Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Messner 3 stars

Dorsoduro 237, Dorsoduro, -30123 Venice, Italy

#279 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1158 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never booked a hotel like this in my life. Very poor communication skill and no management at all. Air condition didn’t work at room. Charged extra after checkout didn’t inform before they take it. Very very bad service. The staff who work night shift is not suit for this job. I am sorry to comment. But it’s true.

    Doesn’t like anything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really needs & expectations were met.

    Location was quiet and good & access to restaurants tourist venues easy. Loved the shops in the laneways near hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower surround / curtain needed replacing rather than the botch job fix that was in place.

    Good location with friendly staff and lovely rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cons: -The size of the room (There was maybe a foot of space on the three open sides of the bed). It was very tight for two people -the bed was broken Also, plan to arrive before the night waterbus takes over (Due to flight delays, I didn't get in until after midnight, and the N Waterbus' closest stop was over a 30 minute walk with our backpacks)

    For the price, it was a good room. We were brought to their annex location which I assume houses their "budget rooms" Pros: -The A/C was great! -The location -shower pressure -the breakfast spread was delicious!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steep flight of stairs and no lift, Understandably the building is in need of upgrading given its age.

    Breakfast excellent Staff tops. Even the Receptionist helped with luggage up the stairs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Do not book this hotel! You will be disappointed! The pictures of Hotell "Mess"ner at Booking.com are from a different hotel. But, if you want to pay for a 3 star hotel and end up in a shared room with thousands of ants in an annex...Well...Be my guest.

    Ok location and breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    keep looking. most hotels were booked out. the rating is for four stars and three stars. definitely 3 stars.

    close to zattere, a good vaporetto connection. santo spirito, the closest stop, only has limited lines.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small room. Plastic shower courtain was broken (looked like it was not changed for ages).

    Location is great. Very close to Peggy Guggenheim musem. Nice district (not so full of tourists but still close to many attractions). Breakfast is the same every day, but very good as for italian standards (cheese, ham, eggs, fruits, joghurt etc.). Room is cleaned every day. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Things looking a bit shabby for even a three star...

    I thought this was a Three Star hotel, so if it were it’d prob meet my expectations. However, the business card claims it to be a four-star. So, it’s below what I would expect from that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While our initial room was smart and adequate we asked for a bigger room and the receptionist pulled out all the stops to find us a cracking replacement room.

    This is a great 3* hotel in a smashing location, they have a myriad of rooms so I would recommend fully checking out the room size and facilities. Some rooms have a dedicated shower and toilet facility across the landing - so not in the room. The staff are smashing, friendly and helpful, rooms cleaned every day which was nice and you get 30% off your evening meal if you eat in the lovely restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty. With a bad organization of the furniture in the room leaving too little space to move in the room. Although we had booked another room (double bed in 25 square meters), they told us that they had already given our room to someone else and gave us a tiny room (6 square meters with two single beds). The bathroom smelled like molt. The price was 100 per night. Good for Venice but very bad for the facilities offered.

    Good location. Easy to move around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and price for Venice! Very close to Piazza San Marco and water shuttle stop Salute, a 10 min walk to the hotel from there. The breakfast was included and it was a good deal for the price we paid.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not in the main building where you check in but down a block, which is where you are taken after check in. Looks nothing like the main building at all.. Had to walk up several flight of stairs and hallways to get to the room with kids and luggage Sink was clogged in the room and bathrooms/showers are down the hall for use A little pricey for such a small room with four twin beds, a sink, and no amenities

    The beds were comfy Watertaxi is right outside hotel Free breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could fault was the shower curtain, the decor it's dated but we had a open mind.

    We arrived nice and early to Venice but had to do some research to work out how to get to the property. Good job! We took a bus from the airport to the station then a water bus to the location. Head right to get to the hotel after getting off at salute on the water bus. This was a great start to get our bearings. The staff were lovely and we the breakfast was nice, the coffee was warm. The beds were comfy, could have done with an extra pillow but didn't mention this at the time. Fantastic location. We loved walking around- there are no cars around which we loved! All the main sights are close and there are some lovely places to eat and drink. We walked back to the train station which only took half a hour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really thin walls between the rooms, no airport shuttle available (despite what's declared on booking.com)

    Good choice at breakfast, rooms are clean, bathroom new. Nice neighborhood, although quite far from San Marco

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We visited at the end of February and room was really cold at night despite keeping heating on at all times. But a staff member was kind enough to provide us with blankets in the middle of the night.

    Quiet place and staff were very helpful. Room was clean and a short Gondola ride was also included for free. Breakfast was great with a wide range of choices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked so old-fashioned, small and dark; the decoration/furniture looked ugly and poor, it was like a hostel. The toilet was tiny, just a very small shower. We felt so disappointed when we open the door! Our room was in a different building, so we had to get out to go to both the reception and the restaurant.

    Breakfast was varied and plentiful. The staff was helpful and kind, they spoke Spanish as well as English. They keep your luggage after checkout the time you need with no extra charge. Despite our first impression, the room was kept very clean, with new clean towels everyday and sheets.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The nicest part of this hotel was the lobby..and even that could use some serious TLC. The receptionist led us to our room in a separate building (not advertised at all) all the while watching us struggle to carry two huge luggage bags up two flights of stairs without a single offer to help. The room was disgusting and everything was broken. It was obvious the room has not been fixed in years. The door to the shower, both windows in the room, the AC/heater and more were all broken...The “queen bed” was two twins pushed together, which smelled like mildew and smoke. The communal bathroom located right next to our room was horrible because as each person from that room struggled to use the lock, it sounded like they were attempting to break into our room since (shocker) our door was slightly broken as well. Each hallway smelled like the inside of a bathroom and I’ve never been so happy for fresh air. HIGHLY suggest not going to their restaurant. While the 30% off is ideal, we waited 40 minutes (told 20) for a seat when more than 4 booths were open the entire time and the waitress FORGOT we were waiting, all the while making frequent eye contact. The fact that this “hotel” (hostel?) has three/four stars is astounding and the worst decision about our trip was choosing to stay there.

    Nothing?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room -Dependance
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating in the 2 rooms that we had was insufficient considering that we had low temperatures & snow. One guest was not advised that their food choice could not be met until the other guests at the table were being served their main course!! Also the restaurant staff were not attentive & the wait for food was way too long.

    As usual the breakfast was very good for Venice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly let down by a few things. We booked a double room but were given two separate beds pushed together that were different heights and not secured together. A very uncomfortable night’s sleep. More unpleasantly, the room and especially the bathroom were not clean. The shower tray and curtain were broken and had mould, as did most of the rest of the fixtures. The shower took an age to warm up and the pressure, even when it finally did, was woeful. When I complained to reception, I was asked to wait for a call from the manager. When it didn’t arrive, I emailed them and was subsequently promised a partial refund. I am still waiting for it, or some contact, over a month later despite many requests. On balance I could and would not recommend staying here.

    Ok location, quieter part of Venezia and near the Guggenheim museum that we wanted to visit. A good walk from the main attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room is little small, and heater didnt work well.

    close to mean attractions, easy to find, has a restaurant that offers 30pc discount on meals for hotel guests, nice generous breakfast, gave us tickets for gandola, and a map for the city and where to go, nice staff...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful service, room wasn’t cleaned. Everything was broken the bed was a glorified futon. I could touch both walls by putting out my arms. Restaurant just as bad!

    That I could leave at the end of the stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not close to the centre. Bed had bugs. WiFi does not connect to laptops/ipad/tablets. Food is not very good either. Do not provide guests with an electric kettle or drinking water

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    * Would be great if the city tax would be included in the price.

    * clean room, wasn't big but it was perfect for us. Our window was not facing the canal, making it very quiet. * close to Accademia Bridge and several vaporetto stations * Meals: we usually don't have breakfast, so not having a variety of choices was not a problem for us. We were pleasantly surprised by the dinner dishes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall our room though it had a wonderful view was not warm enough coming in from a winter day outside; the bathroom too was chilly. The dining room was only just warm enough at mealtimes for people like us who feel the cold.

    The staff were friendly and only too happy to be helpful. The menu and food were good and the whole atmosphere in the hotel was welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no pots for the tea. Very small cups didn't work alone, made for a very expensive cup of tea. Beds extremely hard which might not suit some people.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single in the room, with the double was a little small in length. But, we did presume this is because it was meant for a child. Additional pillows to the one you received on the bed would be good. There was one in the cupboard but, 3 people in the room. The TV wouldn't turn on and the remote was not working either it seemed. The shower was relatively clean with a few spots where cleanliness could be improved.

    The hotel was unique within, making it the quirkiness hotel we stayed in on the trip. The beds were comfy. The shower was relatively clean. Improvements possible. Breakfast was great, lots of options and a self-serve service. We filled our tummies up on all the delicious foods available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The door to our bathroom could not close properly and the lock was broken. There was also sometimes a burnt smell and/or a musty smell in our room. No elevator meant we had to carry our luggage up the stairs ourselves. Sheets were simply remade and not changed for the second night. I bought a pizza from their restaurant but didn't receive the 30% as advertised by their staff when we checked in.

    Staff was very accommodating and helpful. The complimentary breakfast is very generous and has a diverse range of options for you to choose from.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small, as is the bathroom. The bed was nice and large, but it took up the entire room and was a little too hard for me. For as large and nice as the lobby was, I expected a little it more out of my room.

    Love the location because it is less crowded, although it takes a little bit to walk from the parking garage to the hotel. Breakfast was outstanding. Good place for couples without children, unless you call can make sure you will get a larger room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant personal cannot speak English. In the bathroom was really cold, so it was very unpleasant especially after taking a shower.

    The hotel was easy to find, clean and the reception personal was really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the twin bed was not connected well so we fall all the time in the middle, the mattress itself was very bad and the heater was leaking and the internet was very bad

    the staff was very nice and the breakfast was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the restaurant isn't very tasty

    The room and bathroom are clean. The room has all you need after a day of sightseeing. The bunk bed is as you see in the picture.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing in particular.

    We were here for the second time because we very much like the location: it is at a tiny canal and the neighbourhood is quiet, yet very close to the Dogana museum. Personel is friendly and the facilities are convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly I expected more from a 3 starts hotel. The room was small and the decoration quite outdated. Beds were average and the bathroom had some issues.

    We got a pretty good offer for this hotel. In general it was just good enough to spend the night and not bad quality for the money, given the very low price for being Venice. Staff was quite nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was old and it smelled of humidity, there was an armoire covering a part of the room that was very humid and had the carpets and wall falling apart. Tha breakfast was very limited.

    Very calm zone of Venice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower tiny, door breaking apart

    We got a nice room overlooking the channel, at an affordable price (low season, end of October). Good food in restaurant at discount price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No consideration for guests who arrive before 3pm. The internet kept disconnecting and at such a slow speed. The bathroom is tiny and there is barely space to move in the shower. The breakfast buffet was okay, quite diverse. It is a little bit too expensive for what it is offering.

    I liked the location, very close to the Salute station and well connected.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our friends didn't have as a great time as the air conditioning leaked on their bed, but the hotel did resolve by the next day

    Good location,near enough for all the sights with a nice restaurant and good outdoor space

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Checking is always after 15:00, which could be inconvenient. Conditioner was broken in the room, so there were portable one given with exhaust pipe going to the window thus window had to stay open all time when air-conditioning is ON, which leads to many mosquitoes in the room... while without it was too hot in August. Also tons of dust on window frames. Hotel has a restaurant which looks OK, but vegetables were not fresh, so had to pick another one next times. Just few restaurants and bars around, area is a bit remote.

    Good value for money if we are talking about overpriced Venice. Reception is 24 hrs, we were given breakfast boxes on very early check out (make sure to let them know upfront if you checkout before breakfast time). Very quite area (good for sleep).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds in ghe room were not what we booked or payed for.

    We were 4 adults and booked for a quadruple room with 2 twin beds. Instead there was one double bed and a bunk bed only suited for children. The reception did not help us to solve the problem' the hotel was full booked.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were given had a broken air conditioning unit. They had set a very large temporary unit on the only table surface in the room- the desk. The hose attached to the unit was fed outside the window and thus they had to leave window open. The carpeting had been soaked with, I assume, water from the unit. The room smelled musty and damp. We immediately went back to the front desk to request a different room. They accommodated our request and gave us a room that was bigger (actually the size that I believe I originally paid for) and had a functioning built in air conditioning unit. It was overall clean though the shower was moldy and the shower curtain very moldy - needed to be tossed. Still it was a great step up. The next night we were in the lobby and heard a family of 4 (like ours) complain about the night they had spent in their room. As they described I realized they had put this family in the room they orinally had my family in. I felt bad for this family. Why put people in this room when you have other rooms free??? It was clearly substandard and not at all acceptable. It was very disappointing and annoying to see this.

    Restaurant and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had ( number 34) was a family room in an annex. It was not like the photo seen when the room was booked. The room was tiny, no curtain, smelled of smoking, had a dodgy bunk bed. It was like stepping back to a previous era in poor but expensive rooms.

    Reception staff were positive and helpful, the attached Restaurant served good food ( even if the Maitre D' was a bit rude when asked about food being gluten free). The location of the hotel n Venice is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very tiny, it was too small even for two people.

    The hotel was super accommodating about letting us store our luggage there while we went for a 5-day hiking trip to the Dolomites. We stayed at Messner on our return to Venice from the mountains. We were grateful for that. The service was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have to carry our luggage on the staircase and rooms and washrooms are very small, seems like guesthouse nit 3 stars at all. But staffs are friendly.

    Friendly staff and breakfast has a good collection

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival after 7hrs travelling , we were told that there was only one chef and the manager of hotel was away Ill. we waited over an hour for food to arrive . Staff apology but nothing else offered. Customer service was poor.

    Great location for walkinging around an amazing city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom in my room was a little bit shabby. It seems as though one of the glass panels on the shower had perhaps been broken and then replaced by a flimsy shower curtain. The hot water also took a while to start and if you are any taller than 5'4 or quite a broad person I think you might find it a bit hard to fit into the shower cubicle... but perhaps this is just typical of showers in Italy?

    Great location within a few minutes walking distance from some amazing art galleries and the Basilica di Santa Maria. On arrival I was given a token for 1 free water taxi to S. Maria del Giglio. A nice touch!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner was a bit weak. It was really hot outside, so we turned it down to 15 degrees Celsius, it helped a bit, but not enough. But that's all.

    It's a small hotel, right by the canal, and we got a room with a balcony with a view over the canal - absolutely beautiful! The breakfast buffet is really nice, with the standards and a wide variation of sweets and coffee. The staff we met were super nice!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and toilet, it seems to be the case in most hotels in Venice.

    Very good located in a non touristic area. Boats and gondolas very close to the hotel. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom was not very clean when we got there. There was mold through out the bathroom and shower curtain. The shower stall was broken and mended with packaging tape. When brought to the staff's attention, the room was thoroughly cleaned, repairs were made, and the bathroom was repainted while we were touring the city. Wi-fi did not work in the room, only in the hall and in the restaurant,

    The location of the hotel was perfect. Very close to the water buses. 1 stop from San Marco square. They give a 30% discount in the restaurant if you are a guest of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is way too small, only enough to put 2 single beds. The only thing you can do in the room is shower and sleep, nothing else.

    Neighbourhood is quiet and pleasant to walk around, not too many tourists.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is old and dirty, there are bugs and mosquito, they bite my son. The bumps and itchiness last for a few days,. never recommend this place to anyone. the hotel manager should investigate this problem

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    overpowering air freshener smell in room wifi did not work 90s tiny cream plastic TV screen indifferent staff awful food in restaurant, poor service very shabby bedroom/bathroom cleanliness questionable, cobwebs and mould breakfast OK but waitress unpleasant light bulbs not working plug missing from basin metal bin looked like used as a football more like a hostel

    Hot water plentiful Clean towels daily

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable. The room is super small for 4 people. The bathroom is also very tiny.

    The location is great. The restaurant is very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom the beds and the general toom

    The shower was a night mare. The toilet overflowed. The beds were truly uncomfortable. The list lights were a challenge. Location was delightful as was the staff and restaurant .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid for superior apartment and got regular. Room is very small, toilet is terrible (shower cabine is made for half person), TV is smaller than my tablet and wifi (there was no wifi).

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the 2nd floor with no lift. The room was small, the bathroom was sad. The water flow in the shower was bad.

    The location was excellent for our tours The breakfast was really good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spend only one night

    Location Room appearance Decent breakfast Clean The review is short as we arrived late in the night and left after breakfast. Overall we were satisfied. Price /quality rate was excellent for us.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. If you have luggages, it will be challenging bec there are no lifts. You'd need to drag your things up steep staircases.

    Great breakfast, near a boat station. There was also a complimentary grouo gondola ride

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 45- Found it difficult to sleep due to strange smell- Difficult to pin down exactly. A first it seemed like a disinfectant- a weak ammonia smell, then I thought it could have been the strong disinfectant used to hide small of cigarette smoke (in a no-smoking room). Most unpleasant. Also the wifi is virtually unusable in the room. Pity no international TV channels on satellite TV hook up.

    Room 45 - was fairly spacious. Good water pressure in room. Nice decor. Nice reception area and staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel claimed they were 4 stars but in Booking.com its rated as 3 stars and this is what I would agree with. Room was meant to be superior room but only thing superior was the size of the tv. Bed was uncomfortable as it was two singles put together and there was a gap in the middle and mattress was very hard. Also no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Hotel was in a nice neighbourhood but it was quite secluded and had almost nothing open nearby in the evening. Hotel's restaurnt food was a rip off and they claimed you will get 30% discount on the bill but then automatically added 5€ service charge even though we had to apologise for going in even if it was an hour before they were going to close and the waitress seemed annoyed with us. Food was very poor quality.

    Breakfast was good and had variety of things. Room had a nice view to the canal.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not receive the room that I booked. Booked classic quadruple room (double bed and bunk beds) and got given a very compact room with a very small window and a single double bed. Wifi was also poor and the shower was only sometimes hot.

    Good location, friendly staff, value for money, breakfast included. The hotel is situated on a quiet and very beautiful canal.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is on the other end of the island which is very far from the station. The wifi is very bad, it keeps disconnecting every now and then. The rooms are very small sized which makes moving inside the room very difficult. We booked a quadruple room with one double bed and two single beds but they gave us one with a bunk bed!!!!!

    The breakfast was very good with a lot of options and fresh coffee.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold at night, had to go to another block of the hotel as there was no hot water(twice) to where we stayed. On our last evening a rude woman claiming to be a manager, grabed my partners coffee cup out of her hand shouting at her in italian as she was outside smoking. The woman could not speak any english just kept shouting and refused to give us her name when we asked

    The location was great,two waitresses there was very good at their jobs and the breakfast was ok too.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly, even opened a couple of bottles of wine that we had got from the shop to drink in our room after we cheekily asked them to open it, no bother to them at all! Also, location is perfect for those wishing to explore some of the more quiet areas in Venice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were very small. Bed/pillows not so comfortable

    The price was excellent value for money given we paid close to 50pc of the next minimum price. Service at reception and restaurant was good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee tasted bad, and the machine was bad. The morning staff was really grumpy.

    The Hotel stay was very nice. When we booked we accidentally took a double single bedroom and we were able to change it really easily. Room was good and everything was very clean, showers were nice and hot! Dinner was absolutely great and customers of the hotel get 30% discount! Next morning breakfast was simple but healthy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was dirty, bad decoration, the bathroom broken and smelly. It was full of mosquitoes and I could not sleep. The mattress was the most uncomfortable I have ever slept.

    I did not like anything of this place

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though it isn't a dangerous area, we felt a little uncomfortable while going back to hotel at night cause streets leading to hotel are so empty and dark.

    Rooms were great. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room they gave us was nothing like the photos op the site. A lot smaler and not with a view on the canal as we requested in our booking months earlier. The frurniture in the room is worn out and has had better days. Tiles in the bathroom were cracked and the windowclosing was broken. The tv had the size of my laptop. I suggest they update the photos.

    The location is good. Near the centre. The beds are also good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very weak Wifi not only in the room but also in the restaurant.

    30% off offer in local restaurant was a nice surprise. Also breakfast was rich. And staff helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was incredibly small. You could barely walk around in it.We booked a quad room,it said queen bed and bunk beds. (Not shown in the picture) it turned out to be a couch crammed at the foot of the bed that LIFTED up into the bunk beds. We had to use belts to hold the sides up for fear it would collapse. It was musty smelling. The AC didn't work, we had to have our door open with the fan on in the hallway to let air in. There were no screens on the windows so we couldn't open them because of all the mosquitoes. The shower drain was clogged, you had to turn the water off every 2 minutes to let it drain. They also claimed to only have one key to give us for 4 people. I definitely would not recommend staying here.

    Free breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room 20 was not big enough for a single room let alone a double room had to change to room 19 after first night. New room was under maintenance and smelt, shower door did not work properly. Light bulb after taking it out not replaced. No curtains other than nets so very light at night. No drawer space and not adequate for clothing, 50 yard outside walk to main entrance, not good if it was raining. Receptionist attitude very poor

    The restaurant food was very good value even without the residents 30% discount. Outside eating area very good for eating out side in October. Breakfast was a varied choice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was not the hotel in the photograph. We were booked into a dreadful hostel type place Down the road. Changed room 3 times as hygiene and repair dreadful. Did not sleep at all asfelt most unsafe. I was bitterly disappointed. Stayed here before and love this part of Venice but will never book this place again. Worst hotel I have ever been in.

    Staff pleasant t and helpful. Restaurant good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room was in a building off from the main hotel, the stairs had no handrail which made it tricky carrying our cases. we had a family next door which were very noisy

    perfect location ideal base to see all the sights of Venice,breakfast was good gets you off to a good start to the day.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Dependance
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only in lobby and very slow.

    The breakfast in the morning is a stellar buffet. Dinner at their restaursnt is 30% off for being a guest but very little seafood in each dish.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Messner traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: