Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mediterranée 4 stars

Via Circonvallazione 61, 98039 Taormina, Italy

#61 of 71 hotels in Taormina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 720 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    5.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a central cooling system and the noise of the central air condition was really very high. We could not sleep. So despite the all good things (view, staff,,etc) the most important one (sleeping) was very bad

    The staff was wonderful, the room was clean very beautiful. The view was excellent!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic location, 5 mins from the Main Street,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Absolutely fantastic location, 5 mins from the Main Street, excellent pool, clean comfy rooms, good breakfast, overall excellent! Whole heartedly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    An excellent start to our tour of Sicily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little dated and shower needs an upgrade.

    The views from the room balcony and the hotel pool of the sea and Mount Etna were beautiful.The town is easily accessed down a few steps.,The hotel staff speak excellent English and are extremely helpful in an emergency.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Stunning location, stunning views and extremely nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet had slices of cheese on the same plate as ham and other cold meats. As we are vegetarian it is very off putting to encounter this practice. This is not unique to this hotel, it happens in a lot of places.

    The pool on the roof had a most splendid view. The aspect of this hotel which made it special was the unfailing courtesy of the reception staff, it made no difference who was on duty, each one of them was always helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable enough for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooling was not sufficient and the hotel was very dated and old. There were a lot of rules! We couldnt leave our own drinks in the mini bar as they would be taken away. The hairdryer had to be requested from reception.

    The views were amazing from our room! Parking available was such a bonus in taormina.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing views and spacious room and balcony. The access to the beach at the sister hotel is a great benefit. Also the hotels swimming pool is gorgeous and has a great view of the coast! We had dinner one night in the hotel's restaurant and we were pleasantly surprised. It was delicious and at great prices! We checked out early morning and they offered to prepare take away breakfast for us. We didn't take it but we really appreciated the gesture and the fact that they went out of their way to make us happy! Totally recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Perfectly situated hotel with great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool could stay open later, especially with hot nights.

    Everything was great! Small boutique hotel, great staff and location! TOTALLY accommodating to ALL our requests, no matter how small or large, pleasure to deal with.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Great view, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view, great location. The Main Street is a very short walk. The Staff were awesome, we asked for dinner recommendations every night and were never disappointed. They have a sister hotel on the beach so you can park there for free and use their beach or use their shuttle. Pool is very relaxing with a view. On site parking, although it is 10€ a day, it’s worth it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location, fab views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not up to much, no variety.

    The pool with a view was beautiful. The bed was comfy and it was lovely and quiet at night time. The view from our large balcony was superb too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location, a short walk from all the restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was a bit hard which is a shame as this is the only negative about our stay.

    Fantastic location, a short walk from all the restaurants and bars in Corso Umberto. The view from the balcony was absolutely stunning! Staff were all very friendly and I felt it was great value for money considering how great the location is.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Very friendly run hotel. The views from our room were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom drains were terribly smelly! the tiny shower! I'm a small person & could hardly shower, I would hate to think of what it is like for someone bigger. No where to put toiletries. No internet in rooms, only in common areas.

    As I am lactose intolerant, & they obliged with almond milk the next day. The view from our room was amazing! The cleaning staff were very attentive. Pool was great. Short walk to the main street. Lots of eateries.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Specatacular views with ordinary rooms and good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom had a stange smell of trapped gas in the gutter. Single small lift can take only 3 people and almost no bags.

    Definitely pay a litle extra to get the rooms with a view which is spectacular. That made up for the oldish rooms and furniture. Staff were nice. A short downhill walk to the main pedestrian street, but please be mindful that is it a bit uphill on the way back, but definitely manageable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Quiet and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bedroom and shower room were on the small side and felt a little austere. The terrace lacked privacy. Breakfast was adequate but could be fresher - fruit juice in particular.

    Step out on to the terrace or go up to the pool area and the views are astounding. Location is good, within 5-10 mins walk of the main street. Reception staff were always friendly and helpful. All the areas of the hotel were kept clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.8
    We were looking forward to a couple of comfortable days in Taormina but were disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is advertised as a 4*, however, the facilities are in need of serious modernisation, the bathroom in particular; the lack of internet connectivity in the rooms is also not in line with current expectations. A pity because the location of the property is very good and the staff courteous and helpful.

    The view was absolutely amazing and the terraces spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    2.9
    Terrible place - strongly not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The receptionists are dangerous and travelers should be extremely cautious, especially women - they harassed our daughter (young adult) twice, which is absolutely unacceptable. The staff of this hotel has no respect for the guests (forgetting that they actually pay money to stay there), they behave in a rude and aggressive way providing tourists only with a very bad atmosphere and experience. Overall, this hotel has really nothing to offer: it is misleadingly ranked as a 4* amenity when its services and infrastructure do not even meet the criteria for a 2*. It is totally run down, dirty and the quality and variety of the food is lowest possible.

    The village is pretty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    The location and view from this hotel were exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and view from this hotel were exceptional. The staff were extremely thorough when checking in with explaining absolutely everything about the facilities and surrounding area and making sure our luggage got from the taxi to our room without us having to lift a finger. The staff again made sure our stay was very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. Room was comfortable and clean and as for the sea view and balcony it was second to none. Very impressed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    over all we had a very pleasant stay, came home happy and relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very small shower cubicle that really needed modernizing.

    Fantastic view from our room, very helpful staff, a basic room but a very nice large balcony over looking the sea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is disappointing with little choice or variation. Dinner menu is limited and over priced forcing you to eat out every evening. Only plastic chairs with no cushions to sit on outdoors.

    Views from the seaview rooms are stunning. Room was cleaned and refurbished.Mini bar in room well stocked and well prived. Quiet location 5 minutes walk from the centre. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    2.5
    Worst hotel experience ever - dangerous staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel offered the worst experience my family and I have ever encountered: from extremely rude and aggressive reception staff to very poor general conditions for a hotel labeled 4* - all amenities are very old and run down, breakfast is very poor and low quality, rooms are dirty. But worst of all, I was threatened and was on the edge of calling the police due to the reception staff: We asked for blankets since they were not provided in the room, we received them, and one day later they disappeared from the room. Therefore, I had to ask again at the reception, and when I expressed my disagreement by simply shaking my head, both receptionists started to loudly scream at me, calling me "weird" and "crazy", telling me to "shut up and go to sleep because it's late for me". Moreover, the reception is not permanently staffed and anybody can take any room keys they want, and the receptionists were highly irritated because I refused to give them the room key when leaving the hotel. Overall, I still cannot believe I had to pay money to be treated like this and how this can be called customer service.

    Taormina is a pretty place worth seeing and also serving as a good starting point to explore the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, great location - would recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner was not taken with the breakfast and would’ve preferred a hot option. I however really enjoyed the continental! The beach was around 40 mins walking however there is the option of taking the cable car for only €3, and the hotel staff did reccoment a trip to the sister hotel whereby you get transportation both ways and a sun bed on the beach for only €6!

    The bed was very comfortable and our balcony/terrace was amazing! Very huge and looked out over the sea with a beautiful view of mount Etna and the cascading town. The pool was very big and again - had a beautiful view! The roof at the top was a lovely place to relax and watch the sunset. The hotel is situated in a great location - a few minutes walk from the main strip of restaurants and bars but just enough out so that felt very peaceful and quiet! Staff were very friendly and efficient, we absolutely loved our stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel, in a delightful town. The beech at Isla Bella was stunningly beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was wonderful, we had a large balcony over looking the bay and mount etna. The manager was a lovely man and so were all the staff. The drive way up to the hotel was very steep and the manager drove my car up there for me! The pool and roof top terrace were amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    3.3
    Not a real 4-star hotel! Better choose another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is dated and desperately needs a refurbishment. Breakfast limited: one kind of bread rolls, no warm dishes (like scrambled eggs or sausages). The leaky window in our room was fixed upon our request. Unfortunately, my notice about fungous pipes fell on deaf ears (check the photos below). The receptionist just made a face and said something to his colleague in Italian, which is so unprofessional. The fungous pipes and the rudeness of the receptionist should not happen at the 4-star hotel! The problem wasn't fixed, therefore on the same day I contacted the booking.com and sent them an e-mail with these photos. The booking.com called them but the hotel did nothing even though we stayed there for 3 nights! The hotel rejected our complaint claiming that they didn't know about the problem. It is an absurd as I do have a confirmation of the e-mail I sent. I am shocked that something like this could happen at the 4-star hotel. I have never experienced something like that in my life. Better stay somewhere else.

    There is a beautiful view from the terrace. The porter and the waiters at the breakfast are nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable place to stay, about 10 minute walk down to main street of town, excellent views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower space was small. Some areas in the hallways were in need of patching up or painting.

    The view was great, especially from the terrace used for breakfast. Staff were very attentive to our requests. Breakfast selections were plentiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an older hotel so the rooms and the bathrooms are small, but clean. Wi-Fi is only available in the lobby. Entrance to the hotel has a steep incline from the street to the entrance which is the case for many hotels in that area since they are built into the hills.

    The breakfast each morning was absolutely excellent - Fresh fruit, cold cuts, fresh tomatoes and cucumbers, cheeses, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, pastries, etc. The coffee was especially good! Breakfast was on the veranda or in the restaurant overlooking the town and the sea coast! Hotel is built into the hills and has some beautiful views including Mt. Etna. The staff at the hotel is excellent - very very helpful and accommodating! Their English is also very good. They really go out of their way to do anything they can to make your stay a great experience! Salvo was especially accommodating going out of his way to help us try to locate our lost cell phone. Our room had a huge veranda outside overlooking the countryside. Great relaxing, European atmosphere also an especially good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    It is a lovely looking hotel, great location and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fair compared to the other hotels we stayed at. The air conditioning does not work and we could not keep the doors open because the bugs were terrible. The television was tiny and old, and the volume is controlled and you could not hear it.

    It is a lovely looking hotel, great location and the staff was superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Can't Wait to Go Back
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like. It just left us with beautiful memories of Sicily.

    The staff was chivalrous, knowledgeable, so professional and just plain kind. The views and balcony off our rooms were breathtaking. We had some special circumstances and they took care of us like family. Who does that anymore?

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Great views of Etna and the bay, great staff, very clean hotel although a bit dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is a bit dated and could do with some modernisation. The breakfast choice was the same each day and wasn't particularly exciting.

    The sea views were fantastic and the staff were great. The location is ideal in relation to the Corsa Umberto.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not even close to being 4star. Out dated decor is an understatement , no wifi in rooms , bathroom was terrible and breakfast wasn't great . Toilet only flushed occasionally and the tv was an old box type that didn't work properly . Wouldn't normally complain but I felt it had to be said.

    Location and great views with helpful friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Thank You!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautiful view of the sea. It seemed a mile high from our room. Very nice balcony with chairs and table. The staff was accommodating, providing assistance for special request. Parking was on property and in view. Lots of walking to get down the center of town, stores, restaurants and entertainment. But that's Sicily/Italy. The charm of the coastal towns stacked on mountain sides provides that special experience. So Love it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    3.8
    staff was nice, but i would not stay again.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel had the television turned down so low that there was no sound....the beds were very uncomfortable and a bad odor from bathroom....

    it was a great view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.3
    Enjoyable with some disappointments including having to pay for parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged e70 for parking. This seemed excessive to us considering our bill was over e800 before the parking. The air conditioning in the room didnt seem to make a difference to the temperature of the room. The room was very warm at night. On the first morning we wanted to sit outside for breakfast, I had stayed in the hotel previously and sat out for breakfast everyday. The waiter didn't want us to sit outside but didn't explain why not. When we choose to sit outside he kept closing the door to the balcony whixh we weren't ablw to open from the outside. On reflection it was a windy day and that was the reason but he did not explain this to us.

    The pool on the roof was pretty. The balcony off our room had a great view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful place . Excellent value for money , the staff are a real asset . Will return .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe shower room could be updated .

    Amazing staff ; friendly, Very hejpful and efficient Great manager Stunning views Great layout . Rooftop pool a dream Excellent food / service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely Taormina , amazing views , helpful friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parasols on balcony , more comfy seating area on bar balcony , breakfast pretty boring .

    Loved the amazing views , the little streets leading down to main town area , bus stop outside for lovely castlemola , lovely pool area .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    Amazing views, close to piazza, helpful and accommodating staff, nice rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The a/c isn't that cool. We were a little warm. But we asked for a fan and quickly came with it for us . We slept with the window open and the fan and it worked out well. Our TV didn't work but we weren't so concerned about it. We didn't actually try to see why it wasn't working or called to let them know so I cant hold it against them. Even so neither of the 2 would stop me from staying there again as all the rest was great

    The views from here were incredible!!! It is high on the mountain so you really get a great view, but not so high if you have to walk down to the piazza. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The balcony is a shared one but they have pots of flowers separating each. We had 3 rooms so we were all next to each other. There were others on our floor, but it wasn't an issue that we were all on the same balcony. The staff were very friendly, spoke some English, accommodating and helpful. You never had to wait if you asked for something or had a problem. They came right away to take care of it for you. They have a laundry service which we took advantage of and they brought your things back the next day, packaged up nicely. Was fairly priced. The breakfast was good with traditional Sicilian foods. You could get room service as well. Also fairly priced! The pool was really great too. the grounds at the pool were so pretty and gave you views of Mount Etna and the sea as well. Enclosed by trees and little path ways. You could also get bar service to the pool too. Worth it pricewise and view wise. Breathtaking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Great staff & location -Needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It really needs some cosmetic refurbishments , with mismatching furniture from different centuries and very old bathroom suits there is room for improvement .

    The staff and the location was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    I will be back to stay at the well located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was my second stay at this hotel. The first time the shuttle to the beach was free, this time we had to pay. It would have been nice for that to have been on the reservation.

    The rooms with a terrace ocean view are fabulous. The terrace is huge and the views are amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    We had a really great time , this is a traditional Italian style hotel, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a bit more varied

    Good location with fantastic views of Mount Etna and the sea Nice room service with fresh towels / sheets every other day Friendly helpful, nothing too much trouble Great pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location but needs a bit of upgrading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Bar facility was poor for a 4 star hotel, shutting at 11pm every night. Breakfast was boring, same things with little choice for 14 days. Beach facility was too far away, with little choice of amenities once there.

    Bedroom terrace was excellent, with views to match. Pool was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    loved Taormina beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Nothing

    Beautiful location helpful staff excellent continental breakfast large swimming pool 300 metres from Cotso Umberto for restaurants and shopping views across the bay from bedroom with balcony

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.0
    happy it lies good in the town so you dont have to stay in much.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    To expensive. 4 Stars never ever, perhaps back in the 70ties but now not any more. Poor breakfast for a 4 star hotel and 170 € per night.

    The stuff was mostly nice and it has a nice view and an nice pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    It was a very relaxing stay the hotel's amenities wonderful the staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can honestly say there was nothing I found everything to be as it should down to the rooms to the lovely pool.

    The rooms were very comfortable there was plenty of storage space. Showers were good with toiletries provided. Beds also comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Great location, fantastic views traditional Italian resort hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There were no problems at all with this hotel during the week that we stayed.

    The hotel was very near the centre of Taormina but in a quiet, elevated position with spectacular views. There was a bus stop right outside for the local bus. The hotel operates a shuttle to its sister property which has a lovely private beach. The pool at the hotel is quiet with plenty of loungers and a view over the bay. The staff were friendly and professional and had a good level of fluency in English. They were helpful with directions and suggestions. There was a good selection of food at breakfast, with different choices every day. We thought it was good value for our stay. Would strongly recommend and also intend to return for another trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing and tranquil
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have just liked tea and coffee facilities in room .

    The views were amazing , comfortable surroundings and friendly staff . Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    4.6
    Our holiday in , Taormina,Sicily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very small lift serves the whole hotel, the furnishings are very old and needs a refurbishment very badly, bathroom must be some forty years old!!! Surely, not a four star accomodation!

    The position and the pool with a fantastic view! A good breakfast with a good view of the Etna! Helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Well preserved hotel with old world charm. Close to old town. Amazing views from private balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it's old the bathrooms have a smell through the pipes which was quite strong at times. Balance this however with the opportunity to enjoy a unique experience in a beautiful old style hotel. No wifi in rooms.

    Old world charm, great character, older style is elegant and well preserved. Huge balcony and amazing views. Close to old town so very convenient

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    This hotel is an an excellent location for access to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel is an an excellent location for access to the main town streets. If you have a sea view room the views across the town, sea, Mount Etna and surrounding areas could not be better. Some people have commented that this hotel is old and tired and in need of refurbishment. We think it was very Art Deco with a great deal of character and always spotlessly clean. We stayed half-board with the intention of eating out in the town a few evenings, but we didn't want to as the food was amazing with an excellent authentic Sicilian menu that changed daily. The pool area was excellent, again with great views and plenty of beds for those coming and going from the beach. Lastly all the staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for you. The waiters we're particularly professional making you feel you where dining in an upmarket restaurant. I wouldn't hesitate to stop here again next time I'm in Taormina.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.1
    Fantastic view and great location - but a rather dated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wi-fi in the rooms. Overall the hotel is a bit dated and could do with a refresh.

    The view! And the location, just a few steps away from the main pedestrian street with beautiful cafes, shops, restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    3.8
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv in room was old.15 inches with poor sound and poor vision and 7 station choices. No hair dryer. No air conditioning in building other than your room.no safe deposit box in room.Breakfast was very limited and horrible. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. We paid good money for very poor value.I don't know how it got 4star rating. I would give it a 2

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning did not work despite complaining several times - not ideal in 40 degree heat. Staff didn't want to know when we did complain and would not come and check. Wifi is only available on one floor. The pool is very basic and we could not use it because the steps to access it were extremely dangerous for myself (30 weeks pregnant with twins) and my 3 year old son. There was also no toilet facilities by the pool so you had to take the lift down to your room if you needed the toilet. There is also no bar to get a drink or refreshments. Staff were very rude, inconsiderate and unaccommodating. Location is fine if you're not pregnant or have a child as it's a long walk to twin with a buggy. Facilities were very disappointing and this is not a family hotel. Breakfast was disgusting! Very basic hotel, does not meet the description and staying here ruined our stay in Taormina.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice compared with others in area for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for quality and standard. But this is taormina in general. Rooms very dated although can imagine back in 70's it was quite plush.

    Good view from balcony. Nice pool area to relax.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel with friendly staff in prime location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows could have been more comfy.

    The hotel is in a good location near to bars, restaurants and shops. It has a sister hotel on the beach and a shuttle bus running between the two hotels. Staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool is great, especially after a long day sightseeing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Summer Sicily
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only one very small elevator. But, hey, when in Taormina, expect to ascend and descend thousands of stairs😉

    We liked the ambience. There is almost like a botanical garden behind the hotel. Many places to sit in a quiet shade. Nice pool. We used it after official hours in darkness as well. Nice! And of course the views!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.3
    Would recommend this hotel for location though it is dated and could do with a make over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    It would have been good to have a snack/bar available near the pool, as it was difficult to get drinks or snacks during the day if near the pool. It was expensive to go to the beach. Perhaps this could have been included in the overall price at a reduced rate for hotel residents. Having WIFI only available on one floor was a nuisance, especially, when holidaying with teenagers who are so dependent on social media. Bar at night was very dull and entertainment might have added to the experience.

    Being supplied with towels for pool and beach was a good plus. Having breakfast included was good for holiday though it was not very varied and repetitive for when staying for many days. It would have been good to give a later option for breakfast perhaps on weekend mornings, for example. Staff were very freindly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel , central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Lovely hotel , friendly staff who were very helpful , pool is lovely and the beach that you can go to through this hotel is great .Rooms were big and the balcony has amazing views. Very central location just 5 minutes walk from the main action .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    The views, pool, food and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is good but would have been better on the main street. Like most places in Taormina there are hundreds of steps. Going down is good coming up is an issue. Caught taxi up after using the steps three times. The night life has to be experienced. Be prepared to use steps or cabs

    The views, pool, food and service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    4.2
    Do Not Stay Here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would not advise staying here at all. The room and hotel are completely outdated and uncomfortable. The breakfast and coffee were inedible. While the outdoor grounds and pool are beautiful, it's a totally different story when you step inside. Dirty carpets, outdated lift, very old bathrooms, window shutters that are ancient and hard to close. We had to cancel our last two nights here and move to a new hotel.

    The pool is very nice and looks as pictured.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful location, stunning views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds a little hard and decor / furniture needs updating. Air Con wasn't particularly efficient in the hotel room so could be updated. Resort Is expensive.

    Lovely pool and great location, amazing views. Overall hotel is a little basic and dated but a good base. Staff very friendly and efficient and all areas very clean. Within walking distance of centre and fantastic array of restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    nice !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    poor air conditioning elevator was broken from 3-9 pm

    breakfast was good dinner had a small limited menu----food was average the views were spectacular Pool was very nice but shallow end started at 4 feet air conditioning was poor above the 2 nd floor we needed an large fan

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Fabulous view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel really needs updating but the views from up there make up for this minor criticism.

    The views from this hotel are fabulous! The climb up to the hotel from 'town' is well worth it. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Although breakfast got a bit boring as the week went on, it was a good spread with plenty of choice. We had a large room with a very strong shower and air con. It was great to come back to a lovely pool area at the end of a hot day sightseeing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel, good location, great views of Etna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom could have been better(the toilet could have been more efficient). Also, it would be better to have Wi Fi available in the rooms, not just in the public areas.

    The room was comfortable and the air conditioning good. Breakfast and lunch good. The swimming pool was charming, and the hotel had stunning views of Etna. The location was good - just a short walk to the main street of Taormina (although down some steep steps, so not OK if you have mobility issues). The hotel was very peaceful - no noise at night at all. The staff were very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Great views in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking on the balcony while other guests were eating. The bathroom was a bit tired and needed a revamp.

    The staff were very helpful and assisted us with all our requests for transport and tourism advice. Fantastic location near old city with great views across Taormina.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Tranquil in Taormina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi should be improved. A bit of an upgrade may help.

    The bed was extra comfy. The pool is very good sized. The terrace is nice with Lovely views.very nice staff. Recommended

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    What a little gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I just wished I could have stayed longer - damn work!

    Just got back yesterday from a fabulous holiday. The hotel is a vintage find - so 1950's / 1960's in a great way! It reminded me of Grand Hotel Budapest so if you are a fan of Wes Anderson films this hotel is for you. The staff are soooo helpful and nice. It's very clean and I just loved the bathrooms. The location is amazing and the pool area is peaceful and quiet. The terrace to have your breakfast on looks out to Mount Etna which is constantly spewing smoke of different colours so is fascinating to watch. We also had an evening meal looking out at sunset at the same view and the food was great. The bus stop to Castelmoro is right outside with a timetable attached - 1.90 per person each way. Worth a visit. We also went on the shuttlebus to the sister hotel to go on the beach there, again another retro gem. After reading many reviews on here I find it difficult to understand what people want, if you don't like different then stay at home with the door shut.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Great Position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were lovely, easy check in and check out. Great view, basic room furniture, old televisions, need to have sun lounges on balcony on 2nd floor as view of Taormina is brilliant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    4.2
    Very old hotel, dirty dusty room. AC weak. Wifi doesn't work on the rooms, only in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too dirty, too much dust, Very old and dirty carpeting in the hallways and room. There is no safe in room even though it is listed. Air conditioning was not working, when I turned it on. When I inquired reception told me the AC never works between 10am-2p.m. so staying in the room between those hours is uncomfortable hot. Whenever the AC did work, it was too weak. Room key had to be left at reception whenever you left the hotel. Booking.com website called this hotel "The 2016 hotel of the year" which makes me question their rating system and marketing tatics. I would not recommend.

    Reception staff were very nice and were always polite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.3
    Needs an upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel is very dated and seems it hasn't been updated since the 50s. Our room was clean but felt old and musty, internet was only available in common areas and we had to request a hairdryer from reception. For the price we paid for this hotel I would expect the rooms to be fresher - we have stayed at other older hotels around the area and although they might not be modern they felt much cleaner.

    The views were absolutely amazing from the property. We also made full use of the pool during our stay which was perfect after a day of sight seeing. The staff were also really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    6.7
    Nice location and pool but not particularly comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee in the room. Noisy at night with scrapey floors above. Breakfast had no hot options. Just normal array of meat and cheese continental style.

    The pool and room and veiw was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was the hum from the air conditioner, even though it was turned off (didn't keep me awake though)

    Great position at the top of the hill. Fantastic views from our balcony and 7th floor terrace. Watched Mt Etna smoking away while we had breakfast. Staff were very informative, breakfast was a good spread. Pool was fantastic and so clean. Easy walk (yes, involving stairs) to the main centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic......The place to stay in Taormina
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast .....would have loved some mixed fresh fruit ........but that is a very minor concern as the croissants ,pasteries and breads were straight out of oven...mmmmm.

    The views were breathtaking,the staff were so helpful and completely dedicated to providing outstanding service.The pool was fantastic.As for the location it could not be better.....a very short walk and you're in the middle of everything yet it offers a peaceful and very beautiful oasis.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful place
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been helpful to have wifi in the bedroom as well as in the public areas.

    The magnificent views and balcony. The cheery, helpful staff - nothing too much trouble. The pool area like paradise. The flora.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely relaxing stay in a hotel with stunning views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Beautiful views of the coast and Mount Etna from the terrace. Lovely setting for swimming pool partly shaded by pine trees. Ability to visit the 'sister hotel', by pre-arranged car for small fee (€6 return), which is right on the beach. Polite, courteous staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.4
    Overpriced & not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grumpy staff working on breakfast coupled with a lack of options for breakfast. The only fruit offered both days were apples (that were past their use by date). The boiled eggs had black yolks & staff were reluctant to replenish items when they were depleted. WIFI only available in public areas was a pain. The hotel was built in the 1960s & I doubt any money had been spent on it since. The air conditioning in the room was non existent & only 1 pillow per person was available. The bathroom was close to being the original one - complete with cracked tiles & an inadequate shower screen. The idea of 'near enough is good enough' should be their motto.

    The view from our room was fantastic & we loved the balcony. The 2 gentlemen working on reception during the day were the only staff who were happy to help with questions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.5
    Sunny days in Taormina
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a little musty and dated, aircon didn't work and breakfast was not very good; awful coffee and packet bought coissants.

    Pool was great, stunning views from rooms with a balcony. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.3
    Old-fashioned but charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricey for what it is even though we got a deal, but that's part of being in Taormina it seems. Intermittent bad smell coming from bathroom drains. Bed a bit on the hard side.

    Excellent location close to Corso Umberto but far enough that you get some peace and quiet; stunning views from balcony; immaculately clean; lovely pool in a peaceful setting; friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    7.1
    disappointing1
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location is not far from the good restaurants but is up a very steep hill which even for able bodied is difficult and one way down so no chance of short taxi ride up!

    Generally ok but not really 4 star creaking wardrobe reported on 1st day but not fixed. Some drawers very stiff to open etc.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Mediterranée traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: