Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Maximilian 4 stars

Via Val Di Sogno, 37018 Malcesine, Italy

Review score

Based on 172 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    Would be happy to recommend this property and would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture a bit dated even though it was one of the more newly renovated rooms. Could have offered a complimentary bottled water and ironing amenities. Soap along with hand and body washes. Separate shampoo and conditioner instead of combined shampoo and body wash. Fans in the workout room as it was very warm working out. Fix the jacuzzi and heat the water in the jacuzzi and pool. Offer some advice on the area like the tourist bus that can take you to town as the location is not walking distance and maybe some dining suggestions.

    Loved the traditional European style, quaint, quieter location, beautiful view, nice large room. Nice pool area to lounge by. Sufficient workout facilities which was great as most European hotels don’t offer this. Great breakfast,lots of choices. Fantastic coffee. Great beach bag amenities - nice touch. Very accommodating and helpful with all requests.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. The staff weren’t overly friendly and let the hotel down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with View - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service was non existent which I would expect as standard for a 4 star hotel which cost as much as it did. Breakfast started too late

    Stunning views, spacious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    the best on Garda
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very good and quiet location in the garden direct on the lake. friendly staff. nice and clean rooms with baeutifull wiev. cultivated environment, the best place for relaxed holiday on Garda.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    We had a lovely relaxing and enjoyable holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Not keen on two single duvets on a double bed and a double bed would have been preferred rather than two singles put together.

    The room was spacious, the view was superb, gardens really lovely the ideal place for rest and recoup. Excellent indoor swimming pool (didn't try the outside one). Breakfasts really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    the view from the room, the comfort of the room, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, the temperature of the indoor swimming pool was too cold and we could not enjoy it.

    the view from the room, the comfort of the room, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Ideal luxury accomodation for part of our Italian honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with View - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Marketing sign and photos at entrance to property a little dated

    Excellent Hotel, Great staff always available to help and advise. Far enough outside Malcesine to be peaceful and quiet but close enough to walk in along the promenade in 25min.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    The views and reception staff were nice and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiters were not the best.

    The views and reception staff were nice and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was fantastic. Rooms very spacious and the beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    The view from the room was just amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view from the room was just amazing! Great breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with great views of Lake Garda
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if the cost of dinner was communicated more clearly.

    Breakfast was very nice!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    Beautiful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we were in had amazing views but we were right under the restaurant and the main stairs, so it could be a little noisy

    Beautiful location! Friendly and helpful staff - we had just got engaged a couple of days before we travelled to Lake Garda and my Fiance emailed requesting if something could be done, we had chocolates and rose petals put on my bed. The reception helped us check in for our return home flight and printed our boarding passes. The dinner was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    9.6
    The hotel is like a little piece of heaven, with a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The front desk staff were helpful but not very welcoming; appeared confused by ordinary questions about the nearby attractions.

    The hotel is like a little piece of heaven, with a great view of the lake and palm trees. The rooms are a great size and very clean. Will definitely be coming back to this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    9.6
    Superb location with stunning scenery and views of the lake...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We would have preferred a room further from the bar and reception area. Having said that the noise level was seldom excessive and did not go on beyond 11 o'clock at night.

    Superb location with stunning scenery and views of the lake from our bedroom. Short walk from the very pretty village of Malcesine. Excellent food. The evening meal was restaurant standard and great value for the money. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    6.7
    The room and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi was a problem to start with. Air conditioning - poor. The controls indicated that is was on. The documents in the room state that a/c was only on during June, July and August (my contract stated that a/c was included.) I think it was the fan only and not the a/c that was operating. It certainly compared badly with the other 4 hotels that I stayed in. Overall, I think it was a very expensive hotel and not good value for money. I suppose it's down to supply & demand ! The dining room did not reflect the 4 star rating.

    The room and view. Food was very good value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    6.3
    We had 2 rooms, one old fashioned and one brand new and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast was very poor - sorry!

    We had 2 rooms, one old fashioned and one brand new and very nice, the difference in price is not reflected in the comfort of the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.6
    The bed was very comfortable, although it would have been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very comfortable, although it would have been better to have a double bed than two singles. The view from the room was incredible. Reception and breakfast staff were lovely

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.6
    The location was fantastic and the views of the lake from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was fantastic and the views of the lake from our room were just amazing! We upgraded to the superior suite which was really worth it, The staff were very friendly,just wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    Charming, helpful staff nothing too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sorry that the mentality of possession by towel on the sun loungers crept in during our stay.

    Charming, helpful staff nothing too much trouble. Proximity to the lake made swimming easy. My second visit only served to reinforce my high opinion of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.6
    great location with Fabulous view, just one min from a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great location with Fabulous view, just one min from a supermarket and a shop with bags Souvenirs ect. located very clouse to the main road, you open the window and the lake is there. very relaxing. nice people running the place

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    5.0
    The view from our room was amazing, the room was clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Many of the facilities were closed and on booking there was no mention of it. Closed facilities included the spa, pool and whirlpool - all of which were part of our decisions in staying here. Needless to say we were very disappointed. Our safe did not have a key, the hotel guide was at least a decade old and constantly referred to things that didn't seem to exist or make sense, and at breakfast the man in charge only offered eggs cooked however you liked to around 30% of tables - needless to say we were not part of this 30% and nor was it advertised that we could ask for them. The hotel guide says that staff will happily organise things for you, however when we asked about a couple of activities, the woman at the desk just googled our question, told us we should walk about 4km to the activities and did not want to organise anything for us at all. Later we found out we could have caught a bus directly from the hotel. The hotel has a lot of potential, however it let us down on so many fronts.

    The view from our room was amazing, the room was clean and well sized.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    10
    The position was of the hotel was second to none.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You could hear what was going on in the next room.

    The position was of the hotel was second to none. Foo had floor to ceiling sliding doors leading to a balcony overlooking the lake. Staff extremely friendly.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    7.1
    Spacious rooms, nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Would benefit from being more welcoming to their guests, mainly staff at breakfast room.

    Spacious rooms, nice location.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    10
    The hotel staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel staff was excellent. The location while a bit off the main road, was really nice. Wonderful restaurant. Definitely a first class stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    hotel position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hotel position

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.1
    Lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dictatorial staff

    Lovely views

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    7.5
    Nice location, mostly adults residents.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice location, mostly adults residents.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    9.2
    Food was very good and quite reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Food was very good and quite reasonable Staff were friendly and helpful The terrace off our room was spectacular

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.2
    All of it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no tea making facilities in the room

    All of it

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    8.3
    great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great hotel

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    8.8
    Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No price on dinner menu. Bar menu for drinks was very different from what we were given on check out.

    Views

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: