Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of MH Design Hotel 3 stars

Via Chiaia 245, Chiaia, 80121 Naples, Italy

#77 of 158 hotels in Naples

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 338 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room too small. Terrible breakfast (frozen bread and croissants, low quality jams, juices etc.) and if you want fresh squeezed orange juice they charge you € 3 extra!!!

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love this hotel! Great location, walking distance to most famous sites, restaurants, boats to Amalfi coasts etc. excellent service by staff bookings taxis, trips etc. Best cappuccino!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a problem with the air con the first night which was solved right away. The reception staff offered many good recommendations. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked a room for 2 adults and 1 child, when i arrive , i discover the room is not enough large to get a child bed. I need to change room and pay lot more daily. I think this is a problem firstly on booking side.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was in a separate building from the rest of the hotel, so had to go outside to get to the breakfast room. Not a big problem. Other than that, it was fine.

    Great location in Naples and nice room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't better the location, walking distance to port, old city, funicular, metro and lovely pedestrian area feels safe and attractive. The staff were helpful and pleasant. Close to piazza del Plebiscito and taxi drop off/ pick up zones.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window was obstructed by other room windows light. It felt like a windowless room. Breakfast was sweet pastries and a poorly made coffee. Only good to sleep and leave asap.

    Location can't be faulted. On a busy road, good for a solo female traveller.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was not cleaned 100% - under the bed was filthy and there were strange stains on the bathroom wall, Air con: was not obvious how to work it. Also the room got VERY hot very quickly. Other guests were very loud at unsociable hours and the staff did not address it unless asked. The breakfast was not good. It was cheap quality and you could get better by going out in to the city cafes.

    Location is fantastic. not even a 1 minute walk from Piazza del Plebiscito Staff very obliging, polite and friendly. Modern hotel. Great shower. Room was a good size. Free Wifi - no fussy registration required. Secure entry Lift access

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee facilities = 1 bag of coffee/no milk or cream. Shower/Shampoo products consisted of 2 very small bottles of shower gel, 2 shower caps and 1 small bar of soap. Also, we were provided with 1 roll of toilet paper which just about managed to suffice us until the room was 'cleaned' the next day. Hairs (not ours!) on bathroom floor and in bathtub. Air conditioning didn’t work. Door to the balcony didn't shut so very noisy. Promised Bathrobe and Slippers = none available. Most important; Mattress 'slopes' to the middle! You find yourself rolling to the middle of the bed all night! Breakfast = Terrible! No bread. Had to wait to get more bread for more than 15 minutes because the bread rolls had to be heated up in a small oven. It also took the Barman/Room cleaner/Lift cleaner 15 minutes to bring an awful coffee. Breakfast consisted of Cornflakes (with no milk available, had to ask for milk), Mozzarella, Processed packed cheese slices and yoghurt. On our last night there, a pipe in the bathroom above ours leaked. We had to ask reception to put towels down onto our bathroom floor. We also had to move all our bath essentials out of the room because everything was absolutely wet through! We were given a discount on our room rate because of this though. The only plus point that this hotel has, is it's location.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airco in room101 made a terrible noise and did not work well. Moreover one could not control the room temperature: it was set at a certain temperature for the whole hotel. I had to sleep with earplugs and it was warm in the room. They did sent someone to look at it but apparently it was the way it was.

    Very friendly staff both at reception and at breakfast. Location excellent and safe in the nicest part of town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning of the bathroom could be better. The staff from the reception is not friendly and not bad. They could improve it.

    The location is very good. In a pedestrian street near shops and restaurants. The room (junior suite) is big and the bathroom as well. The breakfast is quite good for a 3 stars.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a small thing - They had an electric Kettle in our room with instant coffee tea etc. We stayed for five days but they ran out of supplies the first day so we only had coffee one day in our room. LIke I said not a big deal

    The location was excellent. Very Safe and very clean area. Breakfast was excellent Staff spoke English and are very helpful I will definitely go back.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room without Breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit shabby

    Good Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dark and the beds hard.

    Great location , good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a clean large room all functional! Very friendly and efficient staff, too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was inferior compared to other Italian hotels of similar price and city locale

    Location great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boring poor breakfast and very outdated and not clean bathroom otherwise location was good . For the money I expected more

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    All of it

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had problems with TV, one night no TV -changed rooms and again the TV did not work, finally got another tv that worked,

    Location, staff, rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location. Close to everything, including the synagogue. Kind clerks.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no gym or room service despite saying so on the profile page

    great location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like having to use lift

    Nice rooms. Great location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Toilet seat was falling off (but at least there was one, the sitaution is bad in Italy). Height of the shower could not be changed. Rainwater was dipping into the room. State of all equipment was generally bad, worn-out, esp. wallpapers, floors, doors.

    Well equipped bathroom. Clean bed, friendly staff. Reception open 24/7. Late arrival was no problem.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is in a very good location, however, in booking, the hotel it is supposed to have parking, which is not true, that just meant they had a parking place "nearby" (5 blocks away or more). Then, the hotel wasnt in good conditions. When we got to the room, late after dinner, the AC wasnt working so we went to notify it at the front desk, and the guy told us to "open a window". Finally, a new room was given to us, at 1am. At 5am, the AC started leaking and all the floor got wet and, of course, the sound of the water drops were umbearable. We had to turn it off. Just in the morning, the new guy at the front desk, was able to help us, he was very very nice to us.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The air-conditioning didn't work.

    Location, location, location. It's close to a lot of things. Also, relatively friendly staff and nice room, with one exception.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was just ok, the staff could have been more friendly in this area.

    Good location, nice size room, the reception staff were very helpful when our luggage was lost and understood our needs.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was a recurrent problem with the room's air-conditioning in hot September weather, and, one evening, very loud banging on the wall from 4am on.

    Good room, terrific location, pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything! After a disastrous stay at another hotel the night before this was heaven. The hotel is centrally located on via Chaia, which is near some of the nicest piazzas, restaurants and shopping. The room was very clean and the A/C was excellent as it was almost 100 degrees outside! The bathroom was also very modern and very clean. The staff members at reception were very helpful in calling us a taxi to the airport and just giving us great tips for the area. This hotel is such a great value for Naples as you'll be pleased with the location, the style, comfort and cleanliness!

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They have little drainage problems. The reception although was very nice, he barely spoke any English.

    I loved the location of the hotel, it was very close to shopping streets, and to the metro and bus stations. The room was neat and clean the beds was very comfortable. the breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only two pillows Was behind a food shop so smelt of oil as soon as came out of the building Couldn't use phone to dial reception Said free breakfast but didn't see any of it

    Stylish room balcony good air con

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good location. Very clean room and kind staff. Room has a air conditioning and bathroom was very good. Many mirrors and very good lighting. Nothing bad to say. I can preferred.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only problem was the clogged shower drain and it took two reminders to get it fixed. I consider it a minor issue though.

    The location is perfect. Very close to many restaurants and major attractions. It's within a walking distance from a metro station and you can always catch a taxi at Piazza Trieste e Trento around the corner. Via Chiaia can be noisy at night but my room up on the 4th floor was quiet and clean. The split-system A/C kept the room comfortable during a heat wave in July. The staff were friendly and helpful, although I was traveling with an Italian colleague and didn't have to ask for directions. After the typical late night Neapolitan dinners, the breakfast bar was OK to me (a croissant, yogurt, juice and espresso), but if you need something more substantial, it's two steps away on the street....

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    Location naturally. Modern design!

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was ideal to shop, eat, and visit touristic sites and destinations.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast needs more variety

    All I can say, IT IS ONE OF THE BEST within the range, very much recommended

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very cold room and couldn't control it. Kinda hard to find.

    Very clean and good location.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room was to small and there was no similarity with the photos.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very difficult to find the hotel even with GPS coordinates. Very small dark room with poor air conditioning.

    Excellent location

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we had a room with no daylight and no fresh air

    located in the middle of the city

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were not really helpful. Breakfast was very poor. Room was noisy and small.

    Location only

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice location, clean n spacious room

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The helpful service of members of the staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was unbelievably bad. Corn Flakes, some old salami, some pies/cakes, yogurt, etc.

    The location was ok.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Noise on the stairs

    The bathroom

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the location is the best, wi fi is good

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse MH Design Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: