Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mediterraneo 3 stars

Baragiola 1, 51016 Montecatini Terme, Italy

#18 of 97 hotels in Montecatini Terme

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 321 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the bedroom decor could be spruced up to refresh it.

    Location next to the park was lovely and peaceful, with a good fresh breakfast served outside in the shady garden. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. Free use of Hotel Astoria's large swimming pool was a definite bonus. We used this several times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel in a beautiful part of Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a gem of a hotel in a beautiful location. It is comfortable, the restaurant food is exceptional as were all the staff. Brilliant value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    We stayed at this hotel for a week wish we had stayed a lot...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi wasn’t the best.

    We stayed at this hotel for a week wish we had stayed a lot longer, the hotel is perfectly paced for just about everything, within a 10 minute walk there are plenty of Resturante’s, just in front of the hotel is a large park ideal for a walk any time of the day, the hotel owner and staff were great and they are dog friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    Good place for summer time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like all except of the time we came. We didn't know about the comics festival that spoiled the view of all the historical places by the festival tents. None of the beautiful cathedrals could be photographed in full size: all the spaces in front was occupied by tents and kiosks

    Everything was fine except closet : for the two ladies with 2 big suitecases it was not enough space:))))

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value accommodation, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very odd, dated decor, but I think owners are in the process of updating - this didn't detract from enjoying stay though!

    Light and airy bedroom, good size bathroom with large shower and modern fittings (plus large window). Good size, comfortable bed. Staff friendly. Clean. Quiet location very near terme and park, but also close to town centre, bars and amenities. Bargain.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Exceptional. I would highlight the quality of the cuisine, the room and the value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    An exceptional family-run hotel. The helpfulness of the staff. The comfort, facilities, space and outlook of the room (71). The superb cuisine. The location of the hotel on the edge of a park. The price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    Charming family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is unforgetable as there's not so many as this one. It's a kind of old dated hotels, where guests are treated individually. People who run hotel are very kind, they have time for a chat or just few warm words. Everybody there is extremelly nice, but it's natural. It's one of these hotels where you want to stay longer. It's just a charming place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, in superb setting with very friendly and professional service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The dinner menu had two main items with rabbit. As I don't like rabbit, this meant my choice was limited. That said, the dishes I selected were very good.

    The location on the edge of the park was superb.... quiet but an easy walk to shops, restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel's restaurant was lovely; it's possible to eat in the garden Profumo restaurant, or inside in a more formal setting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The parking is a little bit small for all guests so you have to leave your key at the reception in case your car is blocking another one. However the parking is free of charge! The shower is not equipped with a door or curtain; so be careful!

    Very friendly staff. Good breakfast outdoor at the hotel's terrace next to the park. Excellent filter coffee (extraordinary for Italy however also cappuccino, latte macchiato etc. on request), fresh fruits, yoghurts, muesli, ... Nice air-conditioned room, with big bathroom! The hotel is 5-10 min. walk from the railway station. By trains it takes approx. 45 min. to Firenze and 1 h to Pisa.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money I'll be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely staff, friendly and kind. Lovely room with balcony overlooking gorgeous park. Excellent value for money. Food excellent. We actually fancied eating something that wasn't on the menu and they said no problem and made it for us the next evening! It is not a new building, but the rooms are large and the decoration is lovely with antique and modern mix. Quirky. I will be going back as there is so much to visit in the area. Florence 45 mins away on train.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    By far the best accommodation in Italy in this price range!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was by far the best accommodation in Italy that I have been in, in this price range! It is a family hotel, all people are extra friendly, an everything is nice and clean. They have some mix of styles, and house is old, but they managed to make it nice and vintage, which gave it some nice tone and atmosphere. The rooms are spacious, and have a nice view on garden or park. The breakfast was awesome! They have all you get in other hotels, plus salads, fruits and cakes! It is placed in best part of Montecatini Terme, near beautiful park that is great for morning or evening walk and exercise. They have a nice restaurant wit very nice garden for diner, or just "chilling". And I must mention a friendly waiter that speaks many languages!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.5
    Helpful staff the rooms could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Improve the decor of rooms

    On arrival the owner and staff went out of the way to find the place. The reception and restaurant area bright and cheerful. The rooms and corridors were poorly lit and the standard was not up to the mark. This is the only complaint. Accommodation could be cheerful! Food at the place and service was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.3
    A nice, traditional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The electricity sockets did not match standard European plugs, except the one in the bathroom, and there was only one converter. It was enough for a short stay, but for several nights you should ask for additional converters, which shouldn't be a problem.

    The staff members were very professional. The decor was old-fashioned and charming, and the room was pleasant to stay in.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Fantastico!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The showers need work - ours was like a tap and others sprayed in the wrong direction or didn't attach to the wall correctly. The shower heads on baths worked well. Nothing else faults the hotel.

    Cake for breakfast - amazing! The staff were wonderful and spoke great English, so were very helpful. The hotel was beautiful and elegant. Onsite parking was perfect and the terrace restaurant was both beautiful and produced delicious food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    A good choice in Montecatini
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One very small point - a kettle and cups are provided in the room which is a nice touch but there are only tea bags, no coffee.

    The location was good - central but quiet and only about a 10 minute walk from the railway station. The staff were very friendly and even those who did not speak a lot of English did their very best to help. The room was spacious and clean. There is a lift at the hotel. My favourite part of the hotel was the garden opposite the hotel where meals are served when the weather is good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.5
    1hour from Florence good 3star hotel away from city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feeling of former glory about hotel! Not many other guests! Website could mention there are 2 train stations in the town. For hotel alight at Montecatini Centro. We got off at first station Terme & waited a long time for taxi! We were able to walk to Centro station for 1hr trip to Florence!

    Nice location on the Park. Had nice Autumnal walks. . Well located between railway station & Funicular. Lovely restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.6
    Very nice small hotel close to center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in the bedroom was not clean (everything else was perfect)! We made a 10 days trip trough Italy, this was one of our favorite hotels!

    Very nice small hotel close to center. We enjoyed our morning coffee in front, every morning :) view from the room was very nice, birds would wake us up every morning! Staff was very kind! They would clean our room every time we exit.. Lady on the reception was so nice! Thank you for a wonderful stay! This is a place to come back!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    7.0
    pleasant place with very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just be aware that some rooms have a bath with shower attachment - not possible to have a shower per se in my room. Be sure to stress a shower if that's what you need.

    peace and quiet. location is good and within ten minute walk of shops food funiculaire etc. Food is good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Incredible Value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very confortable good size bedroom nicely furnished w/ lots of storage. Wide bed, desk, refrigerator, good lighting, several mirrors, silent A/C. Spacious updated bathroom w/ double sinks, large modern shower, variety of towels and toileteries. Delicious continental breakfast served in beautiful garden. Great location overlooking park near city center, thermal baths, and funicular. Elevator and easy parking. Much better than the reviews I read.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    10
    Lovely stay in Hotel Mediterraneo in the delightful town of Montecatini Terme.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I cannot think of anything specific to be critical about.

    The helpfulness and friendliness of the staff and the general calm, quiet atmosphere in the hotel. The manageress and young lady helping at breakfast were delightful. Also the easy access to the town centre and the adjacent park area and funicular. Good location for everything.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    8.8
    Nice stay in pleasant town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small hotel parking (around a lot of paid parking lots). Hotel rooms needs some refreshment/redecoration (they are clean but some re-painting would refresh the look).

    Great location near to the centre of Montecatini Terme. Old fashion hotel/rooms very clean. Staff friendly and helpful although we arrived at 11 PM. There was no room at hotel parking (I assume we arrived as a last guest) but you can block other cars in hotel parking and leave keys at reception so they move your car if needed for other guests to leave (which is very convenient).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. People, location, rooms, parking. Good advice on how and what to visit in the region. Definitely will come back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Great place with very very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place with very very friendly staff. Breakfast in garden :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Top expirience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb hotel - value for money! Polite staff, top location, real charme, we stayed longer than planed and come again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Dolche vita
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    The staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I couldn't use the pool as it was out of season and there were no alternatives

    The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    The room was spacious with a great view to Montecatini Alto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious with a great view to Montecatini Alto.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Buffett breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffett breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    Overrated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Condition of the hotel and rooms in particular. Poor breakfast choices, nothing in addition for ester holidays.

    Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 51 needed to be refurbished paint was peeling

    Excellent position great staff balcony was fantastic

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Super place :) 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super place :) 10/10

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    8.3
    The bed,it's compy,the breakfast and the cordiality of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed,it's compy,the breakfast and the cordiality of the staff,there's always a smile and always willing to extend help

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    8.8
    Wonderfully relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in the garden was a delight

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    8.3
    There are hundreds of hotels in Montecatini and this hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are a little tired. It was a bit warm in the rooms and one could not open the windows.

    There are hundreds of hotels in Montecatini and this hotel is centrally located. There is a lovely garden area across from the hotel. You can order a cocktail or wine and staff will deliver it with a selection of appetizers. All of the staff were lovely and could not do enough to make your stay a comfortable one. Breakfast held a vast selection of goodies, fruits, breads and specialities from Tuscany. It was a very quiet time of the year--before the real tourist season began. Hotel was within walking distance (or cab) to the train station so it was convenient to take the train to Lucca and Florence, which we did.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    An old hotel that fits perfectly with the atmosphere of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An old hotel that fits perfectly with the atmosphere of Tuscany. Staff very helpful, hospitality, cleaning rooms, very well located. Breakfast good and sufficient.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    7.1
    -very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - the hotel looks very old and and gives the impression of a former rehabilitated hospital.on the outside the hotel looks better than the inside -the "free wi-fi " in the room is free for only one device.if you have a tablet and a smartphone you should pay 2 euros for the other - small free private parking place but there is also the street where you can leave the car : is free during the night.

    -very friendly staff - good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    6.3
    Quaint hotel, pleasant and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioner has a hard time keeping up. The staff was having someone look at it the next day when we complained but I was shown another room and it didn't work any better. Older hotel.

    Quaint hotel, pleasant and helpful staff. Wonderful breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.2
    fantastic atmosphere recapturing the old, "pre world...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the blind was missing from our bathroom window, therefore the bathroom was rather hot all the time

    fantastic atmosphere recapturing the old, "pre world war" times; nice staff; good location to explore Pisa, Lucca and other cities in the northern part of Tuscany; comfortable rooms; substantial breakfast; cozy breakfast area outside the hotel

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    8.8
    This hotel is very nice indeed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beds are a too soft to our taste and in some areas interior could benefit from a renewal. Still we loved the place because of the old fashioned charm.

    This hotel is very nice indeed. So nice people work there and even the hotel is older it's kept in reasonable shape. Charming place and location at the park with wonderful outside breakfast. Guests can freely use a beautiful pool garden at a sister hotel a good 10 minutes walk across the city park. Better place than you can expect based on the price tag.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful location in Montecatini, very nice and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi is only available as free to one device per room... Still they were very kind in handling this complaint. But if they had a regular wifi system (without generating 24h codes) it would make guests happier.

    Beautiful location in Montecatini, very nice and helpful staff. Breakfast was simple but tasty and they replenished it constantly. Nice coffee, of course!

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    7.1
    Breakfast on the outdoor patio was very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No 'real' shower in my room - only hand shower but mounted at hip height, was very cumbersome to use. Also, laundry service was very expensive (was told it was cheap at the desk when I inquired, but my bill came to 36 euros for a few pairs of boxers, socks, 4 t-shirts and 1 pair shorts.)

    Breakfast on the outdoor patio was very nice. Clean, fairly comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    10
    The staff were extraordinarily friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were extraordinarily friendly. The breakfasts outside were a wonderful way to start the day, with plenty of meats, cheeses, breads, fruits, yogurts, and coffee to order. An elevator made the trip to my room on the 4th floor easy. Room was large with two single beds. Bathroom was small, but sufficient. All very clean. Quiet part of Montecatini, but easily walkable from the train and central square. I'd stay here again any time.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    8.3
    The staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was a cigarette smell in the room. The hotel is showing its age but that is part of the atmosphere.

    The staff were friendly. There were private parking spots in front. Also a good restaurant, comfortable public areas inside and out. A wonderful garden for breakfast. Within easy walking distance of the town. Near a beautiful park. Big room with large tub and quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    10
    Excellent hotel,clean ,comfortable,wonderful staff,very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent hotel,clean ,comfortable,wonderful staff,very helpful and friendly. We asked for a room with a balcony facing the park and we got exactly what we requested.We will return !!

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    10
    Home is a key word here, thats what we were said by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Home is a key word here, thats what we were said by hotel's owners with a smile "Now you have a home in Tuscany" and thats how it felt) I personally think this hotel is located in the best location in Montecatini! We had a room with a balcony with a breathtaking view to the mountains! Birds were singing..idyllic.. They have really nice terrace there plus free bicycles.. But I guess the atmosphere created by its lovely owners was the best. Its like Love is in the air, and all these small details around, carefully chosen, you just want to come back soon) Tip: Bar Condicio, 3 min from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    9.2
    Large room with 2 chairs and small table, large lcd TV,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one English Channel, carpets in hall threadbare

    Large room with 2 chairs and small table, large lcd TV, great shower although small , very helpful English speaking staff, free parking

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.5
    super breakfast served in a lovely garden on the edge of a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    super breakfast served in a lovely garden on the edge of a park

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.6
    very kind and friendly staff, nice and practical location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    very kind and friendly staff, nice and practical location, tasty food

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing ;-)

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    Everything was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was OK

    Everything was excellent. Hotel was nice and clean. Staff was superb. We would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.6
    very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very friendly staff. close to a park. nice breakfast in the garden. clean and comfy rooms. good location.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    10
    Staff was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi didnt work

    Staff was amazing

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    10
    Perfect loketion, calm atmosphere and very kindly stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect loketion, calm atmosphere and very kindly stuff

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    10
    Location, helpfulness of the staff, free parking, quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, helpfulness of the staff, free parking, quiet location in the park 5 minute walk to the Termes. Excellent value overall

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Browse Hotel Mediterraneo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: