Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Meridiana Country Hotel 4 stars

Via Di Barberino 253, 50041 Calenzano, Italy

#2 of 11 hotels in Calenzano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 683 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a bit broken, and there were no electricity ports near the bed or at any convenient location.

    The hotel and the rooms are very high end, everything is clean and comfy. The staff was really kind to us, and the breakfast was absolutely amazing. The location was beautiful, and the parking was really good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c or fan. (I know its pretty normal for Italian hotels, especially smaller hotels) Allergies. As an allergy sufferer, it was the bane of the stay and kept it from being an almost perfect stay. All the pollen, trees, and plants are very beautiful, but man did they irritate my allergies.

    The location is overviewing the wondrous Tuscan hillside. I was pleasantly surprised how nice the room was and that each room had a private balcony with seating. Customer service was very attentive and helpful. Love the amenities of a plentiful breakfast buffet, fitness center, and private sauna. Parking was plentiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My bedside light didn't work - but not a major problem!

    We were very late arriving due to flight times and had to leave early the next morning so it was a short stay, but we were made to feel welcome and would have liked to have stayed longer. The location is quiet and rural, but close to Florence and easy to get to. The rooms were very nice, and the breakfast was excellent. The staff were on hand and keen to help and make sure we had everything we needed. Would stay again if in the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely property in a quiet area in the mountains. Rooms are attractive, comfortable and well furnished. The best part of the hotel, however, was the wonderful, friendly and helpful staff at the front desk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a big problem, just for awareness - to access the wellness facilities from the rooms, you need to cover a few meters outside (can be cold in winter).

    Excellent place, all the facilities are new and comfortable. Exceptionally friendly and helpful receptionist - he made our stay even more pleasant. The sauna is included in the room rate and ideal for 2 people (with more it can be crowded). If you go to the nearby designer outlet, you can get a 10% discount if you ask at the hotel. Breakfast is of very good variety and quality and the eating area is extremely cosy (like a living room).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really loved the Meridiana Country Hotel, even if we have been here just for one night. Very friendly staff, clean, great style and good breakfast. Also positive, there is a good restaurant on the other side or the street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit older and not recently renovated. Not very easy to find in the night, even with GPS.

    Convenient for a one-night stop. The breakfast and coffee was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Adjacent Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea / coffee in the rooms.

    Excellent staff very efficient, friendly and helpful. The breakfast too was good. The location was very nice and we enjoyed our 4 Nights at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Adjacent Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was just perfect - the hotel, the location, the rooms overlooking magnificent Tuscany hills, the services and a friendly and very helpful staff. Breakfasts were very good. The hotel building was also very nice designed with inner passages and a lot of open air. We booked two adjoining rooms and those were exceptionally clean. The place is rather quiet notwithstanding a road nearby. The hotel is mostly for those travelling by car. It was a pleasure to stay at such a nice place. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe they can more tell about restaurants and other services near to hotel

    Location of hotel was perfect . Mugello racetrack is near , and Good connection to florence.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Adjacent Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought when I booked that there would be a door joining the two rooms since it was advertised as "adjoining rooms," but they were not connected. That made it a bit tricky with little kids, so my spouse and I had to sleep in different rooms, but it worked out.

    Great place! We stayed one night as a stopover on a long road trip, and it was great. Breakfast was fantastic!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room (#214) was not very spacious. Gym was very cold (but maybe it is just because I found a window open). Long corridors leading to the gym were dark, I would suggest a presence sensor to switch on the light.

    Quiet and relaxing place, with a free parking just in front. Helpful, nice and professional staff. Rich breakfast served in a vast room. Try fabulous Gennaro restaurant 200mt away (open in the weekends).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No exhaust fan in bathroom,air-condition works hard but useless like typical Italian. Reception said the system gets maximum 23 degree. A lovely four-star hotel!

    Big parking area

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No eating facilities close by for lunch, much ongoing road construction leading up to the hotel.

    Excellent breakfast, helpful staff, free parking, quiet room, convenient for the airport.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    amiable and attentive staff; nice and cosy location; easy accessible with free parking; good gym with barbells; restaurant with delicious wines just opposite street

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    hotel on main road, you can't go out for a walk around the area, and it didn't have swimming pool

    there were always fresh fruits, water, coffee and tea available throughout the day and evening. very seclusive area, surrounded by mountains. staff were always helpful, welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    the room floor tiles were sticky. there are some flying ants in the bathroom and bedroom, this is probably because the hotel is surrounded by forests and green lands in the mountain. but the view is fantastic and very quite. the room is sound proof and air conditioned.

    The Staff are very friendly and cheerful, helpful and accommodating. the hotel located very close to the Barberino Premium Outlet and close to Prato Central station, where you can take the train to Firenze Santa Maria Novella train station and also visit Florence

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good. Lovely view. Staff was very helpfull and always smiling. Good restaurant nearby, La Selva. Short drive to barberino outlet village. Working AC.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Adjacent Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no place to park. 8 Ferraris on the parking lot. Joking about the first one :-)

    Everything was awesome. From perfectly speaking english receptionists, to modern yet cozy rooms, to brilliant breakfast. In the restaurant nearby, which was recommended by them, we had a very good and reasonably priced dinner.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was perfect and the handmade cappuccino delicious. the fitness room the quiet place where the hotel is located

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutly fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Adjacent Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn't that much clean

    Freindly staff Very good breakfast and setting area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Adjacent Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price Value is the best.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, restaurant across the street was closed, but we got some good recommendations for better options at the village nearby.

    Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything friendly staff clean beautiful service. All good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Really excellent staff who were very personable. Lovely hotel atmosphere and excellent breakfast. I would strongly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A swimmingpool

    Very good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi did not work well.

    Nice and comfortable rooms. Friendly staff. Plenty parking availability. Good restaurant opposite the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking space

    Friendliness

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast too basic for a 4 stars

    facilities quite good and price/quality ration

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good facilities

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic road

    Lovely hotel and good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place! We were staying here for one night on our way to Tuscany and planning to stay again on our way back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very far from Firenze center (30 kms)

    Breakfast,staff, room cleaning and free parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Adjacent Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we really enyoyed our 3 nights stay in this hotel. the children were delighted, beautiful places, excellent room, charming people !!! Thanks !!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two Adjacent Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel And clean room. I would reccomend iT for a short stay

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Adjacent Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place and great staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great location in nature, big rooms,clean, pretty kind personnel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the place was pretty excellent, staff and facilities were amazing and we felt like at home. would definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotell close to A1 and Firenze! + gym

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Coffee maker in the room. No groccery store near by.

    Quite, relaxing location, extremly friendly staff, and free parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two Adjacent Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hotel - very nice rooms, good air condition, gym was nice bonus! Very delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Modern hotel in a peaceful location near to Firenze and to the motorway. Nice staff, good breakfast and stylish rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friendly straff. Nice rooms, fitness center ans sauna. Great location to go to Florence by bus.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only a few things, and not complains, only suggestions. I thought they have a jacuzzi as well with the sauna. Maybe it is a good idea to have, would just make the stay more relaxing. The other thing, that we wanted to go hiking, walking in the Tuscany forest, hills but could not really find hiking trails or paths. Maybe good idea to have some kind of maps, leaflets or any information for the tourists.

    The location is beautiful, up in the mountains, the view is wonderful. You must stay in this hotel if you arrive by car, or if you dont mind travelling with public transport. There is a bus from Firenze to the hotel, and buses go to Calenzano, Prato as well, so not too bad. The staff is unbelievable professional, very nice, very friendly and helpful. And they make amazing capuccinos and hot chocolates !!!! The room is very nice, comfortable bed, small terrace with a great view. Very relaxing. The breakfast is really good, they have so many food for breakfast, you could spend hours just eating. We can highly recommend this hotel! Very very good value for the money

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was quite slow, to the point of barely usable. Also they need a little more signage as you approach the hotel from down the road on both sides. As you approach, there's no signs of the hotel, there's suddenly a sharp right turn into the property.

    The location has an amazing view, was close to the best restaurant we visited in Italy, and was not too far from Florence. Breakfast was good, rooms were large and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Slow internet.

    Very friendly and helpful receptionist, possibly the hotel's manager. Ideal location for a one night stop-over but also for a couple of nights to discover the region. Good enough breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was nice, and the location is fantastic. Room was excellent with nice price, so I don't want to recommend this hotel to anybody such good hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Kind and pleasant staff. Very genuine and would recommend without reservation. For context, my staff was strictly as a place to sleep while I continued my journey north. I found the hotel clean, staff welcoming, and breakfast plentiful and good.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stone floor in the room and very small carpets. We had to cover the very cold floor with towels to be able to walk on. Cracks on the wall. Awful breakfast: hardened bread, not much variety.

    Not much

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's far from Florence and a car is mandatory. The room was a bit cold. The AC worked only for 1-2 minutes and then it stopped. The receptionists leaves at 23 and nobody could fix it.

    Interesting hotel room. It was OK for a one night stay. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment but ok in the end.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing .. All was super.

    Great location really charming. Staff are unbelievably nice and make you feel special and at home. Every service feels personal and only for you.especially Mr. Loris, he makes this place feels like home.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were incredibly welcoming, the location was idilic and the room was lovely. Couldn't have asked for a more ideal stay. With our hire car we were able to reach Florence within 40 minutes comfortably.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. Very good hotel for travelling by car. It locates near big fashion outlet. Very friendly and helpful staff. We had a big room with a balcony. Grate sauna. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi dropped out regularly

    Best breakfast in Italy. Nice quiet location but don't come without a car. Sauna and well equipped gyum was good. Very friendly staff. Complimentary mini bar restocked regularly.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's about 40 minutes into Florence but hey, I knew that before I booked so no complaints.

    Lovely hotel with lovely staff and they had secure parking for my motorcycle under the hotel. Very clean hotel. No complaints.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful experience! very very nice staff! They made our 5 day stay unforgettable! Quite place and easy to reach from Florence airport! 25 min by car! We where there in mid summer and the place was very cool and comfortable. Very very clean too! Wifi was excellent! Breakfast was delicious, included variety of juices, croissants and cakes, scrambled and boiled eggs, cold cuts and cheese, bacon/sausages, variety of bread, yoghurt etc. while Simone serves you with tea or coffee with a big nice smile :) Definitely a place to stay! Many thanks from Malta

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff are first class. We always feel welcome here when we stop overnight on our travels. This is a very nice, comfortable and friendly hotel and we look forward to staying here again in the future.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location of the hotel not really Tuscany atmosphere for me, but the wiew of the montain in front of the hotel, and the trees was nice.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hospitality was great. Tutto bene.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    City tax of 3 eur/person not included in the price and not presented on booking.com. Hotel is very modern and built with expensive materials but unfortunatelly not very well maintained. Signal of wi-fi is very good but no internet connection (poor or non-existent)

    Beautifull peaceful location, rich breakfast (continental), nice staff

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - cleaning lady not wash glass - I have one card acces for two person - mini bar was filled just one time in 6 days

    everithing: very friendly personal, quiet location, breakfast is good.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was no issue for us as we preferred to stay a bit outside the big cities on the country side. But be aware, that there is not much around and you will need a car.

    We had such a great stay, the room is spacious, clean and comfortable. The view and setting of the hotel is very relaxing, but best of all is the great staff. They were so helpful and genuinely friendly, never had this good service before. Thanks!

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    everything OK

    I got a "value deal" option so the quality received was superior at that price. Very quite location but close to the rest of the area. Staff very kind.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Its very nice and quiet countryside place with beautiful mountain views. Free parking near hotel. When you visit Florence by car and you need a quiet place to sleep good after long driving, near the motorway, book this hotel. Also it highly recommended to people, who visiting barberino outlet by car.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maybe breakfast is not 4 star. Expected more fresh home made food because they are not in the main city like Florence. But the staff tries not to miss something what they offerd at the breakfast.

    Realistic Tuscany hotel not that far from busy Florence. Peacefully place. Nice, clean hotel in green forest. Staff is helpfull, hotel is clean. Nice room with balcony and view at the mountains.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nothing

    In house Garage for the car

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    lack of toiletries

    hospitable staff and good food 👍

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly staff.... nice mountain view ....greenery area ..,, close to Rome highway

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Good room with terrace and small garden. Ideal when travelling with dog.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom could have been cleaner

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good hotel

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - staff is very hospitable - good and yummy breakfast - free parking outside

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good breakfast and really friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    a little bit far from the main center

    Very good stuff , great&clean rooms

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Meridiana Country Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: