Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Roma Piazza Bologna 3 stars

Via Reggio Calabria 54, Nomentano, 00161 Rome, Italy

#421 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 365 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary water was given to guests. No warning given that Tap water was not portable as full of sediment.

    Clean Comfortable beds and near a Metro. Location not far from city in a nice neighbourhood. Laundromat next door. Reception Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was weak and water pressure wasn't strong ohh and the fridge wasn't making anything cold

    Great location 3 stops from collesum 2 mins walk to underground pizza shop( you have to try mamma pizza ) cafes, supermarket and bakery just round the corner

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check out we were told to pay the city tax. Would have rather been tikd that from the onset and not as we were leaving.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is close to the Bologna metro stn which is only 3 stops to Termini stn (central stn)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a non-smoking room but I was given a smoking room, which is not something I liked.

    My 3rd stay at this hotel. Standard business hotel located near the popular Piazza Bologna, very close to the metro station. Decent facilities. Good breakfast. Friendly staffs. Good for a short business trip.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No gym and pool

    3 minutes walking to Metro station, a lot of good small restaurants and shops around the hotel, friendly staff, clean rooms, good breakfast, Minibar reasonable price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's in a residential neighborhood, so there wasn't much to do, shop or eat in the neighborhood, but is close enough to the Metro, and the price couldn't be beat. I'd stay there again.

    I asked for a quiet room and was allotted a room at the end of the hall. It was just perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with air condition. Had to open window because air condition did not work Frustrations problem with room key. Do not believe a cell phone had anything to do with it stoping to work every day. This does not happen at other hotels

    The staff was great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were a little small.

    Very comfortable hotel with a good breakfast. Beautiful location, in a good suburb with pleasant shops (including a Carrefour) and a laundry a short distance from the hotel. Banks and the post office just above the metro station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel place is not so far from the city center. It is possible to reach the center with a reasonable taxi price or through public transportation. Breakfast was above standards.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and the hotel bar was small too. We didn't book breakfast because it was overpriced but there was an excellent cafe nearby selling a very wide range of pastries at a very reasonable price.

    The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel was near the metro and close to reasonably priced bars and restaurants. We chose the hotel because it was near to our son's apartment but it was within easy reach of central Rome too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smoking room in 2016, you must be kidding. Didn't try the breakfast (15 EUR/person), had breakfast at the cafe nearby, much cheaper and more authentic.

    I loved the pillows we had in the room. Staff at reception was really nice, and we could change our first room (smoking!) quickly to non-smoking. Superb clean room, Good location and lovely cafes nearby. Would recommend this hotel anytime to friends staying in Rome. Hope to get back one day.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location near Metro. Staff was helpful with information.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable , rooms are spacious , near metro station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    douche in bad

    bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good gym

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ---

    This was our second stay at this Hotel and we absolutley enjoyed it! Very nice staff + excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had problem with safe , sorted straight away

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to be mentioned.

    The hotel is nice, location is good, services are ok.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No iron/ironing board available for rooms.

    Good choice for breakfast, refreshed quickly. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location - within walking distance to everything you need for your vacation

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would of been nice to be able to control the air conditioning in the room .It got really cold in the night

    Very friendly smiley staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift was also very comfortable!

    Location and comfort.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Do not go in

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Probably a bit to far from the airport if we were to stay again and had to get to the airport to catch a flight.

    Great location and very clean and tidy easy to get onto the metro.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was inside an elevated bathtub, which requires you to step up to get in and step down to get out - this is not a friendly arrangement for anyone with even modest mobility limitations.

    The hotel is very conveniently located and the room was comfortable. The breakfast, although not included in the room price, was very good.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. The maid should really not try to clean everything(we had to throw away our toothbrushes after finding them in the cup we placed them...but the cup was half-filled with water by the maid). This was (if we can call it) a downside as we had to go get a new set :) 2. Low water pressure(at least in our room)

    It was the best experience in a Mercure hotel(twice in Madrid - same brand - highly disappointed). Everything was perfect and practical, staff is highly qualified: polite, professional, clean, willing to help solve any requirements/issues of the customer.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Well located close to Bologna (Metro line B) and Tiburtina train and coach stations. Easy to reach from Fiumicino airport by train. Good base for visit to Rome.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I booked a double room but came with a twin room, or say, a big double bed formed of 2 single beds. Besides the wifi is quite inconvenient

    Continent if you need public transportation

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff at the reception were not very competent. We had booked two adjacent rooms .When we checked in we stressed that we wanted the rooms next to each other and the receptionist confirmed that they are. When we went up to the rooms we found that they were the exact opposite;many rooms apart. We had read that there was going to be a strike the following day in public transportation, but when we asked at the reception they denied it. We then saw a note in the elevators warning the guests about the strike! When we were finally checking out the staff at the reception wanted to charge us again what they had already taken from the credit card previously

    Location

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rome metro is very very crowded, so taking 3 stops from termini station may become a challenge

    wifi is good, the hotel is situated in a lovely neighborhood, the rooms are quite.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We basically had to take a cab or train everywhere. Unfortunately was not walking distance to downtown, nor in a good area.

    The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast is very poor. Also, there is no change, eery day the same white cheese and the same yellow cheese, taht is not even pre-cut .. Also the scrambled eggs are really artificial, they should have omelette or boiled eggs at least.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Roof terrace had no seating facilities to enjoy sunshine!

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff is friendly and helpfull. Perfect location for the hotel, very central. Excellent value for the money.

    The staff is friendly and helping.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would be great to stay for more nights there

    Everything: room is comfortable, wifi is stable and fast, breakfast is good.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fiddly bathroom

    Comfy Bed Very Clean

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    At night the street noise made sleeping with an open window difficult.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I like breakfast and really nice behave all staf

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    all ok, good value for money, nothing special, clean and unexpensive

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A good place

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Easy access to subway. Great restaurant in the neighborhood.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff not always available

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Near Bologna train station Free wifi

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of the best three stars hotels

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great value for money relative to other Roman options.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good, small but friendly hotel with underground around the corner.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The 15€ breakfast cooked food lukewarm, very little prepared fruit, broken toaster,

    Excellent location

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good value for money. Handy location to Metro. Room was quite spacious. Staff were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    shower below expectation (half broken), small rooms, complicated wifi (need to register every day)

    close to metro station, clean, nice rooms

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast expensive at €15

    Excellent transport links Comfortable bed Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The Hotel was clean but the room is very small

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Should have cafe available all morning. Not just until noon.

    Front desk help was awesome.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: