Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mavino 3 stars

Via G.Piana 17, 25019 Sirmione, Italy

#37 of 70 hotels in Sirmione

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 613 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were polite but not particularly friendly. The breakfast choice was limited and the pastries could have been fresher. The shower gel was in rip top sachets - impossible to open.

    The hotel was in a good location with decent size rooms and the balcony with lake view was good. The air conditioning was effective

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not as good as I have expected.

    We were absolutely satisfied with our room with balcony and the view to the lake. Staff was absolutely friendly and helpful. Location was perfect, especially the hotel is in the middle of the town. But it is very quiet inside! :) We enjoyed our stay there and we definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who goes to Sirmione.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not direct at the hotel. We had to go back where we came once we unloaded the luggages. It is about 1km away from the hotel.

    This hotel locates in the old town which was perfect for city sightseeing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed-side lamp was broken. We told the front desk & we agreed to have it repaired the next day after our trip. We liked the room & the view, so we did not want to give it up.

    The breakfast was a normal Italian-style with pastries, coffee, juices, scrambled eggs and some torte to choose from.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast needs some improvements. It’s very basic. There was no vegetables, some tomatoes, cucumbers etc would be nice! Also quality of coffee is below expectations. It’s made with powder milk.

    Location and comfortable room. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) Parking. It is a good thing that hotel offers some parking solution, but the problem is that parking is quite far from the hotel, but you still need first come to the hotel to receive parking card first, that you can park your car. Seems logical, but believe me you will think twice if you know how difficult is getting to the hotel through crowded pedestrian zone with narrow streets. So you drive through it, that you get back for the parking, no other solution was offered, when I asked for it, as we had no bags to carry, and I though about avoiding this useless driving through historical center. 2) Noise insulation from other rooms as in 2 star hotel, while somebody watches tv in next room, you hear everything. 3) Breakfast coffee. I read the review that here coffee from machine is awful, and I can confirm it. But when you ask for proper espresso from staff, they bring you something not a bid better.

    Quite nice location, if you intent to visit Thermal Park. Good and clean room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very little. We would certainly stay here again.

    We had a lake-view room - not large, but with a usable small balcony. Breakfast was a quite comprehensive buffet, served in a bright room on the top floor with lake glimpses. Overall a very pleasant smaller hotel, with obliging staff. The location is very good for access to the pier, (where we arrived by ferry from Desenzano, and from where we spent a very pleasant day on Lake Garda), and for the Roman ruins at the northern end of the peninsula.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were a bit thin.

    The balcony with a view of the lake was lovely, as was the cute breakfast room. So close to the public garden and the beach where the thermal springs flow into the lake.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about this hotel was great. Lovely position just away from the bustle so no noise. It was comfortable, the only thought is that the pillows were a little flat. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. All in all a good experience. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Indicates that they have parking but actually do not. Please note you must drive through pedestrian packed narrow medieval streets to get to the hotel. Then once you get there you have to drive back out again and walk back 15 minutes to the hotel. Finally, when you check out you are charged $10/day for the parking and must take time to return your gate key. There are other hotels in the city center with parking available on site and with rooms for similar prices. You may want to investigate if one of them has a vacancy first.

    Located in the heart of Simione.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too heavy airconditining was not so easy set properly.

    The room and bath were clean. Good breakfast. Bed also perfect. In the historical city center but not noise. Close to restaurants, bars, public beach and thermal bath. Great staff!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The historic town is fantastic and being inside the medieval town walls is wonderful. Huge choice of restaurants and bars and classic Italian clothes shopping....and the biggest ice creams. Parking was outside the town but secured. The town is very narrow to drive through, so small car is recommended, but quite an experience. Remember to let the hotel know you have a car as they will get to on the police entrance list otherwise you could struggle to get in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is outside the old town and for those who don't have heavy luggage is really annoying to enter with the car just to take the card for the parking space. We lost an hour to get the permission to enter the old village with the car, to drive in the middle of crowded narrow streets and go back afterwards to park the car. The hotel could ask the clients in advance if they have big luggages and leave the cards of the parking space at the police office at the entrance of the castel. With this, people could park their cars first and enter the castle by foot. The Hotel is not that far from from the entrance.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could have a dog, but nowhere was written, that it'll bee extra paid. It was 5 €, but still ;)

    The localization of this hotel is amazing. In the middle of the oldtown. The parking is in front of the main entrance into the old city, but it's not problem to deliver your staff in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid extra for a room with a lake view. It was actually a partial lake view as our balcony overlooked an apartment block and vacant block covered in weeds. It was not an attractive view so we didn't use the balcony at all. Don't pay extra for the balcony+lake view unless you are guaranteed it will be attractive and panoramic.

    Great location just a short distance from the madly busy centre of town. Comfortable bed, ok wifi, obliging staff on the front desk, satisfactory breakfast. Arriving by car and having somewhere to park is great although you have to drive through the town to the hotel to collect the swipe card needed for the car park. An interesting if very slow moving experience given the vast crowds in the town. If you have only a little luggage and are happy to walk the 600m back to the car park, departure is a little easier as you can leave the swipe at the police station at town gates.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room is cute on the roof but small and tables are also small.

    The location is great, inside the castle area but a little bit challenging to go inside with your own car. The personel is really helpfull and kind. Room is small but clean and has an small balcony and all the amenities an 3/4 star hotel has to have.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Close to centre of town and restaurants, modern comfortable clean room, friendly reception, free wi-fi, view of lake, good breakfast ( I don't know what other reviewers expected: a full English breakfast perhaps?). Free parking. Although this was a 5-10 minute walk away and in peak season driving through the narrow crowded streets to the hotel is difficult.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was poor

    Great location in the town and little adventure to get to. Great communication on how to drop bags off at the hotel and free parking off site but easy to reach through a barrier at the public car park

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to park outside of the centre. The streets are very narrow if you want to drop off your luggage and drive a big car.

    Location, Breakfast, Personnel, Price-quality

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be prepared if you drive into town with a car to drop your luggage, especially during a busy weekend! The staff did not warn us at all, which led to quite an interesting driving experience.

    Excellent location, great view from the balcony

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was lacking, No parking close to hotel - about 800m away wifi was really slow

    Perfect location - right in the middle of the historic center of Sirmione. A lot of attractions close by friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have a garden area to sit in

    Balcony room was lovely, staff very nice, good location as the centre gets over crowded it was lovely just to be a few steps back from it all.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free parking is shown in the hotel info, but it is not clearly mentioned that the parking is about 600m from the hotel.

    Clean comfort room. Friendly staff. Good breakfast Great view from balcony Fast internet

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WE ARRIVED ON ROAD TRIP BOOKED LAST MINURE, RATE WAS GREAT AND WE MET VERONICA IN THE RECEPTION SHE WAS SOOOO NICE AND HELPFUL AS IT WAS MY BIRTHDAY THAY GAVE ME A VERY NICE ROOM AND I WILL DEFENETLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Our plane was 5 hours late and we finally arrived in the middle of the night, but the staff was waiting for us. Lovely room, great breakfast, quiet location, near the Roman villa and easy access to cafes and restaurants, a short walk from all the ferries to all points on Lake Garda.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Great location next to the Aquaria Spa and in the old town. Parking facilities. Very comfortable and clean. Room was exactly as in the pictures. Staff very kind and helpful. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit tricky getting into town as it’s a pedestrian mall but we managed and it was fun

    Great location in town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor breakfast facilities - we went out instead

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The cleaning lady was exceptional

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great recption staff , new rooms, clean, best location!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard beds. Parking almost 1km away

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot buffet

    Tea +fresh fruit

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasntbso good and ac wiuldnt cool sufficiently

    Room with a view very nice. Staff were helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Location!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, little hotel in a wonderful location for getting around Sirmione old town. Very clean with a cute little balcony.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, lovely people!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The beds were a little uncomfortable but it wasn't a major issue. At breakfast I would have wished for fresh cappuccino instead of from a machine because it didn't taste good.

    The staff was very nice and welcoming and the location of the hotel is great. The rooms were tidy and looked quite new.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just like most places in Italy, parking is hard to find. There are reserved spots (at an abandoned hotel lot) for guest of this hotel. Walking distance (but not super close) to the hotel.

    Love the location. Walking distance to center and lake. Staff super nice and room very clean. We had a peek-a-boo view of lake. Next time we would like a full view. Breakfast buffet nice. Be prepeared drive through the the village and be in awe. Watch for pedestrians. It is beautiful and we love that it's not as crowded (in October) as other main attractions. Watch the sunset by the lake while eating gelato.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast.

    Location, balcony.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very nice staff

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location! Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    good location

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast

    Location

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel in good location. Had a really good stay.Staff v helpful

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not really good soundproofing

    The Location and the staff at the front desk

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Hotel Mavino traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: