Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Maxim 3 stars

Via Dei Calzaiuoli 11, Duomo, 50122 Florence, Italy

#288 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1281 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Location was great and the elderly receptionist that worked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was small and beds uncomfortable

    Location was great and the elderly receptionist that worked the night shifts was super friendly and helpful and spoke very good English.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Located right in the center of the busy tourist area, within...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located right in the center of the busy tourist area, within easy walking distance to all the main sights. The rooms are quite small but functional. Parking available via a local garage, however driving to the Hotel itself was a bit of a challenge, especially during the busy afternoon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant experience, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the fact that the staff was helpful and polite, with the exception of a lady at the reception who wasn’t quite courteous.

    I liked the fact that they were able to change my room when I arrived and it was not meeting my expectations

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    The staff were really helpful and friendly and the room very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entrance is a bit off putting. The room was basic but ok - really small shower room. Shower basically over the toilet and fittings were a bit shabby

    The staff were really helpful and friendly and the room very clean with air conditioning. The location is excellent a 10 minute walk from the station and walking distance from all main attractions. In the middle of a lively shopping area and just down the road from the Doma. Good choice of restaurants. Breakfast was adequate self service cafe style

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.8
    It works
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location and comfortable bed, but rather noisy and wifi wasn't working. Some staff were kind but a couple we're grumpy which was somewhat off putting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.6
    Not good enough😐
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way too small bathroom and it was filthy. Hair everywhere. It was also a very old room. S We paid over 500 euro for 3 night, and think it was expensive, considering what we got for our money.

    Good location and nice staff.. Thats the only positives.. 🙄

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    2.5
    Nothing -- there were no positives at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would not recommend this property to anyone. There was a musty smell throughout the entire hotel, mold in our bathroom, and unfriendly individuals at the front desk. I would recommend spending a little more money to stay elsewhere and save yourself the hassle of staying here.

    Nothing -- there were no positives at this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Awesome location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom, and in general it could use some reno :(

    The location and very friendly and helpful staff. The room and common areas were quite clean. Nice breakfast too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a fab location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the noise from the building site next door. Would have liked to have been told about it.

    Great hotel in a fab location. Got a free upgrade to a double room which was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    Other than the great location this hotel needs serious upgrades.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was very small. Shower/bathtub was difficult to get in. Bathroom needs serious upgrading. Smell of sewer when using elevator.

    Super location to attractions in Florence.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    4.2
    A hostel for hotel price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It’s not a real hotel. They bought a few apartments on the 3rd and 4th floor 50 years ago, and they created “hotel rooms”. Walls are made from paper, you hear every word, laugh, sneeze, fart from adjacent rooms. (When I say adjacent, I mean both horizontally and vertically.) If your neighbors are noisy, you won’t be able to sleep. At all. If your neighbors aren't noisy but flush the toilet, you'll wake up. My room was 416 (I attached a picture). In the next room, 15 students stayed and had a party. These lovely teens thoughts it was an excellent idea to sing loudly at 1 a.m. Unfortunately, they were tone-deaf, but life isn’t the X-factor. I don’t blame them, I blame the “hotel”.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location. It was literally a few steps away from the Florence Cathedral. Shops and restaurants are right at your door steps. Other famous sites (Oransmichele, Palazzo Vecchio, Galleri degli Uffizi to name a few) are well within a ten minute leisurely walk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice small hotel in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy neighbours-schoolkids. Earplugs should be good.

    Very kind and helpful staff. Exellent location. Basic but comfortable room.Heating was especially good:).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.0
    Receptionist friendly, location good. Standard or room - poor. breakfast adequate.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor decor smalll room - very basic accommodation more suited to a hostel or budget b&b.

    Location was very good - right in the centre near the Duomo

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable and great location, but needs refurbishing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit shabby (needs painting/upgrading), the shower wasn't great and noise was a bit of an issue.

    Bed was nice and comfortable, the location is great and the staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.4
    Great location, okay room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since the location was right in the center (which was amazing), it wa also very very loud in the streets all night even until about 4am so it was difficult to sleep when I was there. I also had some issues in my washroom where the toilet didn’t flush, and my sink didn’t drain.

    The location is amazing! Less than a five minute walk from every main sight. Staff were very friendly and helpful, always smiling !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.3
    Overall I was pleased with the location although disappointed with the poor decor and bad smell.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very basic with poor decor. Bad smell of chemicals in my first room which they could not change as they were fully booked - so no sleep. On my second night I was given another room - similar lack of decor but at least I was able to sleep.

    Fantastic location, - very near the Duomo. Staff very friendly, good breakfast. Safe location. Very clean sheets and towels. Hot showers. Lift in building. Near to public transport, bus shuttle and railway station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location and great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV only in Italian (i know it's a lot to ask for another language, but there you go), shower had weak pressure/took a long time to get hot, some of the electrical sockets didn't work but there were plenty that did (it's an old(ish) but nicely furnished interior)

    Location is great, staff was very friendly and experienced (receptionist who is also a guide marked up a map for us with all we needed to know!), generally the facilities were also great and decor was nice. comfortable stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Hotel Maxim is a wonderful place to stay in Florence! Wonderful breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since I arrived relatively late at night walking from the train station, I would have liked more prominanat signage with desk hours telling me to proceed to the third floor. I had been in places that didn't have late desk hours and worried for a few minutes when I first entered and didn't see anyone that I wouldn't get in my room after I had a transit delay. I did see the sign that said go to the third floor for Hotel Maxim and called them to be sure they were open, so it was OK in the end.

    I loved the breakfast! What a welcome treat for weary travelers to have an all you can eat buffet of fresh fruits like kiwi and plums, plus yogurt, cereals, and breads. They have a full service reception desk and luggage room to store luggage for checking out and sight seeing. The room was small, but nicely furnished with a private bath, TV, sound proof shutters, and plenty of lights and plugs. The location is perfect, just a few steps from the Duoma and a short walk to the train station where you can get a 6 euro shuttle to the airport (well, the shuttle location is actually outside on the corner to the left of the station).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    The staff was most helpful in directing us to interesting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was most helpful in directing us to interesting sites and great restaurants. Requests for a taxi were always prompt. Our breakfasts were delicious and we marveled at the options offered.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.7
    Good for location. That's about it. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Never had a hot shower - it was always cold. Toilet was very loud and we could hear other rooms. Bed was two twins pushed together. Breakfast, albeit free, was not great and we skipped it all but our last day in favor of paying elsewhere. Room is not at all updated - very old.

    Staff was very nice. There was a lift in the hotel. Location was amazing - right near the Duomo and a short walk to Uffizi & Academy. Wifi was ok, except for uploads. Air conditioning was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location in central Florence. Short distance to prime tourists attractions. Friendly staff always with a smile and ready to help. Thank you !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    Location, Museum Reservations and Wi-Fi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property is old, historic old. The plumbing is unreliable - a plumber was called to fix our toilet and during breakfast on another day we overheard 2 other groups talking about their plumbing needing to be fixed also. The hotel staff took care of these issues and the plumber worked on the room while we were out but be aware that because you are in the historic heart of Florence, the building shows wear and tear. We found it to be clean, just old. There are very few outlets in the rooms - you will need to unplug the nightstand/desk lamps to charge your electronics. The bathrooms are 'no frills' - weak blow dryer hooked into the wall, small packets of body wash/shampoo, industrial size toilet paper roll on the wall. Breakfast was uneventful - if you like being able to not worry about where to grab your coffee, then this is fine. It is mostly prepackaged food that you self-serve from a tiny but clean breakfast room. Yogurt, packaged cheese, store-bought croissants with Nutella and jam, cereal (corn flakes, muesli, cocoa puffs), pancakes (small automatic machine), apples and kiwis, canned fruit, 2 types of juice, coffee, tea and hot cocoa. As budget travelers, this breakfast was fine - just keep your expectations in check. I would stay at this property again since I know what to expect but I won't go out of my way to recommend it to others. It is all about expectation management and what type of traveler you are - for a short visit to Florence, if you want to maximize your time in the city and just need a place to lay your head at night, Hotel Maxim will do just fine.

    Location! Hotel Maxim is probably more of a budget-style hotel with middle-range prices. The higher price is because of the awesome location in the heart of Florence, just steps from the Duomo and maybe 3 short blocks to the Uffizi and Palazzo Vecchio. The Hotel is on the main thoroughfare of Florence. As a family of 4, we loved that during the day we could go back to the room to use the bathrooms (not many public WCs in Florence), to rest our feet, to get warmer jackets or drop off souvenirs. Even though you are in the pedestrian zone, the rooms are quiet because they are up on the 3rd and 4th floors of the building. (For light sleepers, you will be able to hear the church bells in your room.) The hotel was safe and cozy. I emailed the staff prior to our visit and they made the requested reservations for us for the Accademia and the Uffizi. For this non-Italian speaking family, those reservations were a huge help. The hotel gave us the reservation numbers when we checked in and then we picked up and paid for the tickets at the locations - skipped the long lines for those without reservations. The staff will also give you directions to where ever you need to go and make restaurant recommendations. The Wi-Fi was strong and reliable during our stay. We did not have a car, nor would I recommend one for this location. The Hotel and the surrounding streets are in a pedestrian zone; if you have a car, I recommend staying somewhere outside the historic pedestrian zone. Note: there is a Euro 3.50 per night, per person city room tax that needs to be paid (cash preferred) separate from your room fees. Don't forget to add that to your budget since it isn't included with the booking.com fees.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.3
    odeal location for somewhere to sleep at night whilst wondering around Fl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a little tired looking. Narrow corridors to bedrooms. Hotel on 3rd floor and lift a little slow and aging! Reception area and lounge small and very overcrowded when trying g to check out

    Location is wxcellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.9
    was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast not so much

    The location of this property was fabulous! Easy to find and access. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Room was nice size and comfortable. We requested a room away from the street for quietness and it was. The room was clean and we felt safe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    4.2
    We will find other accomdations next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Lobby is accessed by elevator to 3rd floor but rooms on upper floors access only by stairs. Breakfast is skimpy

    Quick walk to duomo and other points of interest

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Not perfect but good value hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom toilet problem reported but not fixed Our room on the 4th floor, one floor up from reception, and no elevator. No shampoo on arrival and not provided until requested on Day 4 of our stay. Ground floor entry way a bit tacky.

    Excellent Location Pleasant room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.9
    The location is superb- just a two minute walk to the duomo...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside food isn't allowed. No mini fridge to store water for very hot days. Bathroom is very small for four people and desperately needs to be updated. Water pressure was not good.

    The location is superb- just a two minute walk to the duomo and five minutes from good restaurants and shopping. Air conditioner worked well. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    6.3
    The perfect location as my dughter and fiancee were staying only one street away and our vist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning wasn't very effective. It was all very basic. The hairdryer was poor. We travelled with a 91 year old who had a single room, the bathroom was tiny.

    The location was perfect for the Duomo and other areas of interest.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Great position with many attractions close by well worth the visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beds a little firm but manageable.

    Very good position within Florence right in the heart of the action, made parking the hire car at the hotel a bit of a challenge to un load but the hotel offered a garage service that collected the car to park it up at 27 euro's a day. breakfast was good well stocked and clean. liked the hotel but a little dated décor but that's Italy for you. I would use again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.4
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Entrance in ground floor was dirty. -Air conditioning wasn't working in first night. Better after Changed to another room in 2nd night.

    Pancake machine in breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bathroom, was really old fashioned. It was just the shower head over the floor in the corner so the water goes all over the bathroom floor.

    The location was excellent, In the Center Of everything so you can walk everywhere. The people on the reception where always helpfull and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Excellent location and must-stay in Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all

    Excellent location, it is approximately 15 minutes walk from the train station. It is located central from all famous attractions, Duomo, Uffizi Gallery & Academia and many others. You would not need to walk more than 10 minutes. Venchi, the famous Gelato shop is right below the building. We did not use public transport at all during our 2 day trip in Florence. The hotel has a very unique look and seems like a gallery in itself. Breakfast was quite good. The reception staff was quite helpful. Will recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to see Florence without having to waste too much time travelling from hotel to the landmarks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Well recommended for tourists on a budget. Worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady manning the cafeteria(for the breakfast) is quite strict

    The people at the front desk are all very accommodating and efficient. The room is spacious and clean. The location of the hotel is excellent (very close to the duomo, at the heart of the shopping area, walking distance to the train station. The breakfast is good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.9
    This property had both pros & cons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While there was an elevator to get you to the 3rd floor lobby, it was barely large enough for 2 people w/ luggage. And if your room was not on the lobby level, you then had to get luggage up 2 flights of steps to the next floor. Since the tub was narrow, the shower curtain was constantly stuck to me. Installing the newer curved shower curtains would have been an economical fix to this uncomfortable problem.

    The central location was great ... close to restaurants & shopping, as well as the major central attractions. Plus, the room & bathroom were of nice size.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little pathetic and noisy in morning with street cleaning. But not silly early 6/7am

    The en suite single room was adequate for my needs , although I wouldn't say it was luxurious. The breakfast was good. A good selection of fruits , juices , bakery and meats, also cereals as well. The staff were very helpful and it was ideal if you wanted a central location to see all of the historic buildings and gallery's. Nightlife , shopping and Restaurants in abundance are on your doorstep. Must go upstairs in the San Lorenzo market for great and diverse food all cooked fresh and chosen by yourself from the range of produce available.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location, bit dated but perfectly functional. Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a bit difficult to find the actual reception to the hotel as its on the 3rd floor of a multi use building. I spent ages strolling round and round the building after Google maps kept telling me I had reached my destination before I realised there was no ground floor lobby. Maybe this was just me being a bit dim but I felt it could advertise its position and details on access a bit better. Also, if you arrive after 1 a.m the reception is closed

    The location was fantastic, 10 minutes walk from train station and smack bang in the middle of such a beautiful city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    2.9
    I would not let my dog to stay even for one day here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not like my Dog to stay on this so called hotel Mold in the shower Old and yollow urine like huge areas on the mattress Moldy shower curtain . It cost a couple euro to change the shower curtain but apparently 2 euro is big saving Shame on booking.com for even offering such place as a hotel The so called hotel is a 1 story of an old apartment building with 8-9 rooms in it I would think that probably booking.com if one of its affiliated own it !! Who knows

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially we were lost as to how to reach hotel by car. They did nit tell us we could drive through pedestrians only streets to the door of the hotel. The car was picked up from there. Bare furnishings but good breakfast and super friendly and helpful staff

    Best location possible

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, average breakfast (excellent coffee and drinking chocolate).

    Location. In the heart of Florence. Stone's throw distance from all the places worth visiting in Florence.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Florence and Tuscany trip with a family of 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in 4th floor and the elevator runs up to 3rd floor only. suitcases had to be carried up a floor.

    Breakfast was excellent. Staff were very friendly. The location is an excellent location, every place within city center is easily walkable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    4.2
    The location was very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in our room was not working the whole time and when I companies about it they just said they can't do anything about it. It was so annoying. And we barely slept. The night attendant was not helpful at all.

    The location was very central. Very near the Santa Maria Dela Fiore and also near Piazza dela Signorina. If you like shopping, the location is perfect. There is a lift, rather small though. The breakfast was basic but better than nothing. The front desk attendant who checked us in was nice and very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    Made my visit to Florence memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, it was all that I expected and needed.

    Walking distance to all attractions. Staff friendly and helpful with information on things to do. Breakfast was great and well presented. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.8
    Will Not Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner never cooled room adequately, and repeated requests to have it fixed were unsuccessful. Bathroom did not have a shower enclosure, resulting in a wet floor. Walls were scuffed and dingy. Mattress and pillow were hard.

    Good location near tourist sites. Some staff members tried to be helpful; others not so much.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Inner city hotel, just minutes from the Duomo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the entrance from the street level, but as this was a public access way for others occupying the building occupiers I think it was acceptable. It was not very clean and a bit smelly and this could be off putting to some clients.

    The room was large and airy, had air conditioning and the bathroom was large in comparison to some I have had lately. The towels were bath sheet size, this was greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    For those who value location above all
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel could do with some refurbishment. Reported main light not working, but was not fixed during 2 night stay.

    Perfect Location, Breakfast variety

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.9
    I would stay again
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom. The toilet seat was broken. The shower curtain didn't reach to the floor and the whole floor got wet. The room was too small for 3 adults.

    The close proximity to the centre. The staff were helpful. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.5
    The breakfast was very good and the location was good for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was firmer than we like but that was a very small dislike considering the price and location.

    The breakfast was very good and the location was good for tours, restaurants. The property is good, basic accommodation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    4.6
    I would avoid this hotel at all costs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would definitely not stay at this hotel again. The bathroom was so small. I attached a picture. You are basically showering and using the toilet in the same area. Water got everywhere!! Also, the bathroom was covered in mold and smelled horribly (see the picture of the ceiling). Definitely not a safe place to stay for your health! I am not a fan of checking out at 10 am (for which they are strict on). The reception is closed from 1am to 6am but there is a number you can call if you need in to the building after that time (we just made sure we were back by then). Overall, it wasn't even a good value for the money. We could've stayed elsewhere for the same cost and probably enjoyed our trip much more.

    The location itself was perfect...it was about 300 yards from the huge church. The breakfast was pretty good and comparable to other hotels in Italy and the coffee was good. The bedroom was a decent size and we had a nice view of the busy street below.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.7
    All about the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was really small. It was a maze trying to find my room. Paying for location-150E for a normally 80E room

    Location was the best feature of this hotel. Walking distance to everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    I liked everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything. The room was a comfortable size for a family of four. The breakfast was the best we had on our whole Europe trip. The location was amazingly close to everything.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I specifically booked this hotel because they advertised a rooftop terrace. However they did not advise the terrace would not be available for patrons to use, so essentially it was false advertising

    Location was terrific

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.6
    Probably the best location possible, with Duomo di Firenze...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Probably the best location possible, with Duomo di Firenze literally around the corner, many tourist attractions within walking distance. Staff extremely friendly. Room was spotless. Breakfast was very good. Very nice, cozy atmosphere. Would recommend.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    8.8
    Very happy with our stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location. Because of this, in the evening there was noise from the streets. But we got to transfer to another room. Appreciate the friendly service.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    Amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to find hotel with car. But we called in reception and Fanny helped as with such calm and smile :) We would like to thank her again!

    very kind staff (especially Fanny), great location, good breakfast (fresh pancakes!)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    4.6
    terrible hotel experience of my life in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was deceived, the hotel was awful. My room was at the 4th floor, until 3rd floor I could use the elevator but after that I had to take the stairs. The worst thing about the hotel was the problem about bathroom and hot water. Basically the bathroom was really really old. Whenever I completed my thing I had to press a button inside the wall to flush the toilet but most of the time I was unsuccessful because the flushing system wasn't working. Another depressing thing was there was not any hot water most of the time. Most of the days I walked around the city and It was exhausting. When I returned to the room to take a hot shower It was impossible because the water was cold all the time The staff on the other hand were very helpful and because of that I did not want to argue with them as a matter of fact they could not do anything. The people who left good comments for this hotel were either idiots or did not ever know how a decent hotel looks like. This hotel should not get even one single star

    the location of the facility is almost perfect. I was 100 meters away to famous city center and everything were in walking distance

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, pleasant environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The negative thing I experienced was that the person in the neighboring room was making a lot of noise watching TV very early in the morning. The sound should be better isolated or the TV not placed on the wall which is next to the bed in my room.

    A pleasant environment, it looks like an art gallery, a very central location, could not get much better really. The staff was courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    9.6
    Great value and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit worn and lighting was poor. Family room could use more storage.

    The location was perfect! Breakfast was quite nice, especially loved the coffee. The staff was always friendly and helpful (Fanny was delightful!) Room and bathroom very clean!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    8.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    However, something was stolen from our car while parked for 3 days for a cost of $100 with the hotel's wishfully secure parking service. Really terrible. We will never stay there again.

    location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.8
    Great location and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The common area needs sprucing up. Furniture needs to be reupholstered now. It is dirty and worn.

    Location was perfect. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Cost was very reasonable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    4.2
    Roach Motel in Central Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed, dirty, outdated room. If this place was 4 blocks away, I doubt it would stay in business. Having to leave key at desk was a pain, and new staff never actually verified our identity. Would not recommend to colleagues or stay here again personally. Bathroom was moldy and had bugs scurrying across the floor.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    9.6
    Everything except breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was poor . Items not replenished. The breakfast room was to small , tables were not available . We were there in November and I would hate to see how crowded it gets in the summer.

    Everything except breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.3
    Small but comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was quite simple (one meat, one cheese, two kinds of bread + one kind of pastry, etc.). Quality was quite good although not outstanding.

    Small but comfortable room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    8.8
    Great location but small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator to reach the hotel was very small and slow and hotel is at level3. Narrow corridors and small rooms that mostly have windows opening in a shaft. Also since we were traveling with family, we badly missed a hot water kettle in the room.

    Excellent location just 100-150mts from the Duomo and within 0.5kms of most major attractions in a bustling area full of restaurants and shops. The front desk staff was also very friendly - always greeted us with a smile and providing the requested assistance.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.3
    Worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult driving to that area, the pillows need fluffing, the lady at the breakfast room was not well disposed and the bathroom seemed to be refurbished but some details still need attention.

    The location is convenient, the staff at the front desk was friendly, the breakfast was just ok & the size of the room/bathroom was not bad (4 people). Overall experience in this hotel was good, worth the money!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    8.3
    Breakfast options were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hair dryer was obviously broken. We were able to get one from the front desk. I think there should have been one left in the room.

    Breakfast options were good. Wifi was reliable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a disaster waiting to happen. I almost became a shower statistic. No joke!

    The location is excellent and the facilities were more than adequate

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.2
    Centrally located to visit Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom is old and uncomfortable to take a shower. The lift is in need of refurbishment, more than once we had to use the stars to get to the hotel on the third floor.

    Location, service was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    6.3
    Excellent location and friendly front desk staff, but very dated and rundown guest rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself really needs a renovation as the rooms very extremely dated and rundown.

    The front desk staff was fantastic, very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Highly recommended, nice accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had few choices if not taken early, expensive - would recommend going somewhere else to eat in the morning.

    This was a beautiful setting, literally right on the water. The rooms were really nice, staff was so friendly it made for a great stay. A good choice across the bay from Saint-Tropez. Would definitely go back!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    6.7
    The rooms should be inspected regularly for comfort and practicality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room that I stayed in was extremely small and the bathroom even smaller , for my 2 night stay was just acceptable , if I stayed longer I would have complained strongly.

    The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.6
    The first thinhg i consider in a hotel is the attitude if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first thinhg i consider in a hotel is the attitude if the personnel especially the ones at the front desk. After 2 minutes from check in i need not worry about the rest.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.3
    Great location for this price--- in the heart of Renaissance Florencd
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and friendly staff! We asked the staff for recommendations for eating places and the three we went to were delicious. The hotel has a good breakfast for your money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    6.3
    Good location, poor rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our air conditioning unit was broken when we arrived so we did not sleep well - we had to report this three times before we were offered a different room. The rooms are dated.

    The breakfast was excellent; the French woman on reception was very friendly, welcoming and informative.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    6.7
    Clean the bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouldy, slimy tiles in bathroom. If staying out late at night they give you a code to access main door, then help yourself to room key. That's far foo trusting. Breakfast room had too many tables crowded in that couldn't be used because there was no room to pull chair out. Got very crowded with 4 people trying to make coffee/tea as it was all the same machine

    Location was perfect. Very central. Staff were very helpful & polite

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Maxim traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: