Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Milano 4 stars

Via Mazzini 4, 28832 Belgirate, Italy

#13 of 15 hotels in Belgirate

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 457 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    4.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Perfect lake getaway, serene, comfortable, picturesque -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect lake getaway, serene, comfortable, picturesque - amazing spot to discover the cultural/historic/culinary treats of Maggiore and loveliest staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    We loved the Hotel Milano so much we stayed an extra three nights!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an old fashioned hotel where maybe the furnishing could be updated. But it is also part of its charm. Warm and homely.

    This was the only property found in the area that was absolute waterfront. The view was astonishing across the lake, from dawn until dusk. The staff were helpful and friendly. A great breakfast was included in the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    If you would like to feel yourself a Gulliver in 1950 - welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very-very old hotel without renovation, no air condition, no working wi-fi, horrible beds, very old bathroom. We are absolutely average height people, but everything in the room was designed for really short people. We were laughing and crying at the same time about the tap in the sink - the tap nose is shorter, than a sink beginning, so to wash hands was impossible. We had to use shower for hands washing.

    The only nice thing in this hotel is wonderful view. Rooms are big enough. It can be a nice place for those, who likes old-fashioned hotels and this feeling of being at Titanic :) Once, possibly, it was luxury. Free parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    The view was very nice and I think that what worth most in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfortable.. please change your mattresses. 2 from 3 couples from our group said that the bathroom was small

    We stayed for 2 nights in April(it was raining) I think The location advantage will be more in sunny or summer days. The staff was very kind. The breakfast good! The view fabulous. The location also was good, close to lot of attractions in the surrounding(by car).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the quiet place and easy to park.

    We Traveled four of use all adult, Mariella was very helpful at the reception, she arranged for us two rooms next to each other and with balcony. The place is quiet and easy to go to Stresa. I would defenetly regomand the hotel.....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.3
    Location is supercool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely NO WI-FI in the room and in the restaurant. The only place it was available at was the reception.

    Location is supercool. Views from the room were awesome. Restaurant is a normal price for value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.3
    a bit expensive for what it was, but nice enough hotel for good location for views of the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor is very old and out of date, and there isnt much in the area itself, a couple of bars/cafe, one of which wasnt open

    location is right on the lake, and had a lake view room so perfect in the mornings

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.9
    We really enjoyed our stay at this virtually untouched lake. The hotel was very old and very clean.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs modernisation. There was a member of staff working in the bar/restaurant late in the afternoon during our stay who was very rude and abrupt. He was at this point working alone however his attitude was less than satisfactory. All other staff had been very nice so this was one exception

    The hotel is in a lovely location directly on the lake

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    4.6
    4 star rating is clearly a joke . it's more a cheap hostel standard .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty , dated , air conditioning not working . There is a public car park by the road . When we come back to the hotel on an evening time , I had to wait in the car for 45 minutes till someone vacated one parking space . Unfortunately it was pay and display space , so I have to move my car again early in the morning. Bathroom dirty with lots of someone's hairs all over it . Air conditioning ?? Only in the advert . Very dated room ,probably not renovated since hotel was built. Terrible hotel in lovely location .

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    3.8
    Not up to 4 Star standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Milano is showing it's age, as are the staff, and in need of a refurbishment. The airconditioning system is barely functional and the bedrooms need re-decorating. Belgirate is not a good location and compares badly with Stresa and Baveno.

    Whilst the Buffet Breakfast was moderate at best the Evening Dinners were extremely good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.0
    Shabby chic. Seen better days
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and drinks were overpriced the reception staff did not give information readily the bread and crisps were stale the beach needed a good clean

    The view from the room and at breakfast was spectacular. Catch the bus to stressa and get to the islands. All 3. Peskatori beautiful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.3
    very welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel on the road- my room had a view on the road-- too noisy! No wifi in the room

    very welcoming staff Terrasse with great view on the lake - very quiet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    6.3
    It was not what we expected from the descriptions and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were terrible, the mattress on a bed was on a wooden plank, pure breakfast, too expensive for the facilities, theres wasn't wifi in the rooms, only at reception. Its not a four star hotel

    Excellent view across the lake, clean room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    5.4
    Good but avoid eating there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Focused on coach parties. Tried hard to interest us in the evening buffet. When there were good place just down the road. Draft beer was from a can in a box. And Muzak was really bad. Breakfast non existent after the French coach had left and they didn't replace much.

    Just the location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    2.5
    Horrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start- the shower barely had any water coming out and what did trickle out was cold, the air con was a box hidden beside the curtains that barely blew air out so the room was hot, the pillows were literally as hard as rocks, the scrambled eggs had a load of egg shells, management were by no means friendly and I had to ask for more shampoo because apparently one little bottle was suffice between two people. Overall a horrendous hotel that almost ruined our experience- we moved to grand hotel Bristol which was absolutely luxurious. Wouldn't recommend hotel Milano at all.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    5.8
    Only the location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleaning staff did not respect privacy within the room. They barged in without waiting for our response, and it happened twice in 3 days. And it did not help that the door's lock was very weak.

    View is amazing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Old charming room with nice view of the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old charming room with nice view of the lake

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is in an extremely good location, with rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is really bad and the bathroom is out of date.

    The hotel is in an extremely good location, with rooms facing the lake.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    A enjoyable stay staff helpfull eat out so don't know about restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities

    Large room lake view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on bed needs replacement, not comfortable. Room a bit dated. Could use some refreshing. Staff could be more friendly.

    Nice location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.7
    Good ratio between place and money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location exploring Lago Magiore. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.3
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was uncomfortable and there was a strange smell like mold.

    The view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.7
    Location and food/drink was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor standard in rooms, uncomfortable bed, AC not working good enough and smalt bathroom

    Location and food/drink was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.1
    No aircon, no fan, so Windows open and much noise from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon, no fan, so Windows open and much noise from outside, the road and train is next to the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.3
    Stunning views of lake and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite dated rooms could do with a revamp

    Stunning views of lake and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    3.3
    Bad choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The botel is a piece of crap

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    7.1
    The view was magnificent, both from the room and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view was magnificent, both from the room and the breakfast area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    6.7
    The location on the lake is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel need major refit and is not a 4 Star Hotel

    The location on the lake is beautiful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    10
    Great view to the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel with great view right on the lake, great friendly staff . I recommend it strongly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    7.5
    Nice hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi only around lobby not in the room

    Nice location and wiev

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location with beautiful views across the lake.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    8.8
    Wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although a little dated in decor. The position and character more than make up for it. Would go back in an instant

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    7.5
    Proximity to the ferry was good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The dinning room didn't let us see our dinner bill until we insisted. When they finally let us see it there were 2 meals included on our bill that weren't ours. We were offered a 10% discount but had to remind them to take it off.

    Proximity to the ferry was good. The room view was excellent

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.2
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive taxi transfers to and from airport. 70 to 100 Euros

    Very clean. Friendly. Old fashioned rooms but in a good way. Lovely views across the lake.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.5
    We loved the view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was terrible and pillow way too hard to sleep on. I had painful neck got couple days! Also private beach is not great, chair collapse as I tried to sit on it.

    We loved the view! We had a room with lake view and a balcony

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.9
    Great location with a terrace next to the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location with a terrace next to the lake. Stunning views from the room. Great service at the hotel bar.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    7.9
    panna cotta
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi only at lobby

    panna cotta

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    9.2
    Lovely room, great location - right on the & helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower was rubbish - feeble & temperature constantly varied - mainly cold!

    Lovely room, great location - right on the & helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    4.6
    poor comfort in the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor comfort in the rooms. The hotel needs a renovation.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    3.8
    The beds were terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were terrible. At dinner we neverv received the drinks we ordered.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: