Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Masseria Torricella

S.P. 81 Canale Di Pirro, 19, 70011 Alberobello, Italy

#32 of 99 Holiday rentals in Alberobello

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 336 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All excellent. My only downside is that I travelled to Italy but Italy has sold out to the tourist and as a result the ambience including the menu is no longer Italian. It's all too awfully "Americano"

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was absolutely stunning. Staff were superb, nothing was any trouble. Very relaxed surroundings. Could not rate this place highly enough. Owned and run by the most fantastic hosts.... will definitely be back x

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the food is organically grown on site including the wine. The staff are friendly and unobtrusive. The scenery surrounding the Masseria is beautiful. This is the perfect place to relax and recharge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our second stay. This time we travelled with six children between the ages of 10 and 16 and six adults. Rooms are comfortable, bathrooms modern, great swimming pool, staff extremely friendly. More food than you need! Farm tour is interesting and massage (Mina) in the spa highly recommended. Tranquil setting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trullo (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all great.

    This property is a working farm with magnificent accommodation and facilities. We stayed in the Trulli and loved it. The food you eat is from the farm, if staying there, you can have dinner for €20 and that included appetisers, first, second and dessert. It was sensational. The pool area was fantastic, and breakfast was excellent. We had the wine that is produced there and we loved it too. All in all, we would definitely stay again and would recommend Masseria Torricella as a great place to stay around the Alberobello region.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if the pool had been open, but that wasn’t much of a disadvantage.

    Quiet and peaceful, comfortable, great food, endlessly helpful and pleasant staff. Walks among the trees and miles of nothing much but green countryside and birdsong around. A lovely place to relax and also convenient for interesting places to visit, Alberobello, Ostuni and Matera.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was out of service during our stay.

    Comfortable bed. Wifi worked well in the room. Dinner and breakfast at the on-site restaurant were both excellent. The room was quite and clean. Secure parking on-site.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only the weather could have been better.

    I was hesitating between several masserias in Puglia and I'm really happy I went with Masseria Torricella. There is everything - I particularly enjoyed the beautiful spa area in the ancient part of the masseria with Finnish sauna, hammam, jacuzzi, emotional shower and resting / massage area, extremely helpful people, locally grown organic food and the surrounding walking paths. Room (no 4) was spacious, beautiful bathroom and view, pictures don't do it justice. The masseria is close to all the tourist spots and beaches, but I'd say a car is necessary. Overall a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We loved that this beautiful place is so self-sustaining. Wonderful to see the farm in action. The staff was so accommodating & friendly. Loved the nature fitness course.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly have facilities for tea/ coffee in the room for early morning.

    Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Food tasty, well prepared and reasonably priced. Their own wine was very good and a bargain at 10€ in the restaurant. Rooms spacious, very clean with lovely views. Pool looked lovely though too cold for us to swim in October. Close enough to all major sites such as Lecce, Ostuni, Matera etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had one meal at the restaurant on our first night. The food was excellent but the atmosphere was disappointing : too quiet, not the lively, noisy surroundings we love and expect in Italy.

    We were very lucky to get a little chalet named Quercia 2 some 200 meters from the main building for the same price as the room originally booked. We had a magnificent view of the surrounding countryside, a massive veranda and all the privacy we wanted. Breakfast is extremely good. The "masseria" offers beautiful walks in the surrounding woods, a lovely library and many sunny terraces. After a week back in rainy England, we miss Torricella and its proximity to the stunning towns of Alberobello, Ostuni and Locorotondo.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little unclear where to get drinks from in the day as there wasn't a bar to go to, you had to try and find a member of staff or wait for a couple of hours until someone came to ask - once we did find the staff though, they were very happy to help.

    Beautiful view from our room, great location, lovely pool and fantastic food. Almost all of the food was produced on the farm, and the wine they produce is very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Trullo (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were only two dinner options each night. We don't usually bother eating desserts unless they are really good; a home made panna cotta with fresh stewed fruit for example. We didn't bother with the desserts here. However, it is probably a good thing bearing in mind how much we ate wherever we went!

    Staying in the Trullo was lovely. It was quiet but only a stone's throw from the masseria. The swimming pool was beautiful and a pleasure to be in once you had braved the cold! There are quite a few different staying options available including one with a kitchenette. Breakfast was bread, cake, home made yoghurt, cheese, meat, home made jam, fruit, various cakes and coffee a gogo. The coffee was excellent of course. By the pool one day we had home made iced tea which was good too. Prices of drinks were good leaving us confident to order a drink if we wanted one without fearing the final bill. Mina, the masseuse, was very very good. Dinner on the first night was very good, especially the antipasti. Unfortunately we didn't get that antipasti again :-( The primitivo red was very good indeed. We have ordered some to come home! The farm tour was very interesting. Giuseppe is a very good host. It was a great place to spend time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WE had a beautiful suite but the lighting could have better in the sitting room. A light over the sofa perhaps?

    Everything! The staff were fantastic, food excellent, beautiful pool and lovely walks and cycle rides nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Masseria Torricella was a lovely, self-contained accommodation in the beautiful Puglian Italian countryside- great for guests with a car who want to visit surrounding sights including nearby Alberobello and the Grotte Castellana. The room was simple but very adequate with terrazzo floors, queen bed with extra twin bed which is great for spreading out clothing, a large clean bathroom, refridge and AC. The restaurant was very reasonablely priced with delicious local specialties and wine served for dinner by a very friendly waitstaff. Breakfast (included) was excellent- all the usual including fresh from the farm fruits plus scrambled eggs and pancetta at no extra cost. The on site wellness center offered an excellent massage by Mina as well as a new area with sauna, whirlpool, etc. The outdoor pool is huge with a very nice shallow area for children and lots of deck space for lounging plus poolside cocktail service...a great way to relax after a day of sightseeing! There is a fitness trail through the woods plus a variety of farm animals for the kids to visit. Eva, her family and staff go out of their way to be attentive and helpful. They speak English and are eager to suggest daily itineraries for local day trips. There are even motor scooters and bicycles available to rent for a closer look at the rolling farmland of vineyards and olive groves. It was a lovely place to stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Marco and the team made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Breakfast and dinner was amazing with all the food locally produced. The pool was stunning, cannot fault the accommodation. Location perfect for day trips to surrounding towns and beaches.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were disappointed with the quality of the food served at dinner. It was very plain, with very small portion sizes, we also thought it was expensive when compared to all the restaurants we ate in in the surrounding towns. We felt that it lacked the Puglian generosity we encountered everywhere else we ate (Terre Madre, Alberobello) to name but one. We would have eaten more often at Torricella if the food had been better.

    Location is excellent for proximity to some beautiful towns, Pool is lovely, grounds and buildings are lovely, the property was very clean and well kept.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing! We had a very spacious room with all facilities needed and the owners and staff were very very friendly. We've had a beautiful time here!!!

    This masseria is situated in the middle of the countryside of Puglia on a splendid domain!! This is defenitely a place where you will completely calm down in the middle of nature (but with the surrounded cities in the proximity (by car)). The view from your room and the pool on the countryside is amazing (building is built on a small hill). Very friendly owners and staff!! The menu you can eat in the evening is fresh and delicious and the outside area where you'll eat is cosy and nicely designed. The breakfast was a buffet with some homemade product (also the yoghurt!) and a lot of fresh fruit and other products!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We had a great time.

    A brilliant place. Nice room, lovely pool, restaurant is good value and serves produce from the farm and their own wine. Delicious breakfast, homemade yogurt made with milk from their own cows and lots of fruit from their orchards ( cherries, peaches, figs, pears, apricots). There is a wooded walk behind the farm. We got a chance to visit the 3 farms which constitute the business, which was fascinating. The masseria where guests stay is separate from the agricultural and animal farms by the way. Nice view over the valley. Close to Alberobello, Ostuni, Locorotondo etc... so perfect position.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could have been a little larger.

    Wonderful views and we loved the pool. Staff charming and accommodating. Excellent food--even the morning croissants are made on site--and lovely spaces for eating. We stayed here near the end of a long visit to Italy and enjoyed relaxing and being cared for.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The weather but that's outside there control!!

    Masseria Torricella is in a fabulous position for visiting all the towns in the area. The restaurant is excellent and incredible value, we ate there every night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Internet in the room was very poor , in public area was ok.

    Nice view , perfect sevice , perfect location for those who traveling by car, very close to all destinations in the area. For kids it was the best hotel .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds are rather hard

    Wonderful and calm masseria with beautiful swimmingpool and garden. Own production of olive oil and wines, vegetables, fruits, all organic and bio.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a magnifying mirror in the bathroom would be useful for people like me who have poor eyesight.

    The really wonderful personel, all of whom went out of their way for me. Thanks to them. Lovely setting, spacious room, great bathroom. Excellent cuisine using products from the estate. Good local wines. Their own olive oil.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    swimming pool, promised to be heated but cold, brrr, a pity ... not more than that

    Room, breakfast, farm, restaurant, bikes... perfect, last week a reality now a dream and hope to go back!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are nice and very clean but lacked warmth and coziness.

    Beautiful surroundings, and great location for visiting surrounding towns. Wait staff very friendly and efficient. Food was amazing and locally grown. Pool area is great with plenty of sun lounges.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hooks for towels were missing in the bathroom (room number 5).

    The staff is very kind and prepared The location is perfect, close to many places worth a visit. The Masseria is nice and big, very well restored.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hosts were very welcoming. We arrived there last minute, after a very disappointing trulli booked in Alberobello. Very good food with local ingredients.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms (we had the quadruple) could be updated and kept nicer, but that's my only complaint. We had a few maintenance issues in our room but the staff quickly responded to resolve. Overall a great stay and we would definitely go back!

    Amazing agriturismo! The pool is fabulous, the organic farm fresh food was delightful, the environment peaceful and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to come home!

    The wonderful views, the friendly and helpful staff, fabulous fresh home cooked food and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The farm has a plenty of space for kids and it is cosy and relaxed space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A room for winter activities Poor heating in some areas

    Good spa Nice staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quiet place, helpful staff. Interesting natural nature route inside the masseria area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bicycle hire as stated

    Very peaceful and the rooms were lovely and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Varied breakfast but could change a bit sometimes. Everything else is perfect. We absolutely loved our stay there and would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Something different near loads of interesting locations. Clean spacious and a wonderful pool. The restaurant and the food was the highlight.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful views, lovely pool, great food and wine from the Masseria. Only 5-10 minutes drive from Alberobello.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was quite hard

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    really liked the peace and quiet! Lovely surroundings, great food and perfect peace and quiet. Enjoyed Leo's antics and appreciated the staff's care

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is nicely situated and the pool is super. The room was huge, but felt a bit like a hallway (tiles on the floor etc.) - not very comfortable, but I guess typically for this region.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked a bar or somewhere to have after dinner drinks or coffee.

    Beautiful surroundings in elevated rural location but near to Puglian tourist sites. Excellent pool and sun lounging area. Organic seasonal food produced on farm served in open air restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stuff was great, Cosimo and Giuseppe were very kind and helpful. The sorroundings are great, The Silva Gym was a nice surprise for an early trail running, the food was tatsy and organic, very reasonably priced

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food in the evenings was a little disappointing and did not live up to the general standard

    We were given a very nice room with a large balcony where we could enjoy an aperitif before dinner. The pool was very well designed and suitable for young children. The family who own the Masseria were most pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Warm welcome, great service. Delicious & fresh/home-made food. Large rooms and very clean. Perfect service at the swimming pool (you can order food and drinks during the day). Beautiful location and ideal starting point to visit Puglia.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything about our stay. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The facilities were fantastic and gave us the perfect relaxing overnight that we had been looking for. We brought our two small dogs and for a very minimal cleaning fee they were able to stay with us as well. We adored our stay there and cannot wait to return!

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to leave our friendly, nice dog in the room for breakfast and dinner.

    The location for excursions is great. Our room with large balcony was wonderful. All four nights of our stay we had dinner in the restaurant: nice meal, reasonable price, very friendly service.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - room was cold - furnishing could be nicer for a place like that

    + breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautiful farmhouse with a truli house, excellent home made cuisine, peaceful location.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Exceptional location and facilities -best of all were the friendly, hard-working and efficient staff. Food was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room furnishings/bathroom fittings just a little dated.

    Great location just a short drive outside of Alberobello.Countryside views and walks.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The biggest problem for me was awful WIFI.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent breakfast, unobtrusive staff.excellent home grown produce.peace and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    In a word, EVERYTHING. Highly recommend, would definitely stay again. You do however need a car to get there.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location. Clean and pleasure room. Interesting place for trekking

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: