Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Masseria Il Frantoio

S.S. 16 Km 874, 72017 Ostuni, Italy

#30 of 177 Holiday rentals in Ostuni

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 136 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Masseria has loads of character and is filled with wonderful vintage pieces and lots of history. Thoughtful and subtle luxury. For instance the bathroom does not offer large white bath sheets but smaller Moca coloured towels . No little plastic bottles with shampoo & body wash instead a glass refillable bottle of fragrant body wash. In other words they are offering luxury on an environmentally thoughtful level. Food & service in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed for us was very hard and we requested for something soft to put under the sheet to make it a little more comfortable but they did not have anything.

    We loved the beautiful building & the pool is fantastic. The amenities were great and you had everything you needed for your stay. The staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    This is the best place we've ever stayed in Italy! We love the gorgeous extensive grounds of ancient olive trees (big enough for walks and runs without leaving the site), the pool with DIY bar, the simple but lovely traditional rooms, and the enchanting courtyard. Most of all the meals are incredible - definitely go for the 8 courses (65 euros including as much wine as you want) at least one night. It's perfect for vegetarians.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friends recommended it and it lived up to their promise -- lovely grounds; exceptional restaurant (loved the 7-course, 4-hour, wine paired Easter dinner); helpful and friendly staff; central location to visit other places in Puglia.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location and laid back feel - not quite a hotel and not a homestay The property itself was beautiful The hotel focuses a lot on the food in the evening, which was really very nice but a little late at 8.30pm to have an 8 course dinner (you can have 4!) we only ate once it’s home cooked style and not top end restaurant The breakfast is great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    furnishings were elegant, room was spacious, bed was very comfortable. staff were eager to share their knowledge-and execution of farm to table meals is superb. recommend both breakfast and dinners there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Masseria is beautiful especially the grounds! The staff is extremely friendly and hospitable. The food is excellent and abundant.We will certainly reccomend it to anyone traveling to the area.The location is perfect!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we didn’t love about this place.

    This place is a little snapshot of heaven. I could not have enjoyed our tonight stay any more than I did. The food was amazing, we ate there both nights, I just wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could certainly be more friendly

    This Masseria is on a beautiful estate with ancient olive trees and possibly the best swimming pool we have encountered in 7 weeks of travelling in Italy. The grounds are delightful and the courtyard at night an absolute gem. It is a destination for those interested in food, particularly organic food It has an emphasis on vegetarian dishes sourced from local product. We stayed for three days and found that the menu on offer lacked a little variety. There were some excellent dishes but not the high standard we experienced in Umbria Amalfi and Sicily. The eight course menu is impossible to get through so we found the four course option more manageable The Masseria is eight kms north of Ostuni and a car is essential if you are staying for more than day or two. The staff one would have to say are not all that helpful. There is a sense that the guests staying in the rooms are to be tolerated providing they don't make too many demands. Turning up for a breakfast coffee before 8 am is frowned upon. Finally it is rather expensive We paid 220 Euro per night and we felt that the value for money was not there particularly if you add 65 Euro for the full eight courses at dinner Ostuni is a delightful town however and the Saturday food market the best we encountered in Italy. An amazing variety of fresh product

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basically no option for eating lunch here apart from some refrigerated coleslaw sandwiches at the pool which looked a bit unappetising (to be fair maybe we missed this fact when looking online) but a bit irksome when travelling with a baby and most of the local places are shut down around lunchtime. Can go to Ostuni which is 10 mins away by car and has plenty of places open. Dinner was a set menu at a set time (no flexibility for us with a baby but they did offer too make some simple food for Sam and provided courgettes at our request for us to cook for him earlier which was great). As with many places it seems, you had to order dinner in advance at breakfast without knowing what the menu would be (the chef would decide later in the day as a surprise) - at roughly 40 euros (4 course), 55 (6 course) or 65 euros (8 courses) per head including 1, 2 or 3 wines which seemed a bit expensive but the food quality at breakfast was great so assume dinner would be too. Most would be seated on large communal tables (would prefer to be asked if that is OK but could see space limited so not a disaster). Can be nice to meet new people on big tables but maybe not ideal with small baby chatting and dropping food as some people may be uncomfortable with that. They allowed us to sit outside for breakfast when we asked which was fine although then had to remind them we were there to be offered hot food. Coffee out of thermos pumps at breakfast was OKish and practical for them. Other than that no real bar area with any atmosphere to relax in (there was an area but felt a bit bland and lifeless and Marco would need to be summoned to make a drink). It is a comfortable, pleasant place to stay more than a luxury retreat compared to other places we have stayed in at this or less money. Sort of a cross between a museum and a hotel but not at all unhappy we stayed here. Feel it was worth more like 150 euros per night for the room we were given.

    The standard rooms were OK - a bit dark for the price paid - but clean and air conditioned. Sadly the wifi did not work for us on arrival so wasted an hour and a half back and forth trying to get a fix which was annoying after just getting there. The tech staff (Marco) could not have tried harder to help though. Eventually (after suggesting it), moved us to another room (owners apartment) which was appreciated and while quirky, was a much better place to stay (so much appreciated they moved us) with working wifi and had more space. Pool was very nice, gardens lovely too. The baby cots need updating - looked about 10 years old but again the staff did everything they could to be helpful - full marks there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room amenities (e.g. bathroom) quite dated though I guess this is fitting with the character of the property

    The Masseria came as a recommendation and it didn't disappoint - historical working property with a lovely pool and FANTASTIC food - dinner in particular was an absolute feast and highlight.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It would have been nice to be able to order just a 1 course plate of food for lunch or for dinner (just a pasta or some antipasta) so that we didn't need to go to town, but we understand that the evening tasting menus that the Masseria offer are part of what makes them unique.

    Lovely attitude of the staff, beautiful surroundings and fantastic food! We loved every minute there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price, i think the beds could be comfier vs cheap spring type beds. Also, could be a bit more organized.

    It's a cute place and the staff are welcoming. Really appreciate the free bottles of water due to the hot weather.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet only worked in reception area

    Great farm to table dinner with decent local wines, spacious pool and relaxing area, biological olive oil is directly produced at the farm, Ostuni is nearby and worth a trip, manager and staff very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The one evening dinner we had there was inferior and over-priced. Perhaps they were having a bad day. We were quite disappointed that there was no description of the history of the farm nor was there any information on the farming operation itself. This was something we had been looking forward to.

    The facility was very attractive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We could hear the kitchen through the walls. Not enough to wake us but just present in the morning.

    We loved it here! We were celebrating our 30th anniversary, and the Masseria was the perfect get away! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful making us feel like we were part of the family in the typical Italian way. The food was off the charts unbelievable... from the morning breakfasts to the most incredible multi-course dinner prepared each evening!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is sometimes not easy but the owners have some excellent solutions.

    The hotel is central and excellently located. The owners are so friendly, courteous and helpful it is so refreshing to be there with them The room we had was fine and the bathroom perfect. It is quiet despite being central and has the feel of a traditional house in Matera.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Let me begin by saying we are seasoned travelers, having traveled extensively in the US and Europe and this was our 9th trip to Italy. I have NEVER complained about anyplace we stayed....ever. When we arrived at Masseria Il Frantoio, we were welcomed by the receptionist who was very nice and she took us to our room. She explained that when we were settled, come downstairs for a "welcome drink". We went to the beautiful outdoor seating area and sat there for quite some time. The staff was running around getting ready for the 8 course dinner they were having that night. They seemed very frazzled. At that point, I went in and asked for our welcome drink and she finally sent someone out to serve us. Marco told us that we would be having a tour of the grounds between 7:30 and 8:00 pm but we sat there again, not having anyone speak to us. Then we saw a tour go by us and we jumped up to join it. We only got to see a portion of the tour. We were there to celebrate our wedding anniversary, but we were put in a small room for dinner with one other couple while the rest of the people were out in the dining room having a wonderful time. When the couple we were with left early, we were annoyed that no one came in to us, so we moved ourselves to join the rest of the diners. As for the dinner, the chefs did a wonderful job, but be warned if you don't like that type of food, which we did not. The next morning, we arrived for breakfast and the hostess was unfriendly and abrupt. She told us they would be having lunch at 1:30 but we couldn't come because we didn't have a reservation. We went out for the day and when we returned, we asked for another tour, explaining what had happened the previous night. The receptionist said she was sorry but couldn't provide another tour. I was not satisfied with that answer. She then offered a tour before we left the next morning with the unfriendly breakfast hostess. I respectfully declined.

    The property was difficult to find by car because there was no service either for the GPS or IPhone. We had to stop and ask directions. There is nothing within walking distance. Very far out of Ostuni but lovely area. The property was lovely and the accommodations beautiful. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was incredible and the roles were comfortable they had in a course tasting menu with wine for only $65 of the staff was very friendly and attentive it is a beautiful property with over 2000 arteries and they make a first class olive oil

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was outdated and not very comfortable, towels were very worn, shower was tiny

    Beautiful historic farmhouse Great restaurant with good olive oil and wine and breakfast Wonderful staff Convenient location for touring the region

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would like to have stayed longer. haha

    I was immediately contacted via email hours after reservations were made to inquire if I need any assistance. Upon my arrival, the staff say to my every need. I loved the warmth in each room and it didn't feel like a Museum. The meals were Amazing!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our wifi was not working and they weren't able to fix it during our stay, but wifi networks elsewhere on the property did work. And at some point someone turned off our hot water heater by accident, but they fixed that and it worked well after that.

    The entire place is lovely - peaceful, charming, beautiful. The staff are warm and friendly and flexible and the food is truly fantastic (even if you don't stay here, come for dinner!). You really feel like you're on vacation when here.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not comfortable at all the dinner was nice but at 60 per head a bit on the expensive side, still would go for it for the experience. the property has two cats, my wife did tell the waitress during dinner that she didnt want the cats near us and initially the waitress did move one away but they are there just in case you are afraid or allergic to animals

    The property is very nice, staff pleasant and overall it is a good place to visit for a night and glad we did make the trip. The dinner was nice and relaxed, held in the courtyard which was special. The manager that gave the tour was helpful and overall there is a good vibe there.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If they add an outdoor pool to this facility they could easily charge more

    Great welcome, friendly and helpful staff, amazing food, beautiful facilities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned room with too many religious pictures on the walls and with a display of 100 year old women's underwear draped over the furniture outside our room. Altogether too old fashioned and fusty for us. Breakfast staff bad tempered.

    Lovely evening degustation meal in the courtyard.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stunning main courtyard is a wonderful space at the centre of the business. It would have been nice to eat outside but the staff thought it was too cold - 24 degrees c!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable.

    The breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The highlight of our trip. Wonderful spaces and rooms, outstanding service and the dinners were out of this world.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Masseria is in a beautiful part of the country. Very peaceful. The food was excellent. Fresh and varied and local. Dinner particularly special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beautiful place, very nice staff and amazing food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff incredibly helpful and caring. It felt like staying in someone’s lovely home. It was very relaxed comfortable and charming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place with very friendly and attentive staff. Garden and olive groves.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent experience

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food offered there for lunches and dinner is out of this world. A truly gourmet feast every day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Food!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely setting with amazing food - highly recommend!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive, staff could improve hospitality

    Nice location, nice building

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is really not comfortable

    The location is idyllic, the staff very kind and dedicated. Great food and overall service (beach deals etc)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not working properly

    Fantastic place. Very friendly staff. Amazing meal

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beyond beautiful with excellent amenities and staff - particularly Debra who could not have been nicer or more accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing property & the staff couldn't do enough,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The grounds are beautiful and the dinners were outstanding.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved everything! Way beyond our expectations.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place has a fabulous cook. The food was the best we have had in Italy so far. Breakfasts included in tariff were excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roads are dark at night and fairly rural since it is a farm

    Staff wonderful food and wine excellent accommodations were comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff were wonderful, the food excellent and the room and facilities superb.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent ambiance in Puglia countryside, superb friendly and accommodating staff, exceptional meals. Great getaway

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was friendly, the setting lovely, the food delicious. We had the 8-course dinner one night and the 4-course dinner another night.

    Stayed in June 2016

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: