Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Medici 3 stars

Via Flavia 96, Via Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy

#503 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1540 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice neighborhood. Nice Hotel

    Hotel in a quiet corner and in a strategic position to move between city center and the central terminology station. I will come back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area where breakfast is served was small and very warm. Constantly bumping into people when getting breakfast. Would imagine it would get very congested at peak of season.

    Really great location and value for money. Plenty of places to eat locally

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The king bed was comfortable. The small beds not so comfortable. The bathroom shower is ridiculous. The half door has got to go. Water water everywhere!!! No vanity to put anything. Hairdryer horrible.

    The A/C in the room worked great!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning did not cool the room and we had to leave windows open. There was quite a bit of noise from the local merchants. This is our only complaint.

    The hotel is elegant. Furnishings lovely. Back sitting area was pretty. Restaurants directly outside and in the neighborhood. Front desk arranged a Rome tour for our family.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in the single room was very cramped with not much space between the toilet and sink. The shower doors do not open fully so you need to squeeze through a small opening. I am not overweight - if someone is large they may have problems getting in! The breakfast room was a bit claustrophobic with no windows. Fresh tomatoes and cucumbers would have been welcomed.

    Very good reception and bar staff. Friendly and polite cleaning staff. Pleasant outside cafe area. Nice quiet are within easy access of metro stations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Around the corner from some of the best restaurants in Rome, the hotel Medici provides clean and basic accommodation. The room was simple but it more than meets the needs of a traveler who is outside most of the day. The citys best Gelato café is behind the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are bit uncomfortable. Blankets should be upgraded.

    Very nice staffs (Special thanks for lending us umbrellas and letting us use their printer :-)) Location is close to termini and easy to go to everywhere. Many restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is not a 3 star facility. it is at the best, a bed and break fast place. Not even a microwave woven in the hotel. No tea /coffee machines are sachets in the room. All the regular drinking water has to be bought here. A/C did not work in the room for 3 FULL days. No repairs done. Not very effective communication from the front desk. They did some lip service, but did not solve the problem.

    Room is cozy. Beds are comfortable. Break fast items are good. Location is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hi i just found your room key in my pocket. Will return to Rome on 17th I'll come give it! I also forgot my book in the bathroom. Pls keep safe. Anne's House of Dreams by L.M. Montgomery. I'll come get it when o come return the key. Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we had to move rooms late at night due to a problem with the toilet, but I accept these things can happen. A bit more choice at breakfast would have been better.

    A good value, clean, comfortable and well located hotel with attentive and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel Medici is full of old-world charm that is lovingly updated so everything works perfectly. The staff is wonderful - helpful and friendly. The room is super clean, the bed is firm, and there is a small refrigerator and safe in the room. Breakfast is better than expected and the location is great. Before we came to the hotel we visited a friend - a retired ambassador. We complained about "tourist food" in the old city. He told us the "Bangladeshis have taken over" many restaurants in the city center. Fortunately Hotel Medici is far enough away so food choices are authentic and excellent The pizza place just outside the main hotel door is packed with locals and offers many choices. A Sicilian restaurant around the corner offers an all-you-can-eat buffet plus drink (alcoholic or non) for only ten euros. A pharmacy is next door and down the block is a co-op supermarket with any food you want. A bookstore around the corner has a wide selection of English-language books. And transportation to city center is a only block away and takes around 10-15 minutes. Bus 60 takes you to the Forum, 61 to Villa Borghese and 62 to the Spanish steps. We were lucky. We found a great place to stay at a great location. Hope you enjoy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much a bit of a walk to the nearest train but you know you have walking to do in Rome

    The rooms were small but clean, the breakfast was an array of pastries, bread which were always fresh & warm cereals & fruit if you fancied instead,staff were helpful value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found hair in the bathroom, hair in the bed, the door frame was broke, and the bathroom was so tiny. Overall room needs complete redecoration.

    Friendly staff, convenient location, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was our first visit in Rome and Medici hotel - our temporary "home" there. Perfect location - quite silent place and all most popular places in walking distance. Staff - friendly and ready to solve any issue. It was nice to return after long walking to a clean room. Breakfast - standard, not very variable, but in general good. We thank people from Medici hotel for good work and recommend this place to other tourists.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel needs updating and bringing into this century. The linen, curtains and furniture in the room is dark and dingey. Need a refurbishment. Also the keychain is far too heavy! Invest in keycards! The elevator is terrifying and there are toomany flights of stairs to walk up. However the beds are really comfy, and the breakfast was just a standard continental European breakfast; nothing special.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the breakfast was ok but they didn't like when we try to invite people to our table. And were not very happy to help us with cleaning my daughter bottle.

    People in the reception were very nice and helpful. The location is great. very close to park

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could have been cleaner. There was a bit of mould in the shower and the shower doors would not close.

    Central location, cosy room, polite staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit too old and probably wouldn’t stay there for a longer trip.

    Good location, reasonable price for a quick trip. They let us check in earlier, which was great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff seemed at best unfriendly, at worst somewhat rude. They rarely went out of their way to help us or speak to us. At one point we asked if we could have a coffee at the bar and the gentleman on the desk said fine and that he would be with us in a minute. We waited over half an hour before we gave up and left. We also found that the way the doors opened in the room (toilet door and main door) clashed so when you needed to go to the toilet you had to open the door onto yourself and then squeeze up against the wall to get past. It seemed a bit silly. Finally, a few times the WIFI dropped out for over an hour, and also at one point the lift broke down.

    The location of this hotel is excellent, as it is only a few minutes from Termini. It also has some really good restaurants within walking distance. The decor is quite elegant and the rooms were spacious. They also put on quite a good breakfast spread - the cornetti were great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    we have asking for coffe and tea facility but they refused and then we asking for katel to make hot water but they refused without any reason some two star hotel offer coffe and tea facility this was very bad

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I have stayed here a good number of times and love staying here as I always find it comfortable and with very friendly and helpful staff. Adriano at the front desk showed unlimited patience in helping me when I had technical problems with getting my boarding pass and was near despair. What a star! The room was very comfortable with a lovely bathroom. Good breakfast. Nice location and an easy 10 minutes walk from Termini railway station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very basic breakfast- not much to eat, old facilitiy , small room for family, some rude staff, no hot drink water facility in room, Not a good value for money, Far from station and taxi cost is high in Rome.

    Some kind staff not all. Little bit cheaper in rome but has reason. Room is clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is not worried to help. Hotel made a mess with my wife’s booking and overcharged her . This is still unresolved and we will follow up with Booking.com Bathroom is too small.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is really small, the furniture outdated and worn and the walls really thin. We could hear the person from the other room talking. Also tv was small and blurry. Check out is at 10; most hotels i ve been is at 12.

    The room was clean. Breakfast was ok. Location is good..2,5-3km walking to the city center

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    the staff was supernice. the breakfast buffet and the staff there was also excellent. the room were nice, the beds big and comfortable. the location was great. 18 min by foot to trevi fountain and 25 min to the colosseum.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good location, clean rooms, remodeled bathroom. Nice old Roman feel to it, full service breakfast with very attentive staff. Front desk service very helpful in making arrangements, reservations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms very small.The towels in the bathroom old and worn out. Bed sheets clean,but the most disgusting was the synthetic blanket instead of duvet, and was not put in a cover sheet. Breakfast nothing special, just to say that it has.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise during breakfast when a servant cleaned the tables (a bull in a china).

    Part of the StuffIt is communicative and they are all helpful and friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did no benefit from tea / coffee making facilities. That said maybe I did not check to see if this was standard at this hotel , prior to booking.

    Continental breakfast was a good variety of sweet and savoury foods . Along with a variety of coffees and juices

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic that the breakfast was included in the price but the selection was a little limited. If you are using public transport I would also recommend downloading full directions as the hotel is a little walk from the nearest Metro.

    The quadruple room was very spacious for a family with two teenagers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was a bit snotty and impatient with tourist questions.

    Comfortable and clean. Location is OK if you are prepared to walk a bit to the city center. Good restaurants right across the street. Quiet at night- not in the liveliest of locations. This is fine for family, maybe not if you are looking to go out at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing to be honest. The whole package was fine.

    The hotel is good value for money. The breakfast is basic, however it was included in the rate we booked at so no complaints. The staff in the whole hotel were very friendly and absolutely lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower

    The place was great. The hot water in the shower did not have any power, it dribbled. It was centrally located and near the train station. The people at the desk were helpful. I would recommend it. It does have an elevator (small) but big enough for a w/c.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have more variety and better quality of cold cuts!

    The location is great! Very close to Metro station Republicca and Termini (train & bus station). The hotel is located at Via Flavia which is very quiet in general, as it is the whole area surrounding the hotel. The stuff was nice and helpful. The single bed room was well cleaned, small, but fine. On contrary, the bathroom was nice, even spacious, and I liked it very much.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice for breakfast, provided different alternatives although good was somehow limited.

    The staff was helpful. It can be easily accessed by public transportation, taxi or walking. The area was quite even though there were restaurants and little shops around. There were two excellent gelato shops very close by as well as nice restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful with me talking in English and helping me park my car (someone comes and takes it and you tell them what time to return it) thank you

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was very poor, needs more variety. So I do recommend this hotel but it's not worth paying for breakfast.

    The hotel is in a good location, in a quiet street that makes you feel local. A couple of nice restaurants nearby. The room was cozy and an adequate size. The bed and bathroom were pretty comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful breakfast, no eggs, no veggies; only bakery, pork and some cheese. Air con in the room was very old and noisy. The bed was quite uncomfortable, actually it was not double bed, but two single beds adjecent to each other. Therefore, the middle of the bed bended downwords.

    Room size is good, bath is also big.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing I would have improved

    We have visited the Hotel Medici previously and have found it to be excellent. The staff are friendly and very helpful, the breakfast is very good and it is near to most of the sites and also to the Termini.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pasteries were nice at breakfast , very friendly staff , location was amazing!! (Very peacful neighbourhood really close to the center and to termini )

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was pretty standard. Continental with same fruit and pastries everyday. Could do with a bit more variety. No kettle and hot drink making facilities in the room. The AC wasn't working so a portable cooler was placed which did the job but was quite noisy.

    The location was great. Could walk everywhere. The room was cleaned very well everyday There's a lovely pizza shop just outside the hotel which served delicious pizza. Convenience stores within walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the fridge in the room could be on permanently and tea making facilities in the room would have been great.

    The Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was great, and the air conditioning worked as you would expect, especially since it was so hot out. The breakfast was ideal. I couldn't have expected any more and was great value for the money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom wasn't clean when we got there. The hot water took forever to get no matter what time of day. I felt bad running the water for so long in a drought. The shower was tiny and as a bigger person, I could barely get in (I guess when you get a "small double" you also get a tiny, not modern bathroom). We had two rooms, the triple had a more modern bathroom.

    It was barely an ok place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit further away from Station than we'd hoped. Hotel couldn't provi're us with an iron, only laundry service.

    Spacious room with lovely high ceilings, lovely older type building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is the most valuablel for my trip, which meets the 3 star standard, breakfast is very good . In short, all the facilities of the hotel are valuablel the standard.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning did not work sometimes. Bath tap came apart. Hairdryer hose came apart. Some staff seemed rather impatient when handling complaint.

    Breakfasts were good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower in my room was rather slow to respond temperature-wise

    Good location - not too far from central station and the tour bus stops. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no iron available due to safety issue so there were some clothes I had packed but could not wear. They need to provide a safe ironing area somewhere in the hotel like other hotels do.

    20 minutes walk to the main shopping area. 15 minute walk to the main train station Termini The bed was very comfortable Lots of great restaurants near by to eat at

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible customer service. The reception and breakfast buffet staff were all incredibly rude and could not speak English. Very unprofessional! The facility's outlined in their description was false. They did not provide a washing machine or bike hire as stated. When we first arrived we booked a double (larger room) then when sent to our room we had 3 single beds. Room was dusty and unclean. The breakfast was full of sweet sugar coated pastrys and terrible drinks. Too many sweet things!

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge was not exactly cold so was pointless putting your own drink in it. There was an ant that crawled onto my plate during breakfast so no idea where it came from.

    The price speaks for itself. Very good value for money. Walk to bus stop is 10-15 minutes but not difficult to navigate to. We only spent 2 nights at this hotel so couldn't explore around much for nearby restaurants but the cocktail bar out front is relaxing and sociable. Great hotel if you're in Rome for a few nights and on a budget.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is very comfortable. Location is great. Nice pizza shops and ice creams shops are close. Breakfast was alright. Bus stops to centre very close. Wè really enjoyed with my girlfriend

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was just avarage. The stuff didn't allow any guest to enter, even in the middle of the day! Also they claimed just "pre-authorized" the cost of the first night from my credit card, but my card showed the money had been already taken away. Nonetheless, when I checked out they told me to pay the entire cost of my stay, and some days later already, I don't see the so-called "pre-authorized" money being back in my credit card.

    location is ok, in a quiet side streer not far from Termini station and piazza della repubblica. Some restaurants nearby seem nice but I didn't try. Room was clean and with modern bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Description, photos and reviews were spot on: knew just what to expect before arrival. Staff were friendly. Location was reasonably good: some attractions in walking distance, others easily accessible by local bus from a stop close by (thanks to another guest for recommending us the ProBus Rome app: great help if trying to get around Rome by bus). Breakfast is more than adequate if you're not expecting hot food. Off the major road and fairly quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff indifferent except for one elderly gentleman who was quite helpful. Away from most sight seeing places. Average breakfast and wifi is bad.

    Basic hotel with average facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not rich choice for the breakfast (just sweets and a little cheese and ham, no eggs and vegetables). They didn't have rest from 500€. Nobody helped me to take my luggage in hotel. Some man from hotel was just staying and watching how I'm taking my luggage by myself.

    It was quite at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Soundproofing could be a bit better, you can hear people from the next room if they have a bit louder voices (or a child yelling/screaming). No noise from the outside though if you sleep with the window closed. Slow and small elevator, if you´re travelling with big suitcases and in a large group you´ll need to take a few trips. So we normally used the stairs, it´s a good exercise too.

    The hotel is located on a quiet street but still close to local bus stop (number 62 will take you to Vatican and the city center if you want to. Just buy the tickets from the tobacco shop near the bus stop) and a short walk to Termini station. The staff in the hotel was really helpful and they were able to help us in all questions we had. We stayed in a triple room on the third floor facing the side street. The space in the room was enough for us, I think that I was even expecting a smaller room :) Also I liked the large bathroom and we even had a bathtub. Air conditioning was great, Rome is a really hot city in June. Wifi worked well in the room too. The breakfast was yoghurt, cereals and juice or tea/coffee selection from a machine, different kinds of white breads and breadrolls with cheese, ham and marmalade. Also a couple of "dolci" (sweet cakes) were available. Gluten-free bread and cookies were available on request, a huge thanks for that! I could even say that the breakfast was even a bit above the normal standard for this part of Europe. If you are prepared to walk a bit more (like 1,5km-2km) to the major tourist sites and prefer a quiet neighbourhood (at least during working days, we stayed tue-fri) this is a good choice. And I do recommend the two gelato bars right in the closest streets! The best ice creams in the city! One is right around the corner and another in the next block. Supergood. Truly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could've gotten a much better hotel for the price! Some good staff other terrible, wifi unusable, breakfast terrible as well (basic can't even be used to describe it). Over all don't stay here find somewhere else for the same amount of money or a bit more for a much better stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is a typical continental buffet with breads, cereals and pastries. The basement is a bit depressing, there's nothing wrong with it and they've done their best with the space available but if you want a nice space where you can take your time over your coffee, it is a bit of a disappointment. It's just functional so you basically just want to eat and go. Coffee is provided by self-serve machines though I think a few guests requested proper cappuccinos/espressos and were accommodated. I saw one of the servers, make a few coffees upstairs and bring them downstairs to the basement.

    Travelling with two children (7 & 8 yrs), the room was perfect. Very large for a European capital and we each had our own beds (large double for parents), which was a bonus as not having the kids share a sofa bed makes bedtime much easier. Each bed also had its own nightstand and light which was useful. There was also space for the kids to play while they waited for the grown ups to get ready. The air conditioner was much needed in June. It wasn't too noisy either which was perfect for night time. We also had a bathtub - again, another bonus, especially for the kids who needed a good soak after a hot, sweaty day of urban sight-seeing. The shower was a bit low, as other guests have mentioned, but manageable. There's a wall hairdryer which I didn't use so couldn't say if it was good or not. There's a lift! The hotel is in a nice residential/business area, 10 min walk to Termini and 10 min walk to Bernini Square (metro to the Vatican). There's a minibar in the room for keeping water cool and a shop for supplies just around the corner. The Gelateria that is mentioned in various reviews is as good as they say, probably the best Gelato! The server was very patient/kind - going through all the flavours (they change monthly) for us and offering samples. Though the hotel is not located in the heart of the city centre, it was quite nice to get back to a relaxed and quieter part of town after a full day of sight-seeing. On departure, we booked an airport shuttle via the hotel, it was a Mercedes limousine (not a minibus) and was 48€ for the car. An uber to the airport runs closer to 60€. All Ubers in Rome are the black Mercedes limousines and a bit more expensive than the official white taxis. Our uber driver, on the previous night (from Vatican to hotel) told us that the hotel rate was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-Fi was not great in our room, it kept dropping in and out and resorted in us using our 4G.

    Excellent budget accommodation with a great location and hospitable staff. Pleasantly surprised by the size of the bed in the small double room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    - The front desk staff could be more welcoming, friendly and smiley - Breakfast was quite poor for the price - It's a bit far from tourist attractions for walking, but accessible by public transport - Wifi was weak and disconecting sometimes

    + Very good air conditioning + Room with a safe box + Quiet area + 5 min from Termini station by bus

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    bigger bed bigger shower

    The bed was too small as was the shower. There were no eggs for breakfast. The front desk was very helpful with directions and they spoke very good English. I would go back there and tell friends how good it was.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was adequate but not varied and at busy times, breads and pastries needed to be replenished sooner than they were. Small containers for milk would have been helpful for drinks rather than people having to use the one large jug that was for cereals.

    The room was pleasant with comfy bed and clean but could have done with a set of drawers and more hangers in the wardrobe.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The room was a good size and recently refurbished I think and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. I have stayed there quite a few times as I think that for Rome it is very good value and in an excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning needs improvement. It should be done also under beds. Hotel needs painting and some refreshment.

    Hotel with an elevator. Great pizzeria and gelateria just around a corner. Close to Termini. Quiet rooms with a safe. I am pretty glad I have chosen this hotel and most probably will return. This hotel is situated close to Termini but not too close. It is an area full of banks and government institutions what make it very safe and not too noisy at night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast could and should be avoided, food quality is poor and variety is low. Coffee is literally horrendous. Basically, if breakfast is offered in Italy, you better no dissapoint the customer !

    Room was nice and clean. Front (consierge) desk very helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have been in this hotel, 3 times, and i recommended to my family for this visit. We had made a reservation, and a week before the prices went down, we did not get a refund or a break in the price, and got the worst rooms in the hotel, noisy, small, probably because we had asked for a discount. the hotel was not full, and they still would not change us. I will not go again, and I will think again about doing reservations with Booking since I was very dissatisfied. Maria Maria

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good value 3-star hotel. Easy walking distance of Termini, Piazza di Spagna, Piazza Navona etc. Very quiet street. Excellent gelateria just round corner and many good ristorante and cafes nearby. Simple continental breakfast provided if you want it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and busy street in front of hotel. Need to walk and brought our luggages around 300m to get the hotel.

    Good location! Numbers of food options nearby, all delicious too!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was charged 1,5 euro for a coffee in the evening by one of the guys from the reception and 2 days later there was another guy that said the coffee is free anytime we ask for it. Maybe it was a misunderstanding

    great location, excelent breakfast, clean room, 10 minutes walking from Termini

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having breakfast included is always a nice touch and walking distance from Termini, the train station, was extremely helpful. Very nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was predominantly pastries. I would recommend greater variety of products for sandwiches and a toaster.

    Location of the hotel was great! Close to main attractions and quite. The reastaurant just opposite the hotel is very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the two cockroaches in the bathroom, have even take a photo of them, happily running in the tube. I know, that the hotel is not an expensive one, but I am sure, that cleanliness is one of the most important thing in any hotel, regardless of it's stars.

    I liked evertything, except the two cockroaches in the bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We changed rooms 5 times over our 3 night stay. Having requested a double bed we expected an actual big bed. No such luck, four out of the 5 rooms had two twin beds stuck together. Our first night was awful, the mattresses are very firm and I inevitably slept in the crack between the two. The room was noisy. Next morning we complained and were given keys to another room. However we failed to check that we were given a big bed, it was midnight when we discovered that there were two twin beds in that room as well! And in the next and in the next... the receptionists were kind but had in fact no idea of what kind of beds were in each room so we made our way across every floor... We finally got a proper bed but in a much smaller room. Breakfast is OK. I was pleasantly surprised that the hotel did provide vegetable milk alternatives.

    The hotel was located in a sweet area of Rome. Staff was friendly. Water pressure was excellent and the rooms were clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not that comfy,no soundproof you can hear even the neighbor's snoring, breakfast is disappointing.

    Great location,friendly environment,excellent service, clean. Restaurants nearby to get dinner.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bad smell on the entire 2nd floor, especially in our room. Otherwise great location, good breakfast and definitely your money's worth.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Medici traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: