Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Roma Centro Colosseo 4 stars

Via Labicana 144, Rione Monti, 00184 Rome, Italy

#280 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 827 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really couldn't fault the hotel. It was a little pricey but worth the money.

    The location was excellent and although we were right in the centre of the city the room was exceptionally quiet and there was hardly any outside noise. Also it was one of the comfiest beds we had slept in. The rooftop pool and terrace overlooking the colosseum were a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly some shade on the sun terrace?

    Fabulous location, with numerous cafes and restaurants nearby. Room was a good size and had everything we needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was unbelievable. Having the option to be so close to attractions and town but have the option to sunbathe and swim with the view behind was another level.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room and the badroom are small lucky we did not bring big suitcases. On saturday morning at 8.30 we heard drilling machines from the roof top at the swimming pool. We stayed at floor 7 and the roofterrace is at floor 8. When i called he reception i was informed by the lady that is is normal that people work on saturday's even in a hotel . So far as i can remember i never have been in a hotel were the staff is telling me that is is a normal situation that they start drilling holes in the morning. That i even have to discus with this lady about it makes me feel sad and that she did not took notice what i was trying to explain so she had to ask the manager what to do. I informed her that the manager should have think about it before he send up workers in the morning with drilling machines were guest are sleeping. In the end she just disconnected the telephone line.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    if i had to be picky it be the rooms are on the small side

    Clean, tidy not over complicated check in chect out. Close to a lot of the attractions (walk to most of the sites) Price was also reasonable for staying in Rome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a bit dark and the bathrooms small. The pool was not open this time of year which of course is not strange but the area was unkept and dirty. It was still a nice place to sit so the hotell really should see to that it is a more welcoming place.

    The hotel has a perfect location close to the Colosseum and other sights. and the staff is friendly and helpful! Comfortable bed and a bonus to have coffe and tea in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with views of the Coliseum
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially the room we booked wasn’t big enough to swing a cat in, the hotel staff moved our rooms to a larger room which was bigger but the aircon was poor. We tried to cancel and change hotels but we weren’t able to due to the fact we pre paid. The hotel is grubby in places and the pool area being closed off when it was 20 degrees c plus was a strange one.

    The staff were friendly and dealt with our complaint but ultimately it took the shine off a surprise trip for my wife for her 30th. The pictures of the hotel to what it looks like are completely different.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main reason we booked this hotel was the terrace with the pool, but when we arrived we found out the pool was not open and there was not bar/food service in the terrace. The quality of the breakfast is really poor. There is only one lift that serves many floors and you have to wait long time every time you need to go up or down. The bathroom are very small and some of the fixture need to be the replaced (door for example). The a/c wasn't working well and it was very noisy

    Perfect location. very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location short walk to Collesseum. Staff were superb extremely friendly and went out of their way to help. Room had a superb view and was very clean and comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    internet speed was extremely slow.

    the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The bar man who also worked in the restaurant was excellent. Can not remember his name but a husky man with beard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hair dryers shut off after 1 minute or less of use. Apparently the electrical sockets are the culprits....the hotel claims this is for safety. After 30 years of worldwide travel, this is the 1st time I encountered a relatively high price hotel unable to deliver simple features like a functioning hair dryer. It should be stated that the hotel gave me another drier but this one also was affected by the electrical socket. Little details are important and this hotel has not come through as I would have hoped. Also, there is only 1 electrical docket in the bedroom for recharging the hood and it is at the desk. Nothing by the bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two beds - pushed together to make a double - thus not comfortable . Room too hot - was told temperature could not be changed .therefore opened windows = heavy traffic .im sure I paid for superior but room compact

    Clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    too small space for three people room. we can’t even move, when decide breakfast in check in they give discount, next day it costs much more but the breakfast really charged too much for what you can eat. but not easy to have breakfast nearby the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room temperature was hard to regulate. I had to sleep with the door open and then, deal with the noise from outside.

    Location was great and the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have been slightly bigger rooms but it wasn't an issue, just in comparison to the sizes of some of the other rooms we have stayed in Italy.

    The receptionist was so friendly and informative when we arrived. The hotel is so central... a stones throw from the Colosseum. The rooftop is wonderful... we visited in the winter so were unable to use the swimming pool but we did see the NYE fireworks from the roof so it was very useful to us. The rooms are clean but not very big but that wasn't a problem for us. Overall, I'd definitely stay again. Perfect respite for a city break when you're not in the room/hotel a lot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could of been made up earlier as it wasn’t done until late afternoon early evening. To be fair we was on the 7th floor so didn’t expect it to be done first!

    The service of the staff was exceptional. Very enthusiastic and supportive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was just all too good

    Fantastic location superb hotel and ladies on reception absolutely fantastic and very helpful .they provided the best customer service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The internet connection was poor and it needs to be upgraded.

    The room was is a great location. We loved passing by the Colosseum everyday. The rooms were comfortable and very clean and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with views of the Coliseum
    • Stayed 6 nights

    a gym would have been nice

    Staff always friendly and helpful. Breakfasts wonderful, so much choice. Fabulous location, could se Colosseum out of bedroom window, what more could we ask for :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle and drinks making supplies in the room but the supplies were a bit stingy and there were paper cups. This seems to be the case in lots of hotels these days and we’ve taken to packing our own. I’m sure if we had asked for more sugar and milk it would have been supplied but that’s not really the point.

    Wonderful location close to ancient sites, particularly the Colosseum. We booked it for the location and the parking. Welcoming and helpful reception staff. There’s a large rooftop bar with great views and a swimming pool. The pool was closed whilst we were there but as it was only a short stay we weren’t bothered about this. Excellent breakfast with a good variety of meats, cheeses, fruit and baked goods. There was some warm food too. The room was spacious. As some others have commented, the 2 bathroom arrangement is a bit odd, with a toilet and washbasin in one and shower and basin in the other. There wasn’t much space to put anything in either, which again seems to be the case in most modern / refurbished hotels these days. Parking and extricating the car was interesting as there’s not much room for manoeuvre in the underground car park. It’s also interesting for the glimpses of glassed in ancient remains though!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Hi, the small breakfast was not good enough. The minibar was missing some chips or candy, had only drinks, was also missing red or whitewine. Would like to see glasses in the room. The elevators was often out of order.

    Hi, the staff was very helpful and lovely. Wifi at room was good and stable, compared to other hotels I have used.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have had more of a variety or changed daily. Rooms were a little small but still comfortable for 2 people sharing. The rooftop pool was closed as it was October, however it was still sunny and warm so it would have been a nice bonus if it was still open.

    Stayed here for 4 nights in October 2017. The location was amazing so close to the colosseum and very easy access to public transport. The view from the rooftop over the colosseum was amazing. The bars and restaurants around the colosseum were really nice and good value. The breakfast at the hotel was good and value for money however sometimes the options could have been changed as it was the same everyday. The staff were really helpful and always polite and welcoming. I would definetly stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is located near the Colosseum and lots of restaurants and stores around. A little noisy in the nights with alarms and traffic.

    The hotel staff are very courteous and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is way too much staff, this fact makes you a bit uncomfortable since you feel watched at all time. Especially the old man minding the pool makes you feel unwelcome and lurks around deliberately closing all sunseats around you so that you feel the need to go to your room earlier. Also he smokes vanilla sigars all day which stenches up the whole pool area. The pool itself is cold and the area around the pool could use some shade. Breakfast is decent, rooms are small.

    The location is amazing. You've got view on the collosseum from the rooftop pool. How cool is that?

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pet friendly hotel but the housekeeping staff was afraid of dogs? It was lucky we were in the room. The carpets were very dirty. Not a hotel if you prefer a peaceful environment . There's always groups checking in and out.

    Near the coliseum and lots of restaurants across the road. The reception staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were quite small, and the breakfast was quite expensive (16 euros per day). The pool wasn't heated and being on a rooftop it's quite windy so the weather had to be very hot before we could use it

    Loved the view from the roof top pool and the bar. Rooms were cleaned everyday, staff friendly, and breakfast good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked room for family and was given a disabled room. It had a double bed that was uncomfortable as it had a worn mattress and a portable single bed for my 175cm son. There was very little space in this already small room. Room had dirty marks on walls. We paid extra for the full Breakfast which was terrible and not worth the money. The hot food was all cold so not really worth eating. Very disappointing for a Mercure hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators a bit small and much too slow. If you need a quick bite, the rooftop restaurant not a good bet.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Location to Colosseum and view from the roof terrace spectacular. Rooms clean and comfortable. Restaurant meal (once you actually got it) very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bed settee wasn't ready on arrival and we had to request that it was made up. I then had to ask for an extra 'paper' cup as well. (Only paper cups in the room?) The tea/coffee/minibar was set up for 2 people and not 3, although I paid for a child - this didn't change after reporting it. The hair dryer kept overheating and cutting out even after reporting it. They took TWO pre-approval payments without my knowledge totalling over £600 while on holiday that took my card over the credit limit when paid the final bill!!! The small pool was overcrowded while we were there (August). The (miserable) chap that handed out the towels was eager to enforce unwritten rules about where you could put your towels, stand, sit, etc. while not speaking English.

    Good location, very close to the coliseum. The room size was ok with a big and comfortable bed. Bathroom was a good size. Minibar and breakfast included.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints found everything satisfactory.

    I liked all the extra touches:- fresh water in your room everyday, tea and coffee provided daily for the room. Crisps/nuts after each drink in the bar. Sweets and nibbles always available. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait for elevator for a long time.

    Beautiful view !! Amazing swimming pool ! Very nice dinner upstairs with a view on colliseum with a nice music. Bottle of champagne free of charge for Birthday! Ver good location, very confortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service menu You only have news to channels (in English) - with the way of the world - it would have been nice to have had something a little more light hearted to have on in the background

    the staff were great Pool area, bar great Location was good Room was clean and comfy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with views of the Coliseum
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I reserved a Colosseum view room and was offered a lower grade room. Only after expressing my frustrations and anger I received what was ordered. That effected the general not very good impression.

    Mainly the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof area was very good, with swimming pool, sun loungers, bar and restaurant. Lovely sunsets over the colosseum. The location is well placed for seeing a lot of sights.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with views of the Coliseum
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con not good in room Coliseum view through a porthole and not worth the extra money Breakfast not great for English people Pool cleanliness in the water

    The location the bed was super comfy the toiletries great Excellent staff all friendly and couldn't do enough

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with views of the Coliseum
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast foods tastes like quite old. especially for vegetables and fruits- need to be changed. Hotel room was tooooo small. Room carpet was dirty. Sorry to say this but for this price? you need to consider another option. For similar price, usuallly hotels provide better environment to stay. Facilities are not enough for what I paid.

    rooftop pool on the top( but small and shallow and also water's not clear enough)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room you booked for us I would give you 8 out of 10, however we were to start a tour the next day and they moved us to a new room, I would rate that room at 2 out of 10, nothing wrong with the breakfast menu.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was done very well.

    This is the second year that we have stayed. We chose the larger room this time as we stayed 4 nights. It was comfortable with plenty of room. We loved the pool and rooftop bar and had 2 lunches there. It is a great place to relax after sightseeing. Standing in the pool and looking at the Colosseum is surreal. There are quite a few restaurants in the area. We went by tram to Trestevere, it stops outside of the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. They booked our taxi to the airport for us no problem. Would highly recommend. Next year we have to go via Rome so are planning to stay before and after going on further.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are too small and in some rooms the Shower is located away from the bathroom????? Go figure. Thank goodness they changed our room.

    Location. Pool and Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You need to make sure that returning customers 2010, 2016, 2017 x2 rooms and two stays, that we are looked after, rather than given a small room. We were pleased when all was changed but when you come back, and from Australia, an upgrade would have been warranted, so we were pleased. Breakfast was lovely and my daughter's Celiac Diet was well catered for. More glasses where the juice was would have been handy and great to see toast!!! All the ladies were gracious and lovely that they made you coffee.

    This was our third & subsequently our fourth stay at this hotel. We were a little disappointed with our initial room but it was changed immediately and we were given 103. The best view for the Colosseum. Loved the pool and the Colosseum view! Devine!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough lifts & had to wait for them a lot. Rooftop breakfast was not always stocked and so there was no coffee, tea, bread etc from time to time.

    Staff friendly & helpful. Enjoyed bands & buffet on Thursday & Friday and great value. Pool good to cool down. Views stunning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with views of the Coliseum
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested a quiet room and received a room where above me there was construction in the hotel at 9am. The next day the cleaning staff were slamming doors. Being charged 30 euros to check in early was very disappointing.

    Location was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small but workable

    Great location only 500m from the Colosseum and metro station. Beautiful pool and bar on the rooftop giving great views making it a great hotel during summer months

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could have been better was when we checked in our room wasn't ready and when it was the cleaner was still in the room. We had to wait outside until she had hoovered.

    The coliseum and roman forum was very close. There was also a metro station near by which was a good way to travel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved everything.

    I absolutely love this hotel. I have stayed at this hotel every year for the past 5 years. The hotel is run by professional staff, who are attentive to your every need.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with views of the Coliseum
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little on the small side but certainly not an issue for us. Also not that much storage space in the rooms but for a short break it was fine.

    This hotel is perfect. Fantastic location and views. Pool and rooftop bar are brilliant after a long day site seeing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with views of the Coliseum
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't the best. Booked a table at the restaurant for the last night which was cancelled, with no prior notice. Not even a call to the room to advise.

    View was amazing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool only open from 10 until 19.00, so no good if out for day and wanted early swim or cool down after visiting the sites. Bar was quite expensive.

    Room was clean and tidy second time round as first room smelt of dog! Location amazing, bed really comfortable, air con great. Roof top bar and pool great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with views of the Coliseum
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints.

    I loved the location the most as it was close to the Colosseum and my room had a view of the Colosseum (there was an extra charge for that). I also bought the breakfast package (worth the money). Our room was spacious and clean and the lobby was very attractive. The personnel there all spoke excellent English and were very friendly. Any and all trips to Rome would include a stay here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast on the rooftop was just pastrys and the main breakfast buffet wasn't amazing. No iron in the room have to go to first floor ironing cupboard

    Amazing hotel, pool overlooking colosseum is a highlight. Restaurant recommend Aroma and Mirabelle

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area is very small and the chairs were always full so we weren't able to use it. We found the staff dismissive and a bit condescending. This was the last stop after a 5 stop UK/ Italy trip and it paled in comparison to everywhere else we stayed. The room reeked like freshly and stale smoked cigarettes and was quite dark and felt dingy.

    The location was good. And it was nice having the rooftop bar.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    love the rooftop pool, the staff were amazing. airline lost our luggage and it didn't arrive till the next day. we got recommendations for place to buy what clothing we would need and atms. stayed here 5 years ago and came back because we loved it so much!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near the Coliseum and Metro. Superb rooftop pool and accompanying roof top terrace which has a bar and serves food. The staff were happy and eager to help with whatever was asked. The surrounding streets had some fabulous trattoria for a unique evening meal. We will return here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with views of the Coliseum
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little softer

    Awesome hotel and location and fabulous view of The Colosseum from our room. Loved Rome, we'll be back and stay here again and definitely recommend it to others!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with views of the Coliseum
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi booked through hotel on departure to airport tried to overcharge us,definitely only use white Roma taxis

    All staff friendly and very welcoming everywhere

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No information about that the pool was not available. That was the only reason why I chose the hotel. Not even sunbeds. I got the information that it was too early in the season. No info of this on the home page. Extremely small rooms. No place for the luggage.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very disappointed and were surprised by the standards based on staying in other Mercure Hotels in the UK, Germany. Etc. 1. The fact that we specifically selected the breakfast option in our holiday booking to be told upon check in we had to pay. The price was not worth it. 2. Our room was really small...no bath just a shower - plus the design was poor as we had to be conscious of the water not spilling over into the room. 3. Not enough pillows in the room. 4. Ordered a bowl of pasta worth €12 as Room service. The portion size would only feed a child not an adult. It was dry and barely cooked. Furthermore we had to pay an additional €7 to get one small bowl delivered to our room. Why do Mercure charge guests extra for room service??? 5. We also were mislead by the facilities. It should have included access to swimming pool and sun loungers? The pool was sign posted "do not enter"? There were no sun loungers to relax and enjoy the good weather. False advertising!! Overall we won't consider or recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

    Location to the Colleseum.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper cups for tea and coffee. Tea drinkers were definitely disadvantaged in the room however there was a good coffee machine!

    Great location, easy to walk to the Colleseum, hop on hop off bus stop and the tram and bus stops right outside the hotel. Super little restaurants in the neighbourhood, the concierge gave great advice on where to eat locally!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it really.

    Helpful staff there 24/7 to help with anything, location is great: nice clean area with a view of the coliseum, being a 2 minute walk and the metro station which will take yu to any monument just a 2 minute walk. Room was very clean with all the necessities, just the right size for a hotel in Rome although I would upgrade to the superior room. Breakfast was wonderful with a brilliant selection, with fresh food brought out every ten minutes right til the end of breakfast. L

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really. Rooms are a bit towards the small, but given central Rome it's great value for money!

    Perfect location Terrace Design/architecture

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My daughter room door was opened when we return from dinner on the second night. Luckily, nothing was missing. I asked the front desk if there is security camera and want to see how the door was opened, the front desk said they only have security camera for entrances to the hotel, not on individual floors.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was slightly noisy (traffic) and a little dark. We spilled coffee on the bed and the sheets were never changed.

    Excellent location. Close to the historic centre and Monti. The view from the rooftop is amazing. The hotel is very pleasant and comfortable. The room was spacious with a big comfy bed and some good desk space. Breakfast in bed was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the cashier is bad. I booked by Euro, the hotel issued invoice by Euro, but charged me by USD. and they didn't change upon my request.

    the location is good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee facilities in the room, didn't like the 2 paper cups and only 2 capsules of milk given,only restricted to 1 coffee a day. Big pillar by bed!!

    The location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doesn't bother me but it could others: shower is inside the room rather than the bathroom area. Staff at the reception could be more discreet to request ID from my local friend to use my rooms toilet facility.

    Loved the location - rooms were very spacious and clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A twin bedroom had two beds jammed together (yes you could pull them apart about 18cm, but every day housekeeping stuck them back together) and there was just enough room to stand sideways between the bed and the wall. Room was tiny. Not appropriate as a twin (or maybe even a double room). But okay when you spend all your time outside. Make sure you know your travelling companion!

    Staff were wonderfully friendly - especially in the restaurant - they were great. Nice bathrooom. Lovely coffee and croissants. Stone's throw from the Colosseum. Opposite San Clemente.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prior to booking I rang to ask if the pool was open in October and told yes. Very disappointed that pool and terrace closed as this was one of the top criteria for booking.

    Functionality and location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with views of the Coliseum
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast expensive. Room quite dark. Bathroom very small. When we first arrived it was cold and raining however the only bar open was the open one on the roof. On one beautiful day when the rooftop bar would have been great it was closed for a private function and guests were relegated to a small somewhat unattractive downstairs bar. No restaurant for evening meals if the weather was too bad to venture out.

    Clean room. Staff friendly and helpful. Close to colosseum, Palatine and Forum. The roof terrace.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with views of the Coliseum
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing. I expect a decent cooked breakfast and it was very ordinary. As was any of the food in the bar. This hotel needs to spend money on a decent chef and a better menu otherwise it is just a cookie cutter boring hotel. I would rate it at McDonald's standard for food. This was the most expensive hotel we stayed in and the most disappointing.

    Location is great and the room was comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Holiday was too short!!

    Staff really helpful and pleasant. Breakfast, good selection of fresh breads, fruits, jams etc. Location was fantastic. Great roof top bar / terrace. Very clean hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bottle of fizz waiting in an ice bucket ( free of charge) as they had gleaned we was visiting for a special birthday .. Nice touch ! Couldn't ask for more checked us in early and the sandwiches at the pool bar were to die for.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with views of the Coliseum
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough loungers or seats around pool which was awkward. Also pool closed at 7pm which was a shame. No English tv chanels and you have to keep signing into WiFi which was a pain

    Location was great for us. Nice rooms

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with views of the Coliseum
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location, lovely staff, fantastic to have pool on roof as really hot in July. Great light breakfast on roof with views of Colisseum. Really good value.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was a bit too expensive, it cost me and my girlfriend €15 for a pint and a single amaretto and Coke!

    The room was spot on, not the biggest nor the smallest, just right for the location of the hotel. The bar area is really nice to relax in at night.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with views of the Coliseum
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we first checked in, we were put in a smoking room and the room smelled of stale smoke. There was also a thick layer of dust and food bits under the bed. We moved to a non-smoking room the following day and the staff kindly moved our belongings whilst we were out. On our final day, when we returned to our room in the evening, we found the airconditioning unit had been leaking into one of our open suitcases. Apparently the drip tray was full and had not been emptied in a while. There are no irons available in the rooms. You have to use an iron located in a small room on the first floor. The pool was very disappointing. It is very shallow all over and located in a small area on the rooftop, so difficult to get a sunlounge or chair (or even floor space) and it was always filled with children.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is amazing, being so close to the coliseum. The rooftop restaurant and bar have a particularly amazing view. We really enjoyed the evening meal on the rooftop while watching the sun set. Lovely food and great service. The room has a nice big shower in the bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Roma Centro Colosseo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: