Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac 4 stars

Piazza Marconi 9, 28838 Stresa, Italy

#19 of 29 hotels in Stresa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 874 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An central position in the town with excellent views across the lake. We had spacious front lake view rooms with terrace, good bathrooms, plenty of storage. Excellent friendly staff throughout. Good, fresh continental breakfast. recommended !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were extremely hard and the pillows were super-thin with no body to them at all. The combination did not make for a comfortable sleep experience.

    The location was fantastic and the A/C worked better than expected. The murano glass chandelier in the room was gorgeous!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bed was a bit hard, but I guess this is a personal thing and although parking was not on site it was no great problem and very secure.

    Location, staff, room size, shower, pretty much everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it is a pity this hotel counts on its location , very well located , for it not to make any effort regarding the comfort of the rooms . Beds very uncomfortable, showers also . Very poor quality breakfast and non appealing displays .

    very nice personnel everywhere .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had a wonderful view of the lake. The staff were very polite and professional. Parking is in an underground car park very close by. The restaurant where breakfast is served has a lovely lakeside view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing we did,nt like about it.

    This Hotel was in a fantastic place views to die for and staff very pleasant and friendly. bed comfortable,dining room beautiful, and close to everything, as a coeliac I was well provided with a variety of gluten free items for breakfast. Loved it as did the five friends I was travelling with. Sheila Rockingham Western Australia.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was minuscule, with no place to open a suitcase. The room was at the end of a such a narrow corridor, that the room service cart could not reach the room. I paid royally to get a servant´s accomodations.

    The hotel is superbly located, and the staff is all very helpful. At the rooftop, there is a splendid bar with incredible view of Geneve.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with cleanliness in the bathrooms, old bathroom equipment, smells. No minibar, no bathrobes. Poor breakfast choice. There are construction works in front of the hotel, that were not mentioned.

    Excellent location, easy access to car park, good for big groups. Very good view. Easy access to restaurants and shops in the town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room we had was across the chimney of the next hotel (the sister company) and we could smell the exhaust from the chimney, too bad for us, we were not able to enjoy the fresh cool breeze we expected. shower in bathtub (2 in 1) is always a bad idea, more so this hotel's, bathroom floor gets all wet after your shower. Tub too narrow to move around during shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The foyer staff always seemed to have their heads down in their computers, not really the attentiveness that we’d seen at other Italian hotels on our road journey. The waiters at the breakfast worked hard and were extremely busy. WARNING - do not get caught by the helpful guides in the caps luring you to the expensive boats for trips around the lake. If you walk into the building to book your trips you’ll pay at least a quarter of the price for the public ferries.

    We were placed at Hotel Milan au Lac not our original booking of Sperenza we don’t know why. You don’t park on site but a few hundred metres down the road at yet another of their hotels. The room was beautiful with a small patio overlooking the lake and even a corner study nook. The Murano glass chandeliers are magnificent. The included breakfast looks very fancy with white tablecloths and waiters, but is really only breads, cold cuts, cereals, pastries and fruit. As a GF client I received a plate of pre-packaged options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Separate hair conditioner would have been great. Price a little high but the view was probably worth it.

    Loved the balcony view from our room across Lake Maggiore. Beautiful sunrise each morning! Room was very good with all normal expectations. Breakfast was excellent and staff very helpful. Walk from train station was about 12 minutes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We stayed here for a one night stopover after a 3 week car trip around Italy. We were met by very friendly staff and our room was in the main hotel. Parking was in a near by underground parking in a sister hotel. We had a room with lake view which was stunning. The hotel is old world charm, typical of the Italian lakes but what makes this stand out is the attention to client needs. We were tired so opted to eat in the hotel restaurant. The staff were so attentive and friendly, real silver service. The special evening menu was great value and really delicious as was breakfast the following morning. We hope to be back again someday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My single room was excellent but the space to fit an armchair would have been a great bonus.

    Very pleasant and calm atmosphere. I enjoyed the decor and the view. Staff very helpful. A good continental breakfast, buffet style. Excellent location for visiting neighbouring places by boat or bus though there was less available as I was visiting at the end of the season.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel on the waterfront - I had lovely views of the lake and a little balcony off my room and the room was very clean and well set out. The staff were so lovely and breakfast was also great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, it's a very dated hotel. There was no where to iron our clothes, the bath plug was broken, breakfast bread was white plain bread, needs some healthier options not just cake.

    Location and a a helpful staff member called Chiara who went out of her way to assist us not just once but on several occasions. 😀

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Moved from another property, and couldn't have been more pleased with this hotel.

    Terrace with views over the lake was lovely. Room very clean and staff extremely helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not stay in the main hotel. Put us in the building next store, not as grand as the main hotel. Older rooms. Bathrooms need updating. Parking was down the street at another hotel, but free.

    Accommodating. We had to leave early, they let us in the breakfast area a little earlier than opening.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was average and the bathroom in our room was quite tired. Also, the mattress on our bed was quite uncomfortable.

    Great Location in the heart of Stresa and a short walk from the ferry terminal. The pool at the Hotel Regina Palace was very nice and peaceful. Nice view over the lake from our room (534)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    SUPERB on all levels! - Great Location. - Amazing triple room (big enough to fit us and our luggage) - Great lake view from the balcony. - Near to everything!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sparse bedrooms. No facility to make drink. No welcome pack in room to show what hotel had to offer- e.g. Pool at Regina palace. No room service offered either. Didn't feel like 4* rooms. Terrible pillows and only one each. One room had slippers, other didn't. Check in staff didn't offer help with bags. These are all little things but made a difference to overall impression.

    Location and public areas especially dining area for breakfast. Breakfast was excellent. Most staff extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I complained on three occasions that the air conditioning in my room was blowing hot air. No response. It made my stay miserable as I was unable tho sleep in a sweltering room.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    we have booked in this hotel but we have been moved to another building near this hotel which i found not great, the breakfast was not in front of the lake as in the other The parking is located 2 streets from the hotel but it is ok.

    The location is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the lounge in reception area a little dirty. The breakfast just basic.

    The location of the property was excellent could not have had a more central location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lake-view rooms were a bit more expensive but worth every penny for the priceless view from the balcony. Excellently situated in the center of town, close to a beach, the ferry to Isola Bella and some good restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unpleasant smell from the bath drain

    Good choice at breakfast, friendly staff, very efficient, my friend had special dietary needs, the hotel kept her special cheese in their fridge and brought it out each day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in room was old and needs replacing. Otherwise Hotel was nice

    Excellent location on lake front and walking distance to restaurants shops boat terminal

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A noisy room, very thin walls we could hear next door coughing, some receptionist staff were aggressive even when they tried to incorrectly charge us for a bottle of wine and water we didn't have, beds were very old and mattress hard that springs were digging into our backs, car park was located in another hotel a few blocks away and not opposite as per your brochure.

    Location but nothing else.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to be unhappy about!

    We booked a lake facing room and it was excellent, with large bathroom and lovely balcony with table & chairs. The staff were very helpful. The breakfast had good choices. Perfect. And location is great for access to the boats to the islands.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was mostly sweet cookies and pastry. Very little of healthy food. Even the fruit salad and the juice had loads of sugar in it. The air-condition made a lot of noise but did not cool the room anyway.

    Nice bed and the best location one can get in Stresa.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stairs to the 6th floor. The ineffective and noisy air conditioning system. The absence of coffee and tea making facilities. The lack of a small room fridge. In particular the mould in the bathtub/ shower and bathroom floor area.

    The View from the balcony. The breakfast provided.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building is very old , the hotel is more two star motel than four star hotel , bathroom very old , walls mouldy , hand held shower water dripping on the bathroom floor , hand basin very old ,stained, yellow rusty marks , - Bedroom walls has dirty marks , bed uncomfortable, mattress hard , one pillow , Tv very small , You can hear every noise from the next door room , I have some pictures saved in my phone , We did pay the top dollars to stay to this hotel and expected to have much better accommodation,

    Close to the lake

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Qualifier-the hotel is in two parts and we saw only the room we occupied. That said our room was tired and in need of refurbishment. No mini fridge in room or even bottled water. Air conditioner was noisy. Bed and bedding was not high quality. Breakfast was basic; packet cereals, canned fruit (plus a small selection of fresh fruit), bread and pastries, cheese and meats (no toaster and no hot breakfast on offer). The room rate looked good at the time of booking and the included parking and breakfast were part of the appeal. It may be that the hotel is value at its price point but for a holiday experience we would upgrade if we were visiting again. In our view rating this hotel as 4 stars is a stretch.

    Hotel location was excellent, opposite ferry terminal and adjacent to shopping and restaurant area. Parking and pool was 300 metres away in a separate hotel. Our room had a deck overlooking the lake, our room was on the 6th floor (the lift goes to the 5th floor so one floor of stairs with luggage). Hotel staff were friendly and offered good advice on restaurants and tourism matters.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was initially only one pillow per person so we used the extra blankets to give us some height. However, when the maid saw what we had done - after cleaning of the room we each had 2 pillows. Wonderful.

    Breakfast was good as were the staff in the Dining Room. Our room was superb with view to die for. Air conditioning was adequate once we had worked out how to use it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, easy access to Ferry, train station, airport bus stops outside hotel. Local shops and restaurants on the doorstep. Lovely walk along the lake front promenade.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the smallest room I have ever stayed in. There are two separate hotels, and there is a big difference in their quality. This was not disclosed by booking.com before I made my reservation. Hotel Milan seemed to be the nicer of the two. Speranza is less expensive. Ratings for these two hotels should be listed separately but they aren't.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are a little hard, we were on a business trip and were unable to get shirts ironed. Fairly basic breakfast. Parking is not handy, it's at another hotel, no swimming pool, they have chits that allow you to swim at another hotel.

    Friendly staff; extra half hour to check out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our balcony was so little that we can only stand on it = french balcony, but that was not mentioned on brochure. And no chair or table..... We had also problem with shower handle it was broken and only few drops of water came out. We bought handle for ourselves and it worked fine. Cost 3,00 euros !!!!

    Breakfast was very good. Location is perfekt. Just in corner is meny shops and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no tea/coffee making available in the room. Also there was no small bar fridge in the room.

    Easy access by train from Milan, about 50min. The location on the lake front but also right in the township with all the cafes,restaurants, and shops all around. Also the ferry terminal just across the road. The views of the lake and mountains were wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a wide draw under the mirror to house paper eg magazines and my makeup. Not essential.

    The position is beautiful. The staff always pleasant and helpful. My room is perfect for me

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure low but no fault of hotel. Same all over.

    Great staff. Extremely good breakfast. Take a slice of either the plain cake or jam tart (Italians like sweet with breakfast). The jam tart has the best patry you will ever taste.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was bit too hard for me and room is small like in old hotels usually. Pool and sun terrace is in next hotel Regina Palace but unfortunately it was not possible to use it because of big group booking in Regina Palace hotel.

    Hotel is situating in promenade, just opposite of ferry terminal and in old town, can not be better place. Car parking is in underground of next hotel Regina Palace, 5min walking distance. Breakfast had nice selection different breads, cheeses, hams, cakes, fruits and fresh coffee in way how You like it. Staff is friendly and speaks English. Very nice views to lake if You book lake view room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold and rather dated, the beds were very uncomfortable and the bathroom left a lot to be desired. I consider the hotel to be very expensive and could definitely benefit from major updating.

    I'm coeliac and an excellent glute free continental breakfast was provided. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The hotel is very close to the boat station making travel on the lake easy. We booked a lake view room with a balcony and The views were beautiful, unfortunately the sun had moved by late morning and it then got rather cold, it was late September however.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was very haphazard in our room. Had to work in lobby at times.

    Wonderful staff who were personable, professional, and helpful. Very good breakfast and central location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing s

    Staff were amazing and very professional food was really good and table service was first rate. Good size room and comfortable bed. Bathroom was ok size with good shower.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is no sound proofing between the rooms or corridors

    Location and cleanliness. They also arranged a taxi for us from the airport at a very good rate.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On the balcony there was a metal fixing that I presume a shade was fixed to. It was protruding from the balcony and my husband caught himself on it and it was quite hurtful. We put a white serviette on it to make us extra aware it was there.

    The room was excellent and the view outstanding. So central and the staff always ready to help.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Stresa festival was running during our stay. Our lake view room was noisy, during the evening, at that time. Not a hotel issue!

    Feels like home, this is the second visit for us.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There should be a bar fridge in the room, even if it is not stocked, to at least have some cold water available when required.

    Location within Stresa. The view from the room and balcony (Room 604) is unsurpassed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, the bed narrow and there was only one pillow. In addition, I have leg prostheses and I had to use stairs for the top floor. There was no prior warning of this.

    Online booking was efficient and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    When showering water poured onto bathroom floor (there was a large gap between shower screen and top of bath) making it wet, very slippery and unsafe. This was reported to Reception.

    Fabulous location - we had a lake-view room and right opposite the ferry pier.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was rather a little to firm for my comfort.

    All the staff were exceptionally polite, obliging and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them and majority of them spoke excellent English. Good breakfast and good restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As an old building, the sound-proofing was not great, so unfortunate if you have noisy neighbours.

    Location superb, friendly, competent staff and old-style comfort.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little expensive for the quality of hotel. There were no coffee or tea making facilities or a fridge in the room.

    The location was excellent and, despite being near a busy road, the room was quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful and there was the added bonus of the use of the lovely pool with free towels at the Hotel Regina, 2 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room smelled a bit, airconditioning made a bit of noise. Heard the sounds from other (bath)rooms.

    Location was great, comfortable hotel. Large bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great location, superb interior, friendly staff, use of facilities (pool and car parking) at extremely swish hotel, Regina Palace a short five minute walk away along the promenade

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast finished a little early... 9:30. Can hear noise from other rooms.

    Nice location on the lake front. Good to be able to park at Regina Palace & use their pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast wasn't the best we'd had in Italy, but perfectly ok, some fresh fruit to be had.

    Great location overlooking the lake, requested rooms with lake views and got them, excellent staff, good atmosphere with old-style decor (bit Miss Marple-ish) - would happily stay again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is quite old aircondition did not work well.

    Location are good. Beautiful view from terrace. Restaurant staff were friendly. Daily Menu are very good choice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little road noise from our lake/road facing window but nothing too much to worry about.

    Great views of the lake. Underground parking for the bikes at an adjacent hotel. Thanks. Lovely buffet breakfast. Air con in the room. Balcony with chairs and table.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff ok but could smile more Breakfast basic etap level but nice room to eat in! Air con not very efficient on 3rd floor Wifi dodgy but big thunderstorm when I was there so think it was because of that as fine in the morning

    Very impressive exterior Location close to airport Free parking and free shuttle every 30 mins Hard but comfy beds Outside space Quiet

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room had a couple of air con issues which needed sorting out but nothing major. This location is actually 2 hotels under 1 management which is fine, we were in the Speranza building whereas all the room pictures on Booking.Com are of the Milan. Not a big issue but a balance between the 2 would be more representative of the property

    Excellent location on the waterfront and just a short walk to the boat stops and the bars/restaurants in the town. Lovely room at the top of the hotel with a lake view terrace which gives magnificent views. Attentive staff who looked after us well. Nice breakfast area with a good range of items. We had a car which was parked a short walk along the front at the Hotel Regina.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel, like Stresa itself is tired. The whole area needs an injection of money and enthusiasm. The staff in most places we visited were unenthusiastic and at times arrogant. We last visited Lago Maggiore 28 years ago and were very depressed by the state of the area! We visited Lago di Como on our return home and the difference was profound!

    We did eat very well in various restaurants. The islands on the lake are as beautiful as ever.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) The parking is outside of the hotel, almost 5 minutes away - we knew this info when we booked the room, but we had to walk to the car during a big rain and this was not pleasant at all.. 2) The swimming pool is also outside of the hotel. This information was not available when we booked the room and it was a very unpleasant surprise when we arrived 3) Rooms are not clean, with plenty of dust in the balcony and on the furniture 4) Breakfast was good quality, but you have to pay extra charge if you want omlette/scrambled eggs - this is unacceptable for a 4 stars hotel, and also giving the price of the room!

    Good location, a few steps from the ferries, shops and restaurants. Nice decorated rooms, with comfortable beds and good lake view.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I could complain about.

    Our room was amazing the views of the lakes and mountains. The decor of the room, foyer and restaurant was amazing Location was perfect, highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite small, but had everything that I needed.

    The breakfast was delicious, good selection of fruit, cereal, fresh bread, cheese, Italian crostata etc. The location was also very convenient for exploring Stresa, and for catching the Alibus shuttle to the airport.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pool and parking would be nice on-site, but you can't have everything. TV reception was terrible.

    Nothing too much trouble for friendly staff. We needed a fridge, they delivered one. We were lucky we managed to get a room with a terrace. Not many of these available. It made the stay for us.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bar was not usually manned before dinner.

    We loved the relaxed atmosphere and the friendly staff with the old fashioned perfect service and charm. The Murano glass chandeliers are beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had too many dust traps - modernise a little; get less flouncy.

    Restaurant staff really very good. Pool at sister hotel fab. Parking was great too, but a bit of a faff at arrival.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    arriving at the hotel without having an appropriate parking space in front of the hotel - just to unload - was a bit annoying. The public parking area across the road of the hotel was full and charged an hourly rate. The Hotel private parking was indeed in a few hundred yards away. Seems that some of the rooms had not a pleasant view from the windows. On a Saturday night the sound of the music from bars nearby was disturbing for longer periods.

    Hotel location of the hotel near the seafront. Nice staff at the front desk and breakfast room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free coffee would have been nice

    The decor, the lovely lounge and the view from balcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely fantastic, would highly recommend. Staff fabulous. Food excellent, location stunning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no vegetables for breakfast

    Excellent old fashion hotel with amazing lake view, close to all Laggo Maggiore attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facility in rooms or water and breakfast was very poor

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really wasn’t anything, it’s good value

    Very clean rooms and helpful, friendly staff. Great location in the centre of Stresa.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been nice as they are standard today.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: