Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mirage 3 stars

Via Zanardelli 12/14, 55049 Viareggio, Italy

#25 of 55 hotels in Viareggio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 356 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful visit to a beautiful resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not use the electrical sockets for charging phones which would have been vital if we gad not had paper flight tickets etc. Toilet seat was loose and shower door was very stiff.

    Very good location. Very friendly staff, great breakfast, spotlessly clean. Staff assisted whenever needed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room with the street view was a bit noisy, but definitely not unbearable

    Friendly and helpful staff Clean Comfy beds Close to the beach and town center

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Lovely breakfast. Central and safe. Not far from train station. Clean and very comfortable. Air con and safe in room. Second time to stay in Hotel Mirage.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    The staff were very helpful and always willing to give us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It would of been nice to have a little fridge in the room just to keep the waters

    The staff were very helpful and always willing to give us directions and suggestions. Our room was a good size, with shower and all amenities needed for our stay. The breakfasts were great with great options for crepes and eggs, fruit and sweets.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.2
    Very poor value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was given a single room, but single is an understatement! It was TINY and the shower was a wet area as part of the toilet, and was not at all practical!

    The receptionist at the desk were always friendly and welcoming! The breakfast was very good, and the team were excellent!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel, 2 minutes away from the beach, and breakfast on the rooftop terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    I stayed two weeks at this hotel and I enjoyed the breakfast on the roof, the location, 2 minutes away from the beach and from passegiata. The room for one person is big, clean, with a nice balcony, air conditioning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Art Nouveau wonderland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although surrounded by some great Art Nouveau buildings, Hotel Mirage itself is a modern concrete structure

    Fascinating area with lots of great Art Nouveau buildings. Great openair rooftop breakfast area. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    very friendly staff,very clean , excellent breackfast , very close to everything perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    very friendly and helpful staff always,very clean perfect location close to bus station , train station and the beach excellent breackfast,i would return again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    The breakfast was huge and really great, the staff even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi could have been better from my room, but still functioned well enough to do what I needed.

    The breakfast was huge and really great, the staff even offered to make fresh eggs the way I wanted them on the spot. For a single traveller the room was huge with a very well functioning air conditioner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    It’s the place that I’d go to again when in the area
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to add

    Location perfect for our needs. Staff really helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and we’re always cleaned everyday. My thanks goes to the cleaning ladies. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would for sure stay here again. It’s just around the corner from the main road so it’s quiet. Check out the spectacular view of the sea and the mountains on the top floor terrance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    nice place, nice people, will definitely consider it again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was a bit scant, room furniture somewhat spartan, no sockets for Schuco / international plugs

    overall good value for money, phenomenal location near the beach if that matters

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    Bed was comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very vague. Look like he other things to do and rushed with my check in. Didn't give me a key for the power so I was waiting around for one.

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    love the property and the vibe of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am used to a softer bed.

    Small quaint property run by a family. All very efficient and friendly. Property located near great restaurants, shopping and the ocean. Will love to return for a longer stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Close to beach with discount on one of the private beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being close to the promenade (across the street) means there are no parking possibilities. There are some tips on the web how to park for free or where to find the big parking spots with free public transportation, but generally the streets are confusing as hell for parking and need reparking due to weekly cleaning schedule.

    Close to beach with discount on one of the private beaches Breakfast at terrace on top floor with great view to Alps and sea. Absolutely amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed my stay but acomodation needs major overhaul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom and shower area too small.It would be hazardous for an elderly or infirm person to use the shower.The plug points on the wall were loose and would be hazardous if young children were occupying the room.There were holes in the sheets.

    Good breakfast. Excellent restaurant.Very friendly and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely recommend this small friendly hotel, in a great location in Viareggio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing i didn't like about this lovely family run hotel.

    Very friendly and helpful staff who made us feel very welcome. The room was spotless and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, with a good variety of options and the food in the restaurant was beautifully presented and very tasty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Most amazing rooftop view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    Comfortable rooms with air conditioning. Great breakfast selection on rooftop with awesome view. Wonderful staff who are happy to help. Good location, 2min to the beach and restaurants. would recommend!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    Small cosy hotel for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bed and small bathroom.

    Nice cosy hotel, for a short stay in Viareggio. Good value for money seen the location. The hotel did an excellent job in helping me getting back all my forgotten toiletries. They sent it by post to my next hotel. I have been travelling with that stuff for 10 years so you get attached to it. Breakfast on the rooftop is absolutely beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.9
    A pleasant stay in Viareggio
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main flaw was the lack of hot water, at least in my room on the 2nd floor. I reported it, but there wasn't much to do. After letting it run a long time, sometimes I got water that was barely lukewarm, sometimes not even that. Also, there was no shower cabin in the bathroom.

    I liked the location, very close to the beach and to shops, cafés and restaurants. The staff was courteous. Very nice view from the terrace on the upper floor. I really enjoyed my stay in Viareggio.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Friendly staff alway ready to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff alway ready to help. Location close to the beach and promenade, 15 minutes walk from the train station. Luggage storage available. Amazing breakfast with fresh fruits, tomato mozzarella, homemade cakes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.5
    I booked the room for 3 people, than other friend of ours...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It happened to me that when I wanted to ask a receptionist for the key from my room, there was no one present there at that moment (23:30). After waiting some time, I took the key by myself. That time any unauthorized person could enter there and take all the keys. I think for the security reasons, reception should be occupied all the time. And if not, than the hotel should not offer a possibility of keeping the key at the reception once the guest exits the hotel.

    I booked the room for 3 people, than other friend of ours decided to join us last minute.. I like the flexibility of the staff that they put an additional bed to our room without a problem. Also the bathroom was very clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.8
    Hotel recomendable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel recomendable!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    Friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room is tiny

    Friendly and helpful staff Clean Comfy beds Close to the beach and town center

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Everything was good, even exceeded expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that I didn't like something, but would be nice to have refrigerator in the room

    Everything was good, even exceeded expectations

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Great little place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, breakfast and staff. Good value for money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location, clean, nice people
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy guests! Don’t be afraid of Qs when guest needs proof

    Location excellent, friendly helpful staff, great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Well located for Torre del Lago opera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast of Roof terrace with view of sea and mountains

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice place to stay for a beach vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a moderate priced garage on opposite side of the street. Balcony view to the sea and superb view from breakfast roof-top terrace.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could be better

    Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast room very quite,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room very quite,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    I was very happy with my stay. Very good boutique hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything runs smoothly. Very friendly and helpful staff. Location is tops.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    We had a wonderful time, for the 4 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a wonderful time, for the 4 night stay. Will recommend to others and go back again. Thank you to the great staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.3
    Great location friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast on Terrace as discribed on web site

    Location was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Good location close to the beach, friendly staff, and excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One of the two rooms we stayed in was quite small.

    Cleanliness, closeness to the beach and breakfast on the terrace.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.7
    It is a was a good stay the breakfast and central location is a plus to the hotel overall rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs more maintenance it is aging

    The breakfast was good with a wide variety of food , good value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Liked it all

    Staff were very friendly, hotel was very clean and comfortable and very near to beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the cleaning was perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    4.2
    No hot water early in the morning. Really inconvenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water at 6 in the morning when I woke to get my train to leave. Not any breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    Staff where/ great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff where/ great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    10
    We arrived after a long day travelling X Very nice welcome...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived after a long day travelling X Very nice welcome check in friendly and no problem with our small dog . Good nights sleep bathroom well equipped big shower and white large fluffy towels bonus X Breakfast usual continental style plenty of choice inc boiled eggs very nice and dog friendly .

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    8.3
    The Owners are nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They should definitely have Free Internet that works! Claiming to have internet where one cannot send even 2 photos is a joke. If you are on business it bevomes a bad joke. Also every hotel should give 1 large bottle of mineral water free of charge like all the hotels the respect themselves and their guests... Water is a human basic need not a charge-able luxury. Also clients that are booking via booking are getting the ... worst room possible as if they should be penalised for getting a good rate! Hotel Staff should be trained so as if one arrives late at night, chances of walk in clients minimal to zero, they should not be stingy in giving out a better room if available. It is common sense that if one has a pleasant stay they will come bock for more. If they stuff them in the back dark corner, "penalised" for using booking and not paying the excessive "sucker" door rate, they only harm their business and their business partner, booking.

    The Owners are nice.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    10
    Great hotel, excellent service, good restaurant and the most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great hotel, excellent service, good restaurant and the most delicious breakfasts on the panoramic roof! Liked everything! It is located 3 minutes from the beach + hotel provides a discount on sun loungers / umbrellas. We just loved staying here and will be sure to come back!!!!

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.2
    I nice apartment room very private with pool nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some of the surfaces leading to apartment including steps very slippery when wet. Poor lighting around steps, I missed one at night. Some noise from trains, didn't bother me too much. Double glazing good.

    I nice apartment room very private with pool nearby. Very helpful staff. Wifi strong and consistent. Breakfast good.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    7.5
    We were in 5 different hotels during 11 days and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    In the room was a strong capsaicin (paprika) scent, we can not to ventillate it, that was disturbing

    We were in 5 different hotels during 11 days and the breakfast was the best in the Mirage!

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    10
    I stayed in this hotel three years ago and deliberately...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I am not used to air conditioning and never managed to work out how to get the cold air working - I could have asked but did not feel the need to as I was not often in the room when I needed it. The toiletries were standard and I do not like shampoos in sachets (my experience is too much sachet and too little shampoo!). This was not a problem as I always travel with my own packet of toiletries.

    I stayed in this hotel three years ago and deliberately chose to return to it when I decided to spend a few days in Viareggio. All the staff were friendly and helpful at all times, the hotel (inc. my room) was very clean and the breakfast was a typical continental with a wide choice. With a quality restaurant, this hotel is suitable for bed & breakfast or full board (but I do not believe it serves lunches - not problem as there are a range of restaurants and cafes within walking distance).

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.5
    Good location, very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good location, very good breakfast. Small but adequate family room.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.2
    Ideally placed for beach, cafes, restaurants and bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Ideally placed for beach, cafes, restaurants and bus station.pleasant staff and very clean room.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.3
    Family operated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Family operated hotel. Very friendly and helpful. Breakfast included was fresh baked items, continental style.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    8.3
    The view from the breakfast restaurant was super.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view from the breakfast restaurant was super. Staff was very helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Perfect!!!

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    8.8
    Friendliness of staff to answer and assist wish questions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Floors in room could be cleaner.

    Friendliness of staff to answer and assist wish questions. Breakfast had fresh baked items made by hotel staff!

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    10
    The breakfast is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast is excellent

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff, good location, clean room!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly and helpful staff, good location, clean room! I was only staying for one night, but I would defiantly recommend!

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: