the train station which is why I booked the location. It is SUPER convenient to get to Cinque Terre. However, because of this, some people may find it a busy location with noise. I was pleasantly surprised the noise levels were not excessive and had a great nights sleep every night.

    The breakfast buffet was AMAZING. The cakes were all made on sight and were DELICIOUS! Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    The hotel is in an excellent location for taking the train to Cinque Terre -- the station was literally right across the street! Secure garage parking was available at a reasonable rate. Restaurants were within easy walking distance of the hotel. A good variety of foods was provided at breakfast, with great cappuccinos made to order. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were three adults in a Triple room and the bathroom was very small and there was very limited space for three suitcases in the room.

    Conveniently located opposite the central station - worth knowing that there is a lift just outside the station entrance that takes you down to the street level immediately opposite the hotel entrance. Otherwise it is a fair walk or down two sets of steps carrying luggage. We understood that the cakes served at breakfast were home made by the lady in charge, and although I don't normally eat cake at breakfast, tried them and they were excellent. When we left the luggage at reception, having arrived early in the day, we were given maps and timetables for sightseeing in Cinqueterre and La Spezia which was a nice help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    staff most helpful and friendly ,cleanliness was exceptional , breakfasts superb With Mary whats not to like ? After doing day-trips La Spezia Is a great base- we enjoyed our nightcaps in Marys wee bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the small hallways, tiny elevator and super slow responsive TV, then again we didn’t go there to watch TV. Overall it’s really great for the price!

    Very convenient location, right across from the train station, great friendly service and the breakfast is surprisingly good. Clean hotel also had mini fridge and A/C that were useful. The free complementary parking is a plus!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was tricky. We forgot to call to reserve a parking space and there were none left when we arrived. I'm not sure how they are able to provide parking there when you can't event park to drop your luggage in front of the hotel. We received directions to park in a free public parking 10 minutes walking distance - which is not something we wanted to do at 1am or find a blue zone parking in the area. We ended up parking in the train station parking "Park Centro Stazione car park" (across the street) despite being informed by the staff that's reserved only for people working there. Total cost is ~ €25 for 24 hours. You have to be a little bit lucky to get a place there. Friday night there were plenty of spaces free, but Saturday and Sunday was almost full.

    The position of this hotel is excellent. You cross the street and you are in the train station. Monterosso al Mare (furthest village from Cinque Terre) is reachable ~23 minutes by train. We had a 4 person bedroom and we were 3. The room was big enough for us. The room wasn't facing the main road so the noise wasn't a big issue (compared to other reviewers' complains). Cleanliness was ok. Same was the breakfast, but due to limited options we skipped it the second day and preferred to eat in the city. 24/7 front desk was also a huge benefit for us since we drove a long way to get there and we didn't not have to worry about getting there in time for check-in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff at this hotel located just down from the train station. In fact, a train elevator in the parking lot will put you at street level in front of the hotel. Location is particularly excellent for travel to the Cinque Terra.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small maintenance issues need attention - shower door was loose, baggage table was loose - but shower still worked very well and staff were attentive.

    Great breakfast selection. Very helpful and hard-working staff in this family-run hotel. Ricardo was proactive in giving us all information we needed to visit the Cinque Terre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor drab and eighties -type feel. Cleanliness could have been better. A soul-less room in a (former) modern hotel. Traffic noise from road fortunately much diminished by good soundproofing of double -glazing with windows closed, but soundproofing between rooms poor. In need of a make-over to bring it up to 21st century.

    Friendly welcome and helpful staff. Surprisingly excellent buffet-breakfast with plenty of variety. Perfect location for the train station , about 20 metres away , with easy train access to Cinque Terre. All usual room amenities including fridge. Perfectly acceptable for a one night stay but not for living in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the reservation states that the per person city tax is included in the price, we were charged the city tax at check out.

    The location is just across the street from the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no parking garage, and the guests are forced to park in the street nearby. The traffic in the street was dense with a lot of cars parked around. It was really hard to find an empty space. We had to go around the whole block for several times and fortunately manage to find a space after 15-20 minutes, despite the receptionist said there were always a lot of free parking spaces in that street. The breakfast was poor.

    The central location near the train station for Cinque Terre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - there was a strange drain smell in the room several times - the room (44) was quite noisy

    - very close to the train station - good breakfast - nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was expecting a small refrigerator inside the room. The hairdryer was a small one which could work only less than 2 minutes and then you have to wait for 30 minutes for that to cool down.

    it is clean and quiet. exactly in front of the La Spezia station. It is just less than 20 minutes far from the first village of "Cinque Terre" and very convenient for people who want to visit "Cinque Terre". the food and stuff around the hotel are cheaper than the ones in "Cinque Terre". The breakfast was complete including different tea, coffee, sausages, jams, cakes, croissants, yogurt, cheese, whole bread, and ...!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Mary in Le Spezia has raised my future expectations of hotels

    Great location, close to railway station, Brilliant breakfast Paula is always topping it up, laundry service close by. Easy walk to ferry services and lots of restuarants in walking distance. Bathroom is compact but a great shower. Sound proof windows allowed a great sleep. Family run with pride of service & a helpful Simone at reception. My experience I would recommend this hotel for value & service . I will return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You could hear your neighbours.

    Property is really opposite of train station. Perfect if you want to catch train to Cinque terre. Lots of restaurants are nearby. Breakfast was ok. Wifi worked well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location - next to central railway station. Convenient for travel in Cinque Terre (you cannot do it with a car - need a regional train). Attractions of the city and harbour for ship cruise - in a walking distance. Decent breakfast. Modest price. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were mediocre. Not bad just so so.

    Location to the train station was great! Included breakfast was decent (yogurt, some cereal, hard boiled eggs, breads, juice). Staff was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Life is very small, can accommodate 2 persons per time.

    Location is the best. Just take a lift at train station to ground floor and across the road, 2 mins walking from station. Good breakfast and room is comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome place. The staff were super friendly. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. Great convenient location - first thing we saw when exiting the train station. The best place we stayed at in Italy....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the wifi range were not really good, and the air cond was not functioning very well but thanks god to my fatigue, the coldness does not bother me a lot

    the location is veryyyyyyy close to the station and the breakfast were good and have variety of food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift was ultra small. It broke down just minutes before we were leaving, and had to carry our big luggage down as we cannot afford to wait since our train ticket had been pre booked. Location is near to train station but not informed that there is a lift, but the lift cannot work properly to bring us down to the road level. We had to carry our luggage up the stairs from the road to the train station level. It was bad, because we had to carry our big luggage bags twice that morning, one time in the hotel due to the lift break down and another time outside to go to the train station.

    The breakfast has a good selection. Cappucino was delicious. Very near to the train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is right opposite to the railway station and is easy to locate. Rooms are fairly big when compared to the average Europe hotel room size. The breakfast served was good. This hotel is a decent option to stay a night at La Spezia on your way to visit Cinque Terre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We found that the water ,which was provided in flasks, was not hot enough to make a proper cup of tea. Irish and British people like to have their tea very hot!!

    We liked the close proximity of the hotel to the train station which was just across the street. Just a perfect location for day trips to Le Cinque Terre, by an excellent and frequent Regional Train Service, and also close to a great selection of restaurants in the evening.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower is a bit difficult to step into and out of.

    Located right across the street from the train station making travel to Cinque Terre very easy. The owners and personnel are very helpful and friendly. There is a nice lounge area with comfy seating, computer, TV, games , aquarium etc. Nice breakfast room with cappuccino machine and Simone's homemade pastries.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedsheets has not been changed from the previous guest

    Dirty!!!!! they don’t change the bedsheets from one guest to the next one. They just make the bed, pretending the bedsheets are clean and fresh!!!! They make the bed to cheat the new guest to feel that the bed linen are clean and fresh.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints . Maybe the shower compartment is little small for large people!

    Superb location across La Spezia Station and just few meters away from main Town. All required facilities & services within easy walking distance. Found this place a great place to stay and will stay here again if I visit La Spezia again .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing really worth mentioning

    First of all, we like to thank Paoca, the owner and manager, for being most helpful and make us feel welcome. We decided to book Hotel Mary simply because it offers parking and did not expect much. We were pleasantly surprised to find it is right across the road from the train station and yet we didn't hear any of the train traffic. The room is large and clean albeit being a bit basic. Breakfast on offer was good as well. Overall, a very satisfying stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was nothing special and everything was cold. The bed was a single basic bed and the stuff could not speak English.

    Location practical if you wanna travel to Cinque Terre, and a good cheap option for max a night of stay. More than 1 night can be not so comfortable anymore.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower door was hard to close but there were lots of fresh towels.

    Good location across from the train station. Our room was on the top floor and was quiet and clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights

    It would be good if the water in the dining room was hot because it was too cold to make a proper cup of tea from tepid water. Perhaps a bit more of hot food at breakfast time.

    The beds were very comfortable and everything was very clean in the bathroom. The reception staff were very helpful at all times and were happy to recommend good restaurants in the town where one could get some very satisfactory meals

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff/owners were great. The accommodations were dated but very clean. Even though this hotel was across the street from the train station you could not hear the train. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front desk staff could have been more friendly.

    Surprisingly good breakfast. Location was perfect. Extremely easy to get from the train station to the hotel and La Spezia was extremely convenient for visiting the Cinque Terre. We also unexpectedly ended up having our best meal while in Italy at Trattoria Il Giardinetto in La Spezia, walking distance from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast included in the reservation was announced as a very good one. However, the quality of it was much lower than expected (diversity and quality of products). We decided not to eat anything at the hotel on the second day and have proper breakfast on the street.

    The location is perfect due to the proximity to the train station (right across the street). Specially for those tourist who plan to visit the Cinque Terre and Portovenere for the day, it is highly interesting to stay there, since one may need to take a train or a bus to arrive at the destinations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is quite small. The WiFi is sometimes unstable. But I think it is the best hotel I could find in La Spezia at this price:)

    Super good location. Just in front of the central station. Very nice and helpful staffs. They provide us an electrical kettle because my parent cannot drink cold water. Clean and big room. Good breakfast! Very delicious croissants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV didn't work. We mentioned it to them and they listened but didn't offer much help. Also the fridge was not very cold.

    The staff was very courteous and the breakfast included was more than we ecpected. We also had 2 little balconies which we were not expecting but made very good use of.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are basic, the mattress is poor, the twin beds are very narrow. The breakfast is acceptable, but far from the quality, I have always experienced in Toscana. The value for money is definitely poor.

    The location is excellent, near to the train station and to the town bus station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you need a hotel that is very quiet, you should know that this is not the calmest part of La Spezia. Expect a bit of street noise, although windows are designed to keep it out, mostly successfully.

    Perfect location, across from the railway station (Cinque Terre highly recommended) and a nice walk down to the harbour (ferry to Cinque Terre is a good option). Very nice and professional staff, good wifi connection, rooms decent and clean, breakfast fine and if you are waiting for a train after checking out keeping your luggage at the hotel is a good idea, pick up and even change clothes at the hotel is easy, before the next step of your journey.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is definitely not a 3 star hotel it is more like a 1 star hotel or hostel. Interior of the hotel and our room was very basic. Bathroom was poor and the drains smelt. The walls in the bedroom were very thin and you could hear everything going on in other rooms. Carpets in hotel shabby and fraid.Graffiti carved into wood by lifts. I could go on but I won't.

    Location was good for the station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenience to La Spezia central station as we were visiting Cinque Terre. Owners were very kind and helpful. A good breakfast included. Recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Water pressure in the shower was almost non-existent. Not a lot of space in the room. We had a lot of luggage which made it a bit tight.

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Helpful with information about La Spezia. Breakfast was sufficient. Fresh fruit was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very ordinary, no yogurt, very little fresh fruit, terrible juice and tough croissants

    The bathroom was clean and there were plenty of towels

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The convenience of being across the street from the railway station and near the main Street. We had to catch an early train and being so close to the station we were able to have our breakfast which was included in the price before we left.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard and not comfortable to sleep on after a day of hiking the trails.

    Location was perfect for a trip to Cinque Terre. The train station was right across the street. We were able to have reserved parking close to the hotel. Breakfast was good and had a lot of options. It was a good value for the cost.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing specific. Wifi was always poor in Italy.

    1. Green Vegetables in breakfast buffet 2. Friendly staffs. They ran google translator to explain some italian foods to my kids :-) 3. Good location: Even 7-year-old girl could easily find out! 4. Good orientation: Introduced well about 5terre and related transportation info when checking in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a real surprise as the pictures don't say much about the hotel. Our family room was spacious and comfortable. The hotel is next to the train station, which is perfect to visit Cinque Terre, and restaurants and shops are at walking distance. Facilities were really clean and the staff was very kind. Breakfast was absolutely the best.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just remember the earplugs as it is on a main road. That and the slightly outdated decor aside, the property met all my needs.

    The location being opposite the station is unbeatable and perfect for exploring the Cinque Terre. Another bonus is 24/7 check in so I didn't have to worry when coming in on an 11pm train. The breakfast offered is nice and fresh and offers a lot of good sweets!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very closed to the railway station . My room was clean and tidy . A good choice also for one night . The receptionist Paolo was very kind .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traffic noise from the street outside.

    If you travel by train, then the location is very good. Otherwise, not much to say. I just used it to get some sleep overnight before continuing southwards, but if you intend to stay longer, perhaps look for something else. Nothing wrong, but it was a bit dull.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite small room (standard). A bit dated but absolutely ok. Shower and toilet fine. Beds a bit hard. But had a good nights sleep. TV in room. Air condition working great. Could hardly hear noise from the busy street outside when window closed. Clean. Great with sockets for phone charging by the beds. Breakfast good. Boiled egg, ham, chees (different sorts), sausage etc. Free wi-fi. Working great! Friendly and helpful staff. Good location opposit the train station. Not far away from the old city/city center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we have got a disabled room with a bathroom for disabled instead of double room with two beds close each other instead of a queen bed.

    breakfast is super like a 4 or 5 stars hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the reception is not polite, the young man just like he is the boss.....especially because I am Asian, maybe? fortunelly the old man still give a good information about the direction way to go to Cinque terre. Never want to come back to this hotel Mary.

    Its very near with the train station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The step up into the bathroom is an accident waiting to happen. They would be well advised to make some kind of tape at the edge of the step or other making so the step up doesn't just blend in with the rest of the flooring. It's a bit dangerous.

    The great location that's across the street from the train station. Easy to get to Cinque Terre. The room (single room) was just fine and had everything I needed. Bed was comfortable and bathroom and shower were also fine. Had a coffee pot but no coffee or tea provided which I thought was unusual but didn't inconvenience me. The included breakfast the next day was really exceptional as far as the offerings; they have a yogurt machine, omelette-type tart, selection of meats and cheeses, pastries and much else. I appreciated that they offered some lettuce as well so that I could have some healthy greens at breakfast. I was able to have a good and healthy meal before setting out for the day. I have one comment for them to put a piece of tape of other indicator where the step up for the bathroom is ... it's a large step and the tile is the same color as the rest of the bedroom floor so getting up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom one could almost trip on this large step and you'd wind up falling and hitting yourself on the toilet or bidet. I consider it a hazard; just marking the step where it is raised up would prevent this danger. Otherwise I really thought Hotel Mary was an excellent value and was impressed with the staff and all that the room and service offered.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the worst experience ! They are unfortunately rude to babies ! And families ! İts like a camp not hotel ! They manage you to what to do ! İts unbelievable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could be more modern for the money we've paid.

    The location is perfect, just across the La Spezia railway station. The stuff was very helpful in understanding our booking mistake and cancelled one of our nights without cancellation fee. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is right next to a busy road, and traffic noise was very noticeable in the room.

    Hotel is right across the street from the train station. Nightly rate was quite inexpensive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On the basis of the hotel's excellence, If only Hotel Mary would start their own restaurant!

    Breakfast was delicious with many options and much fresh fruit, home-baked pastries, sliced meats, hard-boiled eggs, sausages. The desk clerks and management were very friendly, courteous, patient, and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    payment by paypal had to be canceled and then redone which was a bit confusing but it all turned out alright in the end!

    located right next to the central station, good location from which to explore cinque terre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient. The train station is across the street. The owner let us park in their reserved parking. The breakfast was amazing. We traveled with our three children all under the age of 18 and would recommend it!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we returned to the room in the evening, the door of the money-safer at room was open. 50 euro was taken from inside. I did not agree with the management of the hotel but they were from themselves.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff. Hotel right next to the station which can take you to Cinque Terre. You can't miss it but have to go down stairs/ Lift (note: I nearly got stuck in lift as it switched off while I was in it! be aware). Big traditional rooms which were clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great position, just in front of the train station, the staff was very kind, the room was clean and with AC working well. Breakfast was good (they bake the croissants and cakes). They gave me the parking spot on the road, just after the first corner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit noisy if you have a room on street side.

    Very good location - just in front of the train station and near city centre. Good various breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is an electric kettle in the room but cannot be used becuase the plug is not suitable.

    They provide very good breakfast. This is a good place and value for money if you you want to go hiking and visiting Cinque Terre for several days. only if you have a Cinque Terre card since train transportation is quiet convenient .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    The hotel is just next to the train station which is very convenient. We were able to leave our luggage for a whole day after we checked out. The rooms seem a bit old-fashioned but were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was tasty and varied.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, Out Dated, The property was noisy being close to the main road and quite out dated just like the rest of Italy needs a little modernization. Breakfast was good but the coffee was bad for ItalIan stand standards. The breakfast servers were rude and unwelcoming. Get more younger modern workers.

    The two young men working at check-in were polite welcoming and always smiling it was refreshing and spoke English with a second Italian accent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is about 10 metres below the railway station and if you don't notice the lift it's a long walk round.

    Hotel is situated opposite railway station and near major bus stops making travelling around the area easy (the only reason to visit La Spezia). Staff very helpful and breakfast was plentiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I expected a bit more at this price but there are not many hotels in la Spezia and next was 2 times more expensive. Breakfast was OK but we went to drink espresso at the train station.

    Very good location, nice view at the train station. I would recommend to ask for 3rd floor or higher otherwise you might get a view of the wall ;)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staffs !! Willing to gave information and advices for visit Cinque Terre (it was a heavy rainy day) , a simple map of the city but It's good & useful for the visitors who haven't been here before! Great breakfast (it's a family style,I like it) The lady was nice ,solve the problem of the kettle which I want to have hot water in the cold weather !( I think she is the hostess) Everything was great ,very close to the train station ( in 5 mins walk ) I willing to stay in Mary hotel again for my next visit !!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have a more varied selection, homemade cakes not great .

    Single room very clean, location excellent for trains to cinq terre etc, staff helpful and tried hard to please. Good value for the tariff paid.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was right over a main road but the shutters dulled the noise and ear plugs did the rest.

    The breakfast was excellent value. The location was ideal...just opposite the train station. A supermarket was a short walk away. A comfortable lounge area was available and, as well as free WiFi, a computer could be used free of charge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facility is in desperate need of renovation. Beds were old and uncomfortable, toilet seat near falling off, cracked shower door. Not a good value for money.

    All of the staff we encountered were great. Always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Although a kettle is provided in the room, it's a shame that a few tea-bags/sachets of coffee and milk aren't provided. Traffic noise could be an issue if it bothers you - ask for a room at the back of the hotel if it does.

    Excellent breakfast buffet for a budget hotel. Great location for easy access to Cinque Terre and surrounding areas. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a disgusting stain on the bedsheets (in room 13), I didn't complain I waited to see if the cleaner the next morning would notice. Did she notice? No... which makes me very worried as to how long it had been there. And made me curious as to how clean the whole room was. Not a nice feeling! The toilet in the bathroom would never flush properly. The window would open but the shutters are down and I wasn't sure they could go up. Very annoying when wanting to see what the weather was like!

    Brilliant location if you're someone who has come to visit Cinque Terre, you can see the hotel as you come out of the La Spezia Centrale train station. The small single room and private bathroom was nice and compact. Bathroom was ok, shower worked perfectly and became nice and hot within a minute. The breakfast in the morning wasn't particularly amazing but I really enjoyed the croissants and doughnuts.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Mary traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: