Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Reggio Emilia Centro Astoria 4 stars

Viale Leopoldo Nobili N°2, 42121 Reggio Emilia, Italy

#6 of 21 hotels in Reggio Emilia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 788 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower very uneven flow of water either too hot or too cold. Toilet did not flush properly. Very noisy could hear other guest in other rooms.

    Proximity to center of town. Competent staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms that aren't yet renovated have a nasty carpet floor. The beds have some creaky plastic covers, even in pillows.

    Breakfast is nice. Renovated rooms are nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room walls are a bit thin so you're able to hear conversations in neighbouring room.

    Great location, very friendly staff and good breakfast spread.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I believe that they should have coffee options in the room, as most mercure hotels have.

    The location was great, walking distance to all historic center. The staff was friendly, helpful and polite. The beds were confortable, with spacious and clean rooms. The breakfast options were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not fault this hotel location or facilities it was perfect for our needs

    In house restaurant was excellent and many other excellent restaurants sand cafes nearby lots of local food available

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture tired. Shower tray leaked Maintenance of bathroom amateurish. No tea/coffee making facilities in room. Electric sockets poorly placed adaptors didn't fit - impossible to recharge my phone.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is just a hotel nothing more. The bedroom was normal size nothing spectacular. Small unnecessary balcony meant room was cramped with a small window. Carpet dirty but an attempt had been made to clean the rest of the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was quite hard and not that comfortable to sleep in. The room cleaners did not always top up supplies such as tea and soap so we had our own for the week. It was okay for our needs but nothing special.

    The location of this hotel is excellent. You are right on the edge of the gardens so it is green and peaceful but also on the edge of the town centre so it's an easy walk to restaurants and activities. The size of the room is fairly good and the balcony overlooking the park makes for a nice place to relax.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The interior of this hotel is outdated and worn. The fitness area is of poor quality; machines not working, very limited supply of weights and equipment. The air conditioning was switched off for the entire hotel even though it was 27 degrees in my room, hence I was forced to sleep with my balcony door open with disturbance from shouting people in the park next to the hotel late in the night and mosquitos depriving me of my night's sleep.

    Central location in heart of city. Easily accessible parking next to hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I had an amazing room. Room 406. Large room large bathroom and balcony. Bed was very comfortable. The bar restaurant was terrific. You could buy a glass of wine in the evening for 5 euro and have nibbles nuts etc and small sandwiches for free. Breakfast was more variety than expected. Great helpful staff would book restaurants cabs and hairdressers! The parking was great too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I payed the room too much compared to the last time. But the property is changed they sayd. Having breakfast at the bar is too expensive

    Position and parking

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fist time that stayed, our rooms didn't have coffee makers; we booked two rooms for our family but the second time we got better rooms with coffee maker:-)

    Loved the location and very helpful staff! clean rooms and comfortable beds; I will highly recommend it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    leaving after only one night

    Staff went out of their way to be helpful. Reggio Emilia is a fantastic place to stay in Italy if you want to be away from the crowds.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The room was next to kitchen and I had a lot of noise late in the night till 1 am. The reception got my complain and they informed the kitchen personnel, but they did not stop the noise. Really impossible to sleep. - Scrambled eggs at breakfast were raw, almost all liquid. Coffee cup was dirty of coffee powder, not really for a 4 star service.

    Kindness of staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was perfect.

    A lovely hotel in a great location. I liked everything about this hotel from the staff to the lounge to the room to the location. It was the perfect place for our stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault the location of this hotel, particularly if you have a car, ample parking and even secure parking available. The hotel is situated in a park that after a short pleasant walk leads you into the heart of Reggio Emilia. The staff were exceptional, even providing us with a super early check-in at no extra charge. Lovely helpful staff with exceptional English which makes a stay easier. Strong wifi that could even hold Skype calls - great hotel if you're working.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was in a middle of a renovation, so the noise level was disturbing starting at about 9 am. However, I believe the price I paid for the room did compensate for this inconvenience. With that being said it would be nice to know ahead of time. another minor inconvenience was that the hotel parking lot was tiny, and we had to use street meter parking for most of our stay, particularly overnight. Garage parking was rather expensive, but luckily meters were free between I think 6 or 7 in the evening and 8 in the morning. Despite these minor inconveniences I would still stay there again. The property was great, the staff was very friendly, and location was excellent.

    Excellent location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving, we'll be back next year on our way to Corfu.

    This was the fourth time we've stayed here, and we love it. Central to the town with plenty of Piazzas to explore, bars and restaurants. The hotel has good parking, excellent friendly and professional staff, really clean and well maintained. Right next to the park if you want to extend your walk back to the Hotel after dinning out in one of the local restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bread at breakfast was powdery - although eaten generically in N Italy, it's of poor quality. A greater choice of rolls please.

    A comfortable, clean room and a good quality evening meal. Some of the staff were more helpful than others, but that may have been due to translation difficulties. Excellent waiters and breakfast staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pressure in the shower

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular .Food quality can be improved.

    Friendly staff,Location,comfort and cleanliness.Lots of good local cafes close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are relatively small, breakfast needs more options, no safe closet inside rooms.

    Location and Staff are friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Location, beautiful hotel, nice breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small room with not so comfortable bed

    Very nice breakfast with fresh fruit and very nice staff. Fantastic location.5 minutes to city center

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny shower

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a beautiful gem

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No croissants left, buffet was quite empty when taking a later breakfast

    Comfy bed and good food in the restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is uncomfortable.

    Great Location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderful location at the city park, spacious room, silence (no traffic in front), relaxing view from the balcony

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing especially, old overpriced hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hosts, great location and food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff well located with great restaurants nearby

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could do with some refurbishment but was ok.

    Good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was challenging as spaces were occupied.

    Good and central location. Nice communal park next to hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast -- no fried eggs

    The old town

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot - air conditioning not available .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Location was great and staff was helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were good and beds great. The location is an easy walk to this lovely and lively town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired rooms, noisy. No insulation between floors and walls

    Good restaurant, friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pillow, too hard, not comfortable to sleep

    window view

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have a parking. Good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable rooms in convenient location overlooking park near family studying at the university.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the viraity of the breakfast was not so good

    every thing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    All round excellent hotel with extremely helpful team

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the fifth time we have stayed . That should answer all your questions!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personnel très aimable. Lit et matelas grand et comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel is perfect. The stuff is very nice and hospitable. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to visit Reggio Emilia.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was very well done. Staff were all friendly and helpful. A very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    air con didn't work in the room

    Perfect location next to the park and gardens. Within waling distance of food the centre of the town

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was lousy

    Right in the town centre

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Coffee wasn't good. It would be great to have a barista bar. scrambled eggs were runny, bacon not crispy

    Friendly, helpful staff. Comfortable facilities, Bar snacks in the early evening when we had drinks

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Decor is tired throughout and value for money was not exceptional - although a major food fair was on in Parma when I booked so maybe there are better deals at other times. Parking in the garage costs extra although the car park is spacious and secure No real atmosphere.

    Good location with a 5 - 10 minute walk to the centre of town. Pleasant staff, comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant, other than breakfast, was hard to find.

    The breakfast was good. The location next to the park was lovely. The staff were very accepting of our grandson, and his parents visiting our room.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The beds are small. King bed is considered two beds joint together. The mattresses and pillows are not comfortable. But they are not bad if you compare value for money

    The room is spacious and the view of the garden is very nice

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Couple

    TV in the room: very very small screen, poor international channel selection and way outdated design. Not what I expect or see around the world from an hotel of this level. Plastic glasses in the toilet?..mm

    Location is unbeatable. Easy to reach by car, quiet and 3 min walk from the city. Personnel is helpful and professional. Very nice breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it would be nice if hotel could provide transportation from the train station as they have a van.

    excellent location close to the center of city and very good restaurant in the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was too small. Bathroom was too small. There is no ironing machine. There is no Tea/Coffee maker.

    Staff were very helpful. Location is strategic. Good value for money. Breakfast buffet is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms were very noisy, I could here my neighbors all the nights, walls are very thin and not at all sound isolated, so you have the impression that you stay with somebody in your room, totally not acceptable for such a hotel and price!!

    rich and diversified breakfast,excellent staff, very clean, good location,parking for the car

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Stayed for a month here whilst studying at Commedia dell Arte in Reggia so the location is perfect. Reception staff are brilliant, they looked after me so well. A perfect stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    Stayed for one night,Unfortunately we arrived too late and did not have the opportunity to see the centre

    Stayed for one night travelling from Ancona back home. It was in a nice location it would be even better if it was closer to the city center, as we arrived too late. The staff was very helpful recommending a couple of restaurants in the area. We would definitely go back, it is a pity we could not stay longer.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    As little far from venice center checkout time shoud be little flexible atleast for the families with children.

    Even not in Venice centre but very well connected even all over the night have waterbus. Hotel is very near to waterbus stop. Very good thing is if someone stay for 2 days or 3 days can enjoy both city and lido with sea beach what 75% of tourists always miss or don't knkw even.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pillow cushion and towels didn't smell nice. To have to pay €12 for 1 night covered parking when outdoor places were taking by non-hotel guests, even after asking to reserve my outdoor place for 20 mins. Retrieving Wifi code every day when the reception is very busy. Missing swimming pool!

    Breakfast and people that worked there. Cleaning of room.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On our first visit the air conditioning in our room did not work. Wifi coverage is variable.

    We stopped here twice on our way to and from the ferry to Greece from Ancona. Reggio Emilia is a very pleasant city and worth a stop in its own right. The hotel is in the centre of town but has its own parking which is essential. The room was comfortable and quite large, the breakfast was excellent and the restaurant was good. Wifi was free.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast was a huge buffet and very good. The room was very nice and exceptionally clean. Just a short walk through the park to the main part of town.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Pillows uncomfortable, shower too small, leaking toilet.

    Great location: between town centre (5 mins walk) and the workshop I was attending on the other side (10 mins walk). Beside a beautiful park.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi signal poor, had to stand near the room door for decent connection. Restaurant staff not very organized, had to stand and wait to give room number at end of meal

    Comfy beds, excellent shower, plenty of space. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The plastic and cardboard glasses and cups were most disappointing. China and Glass is more appropriate for a four star hotel

    The Hotel was very comfortable and conveniently and well priced

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Arrived late and left early but looked nice and staff were friendly

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Comfortable bed, good breakfast, good view from balcony.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    fake curtain

    position

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room was too warm and it was even beginning of May

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little dated

    Quite room

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lifts are a little small for push chair

    Friendly helpful staff, good location close to city centre

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Reggio Emilia Centro Astoria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: